WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Town" - What Did You Think?

Posted: September 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Town" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Ben Affleck's latest helming effort "The Town" is now in playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes, the movie has a whopping 93% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the film is a great heist flick. I personally felt that, while "The Town" is incredibly entertaining with a great performance by Jeremy Renner, it was too similar to "Heat," both in story and action scenes.

Come back on Sunday to see how "The Town" performed in theaters.

Click here to read our "The Town" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bunny X writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 7:01:47 AM

Caught this early thanks to my hubby. I'll honestly say that yes it is a lot like Heat and although it's not the greatest hiest film, it was damn well entertaining. The ending was a bit meh in my opinion but I'm still ok with it. Affleck did a pretty good job on this both in front and behind the camera but you can see where he needs to improve.
I'm in total agreement that Renner's performance was incredible. It's usually easy and predictable for an actor to be the loose cannon bad seed. You see it in every movie. But Renner did this one justice.
The movie did a great job of pulling you in to its world from begining to end. That's one of rare qualities I look for in a film. I'll credit Affleck and the cinematography for that one.
I'll go 3.5 - 5
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 8:12:54 AM

I might check it out.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 8:18:16 AM

Seen the trailer and read about it, sounds like a movie I will enjoy, so will definetly check it out.
Valerie writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 8:59:16 AM

Fantastic movie, and woah at Blake Livley, so the bitch can actually act, never saw that coming! Shame her role was underwritten.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 9:04:54 AM

Saying that this movie is "too similar to 'Heat'" is not exactly a checkmark in my negative column. If anything, that gonna make me want to see it even more. With all the recycled garbage that comes out all the time that rips off from current movies, I'd much rather see a good movie that rips off a great movie from 15 years ago. Maybe everybody will finally stop giving Affleck so much undeserved sh*t now.
BigUnit writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 9:48:32 AM

half a star away from being a great movie.
Blueprint413 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 9:49:10 AM

I've had growing respect for Ben Affleck since Gone Baby Bone (GBG) and his performance in State Of Play, but man...he did really well in this. Not only did he take on the starring role, he directed it... and wrote it, which I had no idea about until the credits rolled. Pretty incredible coming from a guy who's acting career took some pretty heavy hits.

Everyone is clamoring about Renner and rightfully so. Dude was bad news. He was ferocious in some scenes and a lot more believable as a killer than anyone else in the movie. He's got that 1000-yard stare down.

Valerie makes a great point. Blake Lively acted her ass off in that movie. She was on par with Amy Ryan in GBG, which isn't surprising, given Affleck's direction and it being in Boston again. Plus, she's just wicked hot, so it wasn't too hard to watch.

The one knock on this flick, if there could be one, was Jon Hamm and it breaks my heart to say it, because I've never missed an episode of Mad Men. That show obliterates anything else on tv. Although there were some scenes that made him believable as a cop and blurred lines, but everytime I saw him on the screen, I kept wondering when he was gonna man-handle some 22 year old or start smoking 10 cigarettes. He had many times to step up and just never seemed like he was there. He was the cop that nobody wanted to win, though, so maybe that's why I wasn't into his character.

This movie made me wanna rob a bank more than any heist movie. There were really artistic moments amidst all the mayhem and the emotional ties between the characters were genuine and well-done. I do hate the Red Sox, so it was tough watching all the Baaahsten fandom, but this movie was tight. I needed to be woken up yesterday and this movie delivered.




PS: Good to see Putman can actually write a decent review.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 11:02:06 AM

Ok this is a decent action film full of well done performances. Its well written, with great pacing and never really has much downtime. I enjoyed it, but honestly, its lack of originality almost overshadows all of it positive aspects. It's not "too similar to HEAT", it has scenes lifted right from it. In fact, there's not a Irish gangster film or bank robbery movie this film hasn't somewhat stolen from. And this whole notion of the killer/robber with a heart is getting extremely tired. It single handedly killed The American and it really cheapened this film IMO. There are too many headslapping moments in this movie (and The American) where the nice machine gun-toting bank robber asks his supposedly tramatized girlfriend to WAIT FOR ME or RUN AWAY WITH ME. We've seen this a billion times before, and frankly its getting real tired. I know the story needs some kind of arc to it but does it have to be the same sh*t EVERY time? Don't get me wrong, this is still a decent film, I'm just saying it was better the first few time I saw it. The films its modeled after like Killing Zoe, HEAT, Point Break, State of Grace, and The Departed are light years better.

BTW, Renner was pretty good as the loose cannon. He's still no Joe Pesci (Goodfellas/Casino), Gary Oldman (The Professional/State of Grace, Eric Bana (Chopper), or Mel Gibson (any day of the week).

6.5/10
acreshakers writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 11:42:48 AM

Memo to Ben Affleck: Keep up the good work 'behind' the camera!! The Town was awesome! Gone baby gone awesome! Whatever you do jeep J LO away from any of your movies! Thx!
Bunny X writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 12:52:04 PM

sidenote @SAC, kudos on the avatar, I JUST caught on to Eastbound & Down and I'm kicking myself for not doing so all this time. I guess I'm kind of glad though since I didn't have to wait all that time between seasons 1 and 2.
jigsaw23 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 5:45:40 PM

till have yet to see it, but it is nice he is taking a step up from chick flicks
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 11:17:04 PM

I heard Affleck directed the f*ck out of this movie (in a good way).
captnhowdy writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 11:59:36 PM

i agree with one of the comments about the ending not being so great.

all in all, the movie was pretty good considering the last movie i seen was the recent resident evil (3d). the movie lacked considering the amount of hype surrounding it, the only movie that lived up to its hype this year was Inception.

maybe the novel (prince of thieves) was better, considering that not to many movies derived from books are doing the litature any justice ie The Road.

murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 12:40:07 AM

Great, entertaining heist film. Similarities to Heat, yes, but to other heist, crime films too. Not much as far as originality, but solid performances and great direction. Affleck is impressing more and more with his directorial efforts and I was never one to hate on Affleck even when his string of films included Surviving Christmas, Sum of All Fears, Paycheck, and Gigli, I always respected the guy and hoped he would bounce back and he definitely has with directing and with acting (his performance in the Town is strong). He also is great at getting true performances, Renner, Hamm, and Lively are all great. The brief appearance of Chris Cooper and a new accent from Pete Postelwaithe are also warm welcomed. The action scenes are brutal and well edited, the script and ending are the only iffy parts. Hoping for Renner to get another Oscar nod this year, he's deserving of it.
Rodan writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 4:17:04 AM

captnhowdy, I really liked the The Road movie but I may have to pick up the book based on what you just said. Also been meaning to read Blood Meridian for awhile now. And I will definitely read that one before they make a movie out of it because based on what I've read, no movie could measure up. Just out of curiosity, who is on your badass avatar? The mustache is throwing me off.
trailertrash writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 8:26:24 AM

Rodan- Looks Like Charles Bronson , not sure what movie though.
Rodan writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 10:46:36 AM

trailertrash, that's what I thought at first, but I definitely missed whatever movies he sported the stache in.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 11:32:43 AM

BTW, the trailers before this film were some of the worst I've seen in a while. Johnny Depp and Angelina Jolie might be the worst pairing of talent ever, and I'm sorry that Bale/Marky Mark boxing film looks TERRIBLE. I've never seen an actor screw-up an accent so man times in so many ways as our great thesbian Mr. Bale. And this New England inner city Irish accent he's going for might be the absolute worst I've ever heard. There's no doubt that it will be a huge struggle to get past this bullsh*t accent and ruthless overacting and still find a decent film underneath. Its too bad, the story behind Irish Micky Ward and his brother is a good one. It would have been great to see a capable American actor get Bale's part. Sam Rockwell or (I can't believe I'm saying this) David Caruso would have been perfect.
captnhowdy writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 1:34:59 PM

@roden
yeah that is charles bronson.

and do pick up the road, its one of the best books ive read so far, blood meridian is awesome too ive read it twice, and sometimes pick it up to read in some ( there are stories told within the novel, Also when u decipher the spanish that will also blow ur socks off lol) chapters.

the only movie that spoke to me that was derived from a novel was "no country for old men", i read the book also and that in itself expands on the stories characters ie the one played by tommy lee jones.

cormac mccarthy is touted as one of the best living writers in this generation.

James Lipton T-Bag writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 3:02:25 PM

I'm going to watch this probably tonight.

I've heard very good reviews of Ben's directional sophmorical film, so I am looking forward to watching it.

I also heard that the shoot-out was the most realistic ever staged for film.
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 3:46:20 PM

BigUnit writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 9:48:32 AM

half a star away from being a great movie.



??? Are you a third grade teacher, giving out stars ?

It's either good or not.

Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 4:04:38 PM

Sick f*cking movie!
James Lipton T-Bag writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 6:58:11 PM

I really enjoyed this movie. The cinematography was splendid, giving it a cross between Ridley Scott and Blue Thunder. The acting was extremely solid. I have to give an extra bravo to Hamm and Renner. They played their characters to the hilt. The shootout scene was the best I've seen since Predators 2, with the cops shooting it out with gang members at the beginning of the movie and I have to admit the ending was a bit flat, but since Gone, Baby, Gone, Affleck has shown he can not only write superb scripts with solid dialogue, as shown for the Academy Award for Good Will Hunting, but that he also can do a great job directing.

My only concern is when he is offered a script about a subject outside of Boston (for which he has based his two directorial films and the Hunting script). If he keeps to his format, he shouldn't have any trouble adapting it to other genre.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on September 21st, 2010 at 9:11:19 PM

I really really enjoyed this movie! My only problem was the TERRIBLE ending in the last two minutes of the film. It didn't ruin the movie for me, but god damn it was lame.

SPOILER BELOW (KIND OF):


Was anyone else reminded of the Shawshank Redemption at the end? I loved the movie until the super cheesy ending.
bill the butcher writes:
on January 22nd, 2011 at 9:17:40 AM

pete postlethwaite was amazing
jeremy renner made me forget hurt locker
jon hamm was like the riddler playing games with blake lively but the look on his face spoiler alert
when renner gets shot was perfect sick at the loss of a human life
chris cooper was hard as nails
when i saw gangs of nw york i wanted to see a prequel about day lewis and liam neeson
after watching the town i would love to see a prequel about postlethwaite and cooper

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved