WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spartacus" Star Andy Whitfield's Cancer Returns

Posted: September 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spartacus" Star Andy WhitfieldSubmit Comment
Andy Whitfield, star of Starz's "Spartacus: Blood and Sand," has been advised by his doctors to immediately resume aggressive treatment for a recurrence of cancer, as a result of which he will not be returning for the series' second season, which was tentatively set to air in September 2011.

"It's with a deep sense of disappointment that I must step aside from such an exceptional project as 'Spartacus' and all the wonderful people involved," said Whitfield. "It seems that it is time for myself and my family to embark on another extraordinary journey. Thank you sincerely for the support so far."

No decisions have yet been made about the future of the series. "Right now, we just want to extend our concern and support to Andy and his family," said Starz. "We will address our programming plans at some later date."

It was back in March when Whitfield began treatment for Non-Hodgkin lymphoma, delaying the second season of the show. Starz still plans to air the prequel to "Spartacus: Blood and Sand," entitled "Spartacus: Gods of the Arena," in January 2011.

Source: Starz


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 5:33:43 AM

so sad...
lebowski writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 6:46:29 AM

this is so wrong.hope you get better soon andy.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 7:53:06 AM

Never seen Spartacus and never likely too, but I will say, I hope he get's well soon.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 7:58:10 AM

I don't follow Spartacus, but i have seen bits of it, and it is pretty cool.

I hope he beats this thing, it is a terrible thing to go through.

And i hope the producers will do the right thing and wait for this guy. I am sure the rest of the cast will be willing to do the same. Because he is pretty good in the role
Derp88 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 8:13:28 AM

Cancer is such a spiteful disease,good luck Andy
trailertrash writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 9:16:41 AM

Get Well Soon Fella...
Stuntastic writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 9:41:09 AM

Cancer sucks major donkey d*ck. I think the guy from Dexter also had it too and now Michael Douglas has it. It's really sad, but I hope they can beat it
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 10:37:34 AM

bummer dude, take the time to get better... i dont care how long the wait is for this show its awesome, and i dont want to see any one else play his role.
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 12:39:07 PM

Same as some of you... I've only seen a little bits of "Spartacus: Blood and Sand" - and it does look fantastic.

Chin up Andy... you'll beat this!
dwight writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 6:24:46 PM

Sapartacus is the bomb! along with Legend of the Seeker, and Merlin. The camera angles for the fight scenes are sick! Puts Hollywood to shame. I hope he gets better, and if he doesn't I hope he tries some kind of alternative treatment cause Spartacus must return.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 6:37:29 PM

He oughta f*ck Big Eunuch and Fag Daddy in the ass, so he can give it to them.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 7:22:36 PM

^ Oh. And get well soon.
Tyrkae writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 7:52:29 PM

Ya this was THE best action show on TV last year and wow with 1 to 2 Epic fights each episode this was a great show with a supurb Villian i wish him all the luck hope he can return to spartacus in time for Sept 2011 season
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 10:25:48 PM

^ Oh. And get well soon.

lol... priceless!
asylum writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 12:49:52 AM

This is very sad. He was great in Spartacus and was the best show on tv this year. If this show goes on without him, it will not be the same. I hope Starz waits to film for a 2012 release. He has deserves that much. He acted his damn ass off on that show.
Mudders writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 4:12:29 AM

we just gettin first series here in new zealand at the moment and itsa pretty good watch and he's an awesome actor too....

hope for the best
trailertrash writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 11:33:47 AM

Ranger-

Ya Tyrkae's post has to be post of the week !!!!

LMAO
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 11:50:23 AM

Watched every episode of the series and it just progressed nicely, every episode got better than the last. The only reason I have kept Starz is in anticpation of the second season. He is the lead role, i can't see anyone else playing Spartacus, they need to wait for him.
Ranger writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 2:17:04 PM

@tt - whoops... my comment was to Max's post above his.
Ranger writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 2:17:20 PM

I know you knew that... just sayin'
trailertrash writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 3:07:31 PM

hahaha

I was reading that off my phone earlier on totally missed read the context of Tyrkae post lol , my bad !!

Its all good ...
ChristianNYC writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 6:17:20 PM

Man I hate cancer. It took the lives of my Uncle and Aunt,

I hope he beats this
Orias writes:
on September 21st, 2010 at 6:33:09 PM

When is Starz coming out with Farticus? I have been waiting for like 7 years to see that movie!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved