WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sherlock Holmes 2" Found Its Professor Moriarty

Posted: September 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sherlock Holmes 2" Found Its Professor MoriartySubmit Comment
It was recently announced that Stephen Fry (V for Vendetta) will play Sherlock's older brother Mycroft in the upcoming "Sherlock Holmes" sequel. And now comes word regarding who will play Sherlock's arch-villain Professor Moriarty.

The writers have already promised that Moriarty will be a big part in the second installment, unlike the first film, in which the character was essentially a shadowy figure in a carriage.

It has been rumored that Brad Pitt was not only that shadowy figure, but that he will also return to play Moriarty in "Sherlock Holmes 2." Pitt and director Guy Ritchie previously worked together on "Snatch." Then came word that Ritchie wanted Daniel Day Lewis (There Will Be Blood) for the role, but that didn't work out.

Now, LatinoReview is reporting that Professor Moriarty will be played by Jared Harris (Curious Case of Benjamin Button, "Mad Men").

And The Daily Mail is reporting that Russell Brand (Get Him to the Greek) was recently at Ritchie's house to discuss joining "Sherlock Holmes 2" as well.

Source: LatinoReview, DailyMail


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
-Chewy- writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 8:50:55 PM

LatinoReview......does that sound legit at all ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 8:52:30 PM

I've only seen Jared Harris in The Notorious Betty Page (as the guy who was mainly interested only in her bondage), The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Resident Evil : Apocolypse ... but this is very fascinating ....


he would make an extraordinary Moriarty and he is the acting equivalent of either Kevin Spacey circa Se7en and Swimming with Sharks and David Hyde Pierce (Fraiser) ...

I am really loving this choice!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 8:53:17 PM

^ And the resembleance to David Hyde Pierce ... uncanny.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 8:55:20 PM

^^ Speaking of Stephen Fry ... wouldn't he have made a better Lestrad.

And Rowan Atkinson (in a Blackadderish style) made a more witty and smarmy Mycroft ? Or even Hugh Laurie (thinking back to his early comedic days) ... kind of like an elder Peter Cook ?
Salvador writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 10:00:49 PM

I can't wait this movie to bomb, jajajajaja!
coldplayesence writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 10:02:25 PM

Nicely done WP, the f*cking superhero movies are far more important than sally menke.
alexgi writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 10:08:31 PM

You guys have already talked about Sally Menke on every single post. So it's clearly not news anymore.
Monash writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 10:13:09 PM

Well he was decent in Fringe
CCBlev writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 10:45:46 PM

interesting, still woulda loved to see Pitt though. Alex wassup bud?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 10:50:30 PM

We know the second story will be about Moriarty and the remote control device. And the death of cops.

@coldplayescence

I suspect murder with the untimely death of Ms. Menke.

Homicide will confirm it in a couple of days, I'm sure.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 11:17:27 PM

That's all fine and well, but...

I found a mother and daughter to take Holy Communion at my house:

http://tinyurl.com/RangersFamilyCommunion
jdl107 writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 11:26:37 PM

Mmm, that was random but also very interesting, good perceptions. I went and double-checked, and yes, he f*cking does look like David Hyde-Pierce. Pretty smart of you to come up with that friend
Bunny X writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 11:31:59 PM

Excellent choice, but too bad I could care less about this film
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 11:37:39 PM

russel brand in this film? -_-
coldplayesence writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 11:43:09 PM

Alex, you really think that all the guys that aren't part of the comunity read all the bullsh*t we write? Its allways the same sh*t about lohan or coc, like 70% of the comments. So no, i think she deserved a headline.
coldplayesence writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 11:46:54 PM

@max- unfortunaly I believe you are right. Unless she fall on a ditch (sp?), they said there was bad weather too.
boogiel writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 12:19:49 AM

@max

"And the resembleance to David Hyde Pierce ... uncanny"

Come to think of it, Kelsey Grammer would be a good choice for Moriarty
alexgi writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 12:23:51 AM

@coldplayesence: good point. I'll keep that in mind.
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 2:33:28 AM

Good choice ......

Love a bit of trivia

Jared Harris is the son of the late !! GREAT !! Richard Harris and step son of Rex Harrison.
Rambo writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 2:46:41 AM

I hated the first one.they took a classy character like sherlock holmes and turned him into a f*cking cartoon.and Jude 'Mr.Flop' Law as watson???give me a break...
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 2:49:25 AM

Ranger-

A nice glass of wine and Blow Job from the Mum & daughter team ....

Count me in
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 2:51:17 AM

It will be ok to baptized all over her fun bags i take it ...
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 2:56:29 AM

Rambo- I did like this movie and i thought RDJ was a good Holmes.

Not sure about Law , to me they were like a Ex Gay couple.

Basil Rathbone and Peter Cushing are fav Sherlock Holmes, Love those old movies.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 5:07:58 AM

Whats up with that profanity thing on top of the comments? f*ck that. And in case some little prick has it turned off, the word you see covered begins with "F" and rhymes with duck
johnny_boy writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 5:11:24 AM

I was really excited for the sequeal cuz I found part 1 to be a very good movie, but with Russell Brand in it? I wouldn't see it even if someone treated me to it.
trailertrash writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 5:59:11 AM

Johnny - Thought the same thing , Bet all the lurks will have it turned on !!

Don't think Brand will end up in this movie, How the the F### (lol) would the Daily Mail know what was going on !!
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:55:44 AM

Cast someone else.
Like Daniel Day-Lewis.
Or Bill Murray.
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:55:55 AM

Cast someone else.
Like Daniel Day-Lewis.
Or Bill Murray.
Salvador writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:33:15 AM

@Ranger: LOL.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 8:40:30 PM

He looks like he should be working at a Renaissance fair.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved