WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Wars" Films to be Re-Released in 3D Theaters in 2012

Posted: September 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Wars" Films to be Re-Released in 3D Theaters in 2012Submit Comment
George Lucas has been planning to convert the "Star Wars" saga to 3D in order to re-release all six films theatrically. He has been waiting until there were enough 3D screens available. And according to a Lucasfilm statement, the time has come.

Episode I, "The Phantom Menace," would be the first one to hit theaters, which will happen early 2012. After that, each film would be released in order at the same time in consecutive years, depending on how well the first re-release does.

"There are few movies that lend themselves more perfectly to 3D; from the Death Star trench run to the Tatooine Podrace, the 'Star Wars Saga' has always delivered an entertainment experience that is completely immersive," said the statement.

In the meantime, Lucas plans a comprehensive Blu-ray Disc set of the six films next year, which will include upgraded picture and sound quality, new deleted scenes and special features.

Source: THR, Lucasfilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 6:06:00 AM

What a Shock !!
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 6:09:48 AM

Then you will get the chance to buy the 3D Blu-ray in 2013 onwards....
Rambo writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 6:30:37 AM

yes!!!let's give more money to jabba de lucas and his fat family!!!
KalVicious writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 6:31:58 AM

I'm seeing them, especially since I didn't see the Original Trilogy in theaters.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 6:48:41 AM

This was bound to happen. Least this will help out the cash strapped George Lucas and Fox.
vwkombi writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:01:21 AM

I would love to go see the original trilogy in theaters.

Seriously, f*ck being 19.
dhkenobi writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:15:44 AM

Wait a minute, they're doing Phantom Menace first?! That makes no ****ing sense!!!!
Crazyhorse writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:27:40 AM

Ok here is a suggestion

Delete all ja-ber stinks scenes and replace them with more

Darth Maul
Natalie Portman
or
Qui Gon Jin scenes

Now is your chance Lucas to correct that disaster
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:58:56 AM

Episode I, "The Phantom Menace," would be the first one to hit theaters, which will happen early 2012. After that, each film would be released in order at the same time in consecutive years, depending on how well the first re-release does.


Does Lucas REAALLLLLLLLLLY need the money that bad ? I mean, once was torturous enough.

Well, maybe some Somalian kid born without eyeballs or a sense of good taste will like this.
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 8:03:40 AM

Milk it Lucas...........you son of a bitch


How about releasing the 6 on blue ray asap then have a NEW movie in 2012 in 3d you douche f*ck *sshole c*ck gobbling twat
CCBlev writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 8:06:18 AM

This is old news. Where's the new trilogy at George?????
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 8:39:09 AM

The only way I would consider watching the Phantom Menace is if Darth Maul and Natalie Portman do an around the world while Jar Jar Binks was swallowing their load, followed by Jar Jar lighting up a fat doobie.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 8:40:09 AM

^ Followed by Jar Jar getting his head cut off with Darth's double lightsaber.
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 8:56:08 AM

CC-

I'm with you , i would like to see what happens afetr Jedi.

I dont know anything about the stories after Jedi, are they strong enough stories to make more films from ?
CCBlev writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 8:59:11 AM

I wanna see Star Wars with the use of explicit cuss words. "Luke, f*cking join me on the Darkside or die you little bastard!"
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 9:02:57 AM

Luke She's your sister !!

Now f*ck her , son ....
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 9:04:50 AM

Use more Force !!
CCBlev writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 9:07:49 AM

The Thrawn Trilogy is good. What I would love to see is the ressurected emperor story, where Luke joins the darkside. Then you got where Jacen Solo, turns to the darksisde and basically takes over the universe and reforms the empire. That would be good bc all the actors are the age now that they in that series.
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 9:12:42 AM

Why doesn't he try to make these movies then, instead of keep messing around with the old movies.

Most would return i'm sure, only really Ford that might not i guess.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 9:23:37 AM

Thought it over. Guess it's better that they're re-releasing the films in 3d rather than remake them
Jake Blues writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 10:32:23 AM

Suppose im kinda lookin forward to ep 3-6.. not so sure about 1 and 2
CCBlev writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 10:51:11 AM

i wanna see the deleted scenes he has for ep 1-3
rabid writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 10:54:33 AM

Any excuse to put Star Wars back in theaters is good by me. The 3D is just icing on the cake.
Sonic writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 10:55:56 AM

NNNNOOO that's impossible!
billofill writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:05:59 AM

But the Tech isnt ready yet...........
Salvador writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:24:32 AM

What???

No F*** way!

Lucas, you greedy bas***!
CCBlev writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:25:53 AM

you think this is bad, wail till JC finishes his Avaturd Trilogy.
The-BRAD writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:31:09 AM

Great Picture WP !!!
OneTime writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:41:28 AM

make 3 more lucas..jeeze
xtlhogciao writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:53:59 AM

I wish they'd start with episodes 4-6
dynastygod2000 writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:56:07 AM

don't care if its 2d, 3d, 3g, or cd if star wars going to be on the big screen i'm there like a stretch marks on a fat chick
LarsHimself writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 12:07:38 PM

Well, now we know why the Aztecs decided on the Armageddon to take place in 2012...
BigUnit writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 12:39:13 PM

converted 3-D is horrific.
HideousSecretion writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 1:13:55 PM

Later that day George Lucas was seen on the street corner pimping the rest of your childhood dreams for cash.
rocketman writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 1:42:09 PM

Not going to bother.As much of a SW nut as i am i'm still out.Fed up,done with my fave film being done to death,whored out every few years with an 'new' version that won't be as good as the original.Whats the bet the prequles have been f*cked about with but i f*cking bet Jar Jar and the poo jokes are still in along with all the bad acting.
Episode 7,8+9 with decent scripts and a new director and then i might come out of SW retirement.
Russell Brands stinks
Rocker writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 1:42:15 PM

How many times can you re-release a movie? The Star Wars set has been remastered, and digitized before. Deleted scenes were already added previously? So what your telling me is Mr Lucas is that your Star Wars series is what keeps the food on the table. Getting tired of you destroying my childhood experiences. Give it up already!
stunningvectors writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 2:03:54 PM

Please, if I were George Lucas, I would milk Star Wars for all it's worth, and I'm guessing so would 90% of the people who are complaining about it. I'm sure I'll go even though converted 3-D has such a bad rep that I haven't seen one yet.
Aingx writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 2:45:51 PM

NOOOOOO!
atn5022 writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 2:50:25 PM

i'll definitely see these in theaters. I want to see the original trilogy in a theater, plus i was like 10 when episode 1 came out, so i dont really remember that in theaters. i do however, remember episode 2 (puke) and 3 in theaters
Rambo writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 4:31:21 PM

jar jar:'hello anni!!!messa in 3d now!!!moui moui!!!oh no gooberfish!!!big huge d*ck...I mean teeth!!!'
Saberhoff writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 5:31:53 PM

People actually like star wars so... Maybe..just maybe the fans would like to see them in 3d? Not milking it but expanding it to a new generation that's been growing up on clone war bs.
dhkenobi writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 6:25:31 PM

@Saberhoff: I can agree with you on that clone wars crap, but the originals should never have been tampered with, even if it's to market to a new generation. Kids these days wouldn't understand iconic films if it took a steaming pile of sh*t on their face. They'd rather have their Jonas Brothers and Miley Cyrus in 3D.
markoz writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:09:05 PM

Oh man I'm seeing all of them.I only watched 2 and 3 in theater and for the first time I can watch a movie in theater wich was made before I was
masht7 writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:35:52 PM

At least he's not doing that corny-ass piece of cat crap "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" in 3D.

sh*t, I'm giving Lucus ideas.
Kurskij writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:40:21 PM

George really loves cookies THAT much.

Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 8:38:14 PM

of course they are...
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:55:31 PM

These movies have been milked more than Jake's Mom's tits!

George 'waited' 'til there were enough 3D screens?! You mean he didn't (May the) FORCE (be with you!) the theaters to upgrade sooner (like he did with his THX before he'd give them his movies)?

Make the final 3 George or f*ck off and die. Your choice.


encoreyourface writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 12:52:27 AM

yes! phantom menace was the only one i missed in theaters, and i am SO watching it.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:41:28 AM

See there is a luxury to being around 60 right now, cause my dad and I saw episodes 1-3 together in the theater. In the previews for episode 3 he said to me "Man i'm old...i've seen all 6 star wars movies in the theater"

luckily my dad doesnt have to deal with this 3D bullsh*t and got to see the originals as they were intended, i'm jealous
elrei writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 6:52:31 PM

So George... How about "The Goonies 3D"?
lord_dalton writes:
on October 5th, 2010 at 4:09:37 AM

Dear god no, this has to stop. Lucas has to stop messing around with Star Wars and move on. Why can't he write something new, or just stop in general.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved