WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Named Most Powerful Person in Film

Posted: September 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Named Most Powerful Person in FilmSubmit Comment
James Cameron beat Steven Spielberg, Leonardo DiCaprio and Christopher Nolan in the list by the Guardian newspaper, which named him the most influential man in the movie world thanks to "Titanic" and "Avatar," the two highest grossing films of all time.

Regarding Spielberg, who landed in second place, was named an "undisputed giant of cinema" but noted critics had said he had created "amusement park movies" over classic American cinema. The list also highlighted the importance of Brad Pitt, Quentin Tarantino and George Clooney in its top 10.

"Star Trek" director JJ Abrams was placed at 13 for his importance in "nerd culture", while Ridley Scott - who made number 15 - was said to have his "glory days behind him." Angelina Jolie was the highest ranked woman in the list at number 18.

Most powerful people in film (see full list here):

1. James Cameron (director)

2. Steven Spielberg (director)

3. Leonardo DiCaprio (actor)

4. John Lasseter (director)

5. Brad Pitt (actor and producer)

6. Christopher Nolan (director)

7. Scott Rudin (producer)

8. Quentin Tarantino (director)

9. George Clooney (actor and director)

10. Ed Vaizey (UK government minister)

11. Johnny Depp (actor and producer)

12. Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner (producers)

13. JJ Abrams (director and producer)

14. Alan F. Horn and Jeff Robinov (studio executives)

15. Ridley Scott (director)

16. Tom Rothman and Jim Gianopulos (studio executives)

17. Tim Burton (director)

18. Angelina Jolie (actress)

19. Brad Grey (studio executive)

20. Martin Scorsese (director)

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
coolguy writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 5:43:40 AM

Regarding Spielberg, who landed in second place, was named an "undisputed giant of cinema" but noted critics had said he had created "amusement park movies" over classic American cinema.

yeah coz Schindler's list, Empire of the Sun and Saving Private Ryan are all amusement park movies. AVATAR is the definition of an Amusement park movie, it is NOT a classic. how many "notable" critics did cameron f*ck to have his name on the top.
wonderBOY writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 5:58:11 AM

@coolguy
they meant movies like hook and his produced movies

but what does power mean in hollywood
and OMG im on the list at 100
Longo12 writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 6:03:55 AM

Well Martin Sorsese should definatly be higher and even Speilbergs amusement park movies are better then Avatar.
wutang4ever91 writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 7:40:05 AM

@Longo12
my thoughts exactly

cameron is a tool and so is jj abrams
Dillypogo writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 8:06:03 AM

And Cameron's ego goes higher...and higher...
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 9:16:49 AM

I absolutely think Jurassic Park is a classic...even if it is an amusement park movie it was groundbreaking for its time and is still an awesome movie today...especially the rifftrax, its awesome haha
BigUnit writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 9:25:41 AM

well when your films make billions.
coldplayesence writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 9:41:11 AM

And we take this as a real list because...?
CCBlev writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 9:46:46 AM

Pretty soon its gonna be James Da Fuehruer.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 9:57:39 AM

Still trying to figure out why Brad Pitt is ranked so high on the list. Sure he's a highly covetted actor, but his films don't make much money anymore and he's never been much of an Oscar threat. Plus, the guy's been tooling around as Ms. Jolie's personal bitch for so long now that I'm starting to wonder if he cares about making real films anymore. Benjamin Button was a huge snoozefest.
Rambo writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 10:09:47 AM

James Cameron died after finishing shooting 'True Lies'.I don't know that guy in the photo.
Reaper00 writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 10:16:05 AM

James Cameron's ego will be like the blob.
encoreyourface writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 10:28:39 AM

look jimmy, go f*ck yourself. you obviously buttf*cked your way to the top.
Rush66 writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 10:46:29 AM

I hate that guy so much...
Peter Parker writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 11:28:03 AM

Preposterous. Everybody knows Chuck Norris is the most powerful person.






Every and anywhere!




Always!
GIST writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 12:09:21 PM

Reeeaaalllly? I wonder how much weight JC can bench press?
triggax writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 12:25:12 PM

Why is Kristin Scott Thomas on that list?

Who f*cking made this list? A collective of retards and fans of Life as a House?...

Honestly... Putman must have put this sh*t list together...

Michael Cera? I hardly think that little weiner has any f*cking pull in hollywood.. Other than pulling on producers c*cks...

I cant honestly believe that cameron would top that list.. Based on numbers... spielberg or bruckheimer or even Michael Bay... But Cameron? He's made like 4 movies... spielbergs made like 100.. and theyve all made billions... how about Robert Zemeckis or Tom Hanks? Shouldnt they come out pretty close to the top.. considering that some of their properties are the highest grossing hollywood has ever seen?

Honestly this list is f*ckin retarded... And sorry last time I checked.. Sandra Bullock was one of the highest paid leading ladies in hollywood... She was the most profitable female actress of 2009... But shes not on this list at all... But colin firth and Judd Apatow are? Apatow hasnt directed a hit since Knocked Up?... Hes produced a few flops and a few mediocre achievers... yet... hes on this list and Martin Campbell isnt? Or... f*cking anyone... at all.. this is the most sordid unrealistic list i think i have ever read....

Michael f*cking Cera...

How about Michael f*cking Bay... WILL f*ckING SMITH anyone? perhaps Ridley Scott? Russel Crowe?

Honestly... Horse sh*t.. no RDJ??
rabid writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 12:43:52 PM

with all the haters he has, JC must be doing something right.
CCBlev writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 1:21:30 PM

Look at the bright side guys. It could be worse it could read "The most powerful person on the planet"
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 1:32:04 PM

@coolguy - well said.

@wonderBOY - maybe... I gather coolguy took that into consideration before posting.

I don't argue this list (too much). What I do find amusing is they have pretty much made up a category for everyone in it.

Gary Coleman in at #84, for shortest, washed-up, black guy murdered by his wife (that wasn't investigated for said murder).

Way to go Gary!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 1:45:31 PM

I'll bet Jennifer Aniston is wishing she popped out some kids for Brad like she promised him before they got married... now that she's reviewing this list.

Brad and Angie (10's of millions of $'s to charity, Hollywood 'Power Couple', raising a family, living life = 1



Barren Aniston = 0
(PS: I'd still give Jen the high-hard-one, don't get me wrong. Even nasty scat sex if that's her thing... I'm just sayin).

jdl107 writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 1:57:07 PM

Martin Scorsese below Angelina Jolie, Brad Pitt, Brad Grey, Tim Burton, and Johnny Depp?

Who the f*ck wrote this list.
jdl107 writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 2:28:04 PM

"now that she's reviewing this list."



Nah my friend, I'm sure that if she had even the least bit of smarts she wouldn't pay no mind to this list. It was made by little boys thats for sure.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 2:32:58 PM

You're right. Hopefully she's not.
jdl107 writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 2:35:03 PM

Just barely saw that Judd Is a bit above Guy Ritchie....

No, seriously man, whoever made this list needs to blow on a f*ckin' chode.
jdl107 writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 2:39:16 PM

I hope you didn't hesitate saying that Range, a Dirty Sanchez with ol' Aniston would take no thought ;P cha-ching!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 2:53:30 PM

lol.

Or the Alabama Hot Pocket.
Rambo writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 3:18:16 PM

just watched 'predators'...what a horrible reboot/sequel...whoever was casting for this movie should be banned from Hollywood.
AYT BALL writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 4:21:29 PM

isnt Chuck Norris the most Powerful Person in Film???? stoopid list
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 5:32:28 PM

@AYT - Chuck is the most powerful human being ever actually.
trailertrash writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 6:00:50 PM

@ the list LOL The Guardian what a joke that paper is, they make stories up and this list proves it..

Claudia Winkelman @62 (she's not even a porn star with that name)

James King @94 would give DP a good run for his money ..

and we are all at 100 !
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 6:20:46 PM

When enraged, my ass is more powerful than Cameron.

Is he powerful only because he dreamed of having sex with tall blue salamanders?
Give me a break!
markoz writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 6:25:34 PM

Uwe Boll should be on the list.He is so powerful that when he makes a movie he can make a completely sane person to take someone's life(one's own or Uwe Boll's)
LifeInAGlassHouse writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 6:41:40 PM

I'm the Most Powerful Person in Not Giving a sh*t.
griffinkane writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 7:20:05 PM

It is a bullsh*t list from the UK! This is the link to the article if anyone is interested

http://www.guardian.co.uk/gnm-press-office/guardian-film-power-100-released
elrei writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 8:37:44 PM

I tought that the most powerfull persons in films were the studio's owners...
emonne writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 10:55:40 PM

How is will smith not on the list? the man sh*ts on a movie set and it makes $100 million dollars. he has the record for most movies to gross $100 mill in a row. DISRESPECT.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 11:21:38 PM

Ya know, I betcha he got those 'roids from Barry Bonds. Hemmo or Stero, your choice.

Oh. We ARE talking about James Cameron.

Knowing his attitude, they were probably ASS-teroids.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 11:22:43 PM

James Cameron Named Most Powerful Person in Film


f*ck James Cameron with an inflamed, diseased and swolen d*ck. Hey Puttman, new job bud.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 28th, 2010 at 11:23:48 PM

I'm the most powerful person in film for using james face as toilet paper to wipe off my sh*t. Thanks, WP.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved