WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

PlayStation 3 to Play 3D Movies with Free Upgrade

Posted: September 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
PlayStation 3 to Play 3D Movies with Free UpgradeSubmit Comment
Now that 3D television sets are becoming more popular and 3D movies and shows are growing in numbers, Sony has decided to provide a free software update for PlayStation 3 owners which will make the console's Blu-ray player able to play 3D movies and other 3D content.

The 3D capabilities for the PlayStation 3 will not be as thorough as they are for 3D Blu-ray disc players. Some parts of the menu and other minor portions of some DVDs will play only in 2D, Sony said. The update will be available before the end of the year.

About 38 million of the PlayStation 3 consoles have been sold globally so far. The machine already plays 3D games with an upgrade that could be downloaded over the internet.

Source: NZHerald


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 8:10:25 PM

make ps 4 instead
Atemisk writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 8:36:40 PM

Die 3D die... useless gimmick tech. I love my PS3 but f*ck 3D movies, f*ck 3D gaming, and just in general f*ck 3D.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 9:01:14 PM

Yet ANOTHER kick to the balls for Blockbuster.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 9:20:44 PM

PlayStation 3 to Play 3D Movies with Free Upgrade ... where's the word " porn " between 3D and Movies ?
masht7 writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 9:23:48 PM

I've got a Ps3, and I'll download the upgrade just to see what the 3D is like.
coldplayesence writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 10:37:30 PM

Old news are so exciting!!!!
jigsaw23 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 12:30:12 AM

f*ck 3D and the PS3 xbox 360 is better
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 12:54:02 AM

I'm okay with video games in 3-d, because the whole point of gaming is to IMMERSE yourself in the experience.

3-D Movies, however, will always come off as a horrible gimmick, no matter how advanced the technology gets. Go away, 3-D, go away from my films, but stay in my vidya's.
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 1:10:37 AM

@Max I recently watched a 3D porn movie and have to tell you man you gotta try this
johnny_boy writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 5:22:24 AM

I'll only watch 3d if it's porn and I can interact with it like in The Sixth Day(which stars arnold schwar-something-holocausty)
Stuntastic writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 10:36:33 AM

I got a 3D TV and PS3 myself and I find myself not using the 3D as much as I thought I would. I have no regrets although this firmware update will b much appreciated. And the few games they do have out in 3D and by few I mean 3 look visually amazing

@Rambo: I can't even imagine how PS4 would look like visually cuz PS3 still looks pretty good. Unless it's gonna b some kind of hologram
Atemisk writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 3:29:12 PM

@Spooky Yeah games are about immersion, but a good game will do that without 3D and they don't make you wear some 3D glasses to "enhance" the experience. In fact, the future of gaming will only look darker with 3D due to the fact that more and more 3D will be mistaken with "immersion" the same way it is with film. Immersion is more of a state of mind than it is a visual although the visual shouldn't be underestimated either. But when the visual is a blurry f*cking mess that is 3D, then the whole process is f*cked.

People go on and on about how 3D is the way we see and the pure and simple fact is that it isn't. They're deluding themselves. Gimmick needs to die.

Btw Spooky I hope that this didn't come across as a personal attack on you, because I don't mean it as such.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved