WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Terminator Genisys" Super Bowl TV Spot, Plus New Poster
Jan 30th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Super Bowl TV Spot
Jan 30th, 2015
Photos: Get a Better Look at Indominus Rex From "Jurassic World"
Jan 30th, 2015
"Minions" Super Bowl TV Spot
Jan 30th, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Insurgent" Super Bowl TV Spot
Jan 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ted 2" is Here!
Jan 29th, 2015
"The Strangers 2" Gets Director and Plot Synopsis, to Shoot This Spring
Jan 29th, 2015
"Snow White and the Huntsman" Sequel to Bring Back Only Two Dwarves
Jan 29th, 2015
Brad Pitt in Talks for "Africa," Directed by Angelina Jolie
Jan 29th, 2015
Emma Watson is Belle in Disney's Live-Action "Beauty and the Beast" Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Kevin Spacey to Play a Cat in "Nine Lives" Comedy
Jan 29th, 2015
Poster for Dwayne Johnson's "San Andreas" Earthquake Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Disney Wants to Reboot "Indiana Jones" with Chris Pratt
Jan 28th, 2015
Liam Hemsworth Offered Lead Role in "Independence Day" Sequel
Jan 28th, 2015
"Ghostbusters" Reboot Found Its Female Cast
Jan 28th, 2015
Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 28th, 2015
First Poster for "Ted 2," Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jan 28th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 5," "Friday the 13th" and "Paranormal Activity 5" Get New Release Dates
Jan 28th, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Jan 27th, 2015
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Magazine Covers, Opening Scene Revealed
Jan 27th, 2015
Fox Confirms "X-Men" TV Series in the Works
Jan 27th, 2015
Joss Whedon Hints He Won't Direct "Avengers: Infinity War"
Jan 27th, 2015
First Look at Michael B. Jordan in Costume From "Fantastic Four," Trailer Coming Today
Jan 27th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Ridiculous 6" Netflix Film Unveils First Details
Jan 27th, 2015
Trailer for RZA's "The Man With the Iron Fists" Sequel
Jan 27th, 2015
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder on "300" Sequel and "Superman" Reboot

Posted: September 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder on "300" Sequel and "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
LatinoReview caught up with director Zack Snyder and had the chance to ask him about the "300" sequel and whether Warner Bros ever approached him to helm the "Superman" reboot.

Snyder said that "Xerxes" is not a prequel to "300," since it takes place during the same three days, and that he is about half-way done with writing the script for the movie, which will be in 3D.

"It takes on the exact same three days as Thermopylae," he explained. "There was a sea battle, called the Battle of Artemisium. And [in] that battle the Persian fleet met a small fleet of Greek ships and over three days they battled. In the same exact three days. Even though the Greek fleet was destroyed, the Persians were turned back from that advance. It's a similar story."

He continued: "It centers around a character called Themistocles, who really was a democratic and free cat from Athens who was into true democracy, not Spartan democracy. So, it's his story. He survives that battle, unlike Leonidas, and is able to regroup his forces at Salamis. And Salamis is at the end of the movie where Salamis is the final defeat of the Persian fleet. It kind of starts a bit before '300' and goes a little passed that."

We recently reported that Guillermo Del Toro turned down the chance to direct the "Superman" reboot, and now, Snyder has added that he turned down the gig as well. "I think we talked about Superman a long time ago," he recalled. "I'm a fan. I don't know what's happening with it now. I just wasn't sure how to do it."

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:45:45 AM

Snyder was one of my top picks for directing Superman. The guy is a visual genius, and continues to pop out great flicks. I dont care what anyone says, Watchmen was f*cking great, best movie intro ever.
trailertrash writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:49:30 AM

I agree i liked the Watchmen as well

Not sure on Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole though , It will look good if nothing else.
coolguy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:50:38 AM

@VDODSON

completely agree
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 6:09:06 AM

@vdodson- with you on second comment.

Would ahve been fun to see his Superman movie.
Supersweetguy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 7:13:35 AM

@VDODSON: I agree with you. It would be amazing to have Zack Snyder partner with Chris Nolan in directing the Superman reboot.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 7:53:33 AM

We recently reported that Guillermo Del Toro turned down the chance to direct the "Superman" reboot, and now, Snyder has added that he turned down the gig as well. "I think we talked about Superman a long time ago," he recalled. "I'm a fan. I don't know what's happening with it now. I just wasn't sure how to do it." ...

At least he's f*cking honest about not having an idea yet on how to resurrect the Superman franchise. And at least he isn't having to bullsh*t a story of Supes fighting polar bears near the Fortress Of Solitude, battling a giant spider near Metropolis or having a f*cking kid with Lois *blink* ... wait, wasn't the last one part of a f*cking failure of a movie called Superman Returns ?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:40:56 AM

He knows what he is talking about with Themistocles as well. he gets my backing for this film
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:01:50 AM

300 sequel please for the love of f*ck.

and as for the superman reboot I would love DC to give it to someone off the cuff. No matter who makes it it is not going to make money give it to the Wachowski bros....er brother and sister team Im sure they will f*ck it up proper
wutang4ever91 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:18:31 AM

Snyder's career: 300, Watchmen, Legend of Guardians

Gay, gay, gayer.

either make a good movie or stfu and stop f*ckin trying
Rambo writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:23:42 AM

'watchmen' had a lot of style but little substance and why the f*ck superheroes in this movie are so depressed???that blue d*ck Manhattan was pathetic...
SACdaddy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:40:23 AM

I kind of hope Snyder can hook up with RZA and Russel Crowe on their samurai martial arts film. Now that would be a badass movie!
Bunny X writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:47:34 AM

So what I'm getting is that we get a 300 sequel that's more of a "side-quel"? Well if I wanted to see Persians get their asses handed to them by a bunch of Spartans, I'll just go watch 300 again.
CCBlev writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 10:05:24 AM

Snyder does have some great visuals.
DOLAN writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 11:04:49 AM

Hopefully they address Brody's obvious logic from "Mallrats".

"He'd have to use a Kryptonite condom- but that would kill him."

300 2 on water?? Ummm, not sure about that one. "This! Is! A Life Preserver!" Pass, thanks.
Salvador writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 11:40:58 AM

@DOLAN: I agree.

Though Snyder deserves a chance.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 11:41:03 AM

best news so far... f*ck superman
coldplayesence writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 12:21:05 PM

@Rambo: The guys were depressed because that's kind of the point of the whole thing. They've been forced to give up on their stuff and now they're just useless tools (like Manhattan, Adrian and the Comedian) or simply uselss (like the other ones, except Rorschach, who was a sociopath lol)
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 12:46:39 PM

With Snyder and Del Toro out, DC/Warner Execs should just ask Nolan out right to direct the Superman Reboot. Pay the man what he wants and give him free reign to deliver. He can "Godfather" himself, whatever that means. I'm sure that boxes of kleenex will be involved.
Longo12 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 3:09:00 PM

The Watchmen was way too different from the book
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 4:26:00 PM

The 4 MAJOR problems with Superman Returns that I can think of off the top of my head:

1. Lois Lane was way too young. She would have been 18 when their son was born, which would have been before she even met Clark! (Smallville included, and Erica Durance looked way too old to play a 19 year old Lois when she first appeared.)

2. As well as being too young Kate Bosworth was AWFUL as Lois! She was totally bland, no personality at all really. They need to hurry up and cast Courteney Cox(-Arquette) before she gets too old and plastic. She'd be perfect for Lois as she looks (moreso pre-surgery) and sounds similar to Margot Kidder and her role as Gale Weathers in the Scream movies were a good "audition" for Lois as they're both fearless reporters.

3. Brandon Routh not being given enough dialogue scenes as Superman. He did a great job mimicking Christopher Reeve as Clark Kent so why didn't they give him more dialogue as Superman too?

4. Superman carrying an entire island made of Kryptonite into space? WTF???!!! So he can barely move when given a Kryptonite medallion in the first Superman movie yet in this one he can withstand an entire island full of it? LMAO!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 6:47:08 PM

How the f*ck does latinoreview get so many interviews.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 7:49:17 PM

Big_Daddy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:01:50 AM

300 sequel please for the love of f*ck


Did you say for the love of f*cking? Amen brother! :-)
masht7 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:25:12 PM

As much as Im a fan of Zack Snyder, I don't want him to direct the Superman Reboot. Superman dosen't need to be all about visuals, just action, nothing more. I'd like to see Chris Nolan's brother directing, see what he's like in the director seat.

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"

Tim Roth Says He Almost Returned as Abomination in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split Into Two Parts?

Michael Moore Hates "American Sniper," Says Snipers are Cowards

"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved