WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Arnold Schwarzenegger in "Terminator Genisys"
Oct 31st, 2014
Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 31st, 2014
Seth Rogen is Steve Wozniak in Steve Jobs Biopic, Starring Christian Bale
Oct 31st, 2014
First Look at "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Oct 31st, 2014
"Terminator Genisys" Storyboards Tease a Massive Battle Scene
Oct 31st, 2014
New Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Oct 31st, 2014
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder on "300" Sequel and "Superman" Reboot

Posted: September 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder on "300" Sequel and "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
LatinoReview caught up with director Zack Snyder and had the chance to ask him about the "300" sequel and whether Warner Bros ever approached him to helm the "Superman" reboot.

Snyder said that "Xerxes" is not a prequel to "300," since it takes place during the same three days, and that he is about half-way done with writing the script for the movie, which will be in 3D.

"It takes on the exact same three days as Thermopylae," he explained. "There was a sea battle, called the Battle of Artemisium. And [in] that battle the Persian fleet met a small fleet of Greek ships and over three days they battled. In the same exact three days. Even though the Greek fleet was destroyed, the Persians were turned back from that advance. It's a similar story."

He continued: "It centers around a character called Themistocles, who really was a democratic and free cat from Athens who was into true democracy, not Spartan democracy. So, it's his story. He survives that battle, unlike Leonidas, and is able to regroup his forces at Salamis. And Salamis is at the end of the movie where Salamis is the final defeat of the Persian fleet. It kind of starts a bit before '300' and goes a little passed that."

We recently reported that Guillermo Del Toro turned down the chance to direct the "Superman" reboot, and now, Snyder has added that he turned down the gig as well. "I think we talked about Superman a long time ago," he recalled. "I'm a fan. I don't know what's happening with it now. I just wasn't sure how to do it."

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:45:45 AM

Snyder was one of my top picks for directing Superman. The guy is a visual genius, and continues to pop out great flicks. I dont care what anyone says, Watchmen was f*cking great, best movie intro ever.
trailertrash writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:49:30 AM

I agree i liked the Watchmen as well

Not sure on Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole though , It will look good if nothing else.
coolguy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:50:38 AM

@VDODSON

completely agree
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 6:09:06 AM

@vdodson- with you on second comment.

Would ahve been fun to see his Superman movie.
Supersweetguy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 7:13:35 AM

@VDODSON: I agree with you. It would be amazing to have Zack Snyder partner with Chris Nolan in directing the Superman reboot.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 7:53:33 AM

We recently reported that Guillermo Del Toro turned down the chance to direct the "Superman" reboot, and now, Snyder has added that he turned down the gig as well. "I think we talked about Superman a long time ago," he recalled. "I'm a fan. I don't know what's happening with it now. I just wasn't sure how to do it." ...

At least he's f*cking honest about not having an idea yet on how to resurrect the Superman franchise. And at least he isn't having to bullsh*t a story of Supes fighting polar bears near the Fortress Of Solitude, battling a giant spider near Metropolis or having a f*cking kid with Lois *blink* ... wait, wasn't the last one part of a f*cking failure of a movie called Superman Returns ?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:40:56 AM

He knows what he is talking about with Themistocles as well. he gets my backing for this film
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:01:50 AM

300 sequel please for the love of f*ck.

and as for the superman reboot I would love DC to give it to someone off the cuff. No matter who makes it it is not going to make money give it to the Wachowski bros....er brother and sister team Im sure they will f*ck it up proper
wutang4ever91 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:18:31 AM

Snyder's career: 300, Watchmen, Legend of Guardians

Gay, gay, gayer.

either make a good movie or stfu and stop f*ckin trying
Rambo writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:23:42 AM

'watchmen' had a lot of style but little substance and why the f*ck superheroes in this movie are so depressed???that blue d*ck Manhattan was pathetic...
SACdaddy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:40:23 AM

I kind of hope Snyder can hook up with RZA and Russel Crowe on their samurai martial arts film. Now that would be a badass movie!
Bunny X writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:47:34 AM

So what I'm getting is that we get a 300 sequel that's more of a "side-quel"? Well if I wanted to see Persians get their asses handed to them by a bunch of Spartans, I'll just go watch 300 again.
CCBlev writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 10:05:24 AM

Snyder does have some great visuals.
DOLAN writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 11:04:49 AM

Hopefully they address Brody's obvious logic from "Mallrats".

"He'd have to use a Kryptonite condom- but that would kill him."

300 2 on water?? Ummm, not sure about that one. "This! Is! A Life Preserver!" Pass, thanks.
Salvador writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 11:40:58 AM

@DOLAN: I agree.

Though Snyder deserves a chance.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 11:41:03 AM

best news so far... f*ck superman
coldplayesence writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 12:21:05 PM

@Rambo: The guys were depressed because that's kind of the point of the whole thing. They've been forced to give up on their stuff and now they're just useless tools (like Manhattan, Adrian and the Comedian) or simply uselss (like the other ones, except Rorschach, who was a sociopath lol)
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 12:46:39 PM

With Snyder and Del Toro out, DC/Warner Execs should just ask Nolan out right to direct the Superman Reboot. Pay the man what he wants and give him free reign to deliver. He can "Godfather" himself, whatever that means. I'm sure that boxes of kleenex will be involved.
Longo12 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 3:09:00 PM

The Watchmen was way too different from the book
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 4:26:00 PM

The 4 MAJOR problems with Superman Returns that I can think of off the top of my head:

1. Lois Lane was way too young. She would have been 18 when their son was born, which would have been before she even met Clark! (Smallville included, and Erica Durance looked way too old to play a 19 year old Lois when she first appeared.)

2. As well as being too young Kate Bosworth was AWFUL as Lois! She was totally bland, no personality at all really. They need to hurry up and cast Courteney Cox(-Arquette) before she gets too old and plastic. She'd be perfect for Lois as she looks (moreso pre-surgery) and sounds similar to Margot Kidder and her role as Gale Weathers in the Scream movies were a good "audition" for Lois as they're both fearless reporters.

3. Brandon Routh not being given enough dialogue scenes as Superman. He did a great job mimicking Christopher Reeve as Clark Kent so why didn't they give him more dialogue as Superman too?

4. Superman carrying an entire island made of Kryptonite into space? WTF???!!! So he can barely move when given a Kryptonite medallion in the first Superman movie yet in this one he can withstand an entire island full of it? LMAO!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 6:47:08 PM

How the f*ck does latinoreview get so many interviews.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 7:49:17 PM

Big_Daddy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:01:50 AM

300 sequel please for the love of f*ck


Did you say for the love of f*cking? Amen brother! :-)
masht7 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:25:12 PM

As much as Im a fan of Zack Snyder, I don't want him to direct the Superman Reboot. Superman dosen't need to be all about visuals, just action, nothing more. I'd like to see Chris Nolan's brother directing, see what he's like in the director seat.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved