WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Rob Zombie to Direct "The Lords of Salem" Horror Film

Posted: September 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Rob Zombie to Direct "The Lords of Salem" Horror FilmSubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting that Rob Zombie (Halloween, The Devil's Rejects) has set up "The Lords of Salem" as his next helming project. Zombie will write the script while on his upcoming concert tour, and will shoot next year.

The horror thriller is set in contemporary Salem, where the inhabitants receive a demonic visit from a 300-year old coven of witches. Zombie came up with the premise several years ago, but is only now returning to it. He was initially planning to remake "The Blob," but got tired of being compared to other filmmakers and thus abandoned it.

"I wanted to break away from anything related to preexisting material," he said. "The remake train is getting pretty tired now and when I made 'Halloween,' everybody complained, either that it was too much like the original or too different. I like that people either love or hate what I do because it's better than being in the middle, which means forgettable. But when you do an original premise, they take it on face value and after three years of not being able to win on 'Halloween,' I just couldn't go through that again."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 4:17:39 AM

Dont really care what the haters think, his Halloween remake was tight. I even liked the second one. Try watching the original Halloween now, and you'll see how stupid it is.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 4:22:47 AM

@vdoson- it may have/is been stupid, but I prefer the not knowing why he was like that, it was/is alot scarier when you don't know why.
VDODSON writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 4:25:23 AM

In the original they made it seem like Michael was some sort of spirit. I thought by adding a human side to him it made his acts seem much more gruesome. Sort of like how its possible for someone to turn out that way, and commit those acts in real life.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 4:27:11 AM

I see that what you mean..but I am sticking with the originals..the remakes were ok for remakes..but just felt they were gruesome for gruesome's sake.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 4:57:59 AM

thank you Zombie for taking a huge steamer on the Halloween franchise... by killing EVERYONE in H2... f*cking awful film... his first Halloween was pretty badass but WTF were you thinking in H2... "told you i didn't wanna do a sequel so now that I'm doing it... I'm going to f*ck with the audience... WHITE UNICORN" ... Seriously? your lucky i love The Devils Rejects or I would of completely written you off.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 4:58:52 AM

I agree the original Halloween is an amazing classic
GambleBDJ writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 5:17:10 AM

House of 1000 corpses- Pretty good. Devils rejects- best horror film of its year. H1 (remake)- pretty good. H2 (remake)- the worst halloween and one of the sh*ttiest horror films of the last decade. Rob zombie could be A (not the) master of horror if he sticks to original pieces of work.
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 6:00:29 AM

Nice Picture ...

When was Lohan in one of his movies....

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 7:55:12 AM

trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 6:00:29 AM

Nice Picture ...

When was Lohan in one of his movies....


trailer-

If it is, I did'nt recognise her, looks like she cleaned herself up and got off of the drugs.
Ari Gold writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 8:19:04 AM

I find it funny how he uses the names of his songs for movies.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 8:53:42 AM

"After 3 years of not being able to win on 'Halloween'..."

Yeah, well, Rob, that's cuz your movies f*cking sucked. Instead of focusing on suspense and atmosphere, which is what made the original Halloween a masterpiece and a great horror film to begin with, you threw in some terrible actors, bizarre white-trash hillbilly characters, and over-the-top violence, and your god-awful wife leading a white horse around.

Anyway, the original Halloween is a classic, and shouldn't have been touched by either sequels or remakes.

Hopefully, now that Zombie is focused on his own material again with "Lords of Salem", we can get something as good or better than "Devil's Rejects".
gotsghostrider writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 10:18:24 AM

If he keeps up with the movies based on his songs the next one we'll see is Jesus Frankenstein or more likely Werewolf Women of the SS (granted the song was written after he did the trailer)
Peter Parker writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 10:44:27 AM

I wasn't aware that Rob and Julia Roberts were such good friends...
lawman writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 11:12:02 AM

I personally am a huge fan of Rob. However, H2 was not as good as it could have been. H1 was awesome though. Side note, did anyone notice that in H2 when michael left the car accident it took him a f*cking year to get back to the town. Now if I am not mistaken, they only drove for a few hours! What kind of engine was in that f*cking coroners truck that it took that motherf*cker a YEAR to travel back that distance? I dont care what kind of terrain your hiking and how many hillbillies you have to hack your way through, how is it even possible to get that far away from Haddonfield in a few hours!
Sev writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 11:20:59 AM

His Halloween films were a load of sh*t.
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 12:45:31 PM

Sounds good to me.
And I'm with you VDodson, the director's cut of Halloween was an awesome film.
Unfortunately the watered-down monstrosity they showed at the theaters was not and kind of ruined the film's credibility.
This plot sounds like it's right up Zombie's alley though. I'm all in.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 12:51:25 PM

The horror thriller is set in contemporary Salem, where the inhabitants receive a demonic visit from a 300-year old coven of witches. Zombie came up with the premise several years ago, but is only now returning to it. He was initially planning to remake "The Blob," but got tired of being compared to other filmmakers and thus abandoned it.


300 YEAR OLD WITCHES, HUNH ? THEY GONNA LOOK LIKE BETTE MIDLER, SARA 'HORSEFACE' JESSICA PARKER AND KATHY NAJIMY ??? BECAUSE YOUR PREMISE IS ALMOST SIMILAR TO THAT MOVIE :

The film tells the story of a Halloween-hating teenager named Max Dennison, who frees three witches, The Sanderson Sisters (who have put a teenage boy named Thackery Binx from colonial Salem, Massachusetts under a spell to live forever as a black cat), from their temporary death and must risk his life to defeat the witches and break the spell so Binx may reunite with his family in the heavens.

EXCEPT THAT THEIRS WAS FUNNY ON PURPOSE.
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 12:52:10 PM

lawman, it didn't really take him a year to walk back. He made a home and holed up until the following Halloween, because their family can only be complete in Hell if Laurie is murdered on Halloween night.
Rambo writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 1:06:04 PM

will his wife take his family name?
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 1:55:23 PM

@lawman
yeah seriously i thought it was beyond retarded how Michael became "into the wild" Christopher McCandless style... and grew a grizzly adams beard and hiked the countryside... WTF?!
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 2:52:45 PM

Would you rather see Michael Myers walk into a Walgreens and massacre everyone just to get a pack of Gilette razors?
realgirl76 writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 3:09:59 PM

This is just a wild guess, but do you think it will star Sherri Moon Zombie?? She makes those chicks on Scream Queens look like Oscar contenders...
batdump writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 3:19:35 PM

house of 1000 corpses sucked, Devils Rejects was Aamazing, Halloween was better than the original (didnt like original or really the remake) and didnt bother with H2 but heard it was horrible. lets not forget el superbeasto... not the greatest. good for a laugh but thats about it A laugh... he should stick to designing sets for Peewee Herman. Devils Rejects rocked my socks though...
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 3:24:26 PM

Halloween was a re-imagine not and then ending to that one was a solid stamp "BANG!" H2 was a big f*ck you for wanting a sequel


SPOILER SPOILER






HE WAS SHOT IN THE f*ckING HEAD!
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 3:33:19 PM

I am glade hes doing this then the blob but what the hell happened to Tyrannosaurus rex?
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 4:35:04 PM

@rabid
i rather see him kill everyone at a barber shop for a bear of scissors to cut his straggly beard... no other serial killer has issues with a beard... you never see jason rocking a beard under his hockey mask? its just completely unnecessary... yeah you can say "oh its realistic" but come on its a horror movie about a guy who literally never actually dies... theres no need for a gigantic beard

@Anung
hes not doing the blob? the article above clearly states:

"He was initially planning to remake "The Blob," but got tired of being compared to other filmmakers and thus abandoned it."
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 7:02:18 PM

Fire & Water. Freddy and Jason don't have hair follicles!
DeadRobot07 writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 4:16:27 AM

Ted Mosby, I really doubt Mr. Zombie cares if you written him off or not and I'm guessing you didn't like that he killed everyone in H2 but didn't he kill everyone in The Devils Rejects. The movie of his you "love." The Halloween remakes were awesome but if you don't like then watch the originals. It's not like Rob Zombie burned them all and is forcing you to watch his!
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on September 24th, 2010 at 5:38:00 AM

Although Malcolm played the part very well, i dont think RZ used loomis character the right way. Also it was rare for Michael 2 not use a stabbing technique. but i thought the head smashing was pretty cool. H2 was a good movie but it had alot of the side story with the dam horse. which kinda killed it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved