WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Five Directors Considered for "Superman" Reboot

Posted: September 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Five Directors Considered for "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting that Warner Bros is planning to make a major announcement regarding their DC characters in about four weeks. By then the studio will already likely know who will be directing the upcoming "Superman" reboot.

Christopher Nolan and Emma Thomas have already started meeting with a short list of helmers, including Tony Scott (Enemy of the State, True Romance), Matt Reeves (Let Me In, Cloverfield), Jonathan Liebesman (Clash of the Titans 2, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning), Duncan Jones (Moon) and Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300).

Scott and Liebesman will likely not be able to take the job since they are busy working on other projects. Snyder recently said he has no idea how to make "Superman" happen. This leaves Reeves and Jones, who are both great choices.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:08:32 AM

Duncan Jones please

Moon was f*cking fantastic
Rambo writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:10:11 AM

what?no Joe Johnston?
Crazyhorse writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:11:40 AM

How about Christopher Nolan, you do it, or talk Richard Donner back into doing it again
GambleBDJ writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:14:18 AM

Hell yeah i hope jones takes the job. although i feel reeves would be good as well. Hell no to liebesman and scott though.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:29:44 AM

REEVES!!!!!!
CCBlev writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:38:27 AM

Reeves, Jones, Snyder, any of them and i'll be happy.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:41:47 AM

How about considering a good script first ?

Oh, and no kid in this one.
CCBlev writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:55:14 AM

but Max we gotta have the kid he was the best part. lol
velocityknown writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 8:05:01 AM

I'd want Matt Reeves, most proven and has the best resume out of that group.

Really, though, with Jonathan Liebesman and Tony Scott? Jesus, I hope not.
Contagion writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 8:17:51 AM

Duncan Jones lacks the experience. Moon was great but we didn't see his true potential. Give the film to Snyder, the guy really knows how to adapt a comic book.
AYT BALL writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 8:22:43 AM

Gotta say jones!
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 10:31:58 AM

Duncan Jones would be my pick.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 11:04:18 AM

Duncan Jone would be my choice, I don't think he lacks experience, he's done plenty adverts and Moon was good plus same could be said of many great film makers that they hadn't made many movies before. I think Jones will do well.
Blood_Ice-Cream writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 11:19:48 AM

1. Snyder (PLEASE!?!?!)
2. Reeves (Only if Snyder wont)
3. Jones (meh, if the other two can't/wont.. Moon was good, so i wont mind)

at least David S. Goyer isn't on there.
are they actually serious about; Liebesman and Scott?... i f*cking hope not
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 12:51:49 PM

Max is right (as usual)... SCRIPT/STORY FIRST!!!

And in a month when they announce, they'll 'likely know'?! WTF DC... get the pickle outta yer ass AND DO SOMETHING WITH THIS AL-f*ckING-READY!!!

And there's another 'Reeves'?!

George Reeve.
Christopher Reeves.
Matt Reeves.

May as well go with Matt... his name fits... lol.

Drop the Lois angle.
LOSE that f*cking kid!!!
GET SERIOUS with this... BATMAN serious! NOLAN SERIOUS!!!

f*ck!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 1:17:11 PM

And solve the f*cking costume issue. I know that his costume is iconic and sh*t, but it just doesn't work. Either he come clean about who he is or put in some effort in disguising yourself.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 1:25:39 PM

I have faith that Nolan has half a brain, so Snyder won't have a shot.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 1:28:38 PM

They're not changing the look of Superman because YOU can't suspend disbelief. It's been working for 70+ years, they're not changing it now.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 1:31:57 PM

@Freudian - I like the costume. I think if they spent more time of Supes being Supes and a lost less time wasting his time being Clark Kent, it could be out and about doing a lot more Super stuff. Lose Clark altogether as far as I'm concerned. Make us believe he is an alien that has taken it upon himself to protect our planet and area of space. That 'humanizing' side they keep burying us with sucks (IMO).

Go Supes or Go Home!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 1:52:40 PM

@Ranger: That would be perfect if they can do that, it would actually be the best solution.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 1:57:40 PM

And either a major fight to the death (planet wide... solar system wide) with Solomon Grundy (for a 1 movie storyline), or what appears to be that trilogy story floating around about he being the last survivor on Earth.

But they REALLY need to take the greatest super hero ever a LOT MORE seriously.

All Supes movies have done their bit to get us there.

George Reeves brought Supes from comics to TV.
Christopher Reeves introduced comics to movies.
Routh/Singer (I liked a lot of things they did, technically) - did a better job then they're given credit for.

NOW... bring in alien Kal-El to do his mountain-moving sh*t in big time!
batdump writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 2:04:47 PM

no, Reeves seem too have bad luck after working on Superman. George... mysterious death, Christopher... Steven Hawkingized, Matt...? lets not leave it to destiny and just keep him off this one.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 2:25:44 PM

I think they should use one more Reeves on a Supes project just to confirm a curse vs. a fluke.
triggax writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 3:20:46 PM

Whats with the Tony Scott hate?

Top Gun... Days of Thunder... f*cking True Romance...

He'd be the best choice... mix it up..
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 3:52:01 PM

Don't forget The Last Boy Scout, Crimson Tide, Enemy Of The State and Man on Fire.

The guy always makes a soild action/thriller IMO, not sure how he would do with Superman maybe he would have him using guns with both hands flying in slow mo .....

GambleBDJ writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 4:45:41 PM

I have no hate for Tony Scott. True Romance is one of my favorite films. but his style as of late does seem like it would fit in the superman universe. just my opinion anyway.
LEONCIO writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 4:48:53 PM

I don't see Scott's style fitting well in a Superman movie tbh, and Snyder abuses slow-motion too much, maybe Nolan could tell him to stop that sh*t (some slow-motion is ok, but not for half of a f*cking movie). I liked some things in "Watchmen" and hated some others, so I don't know if he would be good for a Supes film...

About Jones, "Moon" was good, but it was just his first movie and not exactly a big budget movie with lots of (very expensive) fx like this, but maybe with Nolan's support it could work fine (and with Clint Mansell's score it could be even better, he is going to make the music for Duncan's second film too after having composed the score for his first one, this could be a long collaboration like the one he has with Aronofsky). And the same could be said about Reeves, I guess.
GambleBDJ writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 4:55:11 PM

*doesnt
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 6:08:02 PM

When you have a character like Superman, who can do damned near anything with ease, who prances around like a gay a Green Lantern instead, that tells me that whoever writes the cinematic story lines simply does not understand Superman at all.

Get Grant Morrison and Jeph Loeb to write the story. Get Goyer and Nolan to write the screenplay. Shoot Singer through the skull. Get Nolan to direct. End of problems.

And no more gay looking Superman characters. I simply cannot see Brandon Routh getting all fired up, muscles bulging in righteous rage, like Superman does in the graphic novels.

Routh looks like a boy-toy model, not a brawny super-alien here to save us from the universe's most evil villains. He's way too small and way too effeminate looking. He looks like he'd want Lois Lane to change his underroos and have her bake him some cookies. He's not masculine looking enough. Superheroes are supposed to look...super, and Superman is supposed to look the most super of all.

WB only used Routh because they didn't have the balls or legal justification to move away from the Reeves movie memorial material. They had to get a guy that could emulate Reeves.

That's over with! Time to look fresh and new, this isn't the f*cking 70's anymore. Find a guy that has the steel jawed look and who can act. Have him work with a fitness trainer. Get uber-buff. Do it right!
LEONCIO writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 6:42:33 PM

"Get Grant Morrison and Jeph Loeb to write the story."

f*ck NO. I don't want Superdog or Superpony on this movie, and Loeb already had his chance with "Smallville". Those 2 guys have made some great comics, but their vision of Superman is too pre-crisis for my tastes and for Nolan's, just take a look at his Batman, he doesn't want Robin on his films, can you imagine Bat-Mite in "Batman 3"?... XD

And like someone else said somewhere else where this news were posted too, Snyder should direct "The Flash", his constant slow-motion style would fit perfectly. XD
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 6:54:48 PM

@Mink - good post. I'd give up Routh for the reasons you stated alone. re: Memorial 'stuff' with Singer's/Routh's version... exactly!

I think we'd all benefit were they to 'balls-up!' and make Supes more the alien he is. Tough Kryptonian heart... he wins some, loses some (he can't be everywhere at once), he takes a bit of heat for some of the decisions he makes, etc. Flies through the sun to clean his costume. Sits on the moon, looking back at Earth pondering. The way they have limited him to (mainly) Metropolis sucks balls! WHO THE f*ck would commit a crime in SUPERMAN'S HOME TOWN?!?!?!?

@Trig - a better movie would have been True Romance f*cking! (be honest... yes?).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:26:03 PM

minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 6:08:02 PM

When you have a character like Superman, who can do damned near anything with ease, who prances around like a gay a Green Lantern instead, that tells me that whoever writes the cinematic story lines simply does not understand Superman at all.

Get Grant Morrison and Jeph Loeb to write the story. Get Goyer and Nolan to write the screenplay. Shoot Singer through the skull. Get Nolan to direct. End of problems.

And no more gay looking Superman characters. I simply cannot see Brandon Routh getting all fired up, muscles bulging in righteous rage, like Superman does in the graphic novels.

Routh looks like a boy-toy model, not a brawny super-alien here to save us from the universe's most evil villains. He's way too small and way too effeminate looking. He looks like he'd want Lois Lane to change his underroos and have her bake him some cookies. He's not masculine looking enough. Superheroes are supposed to look...super, and Superman is supposed to look the most super of all.

WB only used Routh because they didn't have the balls or legal justification to move away from the Reeves movie memorial material. They had to get a guy that could emulate Reeves.

That's over with! Time to look fresh and new, this isn't the f*cking 70's anymore. Find a guy that has the steel jawed look and who can act. Have him work with a fitness trainer. Get uber-buff. Do it right!


@mink

I agree with you on Morrison. But you'd have a better chance of him adapting The Invisibles for a major movie picture than seeing DC approve of his penmanship on the script.



*****

seperate issue :

Did you see D(epth) P(erception) review Wall Street Deux : Michael Never Died ?

I didn't know he could review movies after his bedtime.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:28:18 PM

CCBlev writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 7:55:14 AM

but Max we gotta have the kid he was the best part. lol


It's the Banksy paradox :

What ? No kryptonite condom ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 8:26:54 PM

Like Minkowski, I have some problems with this whole Superman revamp :

a. Superman is based on the time it he was created. Updating him is not going to work. He is almost a pulp novel character, in regards to being more associated with the time period, ever before Captain America. Albiet the very crude sfx that was the first Superman, Donner kept the story's essence based on the original theme and time (in regards to the innocence, but also the unmeant campiness, especially Hackman's Luthor).

b. Superman III, IV and Superman Returns never should have happened. Especially Superman III, if not the other two. Richard Pryor's character was designed strictly for humourous purposes and the Atari tie in (the Superman III video game where you would shoot missles at Superman) was bullsh*t.

c. The Costume. Brian Singer tried to make the suit look more like the same (or better) as Batman's (in Batman Begins),but everyone who loves the suit hates the suit because it looks like he's wearing laundry stained underoos outside his longjohns.

d. Kevin Spacey .... if I wanted kitchy-camp in Lex Luthor, I'd hire Nathan " boa wearer " Lane. He lather so much camp on Luthor, I had to take two showers to wash it off.

e. Superman CAN'T GO DARK. THEY f*ckING TRIED TO DO THAT sh*t IN THE COMIC " ELECTRIC SUPERMAN BOOGALOO, ANYONE ?? " and it doesn't last very long, because of the moralistic material he is derived from. Batman ? Absof*ckinglutely. Diana Troy ? Perhaps. Amazonian warriors can go cold to get the job done. Green Lantern ? Parralax anyone ? Green Arrow ? Those years in prison can make one mean sumabitch (to quote the only Reynolds worth listening to right now : Burt) ... but Superman ? Nope. He's got to be the Boy Scout (and not in the ousting gay troopers way).

IF THEY DON'T HAVE A SCRIPT GOOD ENOUGH TO HELP TRUERED&BLUE FANS OF SUPERMAN FORGIVE (IF NOT FORGET) SUPERMAN III, SUPERMAN IV AND THE STAR TREK V OF THE SUPERMAN TITLES, SUPERMAN RETURNS, THEN IT DOESN'T MATTER IF f*ckING ORSON WELLES CAME OUT OF THE TOMB, DIRECTED IT AND DID IT WITH TOP SHELF ILM EFFECTS, IT STILL BE A WEAK PILE OF sh*t AND SHOULD BE CALLED : SUPERMAN : The Nail (in the Coffin).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 8:29:56 PM

Routh looks like a boy-toy model, not a brawny super-alien here to save us from the universe's most evil villains. He's way too small and way too effeminate looking. He looks like he'd want Lois Lane to change his underroos and have her bake him some cookies. He's not masculine looking enough. Superheroes are supposed to look...super, and Superman is supposed to look the most super of all.

WB only used Routh because they didn't have the balls or legal justification to move away from the Reeves movie memorial material. They had to get a guy that could emulate Reeves.



I'm surprised at the way that WP had such a f*cking attitude with the founders who created Superman that they didn't have Routh ride a wheelchair and talk through a tube throughout the whole movie (ESPECIALLY WHEN HE WORE THE SUIT).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 8:31:28 PM

I heard that without M Douglas and J Brolin (and even S LaDouche's acting, which is actually good) that WS 2 : Moviegoers Never Get To sh*t ... that the movie sucks.

Even with C Sheen's botox moment.
jigsaw23 writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 8:36:29 PM

one of the nolans
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 8:51:36 PM

jigsaw23 writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 8:36:29 PM

one of the nolans


Exactly.

Jonathan Nolan; Andrew Kevin Walker; John Milus (if he hasn't retired and moved to Fiji); David S Goyer ... but I'm afraid they're gonna get some third-tier rewrite since this isn't BATMAN and you'll get Superman VI : The Snuff Film with Jimmy Olsen.

... if they bring Doomsday out to kill off Superman, I'll be f*cking pissed and tell 'em they f*cked up majorly.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 11:32:06 PM

@jigsaw23 Which one? Coleen? I'm in the mood for dancing...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZWdDSQh3yak
whoever writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 12:03:56 AM

I would like to see the Spierig brother have a shot at this.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 12:21:02 AM

come on jones!! cant wait for this reboot!
rabid writes:
on September 25th, 2010 at 12:03:41 PM

Last night's Smallville premiere got me pretty excited about seeing this reboot. I hope WB is considering all their options on this one. They lose the rights to film Superman in 2013, and the only legal way they could keep it going past then is to make it an extension of the Smallville show.
I know the idea of bringing welling to the screen might normally seem farfetched, but in this case it may be the only good option they have, since all of its films rights are legally grandfathered in, and sequels could be made from it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved