WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edward Norton on Exiting "The Avengers"

Posted: September 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edward Norton on Exiting "The Avengers"Submit Comment
After months of wondering whether Edward Norton will appear in "The Avengers," we eventually learned that Marvel decided not to re-hire the actor after a dispute that involved studio president Kevin Feige to say several terrible things about Norton.

Now, during his promotion of "Stone," Norton said that he was shocked that things escalated to such a level since the situation was nothing more than two parties failing to reach a deal.

"The thing that was disingenuous about some of the stuff that had gone on is it was a very professional and very respectful business situation," he told MTV News. "We really couldn't work it out on a business level, and I know that's disappointing to some people but it's nobody's fault. I don't have any disrespect for anybody's decisions in the business framework. You do what you feel you need to do on both sides, and that's totally fine. I have no idea why anybody tried to characterize it as anything other than that kind of a decision, which is absolutely what it was."

In other words... Marvel offered less money than Norton is used to and then the company was surprise that the actor turned down the offer.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 5:35:31 AM

he should step into Marvel's office and start beating himself up blaming it was their boss...then he'll get back the role.
bacci40 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 5:59:17 AM

norton got the jack kirby treatment

50 years in the biz and these f*ckers at marvel havent changed a bit
johnny_boy writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 6:53:39 AM

I'm disappointed that he won't be reprising the role but you can't be mad at him. It's becoming more known how sh*tty Marvel is when it comes to money. Least Norton did do some good and saved TIH movie by rewriting the sh*t script Zak Penn wrote.
masht7 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 7:17:58 AM

Marvel needs to learn from their mistakes, cast Norton for 'Dr. Strange', he'll be great at that.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 7:38:26 AM

@masht7

Yep that would be fun to see, him coming up against Hulk and the rest.

If it was all about money then I can see to some degree why Marvel said no, if they said yes to him getting more money you might have the rest of the Marvel guys doing the same, but saying that Marvel are douches for not giving him the money and growing some balls and telling the rest of the gang go f*ck yourselves when they ask for more money.

I mean he did rescue TIH, from the giant sh*tburger it was before.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 8:01:10 AM

Exactly how i thought happened, when Marvel told their version.

I am glad Norton decided not to say anything harsh about Marvel. It puts him in a good position and makes Marvel look like a bunch of f*ckheads to the public

I do regret that i will never be able to see Norton and RDJ together in the Avengers
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 8:52:16 AM

I think Eddy needs to make Kevin Feige bite the curb! As johnny_boy said, he saved "The Incredible Hulk" from being a total sh*tfest like Ang Lee's attempt. Still having a hard time seeing Ruffalo in the role. I hope the CG looks (at least) as good as TIH.
markoz writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 9:46:16 AM

I'm very dissapointed that Edward Norton won't be reprising his role.Like you said his rewrites saved the film and I think he makes a helluva lot better Banner than Eric Bana.I don't know which has me more dissapointed;Ed Norton not playing Banner in The Avengers or that Mark Ruffalo has been cast.I don't know I just don't see him as Banner
markoz writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 9:46:40 AM

@Rambo
That would be awesome
rabid writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 11:04:04 AM

in other words, he wanted a giant pile of cash for appearing in the film for 2 minutes.

get lost Norton, you primadonna. You haven't done anything decent since Fight Club.
SaulSilver writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 12:30:22 PM

It's ok Ed. Just go make Rounders 2 and we'll call it even. I want more Worm.
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 12:41:41 PM

Ed should take out any frustrations by giving Lohan the 'O.J. Treatment!'
darkraven28 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 12:53:28 PM

You lowball Norton and you get Jack's smirking revenge motherf*ckers. Aint you learned NOTHING yet??
Eli_1994 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 5:06:41 PM

Really Random, but who would win?

Deadpool or Green Lantern??

My vote goes for Deadpool
GIST writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 5:10:09 PM

Edward Norton on Exiting "The Avengers"

Was he in a maze?
jigsaw23 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 5:43:56 PM

i am mad that he wont be in it but i heard his character is like a cameo and cg hulk will have more screen time
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 6:36:18 PM

He got f*cked up the ass so much his name oughta be Jack Kirby.

Any surprise Stan "Lap Bitch" Lee is hangin' around the offices for cameos for every movie they have coming out ?
JohnZee writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 9:29:49 PM

@Eli_1994

"Really Random, but who would win?
Deadpool or Green Lantern??
My vote goes for Deadpool."


Well unless they are both in a dumbass superhero contest created by a guy that can't even draw feet, then Green Lantern would come out the winner almost any time.

And by Green Lantern, I mean any fictional character that has ever worn a green lantern power ring.

Really only G'Nort and possibly Daffy Duck would even have the remotest possibility of losing that fight.

But I know how Marvel fans can be with their stupid "conditions" on fights like this. And let's face it, hardcore Deadpool fans are even dumber than the average hardcore Marvel fan. So I'm sure you have a ton of lame and pathetic conditions that would push the fight towards your favorite obvious rip off of a DC character, who was actually a rip off of a Marvel character...

...Hard to get more pathetic than that, oh wait Deadpool was created by the notoriously untalented Rob Liefeld, so yes it can get even worse.

So don't tell me, you mean who would win if Green Lantern was in a coma and someone has pulled his life support three seconds before Deadpool entered the room.

Or if Green Lantern decided not to wear his ring for the fight, and somehow Deadpool happened to get a hold of the Infinity Gauntlet right before they fought?

Green Lantern fights against opponents that want to destroy the entire Universe every other issue. The chumps that go against Deadpool would be lucky if they were considered dangerous enough to possibly destroy Cleveland.

Deadpool would be lucky to survive a fight with Green Lantern in his civilian identity without his ring, but yet in the c*ckpit of a F-35 Raptor.

And honestly Deadpool should just count his blessings that he was facing off against Hal Jordan, because let's face it, at least Hal would try to leave Deadpool with a bit of dignity.

Guy Gardner on the other hand would be ramming a 20 foot giant green dildo up his ass and then immediately expanding it out to the size of a C-5 Galaxy cargo plane.

Or maybe you just meant a purely popularity contest?

Well then I would have to say the one that's actually getting 3 movies about him...

...In comparison to the C-list Marvel hero that several series of miracles are going to have to happen before even one movie ever goes into actual production.

Got it? 'Nuff said?





boogiel writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 11:28:44 PM

"In other words... Marvel offered less money than Norton is used to and then the company was surprise that the actor turned down the offer."

Well...Duh! Isn't that obvious?
Sinestro writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 1:20:05 AM

"Well unless they are both in a dumbass superhero contest created by a guy that can't even draw feet"

LOL@Rob Liefeld.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 3:50:22 AM

Don't normally agree with JohnZee, but he hit the Lohan on the f*ckin head this time. That analysis couldn't have been more correct. What DC chracater did deadpool rip off, Deathstroke? and what Marcel character was ripped off? BTW, Deathstoke the Terminator, way more of a bad motherf*cker than Deadpool.
JohnZee writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 4:23:33 AM

@Eben1277

Well whatever I want, it certainly isn't the entire world agreeing with me 100% of the time, that would be a pretty screwed up world.

And as far as your question you are right. Deathstroke the Terminator is the DC character that Marvel's Deadpool was based off of. And also very true that he would very quickly make Deadpool his bitch.

But you can't figure out which Marvel character was ripped off to create DC's Terminator?

Let's see Terminator was a Korean War veteran Super Soldier. His physical abilities boosted to the very height of physical perfection. His fighting skills which were already enhanced by his slight superhuman abiities honed to an even greater level. He's known for being a brilliant strategist (Something that comes in handy if you are leading others.)

And when he first came out he had heightened superhuman endurance, and not the full regeneration power that it developed into years later.

(You know increased endurance, because his body didn't produce as much fatigue poisons over time as the rest of us, the primary benefit of Dr. Erskine's very Marvel SuperSoldier formula.)

Also remember the timing, Terminator was created at least a decade before the Ultimates
line.

So DC's Terminator was a "Hawk" version of a certain star spangled "Dove" super soldier in the mainstream Marvel Universe.

And then later when Marvel did come out with their Ultimates line, they decided to change that star spangled "Dove" into a "Hawk" to better appeal to the current generation.
James Lipton T-Bag writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 3:15:47 PM

He doesn't need to cowtow to Marvel. He's done better.

Let Mark Ruffalo have his shot.
pomme writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 3:33:23 PM

Marvel always was stingy except with RDJ so it's not a surprise
JohnZee writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 6:12:29 PM

Actually Marvel was pretty stingy with Robert Downey Jr. when they hired him for Iron Man 2. In fact they made him take less than normal because they were taking a "chance" on him. Really the main only two actors that made any decent money off of Iron Man was Terrence Howard and the other actor just because Marvel also paid him to direct the picture.
JohnZee writes:
on September 19th, 2010 at 6:14:07 PM

Oops that should read "when they hired RDJ for Iron Man", not the sequel.

I'm sure Downey made a decent amount for Iron Man 2.
Salvador writes:
on September 20th, 2010 at 10:56:37 AM

Right now Marvel is a pile of S***!

Good for Norton. Marvel now will hire Zack Efron for Bruce Banner, mark my words!
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 21st, 2010 at 11:16:33 AM

I hate recasts. Come on people pay up.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved