WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Town" Tops Box Office This Weekend

Posted: September 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Town" Tops Box Office This WeekendSubmit Comment
Ben Affleck's "The Town" won the domestic box office crown this weekend by grossing slightly under $24 million. The film cost $35 million, which means that "The Town" will easily make its money back and that Affleck can be trusted with bigger budgets. "Gone Baby Gone" took in $20 million domestically on a $19 million budget.

Coming in second place is "Easy A" with $18.2 million. The Emma Stone comedy already earned back its $8 million budget. M. Night Shyamalan's "Devil" settled for third place with $12.5 million, which is on the low end of projections. Directed by John Erick Dowdle (Quarantine), the thriller cost an estimated $10 million to make, which already makes it a success.

Finally, the other wide release "Alpha and Omega," grossed only $9.2 million which was good enough for fifth place. Lionsgate claims that the 3D animated film performed as well as expected.

During the weekend, several films also hit theaters in limited release, including "Never Let Me Go," "Catfish," "Jack Goes Boating," "Leaves of Grass" and "The Freebie." Out of those, Mark Romanek's "Never Let Me Go" performed the best by grossing 165,000 from only 4 theaters. "Catfish" also did well with $255,000 from 12 theaters. Both films will likely expand soon.

Click here to read our "The Town" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
-Chewy- writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 6:16:11 PM

Ben Affleck is slowly getting my respect again. Good job.

...and Emma Stone is hot.
Rambo writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 6:45:29 PM

"The Town" will easily make its money back and that Affleck can be trusted with bigger budgets"

please god no

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 7:10:31 PM

I was going to see "Devil" this weekend but had to work. Hopefully I'll be able to catch it this Friday.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 7:22:40 PM

Ben deserved to beat the dogsh*t out of M. Night in the opening weekend.
jigsaw23 writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 7:25:56 PM

agreed Max
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 7:35:50 PM

A hundred bucks says Affleck gets a crack at the next Marvel film
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 7:36:52 PM

*works cheap, proven success, good long-standing relationship w/ Marvel
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 7:38:38 PM

I wonder which premiere Joaquin Phoenix went to, his brother-in-law's or his ex-boyfriend's?
CCBlev writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 10:51:07 PM

Emma I love you!!!!!!!1
johnny_boy writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 11:15:32 PM

Can't believe Easy A made that much. I really wanted it to bomb but no biggie nonetheless.
JohnZee writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 11:46:23 PM

f*ck I'm starting to think that Affleck has a chance to develop into a better director than his buddy Kevin Smith.
BigUnit writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 11:56:10 PM

well deserved
Ranger writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 1:40:52 AM

Another reason this movie did so well is because it WASN'T OPENING WEEKEND FOR THE EXPENDABLES!
telur writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 2:36:35 AM

well, Matt Damon always better than Ben Affleck
SACdaddy writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 9:17:56 AM

This just goes to show how starved we are for decent (non-CGI) action films. The Town is an OK film that's getting more credit than its worth simply do to lack of competion and creativity in the industry. If it would have come out 10-15 years ago it would have just been another HEAT ripoff that didn't live up to its predecessor's hype. Now we're so depleted of decent action films that The Town (like The Expendables) is just a breath of fresh even if its wildly unoriginal and underachieving. My kudos go to B-fleck for at least reminding us all of the good old Point Break/Heat days and for crushing the new M. Night Shamadouche POS.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 9:19:30 AM

"breath of fresh air" LOL
OneTime writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 10:22:36 AM

it was good..
Salvador writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 10:47:52 AM

Wow!

"Gone Baby Gone" is really a good movie, I think Affleck is better director than actor. No doubt "The Town" is a winner this weekend.
Ranger writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 2:25:12 PM

@SAC - well said.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved