WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Which Directors are Overrated?

Posted: September 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Which Directors are Overrated?Submit Comment
There are plenty of hard-working directors out there who consistently produce great movies but never get the recognition that other directors get, especially some who have never really done much.

During our interview with Mark Romanek, he was constantly called an A-list director despite the fact that he only directed "One Hour Photo." And while it's true that Romanek is a true artist with a vision, his one film was nothing really special, having a 7/10 rating among fans and critics on IMDB and RottenTomatoes.

There is also Guillermo Del Toro, who is widely perceived as one of the best directors in Hollywood. But his resume has such films as "Mimic," "Blade 2," and the two "Hellboy" films. He eventually proved himself with "Pan's Labyrinth," but since when is one good movie enough to be a top Hollywood director?

Then there's JJ Abrams. Many fans love his shows like "Lost," "Alias" and "Felicity," but the only movies he has directed are "Mission: Impossible 3" and "Star Trek." Both are watchable, but once again nothing really special in my opinion. Yet, Abrams is perceived as someone who can be trusted with any project.

And while Romanek, Del Toro and Abrams are sucking up all the praise, there are other directors out there who are absolutely hated. One such director is Brett Ratner, who has brought us "Rush Hour," "The Family Man," "Red Dragon" and "X-Men: The Last Stand." I enjoyed all those films, even "X-Men 3," so I don't really understand why he is seen on the same level as Uwe Boll.

Question: Which directors don't deserve the praise they receive from critics and fans?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 101 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Preditorian writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 6:11:27 PM

The name Bay and Cameron comes to mind...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 6:33:01 PM

Blade 2 and the Hellboy-movies are genuinely fun movies. Not extra-ordinary in any way, but good.

Brett Ratner is probably hated for being a douche.

But if you want overrated directors, you can just take any pick from the French New Wave-directors or some of the Italian neo-realism directors. That some godawful sh*t right there.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 6:41:18 PM

And while Romanek, Del Toro and Abrams are sucking up all the praise, there are other directors out there who are absolutely hated. One such director is Brett Ratner, who has brought us "Rush Hour," "The Family Man," "Red Dragon" and "X-Men: The Last Stand." I enjoyed all those films, even "X-Men 3," so I don't really understand why he is seen on the same level as Uwe Boll.


He has the skills of a kid from the AV Club in high school, that's why. And everything he touches is purile pap.

But, according to the worst superhero movie ever, he doesn't touch a toe to the depths of one Mr. Joel Schumacher. Even at the end of Batman & Robin, Geo. Clooney wonders what the f*ck happened to his almost f*cked up career with batskates, nipples on his Batsuit (so Joel swishes the other way ?) and Arnold Swartzenegger looking like a see thru glass vibrator (among other embarassing things) ...

Michael Bay ? Well, you don't hear the words Academy Award and Michael Bay in the same sentence much.

James Cameron ? Personally, I think he's bored of swimming naked around in his vat of money like Uncle Scrooge and has turned into the Al Gore of directors, claiming to have invented the motion picture projector ... I mean, 3D.

Uwe Boll ? ... Please.

DP, the WP Reviewer .... He couldn't review a bus schedule.

Robert Rodriquez ? Need an activity planner, bud ? A 'to-do' list ? A stack of 3 by 5 lined index cards and index card holder ? You got money. Wal-Mart's just down the road. Go get some.

Quentin Tarantino ... Didn't you claim you would retire when you started directing movies that didn't do very well ? Well, I'm kinda glad you didn't. Personally, I LOVED Deathproof. Can't say that about the UK, who kiss your ass. But then you brought us the remake of Inglorious Bastards .... But that doesn't let you off the hook that easily, mister ... Kill Bill 3 : Nikita's Revenge and The Shadow better start in motion soon ....

markoz writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 7:08:59 PM

Personally I don't have anything against Michael Bay.His movies like Bad Boys 1 and 2,Armageddon and especially Transformers in my opinion shouldn't be watched like possible Oscar winners but instead just a good fun with lots of explosions.When I watch Michael Bays movie those are my expectations and I'm never disappointed.But James Cameron.Piece of work he is.Guy who is a deuche to his fans,but more importantly a director who lives from his old glory like Aliens,Terminator and Titanic(God only knows why)
markoz writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 7:13:55 PM

Uwe Boll would be overrated even if he didn't exist
elrei writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 7:15:15 PM

Shyamalan, Paul S. Anderson, Guy Ritchie and Bay.
SeWerin writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 7:32:52 PM

Cameron, Nolan (he is good director, but not revolutionary), Abrams.

And yeah, Ratner is douchebag and X3 sucked big time.
GambleBDJ writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 7:52:27 PM

To me Nolan is revolutionary. He is currently 7for7. And 4 of his films easily go on my 20 favorite films of all time list. But Paul S. anderson is definitely overreated and so is Roland Emmerich.
Bigcheese writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 7:59:18 PM

James Cameron. Maybe R. Scott for giving us that sh*t Robin Hood, but I do enjoy SOME of his other movies.
Bigcheese writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 8:02:43 PM

Oh, and Abrams and the guy who did Greenzone and Bourne ( I always forget his name)
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 8:38:39 PM

Zack Snyder, Ratner, Singer (I met him this week actually and he's a nice guy, but horribly overrated to me)
Crazyhorse writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 8:52:10 PM

Woody Allen

No one tops him
vaodsi writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 9:02:13 PM

woody allen
buttabean writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 9:11:17 PM

I would definitely say peter Jackson after watching "The lovely bones" so many terrible written moments it made me squirm.
secondbest writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 9:26:45 PM

I think Cameron deserves recognition because of his brilliance, being able to fool people into watching movies like Avatar, with simplistic plots. Oh, but they look pretty. That being said, I think the first two Terminator movies are awesome and Aliens is my favorite out of that series.
Michael Bay - need I say more?
secondbest writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 9:33:23 PM

Also: Catherine Hardwicke. Yeah, so she directed Thirteen and the Lords of Dogtown. Doesn't mean she's great. And Twilight under her direction was pretty bad, not that anyone could save that garbage.
CCBlev writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 10:01:59 PM

O cmon now guys we all know Uwe Boll and Ratner are the most underrated directors out there...................J/K
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 10:15:57 PM

Lawrence Welk.
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 10:16:33 PM

Stormy Daniels.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 10:20:53 PM

Discuss: Which Directors are Overrated?

A. Igor Stravinsky
B. Leonard Bernstein
C. Adolph Hitler
D. DW Griffith
E. Joseph Stalin
F. CC DeMille
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 10:36:55 PM

Pssssttt...

'Directors'.... not 'd*ck-tators'
consperience writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 10:50:18 PM

Tim Burton
SketchballEd writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 10:55:53 PM

Just to name a few Spike Lee, Tyler Perry, Tony Scott, Michael Bay, James Cameron, Roland Emmerich, Woody Allen, and John McTiernan all spring to my mind.
wonderBOY writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 11:05:08 PM

Nolan is good but his fans are the annoying ones giving all his movies 10s before they have even seen it. inception and dark knight arent really top 10 stuff

Cameron is just an *sshole
Bay - love his first 3 movies then he became boring
Boll - is getting better with each movie but does not deserve to make a film about the holocaust
ratner - doesnt do a lot only known for rush hour movies first 2 were good
otis writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 11:15:09 PM

pssst Joel Schumacher. Name a movie of his that had any merit and I'll give you a cookie!
Rodan writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 11:25:22 PM

otis, I'd say Falling Down had some merit. But that's just me.

Inception writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 11:41:00 PM

Cameron overrated? Titanic and Avatar got made, two movies that had a simple plot + CGI, which equals in my book as watching one minute of the Glen Beck show. The guy is not a bad director but those 2 pieces of sh*t made him too overrated in this big toilet of an industry.

Ratner doesn't know what the hell he is doing, it's like giving a 4 year old boy a cell phone.

Bay should be in Afghanistan.

JJ Abrams should stick his lens flare effect up his ass while blowing Tom Cruise inside Cloverfield or whatever the f*ck was the name of the that f*cked up thing, if not then Godzilla is ok.

Robert Rodriguez' "El Mariachi", wow, btw did he make more movies after that? Because I always hear his name mentioned in lots of places, apparently people still remember how "cheap" "El Mariachi" was.

Zack Snyder, his movies are good, but thanks to CGI. Take that away and you have yourself a big green screen set and everyone clueless.

Joe Johnston shouldn't be doing movies, specially ones like Captain America... well on second though Evans is in it, so what the hell, who gives a damn anymore.

Shyamalan another overrated director. He has like 2 good films and they already thinking he is the next Indian version of Spielberg.

Uwe Boll, the end.
thomas wayne writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 11:43:13 PM

@otis falling down and the lost boys and maybe phone booth other than that hes just sh*te.

overrated directors?
woody allen
paul greengrass (is that it?)
robert zemeckis (bar back to the future)
ridley scott post blade runner

cameron isnt overrated hes just turned into a self centred twat since he started winning oscars
filmgeek73 writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 12:09:02 AM

Noah Baumbach, Neil LaBute, Joe Carnahan, Jon Turtletaub
Snarebeast writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 12:31:40 AM

#1- Blade 2 is fun and the Hellboy movies are probably two of my favorite comic book movies. Del Toro's style worked incredibly well for those.

#2- Way to not mention The Devil's Backbone, his critically-acclaimed movie that came before Pan's Labyrinth. Oh, and Cronos, his critically-acclaimed first feature.

You're right, one good movie isn't enough to land yourself as a top Hollywood director. But it's a good thing he's got quite a few good ones under his belt. Do your research people.

Sorry for the rant, but Guillermo Del Toro is actually my favorite director.
Snarebeast writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 12:34:40 AM

Expanding on what I just wrote, if anything I feel like Del Toro is actually pretty underrated. He may essentially make monster movies, and that's why his name is almost always tossed into the running for those kinds of movies. But he makes monster movies with very human and emotional cores to them. Not enough people do that anymore. It's pretty phenomenal, if you ask me.

Sorry if I just came off like a total fanboy. I'll go back to my corner.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 1:00:36 AM

Oliver Stone is Overcooked, Charred beyond consumption.

Not that anyone would want to eat that cokehead.
wedbawon writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 1:07:24 AM

Michael Bay and M. Night Shamyalan are the first two names that come to mind. And while I dont necessarily think hes overrated (other than that piece of over hyped crap Avatar), I do think James Cameron is a douche bag. I disagree about Del Toro however. While I am not a fan of the Blade trilogy or Mimic, as a comic book fan and a film fan, I thought the Hellboy movies were done extremely well and stayed very true to the original stories.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 1:49:17 AM

Too amny to list..if I tried to think of them my brain would explode.
Tommy D writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:20:12 AM

Yea I found it a little weird that this mark romanek guy was being talked about so much...I love Chris Nolan as much as the next guy, but Inception really was not that good...I'm not just saying that because I want to be "against the masses" because I loved the dark knight, but Inception's story was nowhere as good as The Prestige (my personal favorite of his) or Memento...abrams is incredibly overrated, along with Peter Jackson (even though no one can deny the brilliance of the lord of the rings)
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:21:23 AM

M Night Shyamalan for the win. I'm suprised more people haven't mentioned him. His last 10 movies hsve f*cking been terrible. The Sixth Sense was awesome. I loved Unbreakable. And then bombs away..... each movie just gets sh*ttier and sh*ttier.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:23:24 AM

Oh and it's just so douchey to call yourself "M. Night"

Almost as gay as McG...
moods_001 writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:24:20 AM

Christopher "Mr. Hype" Nolan should be No. 1 on the list. He's most hyped-director since 2008.
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:33:23 AM

Always found Alan Smithee films to be very
Disappointing :)
Rodan writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:40:26 AM

trailertrash, major props. You gave me a good laugh.
Rodan writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:43:59 AM

Can you imagine being a kid actually named Alan Smithee? You'd know from day 1 your parents were ashamed of you. That's a sad life.
gobolog writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:48:45 AM

To say that Guillermo Del Toro has only done one good film is ridiculous. He also directed Devils backbone and Cronos which were both great films. Mimic suffered from producer interverence so to blame del toro is unfair.
FBO writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:51:48 AM

@Moods - Nolan has earned his hype, but that's not what we're talking about here. Hype and overrated are two totally different things. And the reason Inception has done so well is because it's not a remake, a redo, a sequel or a prequel. The man thought this up all by his lonesome.

For overrated I am going to have to go with uwe boll cuz no matter how much trash you talk about him he's still overrated. IDK how Joe Johnston still gets movie deals.

And I expect to get crucified for this one but I've never been able to enjoy a Hitchc*ck movie. I get confused when people call him the Master of Suspense. How many of those people have tried watching Rear Window? That movie is so boring that I almost went out and bought Disturbia! I've honestly neer seen the ending of Psycho! Keep falling asleep. Now as a disclaimer I've only attempted to see five of his movies; lifeboat, Vertigo, Rear Window, The Birds and Psycho. But they're so slow that I have no reason to try anything else from him.
pomme writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 4:36:21 AM

David Fincher is overrated !! when i read "social network" is as good as "citizen kane",i think several journalists forget Fincher makes cold movies and you can't empatize his characters (even if the movie will be perfect technically)

Cameron is overrated! yes, the 2 first Terminator are great and his Alien is cool but Romeo& Juliet on a boat and his Pocahontas in Blue are really "come on here money"

Guy Ritchie! one Decent movie(Snatch)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 4:39:20 AM

@FBO: I agree. I can understand that he earned that title during his heydays, but his movies hasn't aged well. Psycho might be one of the most overrated movies of all time.
bulle85@hotmail.com writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 4:50:33 AM

goddamn it, brett ratner?! hes at the top of the pile of crap. red dragon wasnt half bad, but after the sunset, the family gyu or man or whatever and especially the third rush hour film ND the horrible x3 is all superbad. thank you, and good night.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 4:59:15 AM

JJ Abrams is temendously overrated. He never knew how to make a good ending for a great-looking story. James Cameron has grown arrogant. M Night Shyamalan for sure.

Hate me if you want, but I found even Peter Jackson overrated.
FBO writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 4:59:33 AM

@Nightmare - Exactly! I don't mean to take away anything he did to advance storytelling in film, I am just tired of hearing people say that psycho is still one of the scariest movies ever. It's not! Or at least not for me.
c-prime writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 5:00:41 AM

Mark Romanek's expertise is best illustrated in the realm of music videos. If you haven't seen any of the work he's done for Eels, Johnny Cash, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers, you're really missing out.

As for my pick for most overrated director, I choose Edgar Wright. I just can't get into his movies, no matter how hard I try. They all prove to be visually stunning and technically impressive (for example, the abundantly creative scene transitions and editing work found in "Shaun of the Dead" or even "Scott Pilgrim"), but they constantly fall short in the laugh department. And when every one is labeled as a comedy, that ain't really a good thing.
Ranger writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 5:09:00 AM

@Rodan - I liked 'Falling Down' as well. Maybe for similar reasons... it's like a contemporary Josey Wales. Guy just wanted to be left alone... but others didn't leave him alone. Great anti-hero, hero stuff. Falling Down is under-rated in my opinion. And Douglas is amazing.
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 5:09:14 AM

Rodan- Thanks..

LOL, Very true an outcast in your own family...
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 5:11:05 AM

pomme- Lock stock was as good if not better than Snatch IMO
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 5:16:48 AM

Ranger/Rodan

I really liked Falling Down as well , Always thought he was a little crazy at the end more than anti-hero , which is how they had portrayed him for 3/4 of the movie, Duvall was great in that too..
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 5:45:34 AM

FBO/Freud

I sort of agree , Psycho is pretty slow. I remember watching it as a kid and the end where perkins comes rushing into the basement dressed as his mum scared the crap out of me but thats about it.

But i guess back in 1960 it was a big deal, Also with him killing off the major star (janet leigh) within the 1st half an hour freaked alot of people out back then.

He did always think outside of the box back then when making his films, Today he wouldn't be so different i guess.

North By Northwest is a really good movie and Torn Curtain (more because of Paul Newman)also.

superabilio writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 6:02:29 AM

How can you say Cameron? People forget too easily that he directed The Terminator 1&2, Aliens and The Abyss. And Del Toro... with Blade 2, Hellboy 1&2 and Pan's Labyrinth you forget movies like Cronos or The Devil's Backcone.
Try more Paul W.S. Anderson, Joel Shumacher or Brett Ratner.
rocketman writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 8:28:21 AM

All of Hollywood.All we have are underated Directors,well a handfull that don't get the breaks,a few deserved and a whole lot of dross.I blame MTV.
Kurskij writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 8:33:32 AM

@trailer
Lock stock was as good if not better than Snatch IMO

Better, I think. Guy Ritchie overrated? Come on, guys! He practically invented a genre (yes, I'm one of those people who think that he is not a british Tarantino rip-off) - Snatch, LS2SB, RocknRolla even his studio debut Sherlock was awesome. Damn, even Revolver that was much dumber than it tried to be was expertly made and shot.

Ratner may be overpaid, but hardly overrated - I thought about this one a couple of months ago and to think of it again - he's like a bastard child of Joe Johnston and Michael Bay - they to-go guy if have most of the pre-production work done and you need to shoot the movie fast and decently (oh, also make it look nice and blow sh*t up good) - and that's precisely what he does - he had like what - 8 months to finish the-already-f*cked up X3 after Vaughn left? And the final product still was decent - not on par with X2, but it still looked good and flying cars blowing up in the air - that's pretty badass stuff. I doubt he could do anything with the screenplay - he got payed to put the trainwreck back on track - and I think he did pretty good.
Kurskij writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 9:03:33 AM

Plus Red Dragon was nowhere near bad.

Del Toro is a visionary - he worked and helped get off the ground ten times more projects than he ended up directing. Not overrated IMO.

Cameron is awesome at what he does - if Bruckheimer is Mr.Blockbuster of producers, then Cameron is the one of directors.
Yeah, he directed Avatar that made a sh*tload of money being a reboot of Pocahontas. But if someone REALLY cares about the absence of original story in f*cking Avatar - that's some insane sh*t. Mech fights in jungle, space shuttle blowing up, Stephen Lang with burning hand and balls-out attitude jumping out of a f*cking blowing up spaceship in a mech suit with said ship falling behind him - and people complain about the story? Now that's gay.

Apatow is overrated, W.S. Anderson is overrated, Liman is overrated.

Petersen and Emerich may be overpayed, but, like Ratner, they really CAN do what they do real good.

BTW - Romanek is not overrated and if he is considered A-list director - then it's the same situation as with actors like Ryan Gosling or Jeremy Renner or even Ed Norton - none of them are box-office draws, but they're acclaimed and respected enough to be considered A-list.

trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 9:16:53 AM

Kurskij- totally agree , a apart from Revolver. Only seen it once didn't enjoy it, but would give it a 2nd chance. Never bothered with Swept Away don't think anyone else did either !!

Yep Good Job on Sherlock too and I'm looking forward to part 2.
Kurskij writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 9:19:55 AM

Oh, JJ Abrams. He's like this Judd Apatow from sci-fi. I have never watched Lost, I like MI3 and Star Trek (though I've never seen and in no way a fan of the original movies or series or what was it?). Cloverfield had an interesting concept.
Dude knows how to make all the right moves - come up with the concept (Cloverfield), find the right people to make it come to life (Reeves), find the right people to provide a back-up (Spielberg) and shoot things yourself (Star Trek). He is like Nolan for geeks and hipsters. Definiutely and A-list and a guy to watch. Though I'm not sure how long he will last as Hollywood ¹1 whiz-kid - Zemekis was the previous one and today all he does is toying with technology James Cameron will take all the credit for.
Farradin writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 9:21:29 AM

David Lynch. Though think he's more overrated as a writer than a Director. The words mad, bag and frogs come to mind!
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 9:33:43 AM

Kurskij- Nice Post(s)
Kurskij writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 9:42:14 AM

Thanks, tt! )
d.stidham1982 writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 10:10:58 AM

Great:
Edward Zwick- The Last Samurai, Blood Diamond
Robert Zemeckis- Forest Gump, Cast Away
Ben Affleck- The Town, Gone Baby Gone
Clint Eastwood-Any movie
Over-rated
Quentin Tarantino- Death Proof, Grindhouse, Jackie Brown (a surprise ending to ignorant movie-goers does not constitute a great movie)
Stephen Sommers- GI Joe
Steven Soderbergh
tecneek writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 11:20:42 AM

i aint seeing alot of over rated directors being mentionednow you all are just naming directors u hate..........whens the last time u heard that m night shamaylan is a great director or brett rattner or micheal bay.........i think nolan makes great films......he could be seen as over rated.........i dont think so tho....sooo....yea
uwe boll is over rated for bein a horrible director tho
xxtomboxx writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 11:27:14 AM

Whoever wrote this article doesnt know much about Del Toro's work. The Devil's Backbone and Pan's Labyrinth are easily his best films, Hellboy 1 is a great action adventure, Hellboy 2 is a marvel to look at (if a bit too simplistic in the plot/script for me) and Blade 2 is just dumb fun. BUT, the most important thing about Del Toro that elevates him over most other directors today is how absolutely passionate he is about his work. Every frame of every one of his films (even his more simplistic ones like Blade 2 and HB2)is packed with information and detail. He LOVES films and it shows.
WV-Films writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 12:55:40 PM

Zach Snyder is the most overrated underachieving director there is. If you really think he's a "visionary" you need to watch more films and read less comics.
Rodan writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 1:11:30 PM

Ranger/trailertrash, yeah, I mostly enjoyed Falling Down. I agree with you, though, the first 2 acts were great while the 3rd kinda changed everything around. I was all "You tell em Douglas!" at first then at the end we realize how f*cked up he is...I mean, we knew he was flawed but I wish he wasn't a psycho.
OtisDriftwood990 writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 1:25:58 PM

What the f*ck do you mean, star trek wasn't memorable. Star trek could not have possibly been any better. Abrahms successfully made the general public enjoy star trek. That's a true feat.
Plus, Guillermo proved himself way before pans. Devils backbone? And there should be no bad talk about hellboy 2 either. It's one of his best.
On that note, Cameron is an overrated prick.
gimple writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:12:40 PM

Tarantino. He just takes scenes from other movies and puts them in his own. Yes his movies are a lot of fun, but in my opinion he can never be a great director since all he does is "borrow" other peoples material.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:36:29 PM

otis writes
pssst Joel Schumacher. Name a movie of his that had any merit and I'll give you a cookie!

answer A time to kill.... after that nothing

Greengrass is highly overrated him and Bay like the shaky cam way to much. it takes away from the action. Cameron on the other had frames his action and pace like none other and giant smurfs or not its clean and engaging for the eyes.

Edgar Wright needs more attention Scott pilgrim vs the world was my favorite movie this summer

PhantomCloneInX writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:36:41 PM

While I agree with Romanek, Abrams, and Shyamalan being overrated, I have to disagree about Nolan, Del Toro, Cameron, and Tarantino. All of them have made several great movies in my opinion.

But I really wanted to see some older directors being discussed on here. I agree with the people who listed Woody Allen. He's made a couple decent movies, but I find a lot of his stuff to be garbage. Personally, I also find Orson Welles to be a highly overrated director. While I really liked "Touch of Evil", I found "Citizen Kane" (often called the greatest film of all time) to be rather dull and dreadfully overacted. I find the rest of Welles' directorial filmography to be pretty "blah", as well.

Kurskij writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:45:09 PM

xxtomboxx - great post, pretty much nailed it

@wv-films

you know, I've always thought I watch enough movies and know a thing or two about history of cinema. also, I don't read comic books. at all - not really a trend here (exceptions being V for Vendetta and Sin City graphic novels which I bought for their awesomness), and I think Snyder has an outstanding eye for visuals. He has his problems with pace and slomo quickly gets old (though he is one of few people who knows how to use it - just watch Andersons latest Resident Evil. Cut the slomo and the whole f*cking movie will be like 20 minutes long). Snyder is what people call "a visionary" - even if you leave Watchmen and 300 and check out the trailer for Sucker Punch - he is the only one right now who can compose such shots.
Kurskij writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 2:52:04 PM

btw - Falling down is a great movie, even a bit ahead of its time. The whole downshifting thing and sh*t got big later (not sure about US - but in Europe for sure) and people breaking down and going postal followed.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:03:21 PM

never though I would say it but Ridley scott Robin hood was dumb and usually he can make sh*t into gold but not this.

Guillermo Del Toro just needs to make another movie he made me mad with Hellboy2 but I won't hold it against him
Johnnyb writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:19:38 PM

The following is a scale about the worst from the most overrated directors, stands like this:

1. James Cameron (From saying he only makes good movies like none else, considering his overrated Avatar and Titanic which stands as B.O. which I don´t accepted)

2. Michael Bay (Acting like a f*cking John Woo with explosions, a lot of chicks bare naked and useless plots without consistence)

3. Robert Rodriguez (After his "Stupid" Spy Kids proyect and Grindhouse, He have hit the ground so hard, that he can´t make a real comeback with films like in the beginning of his career. And now we have Machete which I don´t see a big chance for redeem himself)

4. M. Night Shyamalan (After hits like "The Sixth Sense" and "Unbreakable", he now bring us stupid twist plot films without "Sense"... And now you having him, writing films without much success... This guy is a falling down)

5. Guillermo del Toro (He is great and have good stories to tell, but he had focus to much on writing and producing than directing his on proyects. Maybe he should do it better on producing than director. He thinks to much of a proyect, more than make it)

6. Kevin Smith (The guy thinks he have the hits for great films which include a lot of profanity and bad language, which sometimes is boring and senseless)

7. Michael Mann (He have focus to much on his Digital Camera, than making more attractive films like "Heat")

8. Steven Spielberg (After winning Oscars and Golden Globes, for Spielberg to tell stories are just boring or without feeling, that the audience don´t easily indetifies with it.)

9. Bryan Singer (With the fall down of "Superman Returns" and "Valkyrie", that fans hate it for abandon X 3 which ruined all a perfect trilogy)

10. Sam Raimi (Your horror films were much better than the Spiderman trilogy)
encoreyourface writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:21:14 PM

i dunno .... ABOUT ALL OF THEM!?
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:23:03 PM

All of them.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:31:09 PM

Schumacher is mostly garbage, but he did make one of the greatest films ever... DC Cab!!! And I don't think he's over-raated, because I never hear anyone running around talking abouty what a great director he is. Tigerland was good as well.

Del Toro, definitely not over rated, as many previous posts have shown clearly.

I believe Peter Jackson WAS over rated, but now most people see him as the average director he is. He made his rep by telling a wild fantastic story based on one of the most loved books of all time, it wouldn't take a great director to make it well, it would just take a sh*tty one to f*ck it up. Which he almost did, every scene of emotional bonding with the hobbits in that trilogy is almost unbearable to watch. The slow mo group hug on the bed? give me a f*ckin break.

JJ Abrams is over rated. I can't sit through an entire episode of lost, and MI3 is the worst of the series. Star Trek wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything super great either.

Hitchc*ck I'm hit or miss on. I really enjoyed Rear Window and North by Northwest, but any of his other movies I can take or leave.

Bays not over rated, because people aren't running around talking about what a visionary amazing director he is, they just say he makes good action movies, which he does.

I may be lynched here for this, but I do think Nolan is slightly over rated. I haven't seen Inception yet, but based on everything else I've seen, that's my opinion. Memento was very original and also very well put together, but I din't really like it that much, there was really no emotional payback. The Prestige I really liked, but it wasn't anything groundbreaking. And the Dark Knight is probably the most over rated movie ever. People talk about it like it's Christ on film, and I thought it was pretty good, and entertaining the first time around, but for my it doesn't really stand up to multiple viewings.

Ratner is not over rated, because no one is out there talking about how great he is. He's a journeyman level guy making throw away entertainment, which is all watchable.

I don't know if Edgar Wright is over rated, but Hot Fuzz definitely was.

Louis Letterier is over hated in my opinion. OK Transporter 2 is garbage, but there may have been some sort of extenuation circ*mstances around that. Incredible Hulk was better than Oscar winner Ang Lee's version, and Clash of the Titans might have had sh*t after market 3D, but I think the studio should take the heat on that one, and the movie itself was fun to watch and entertaining.

James Cameron deserves the credit he gets, I won't bother going into why, Kurskij covered that for me already.

That's all I got for now, just rolled out of bed.
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:32:50 PM

You people are listing sh*tty actors, not people that are hyped well beyond the praise they deserve.

No one hypes Bay, M Night Scamalong, Schumacher, Stone or all the other American cine-trash makers.

I'd have to say Cameron takes the cake for sure, and maybe the fat f*ck that made the Lord of the c*ck Ring films.

Del Toro isn't ever-rated. Mainstream wise, I don;t think most average people know the guy exists. Nolan doesn't get the praise he deserves, really, for every great film he has made with the exclusion of TDK.

So when WP asks you to talk about over-hyped directors, you have to address the question asked, not wander off selfishly into conversations about what directors and films you like, nor should you discuss sh*tty directors most thoughtful people do not care for, like Bay and M. Night, aka Alfred Hitchc*ck Jr.
Rambo writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:43:21 PM

1.Steven Spielberg-most of his best movies happened when he was yonger
2.Steven Soderberg-f*cking hate this guy.all his movies are boring.
3.Paul Greengrass-learn how to hold a camera.
4.Guilermo del torro-article already spoke.
5.Robert Rodriguez-sin city was great but he sucked in almost everything else.
6.Quentin Tarantino-i find a big chunk of his movies boring
7.Clint Eastwood-much better actor then a director.
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:50:21 PM

"And the Dark Knight is probably the most over rated movie ever. People talk about it like it's Christ on film, and I thought it was pretty good, and entertaining the first time around, but for my it doesn't really stand up to multiple viewings."

About f*cking time someone showed some balls.

TDK was one of the most unbelievably over-rated mediocre films I've ever seen. Nolan deserves his praise, or more, for all his other films for sure, even though Inception was hardly the mental tongue-twister everyone claimed.

In fact, the ideas within Inception were downright pedestrian, and you can list all four of them, along with a simple definition, with anal lube ease.

And the second Transporter film was easily the worst of the franchise. Sure, the Hulk reboot was better than Lee's green gargantuan film, but I can hardly name a worse big-budget film than 2003's Hulk.

On the flip side, the first Transporter, Unleashed and Clash of the Titans were not terrible films, but this guy really isn't pulling his weight and needs to deliver something groundbreaking before I can even remotely consider him as a serious director. All his films are either comical and/or fantastic. I mean, this is the Frenchman who decide to make one of the more badass action heroes a homosexual....

"I don't know if Edgar Wright is over rated, but Hot Fuzz definitely was."

The problem with Hot Fuzz, besides the lack of genuine humor, was that after Shaun of the Dead's unexpected but mild success, I think right began to take his work far too seriously. Hot Fuzz thinks it's a Lethal Weapon, instead of an unfunny Loaded Gun sequel.
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 3:59:40 PM

Clint Eastwood is technically a good director, but why do all the films he directs suck? I mean, his only two likable films, where he directed, are Changeling and True Crime.Eastwood took 'Play Misty for Me' directorial praise and thought, oh sh*t, I'm an awesome director too.

Is Eastwood over-rated? I don't think so, but I do think his fame as an actor bled into his directorial career, and I think people felt obliged to lavish his generous with undeserved merit simply because they loved his work as an actor.
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 4:02:39 PM

As an aside, just how in hell does Paul W.S. Anderson get work? Judging by his past abominations, you'd think his career would have shriveled up and died long ago, yet someone somewhere likes this guy. So he's not over-rated, but apparently under-hated for sure.
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 4:03:43 PM

his generous=him generously
Phil writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 4:45:11 PM

Brett Ratner... seriously. WP give me a break will ya. Rush hour and X men: last stand weren't any works of art.
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 5:37:29 PM

Mink

Eastwood Film's (he directs) Suck other than True Crime and Changeling , I have to disagree with that....

Out Law Josey Wales
Absolute Power
Unforgiven
Mystic River
A Perfect World
HeartBreakRidge
The Gauntlet
Million Dollar Baby
Pale Rider
Gran Torino

All better than True Crime and Changeling IMO.

Outlaw Josey and Unforgiven are regarded as 2 of the best Western films ever made, the man knows his genre in front of and behind of the camera.


"I do think his fame as an actor bled into his directorial career, and I think people felt obliged to lavish his generous with undeserved merit simply because they loved his work as an actor"

Sure that opened the door for him to become a Director but i think he has earned the respect and praise he gets now with the body of work he's made as a director.

But It's all about opinions and thats why people (selfishly sometimes like now)end up talking about movies off subject.

But I always respect what anyone has to say on here , But sometimes you can't always agree i guess.
Rambo writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 7:26:03 PM

Changeling was superb until the last act which felt flat and unsatisfying...and Million Dollar Baby was below average imo
DHRecords13 writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 7:50:25 PM

1. Zach Snyder
2. Joel Schumacher
3. JJ Abrams
4. M. Night Shyamalan
5. James Cameron
Inception writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 7:51:20 PM

Every director that gets 100 million dollars or more to make just a movie.
DHRecords13 writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 7:51:35 PM

there are certainly more directors that deserve to get roasted on here but those 5 piss me off more than "wow" me
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 9:24:59 PM

Why would anyone believe Chris Nolan is overrated?

I didn't like The Prestige, but still the guy has managed himself pretty well.
blinkbomber writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 9:43:48 PM

i can't believe anybody would think that Nolan is overrated.

my pick is wolfgang peterson. i'd say he's overrated in the sense that studios keep handing him these huge films and he just makes them with this "eh" feeling. but hey, that's just me.

plus i just brought him up cuz i dont think i saw anyone else mention anything about him. obviously the most overrated is w.s. anderson. but to me peterson giving him some competition.
FBO writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 10:33:37 PM

Oh and George Lucas is overrated too
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 26th, 2010 at 11:45:17 PM

I've always said that Del Toro could never direct a good film that was in English. Devil's Backbone and Pan's Labyrinth are awesome, but agreed he's nothing truly amazing. However, despite Abrams' few credits, his two movies are amazingly directed and as for creativity, you only need to watch a few episodes of Alias, Lost, or Fringe to see how that man's mind works (you'll see, but you won't understand).

As for overrated directors:
Jon Favreau (Iron Man is overrated and that's the only reason why he's known, people forget he's the dude that wrote Swingers, he needs to be WRITING not DIRECTING)
Francis Ford Coppola (The Godfather, the Conversation...and...?)
Gus Van Sant (Good Will Hunting...anything else? Milk sucked)
George Lucas (yes Star Wars is absolutely fantastic in every way...but he only directed four of the six, three of them being the new trilogy and other than these he has two other directorial credits)
Clint Eastwood (taking Mystic River out of the equation, the only good movies he's directed are the ones he's also starred in, otherwise his directorial efforts are pretty weak, he has Ken Watanabe to thank for Letter from Iwo Jima)
M. Night Shymalan (the fact that he's still considered an A-list director is beyond me he hasn't shown an iota of talent in a decade)
James Cameron (for the same reason that everyone has)

Don't hate:

Martin Scorsese (Granted the dude does great when he's in his genre like Goodfellas and Departed. But half the dude's repertoire is overrated as hell: Taxi Driver, Casino, Shutter Island, Cape Fear. Despite having directed the two greatest crime/gangster films in probably cinematic history, he hasn't done much to catch my eye other than that. Most of it falls flat. I don't have anything but love for the man that is Scorsese, but people put him too high, he deserves a pedestal but it's much lower)
c-prime writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 1:09:55 AM

@ murphyslaw93: Regarding Gus van Sant, there's "Finding Forrester". Excellent movie.

And shame on you for not adding the word "c*ck" to the sentence "'Milk' sucked." Sure, it's redundant, but I can dig a cheap laugh. Ha ha.
c-prime writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 1:18:22 AM

@ minkowski: Nice to see you're back. For good, I hope. You made several good points (especially regarding Paul W.S. Andersuck). But I must proclaim that I am one of the few people out there that liked "Transporter 2". Its faults don't even scratch the surface of the egregious third installment. Not the best movie on Leterrier's résumé, but I found it exceedingly more enjoyable than "Clash of the Titans". (You just know you're in a trainwreck when Liam Neeson and Ralph Feinnes can't come to the rescue.)
Tournesol writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 5:54:21 AM

OVERRATED:
Pedro Almodovar (extremely extremely overrated)
Quentin Tarantino (nice director but...)
Woody Allen (funny movies, not brilliant)
Neil LaBute (extremely boring director)
Tim Story (why him directed "Fantastic Four"??)
Michel Gondry
Brett Ratner (apart from "Red Dragon" and "Family Man")


I disagree with yours opinion about:
J.J. Abrams
Christopher Nolan
David Fincher
Clint Eastwood (overrated!)
Steven Spielberg (overrated!)
Ridley Scott
Tony Scott
Michael Bay
M. Night Shyamalan
John McTiernan
James Cameron
Paul Greengrass
Guillermo del Toro
Jon Turteltaub
McG (in "Charlie's Angels 1" and "Terminator")
Adamtheflash writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 6:47:53 PM

Putzman must've wrote the above portion. If you like X3, you should be shot in the face.
steamluv writes:
on September 27th, 2010 at 6:58:30 PM

Chris Columbus!! I HATE the ways his movies look. It feels like I'm watching an episode of Xena but wait, oh no, I'm watching the first Harry Potter. I feel like I'm watching a sitcom and not a big budget movie. Did you SEE Perry Jackson and the Lightning Thief?! He's getting sh*ttier and sh*ttier, but he still gets hired. f*ck! Someone smack this guy!
seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 8:40:09 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved