WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Justice League of America" Movie May Never Happen

Posted: September 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Justice League of America" Movie May Never HappenSubmit Comment
IGN caught up with Diane Nelson, President of DC Entertainment (combination of Warner Bros and DC Comics), who revealed that DC is not copying Marvel's strategy and that a "Justice League of America" movie is not currently being planned.

"People make an assumption that we're going to mirror Marvel's strategy, for example with 'Avengers,'" said Nelson. "We do have a very different attitude about how you build a content slate. And it isn't necessarily about connecting those properties together to build into a single thing. We think we've got great stories and characters that will lend themselves to great standalone experiences, and that's the way we're focusing on it."

She added: "There is not a single thing we've done that has been reactive to Marvel from the creation of DC Entertainment to today. People can speculate, but they are wrong."

Question: Are you more excited about Marvel's (Thor, Captain America, The Avengers) or DC's (Green Lantern, Batman, Superman, Flash) slate of movies?

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
shayhiri writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:22:44 AM

GREAT!!

This was the stupidest nerdest sh*t anyway.
Goober3000 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:44:57 AM

im cool with experiencing both sides of the coin! Solo super hero movies and combined super hero movies. The super hero thing is definetly a movie fad right now and will most likely die out eventualy...and then resurface later...again. Whatever hollywood sucks
coolguy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:53:38 AM

haha avengers will sh*t all over JL. hope they dont make a justice league film
Haze writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 6:00:16 AM

im way more excited for DC, marvel characters all suck IMO
HISNAMEISROBERTPAULSON writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 7:06:43 AM

lol the guy with the star trek pic says this is nerdy! lmfao
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 7:46:05 AM

Question: Are you more excited about Marvel's (Thor, Captain America, The Avengers) or DC's (Green Lantern, Batman, Superman, Flash) slate of movies?


With everything wrong that could happen from a Marvel franchise, they at least never put prosthetic nipples on a superhero suit.

And with that being said, Marvel never hired Brett Ratner to f*ck up a franchise royally.


Frankly, I'm just happy to see the exceutives who handle these properties tie their shoes right and are able to walk one foot in front of the other.

If they don't, you get :

Batman & Robin
Spiderman 3
Daredevil
Elektra
Superman Returns
Blade : Trinity
Ghost Rider
Wolverine : Origin
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:07:32 AM

I'm loving this news.

DC films (post 2005) have always been decent, which gives them the higher ground and more credibility.

Marvel films (post 2005) have been nothing but mindless summer blockbusters for the popcorn masses and toy-buying children and man-children alike.

It makes sense for Marvel to do all this superhero shield sh*t; They'll get huge sales on toys, video games, norton anti-virus software, burger king, dr pepper, and whatever-the-f*ck else Marvel whores itself out to.

As for DC, they focus more on the characters in their films. "But Spooky, didn't you say that the Green Lantern script sucked?!" Yes, I did, but that doesn't mean that Hal Jordan is as one-dimensional as Tony Stark. I mean, I discovered I have the second draft, how many rewrites could there have been?

Anyway, DC movies continue to increase in quality, while Marvel films continue to keep going downhill to a point where they don't even try to hide the fact that their movies are toy advertisements (Thor, Captain America, and Iron Man 2's suits all look plasticky and/or fake and/or stupid, like a f*cking action figure).

Finally, as I've stated before: Nolan's batman doesn't belong grouped up with the flash and green lantern and sh*t. The dark knight is set in the real world, not this cartoony cgi bullsh*t land of Marvel.
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:47:13 AM

HISNAMEISROBERTPAULSON writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 7:06:43 AM
lol the guy with the star trek pic says this is nerdy! lmfao


LOL. Now thats funny shiz

And when is Hollywood going to realize that they need to move over to some more of the Image titles ?
I would love to see a youngblood, MAXX or youngblood or Wild C.A.T.S or youngblood or Deathblow or youngblood or wetworks
BigUnit writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:04:28 AM

DC to be honest, well christopher nolans Batman 3 at least ;)
Rambo writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:18:30 AM

And in 1 week WP will write:"Justice League of America" may still happen!"
wutang4ever91 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:24:02 AM

They should do DC vs Marvel
Bunny X writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:44:01 AM

DC would be so much better off if they would hand over the Live action superhero movies to their Animation team. They've been immersed in the content for almost 2 decades and know it better than anyone else. If they were in charge of the live actioners, they would take a collective dump over anything Marvel puts out.
sc_kg writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 9:58:15 AM

Thank god.
CCBlev writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 10:14:36 AM

Batman 3 is all I care about.
DOLAN writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 10:34:26 AM

DC= Missing the point.

Comic fans buy both solo and group books because they enjoy both dynamics equally. This all-or-nothing, "we're not looking to copy Marvel Studios" stuff is nonsense and totally arrogant. Look at DC's "The Brave and the Bold" or "World's Finest" books/cartoons- Batman is one of the most beloved solo characters, yet both mediums successfully team him with random different DC characters.

These comic book/movie conversions need to tighten up, otherwise we all bail and go for a walk instead.
shayhiri writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 10:59:09 AM

I didn't know my av was from Star Trek.

I agree that if there is anything nerdier than American superheroes, that is indeed Star Trek.

I chose the av only because it featured some stupid and funny looking blackberry.

I hope Marvel and DC go to hell and take all their stables of faggots in tights with them.
Inception writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 11:29:34 AM

f*ck all of these Superhero movies, they are now like an endless f*cking lohag disease.
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 12:10:47 PM

@shay - lol. I have no problem with your avatar... but it is a character from decidedly the worst Star Trek franchise ever.

Deep sh*t 9.

The ONLY good episode they had was 'Trials and Tribblations' whereby they went back into time and did a near seamless re-visit of Kirk and Spock's close encounter with those furry creatures (no... not Uhura's Swahili bush).
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 12:11:58 PM

As for this thread's topic:

"Justice League of America" Movie May Never Happen" (closing quotes missing WP... fire Stevie Wonder as your proof-reader!!!).

Short reply: 'No sh*t!'

Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 12:16:49 PM

DC is pacing themselves (correctly) and want to see positive results from their standalone characters first with GL, then Flash, WW etc. Nolan's "godfathering" the Superman Reboot and his 3rd Batman instalment are likely promises of great things ahead for both these franchises. There is no point in doing a clusterf*ck JLA movie because there is a wealth content still to be made with solo movies. You could never do character origins justice by broadly introducing them in a 2 hour JLA movie since the vast majority of moviegoers don't know what the hell is a Martian Manhunter.
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 12:22:21 PM

@Shay

LOL

I believe its now nerdier that we knew that
batdump writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 12:49:07 PM

Im fine with them not doing a JLA movie. I love DC characters, and I like that they are trying to improve individual characters and the animated films are doing great things for teams and such. Lets not mess with a good thing. Marvel sucks a big one. Xmen 3 sucked, Spiderman 2-3 sucked, F4 sucked... and then they keep rebooting their characters just a few years later... get the hint, ur characters suck. Ghost Rider? Daredevil? Elektra?

quit making third stringer movies unless u know how to do it. DC is much better at it... V for Vendetta was Great

also spend some effing money. letting go of Terrence Howard, Edward Norton, almost Samuel L., and not having Favraeu direct avengers are dumb moves because u dont wanna spend the extra cash on quality.
Amadeus writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 4:03:08 PM

it would be a disaster
hau-hau-hau-hau!
rabid writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 4:09:32 PM

WB movies might work as standalone characters (Batman does, Superman-no), but I have a feeling they just don't know how to create a shared universe. The Avengers origin story is so much more organic and sensible than the way the JLA banded together.
The JLA cartoon did the origin story better than the comic ever told it, but without spending a fortune on films that would probably flop, it's not that feasible to bring them all together. It's a shame really.

But DC's not out of the game. They have a slew of other marketable comic properties that exist outside the shared universe: Constantine, Swamp Thing, the Authority, Lobo. I really wouldn't mind seeing an Elseworlds movie like Red Son or Dark Knight Dynasty.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 4:15:29 PM

wow news is getting better an better I like batman but Marvel is making something exciting... GL looks stupid im going to laugh when it flops at the box office
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 4:41:17 PM

Bullsh*t! George Miller was even about a week away from making the movie at one point, lol! (I think the original CGI movie idea was cool, just look at The Incredibles.)
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 4:43:33 PM

In case it wasn't clear my previous message was in reply to this part of the article:

"People make an assumption that we're going to mirror Marvel's strategy, for example with 'Avengers,'" said Nelson. "We do have a very different attitude about how you build a content slate. And it isn't necessarily about connecting those properties together to build into a single thing. We think we've got great stories and characters that will lend themselves to great standalone experiences, and that's the way we're focusing on it."
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 4:49:24 PM

does anyone on this blood thing read comics??! cause Batman is the lest cartoony of DC, and its the only one they have been able to adapt to the screen cause of that and that he's f*cking human with no powers... it seems that once WB bring a character with superpowers the f*ck it all up.

now I the Dark Knight that everyone has a f*cking hard on for, was a great movie but if your going to judge every comic movie off that one you just want to have disappointment... esspecaly with DC cause most of there character are out of this world Fantasy and the big problem bring them to the screen is every film maker trying to make them in the real world when they just need to be believable and have some good f*cking writing with them. so if your going to picking these apart just because these dont match up to the "films" you like you better find something else to watch!
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:04:25 PM

Ethr u typ rely fst, ur Enlsh is'nt ur furst languge!

But your point is well taken.

The reason that the 'cartoony' super heroes (with super powers) don't come off well on the big screen is because comic people don't make them. And even if they are (comic collectors/readers) like Singer, the studios interfere and tie their hands with budget restraints or with script development (just to say (out of ego) they hand a hand in said development.

Superman could be a FANTASTIC movie... IF the studio cared, financed it properly, stayed out of the creative process, had a comic fan for direction, etc.

That 3-story Supes story floating around where he's the last survivor on Earth would be a fab trilogy! So would a planet-wide (solar system-wide) battle to the death (that's RIGHT BITCHES... SUPERMAN FINALLY KILLS SOMEONE!!!) with Solomon Grundy (or he kills Supes). Instead they keep NOT taking Supes seriously and cranking out that mushy Lois wet spot, bullsh*t!
Champ1432 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:13:02 PM

@Ranger: DS9 worse than ST: Enterprise? I don't know, never thought Enterprise was really any good, DS9 had some pretty good episodes, I think it got better as it went along.

On topic: How many more times are we going to get these articles going back and forth. It will happen, it won't happen, it will happen. In the end, I hope it does, I think it would be neat to see, and I'd rather see a JL movie than an Avengers movie honestly. I just think the individual team members are more interesting in the JL than in the Avengers.

And just stop with all the "Nolan's Batman doesn't fit". Yeah, the movies are great, probably the best superhero movies to date, but they're not so transcendent that the character can't be teamed with other heroes. Batman is always a loner, but as others have said, he's been teamed with others before in comics with no problem.
rabid writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:26:47 PM

Nolan is done with Batman after this net film, so the next director's Batman may be a perfect fit.
Martian Manhunter could bridge the genres of superaction and horror. Aquaman could do the same. Get off the formula films WB. Stop making movies by committee.
Blood_Ice-Cream writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 5:54:12 PM

Question: Are you more excited about Marvel's (Thor, Captain America, The Avengers) or DC's (Green Lantern, Batman, Superman, Flash) slate of movies?

Answer: DC! at least they don't go for cheap options, and DC films are [normally] good.
hdale04 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 6:43:05 PM

Not Thor for sure...and Captain America? Hmm...that one's never been done well so I'm not sure about how to feel...it'd be cool if he got his day finally. So on the Marvel side I'm definately looking forward to The Avengers. The DC side? Always look forward to Batman...GL Should be interesting, Superman...I can't imagine one being better than the original with Christopher Reeves, and Flash...I'm more curious than excited...
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 6:43:58 PM

I dont care!!! can we just have good movies with good stories, characters, and special effects!!
hdale04 writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 6:46:20 PM

oh and for the record, a Justice League movie would be lame.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:05:13 PM

Hypothetically, if there were a JLA movie (as opposed to a JSA movie) there would be only two stories remotely interesting :

Justice League: Cry for Justice

or

Earth 2

* Now Blackest Night would come a close third, but then you've got to f*ck around with the entire DC Universe (like Kingdom Come) and you only want to deal with the Justice League ...

You're more likely to see a reboot of Barb Wire with Heather Elizabeth Parkhurst (http://www.babewarehouse.com/images/models/97/1418_main.jpg) or Amber Heard, then you'll see the Justice League live action movie.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:08:42 PM

I'll admit that I'm much more of a Star Trek fan then a Star Wars fan.

Despite that admission, I never did see ST:Enterprise.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:20:51 PM

It also could never work because of a point well taken by Spooky Cupcake : Batman is defined as a superhero by the 'universe' of Direct Comics. But if we were to recatagorize Batman based on reality, he actually would be the Punisher of the Direct Comic universe with the funds (note : Punisher had built up money in his engages, which he used to buy ammunition and supplies to use on his future Punishments, with help from Micro(chip), who acted as his arms dealer/purchaser and financier/money manager). He is a vigilante and if there were a "marvel knights" for DC, he would be the first one there, followed by Deathstroke and Vigilante. He could even assimilate to the Vertigo line, as he has dealt in his past with magic and occult figures, while he was in the Mystery series. He is the epitome of a hero with a realistic possibility, that doesn't have his powers infused from birth, mythology or alien technology (within the Justice League). And he is the ultimate STRATEGIST of the team, since he has to not only take out criminals in Gotham and Arkham Asylum; various supervillians in the DC Universe AND run Wayne Enterprises. He has taken the TIME, MONEY and EFFORT to train both mind and body. And it has been proven in the JLA past that he can take out the entire team if he CHOSE to.

JLA Movie ? Not with Batman in it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:21:56 PM

^

Correction : Batman = Punisher + Iron Man

Vengeance meets technology
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:23:47 PM

@Horror Junky 4 Life ...

http://wwwsexycelebfeet.com/d/925-2/Jolene-Blalock-nude-Vulcan-TPol-naked-Star-Trek-Enterprise-series.jpg

View at your own peril (of popup sites)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:25:49 PM

^ This will give you less hassle.

http://gaynip.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/tpolmiss-jolene-blalock.jpg
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:25:52 PM

@Champ - fair enough. I never saw enough of either, but what I saw of DS9 was crap (except the episode with the Tribbles and Kirk and Spock), and Enterprise I liked mainly because of Bakula... and as a big Trek fan even lost interest in that series (they were moving the storyline alone too slow - ie: no people in the transporter as only one example). But DS9 must have had good episodes to keep it around that long. Enterprise just never found a solid audience.

I miss Gene.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:29:53 PM

Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:25:52 PM

@Champ - fair enough. I never saw enough of either, but what I saw of DS9 was crap (except the episode with the Tribbles and Kirk and Spock), and Enterprise I liked mainly because of Bakula... and as a big Trek fan even lost interest in that series (they were moving the storyline alone too slow - ie: no people in the transporter as only one example). But DS9 must have had good episodes to keep it around that long. Enterprise just never found a solid audience.

I miss Gene.


@ Ranger

And his wife. She was cool as Deanna Troi's mom from that Ecstacy planet where everyone is nude ...

Speaking of Enterprise, if you type in T Pol nude, you'll find that backside shot of Jolene Blalock ....

mmmmmm T Pol, me and Seven of Nine in the HoloSexSuite ..... Karma Sutra Star Trek Sex
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 8:31:27 PM

Bruce Wayne could f*ck up the entire DC Universe if he wanted to.


emonne writes:
on September 22nd, 2010 at 11:35:45 PM

looking forward to both, but one set has chris nolan...
Green Mist writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 9:32:26 AM

Who the f*ck needs these *ssholes flying in tights anyway.
Champ1432 writes:
on September 23rd, 2010 at 4:37:22 PM

@Ranger

Amen to that. R.I.P. Gene

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved