WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sacha Baron Cohen to Play Singer Freddie Mercury

Posted: September 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sacha Baron Cohen to Play Singer Freddie MercurySubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting that Sacha Baron Cohen (Borat) has officially signed on to play Queen front man Freddie Mercury in a film being written by Peter Morgan (Frost/Nixon, The Last King of Scotland). The goal is to begin filming next year and focus on the band's formative years, lading up to Queen's appearance at Live Aid in 1985.

"Queen is one of the greatest rock bands of all time, and a music brand all unto itself," said GK Films. "Freddie Mercury was an awe-inspiring performer, so with Sacha in the starring role coupled with Peter's screenplay and the support of Queen, we have the perfect combination to tell the real story behind their success."

This is the first time the surviving members of Queen -- Brian May, Roger Taylor and John Deacon -- have licensed songs and music publishing rights for a movie about the band and they formed Queen Films to be part of the production team on the film.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
coolguy writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 5:12:13 AM

"Queen is one of the greatest rock bands of all time"

AGREED!!!

Cohen does have a slight resemblence to mercury, if done well this could be an awesome film.
masht7 writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 5:30:25 AM

Not a bad choice, this could redeem Cohen from that pile of horse sh*t film called 'Bruno'.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 5:30:34 AM

This is REALLY old news (no fault of Deadline OR WP)... but welcomed!

I heard Depp wanted this role.

John, Brian and Roger have all autographed their 8x10's for me... a treasure!

I hope they lay off the bi-sexual nature of Freddie (as that was all some doc*mentaries of the band hovered on), and they go after the talent aspect of these 4 rock icons.

Trivia: 3 of the 4 are Dr's.

Can't WAIT for this movie!

Long live King Mercury!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 6:09:23 AM

Just reading about this on the BBC website and just like you guy's I think it's a good choice and could be a good movie.

whoever writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 6:43:43 AM

I remember when Elton John went to hospital and the nurse went to take his temperature but found he already had Mercury in his ass!
sc_kg writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 7:01:17 AM

This is bloody perfect choice.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 7:57:46 AM

I guess this'll mean he'll have to grow back his c*m-catching, handlebar mustache, like he had for Borat.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 8:08:42 AM

YES!!

Best news i have read all week, always said he will be perfect for the role
Deadbolt writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 8:10:46 AM

HIGH FIVE!
Derp88 writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 8:17:06 AM

Queen IS the greatest band of all time
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 8:42:44 AM

QUEEN rocks!

Cohen.......eh not so much. I would of went with Daniel Day-Lewis on this. Cohen is going to DP this 10 times more than Lindseys stink Hole
CCBlev writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 9:58:46 AM

Nice!
rabid writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 10:07:54 AM

awesome choice for the role.

what's up with this ad for Devil? it's obnoxiously covering half my screen.
manichispanic writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 10:27:24 AM

the devil pop-up ad sucks, makes me NOT want to watch that movie even more now
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 12:56:30 PM

nice I love the idea of Cohen for the role of Freddie Mercury... as long as it doesn't resemble anything like Bruno -_-
c-prime writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 1:13:50 PM

Sacha Baron Cohen as Freddie Mercury? Hmm...guess that means he will be sucking c*cks FOR A PURPOSE this time in a movie.

Just kidding (but not entirely). It could be a good film. A bountiful number of good songs will be featured, no doubt.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 1:59:15 PM

Even though Cohen plays the weird/comedic characters... he does play them on a cellular level like Penn does. IF everyone on this project details Queen's rise to stardom with the greatest 'Glam Rock' front man ever... and they do this up 'high-end'... don't be surprised if Cohen is up for an Oscar.

He'll nail Freddie!

(let the jokes commence).
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 2:03:20 PM

Cohen may be 'Under Pressure', to 'Ride the Wild Wind' in this 'Hot Space' in his attempt to 'Want to Break Free'... but Freddie was one of the 'Princes of the Universe', a 'Cool Cat!'...

(ok... that's enough... for now).
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 2:48:01 PM

In the slight chance there is anyone on here not familiar with Freddie's near 4-octave range voice:


The best:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gyh1igHm7LI

Princes:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEJ8lpCQbyw

Operatic 'Barcelona':
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MsB4a--WRTs

Vocal range:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7Iz1475CVk

Should have been Iron Man's theme song:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00i-WpE5O0o

Who DOESN'T know this one?!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJ9rUzIMcZQ&ob=av3n

STILL the #1 Sports Anthem in the World:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tJYN-eG1zk&ob=av3n
TeemSelami writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 2:56:26 PM

don't f*ck around bruno. screwing this up is one sh*tstorm you won't be able to skirt.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 3:11:04 PM

I cant wait...he is perfect for the role he just has to prove that he is a real actor now.

@ranger
great songs, this is the best version of one of my favs. its from the 80's but look how high quality it is cause of the old 35mm film...its amazing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jQ560bfOMI&feature=related
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 3:15:00 PM

@Squirrel - nice. Freddie's homage to Elvis (he wrote that one in the bath tub).
Valerie writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 3:51:18 PM

this can be done so well, and i think he can pull it off!
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 3:57:49 PM

QUEEN SUCKS!!!

0.5/10!!

oh sh*t wait, sorry. I had a nightmare where i dreamt i was Dustin Putman
trailertrash writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 4:20:38 PM

ted- lol

I hope there wasn't a Sex And The City 2 viewing in the nightmare too..
Rambo writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 4:23:19 PM

@ted

I guess the 0.5 is for the fact that freddie liked men as well :-)
trailertrash writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 4:36:37 PM

Nice links guys....

Queen are great band and Freddie was the ultimate showman and a Straight (as in not borat or Ali G mode) and sensible, Cohen will be a great Freddie i have no doubt it !!

http://i.realone.com/assets/rn/img/0/4/2/9/14409240-14409242-large.jpg
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 6:49:25 PM

@Ted - lol.

@tt - nice pic. And I'm pretty sure that's just a pic Cohen had taken to firm up the role. One they get him through hair and make-up... he'll be a spitting (let the jokes commence) image of Farrokh Bulsara.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 7:24:09 PM

Those interested, by FAR the best doc*mentary I have ever seen on the band was:

Queen - Champions of the World!

Really worth a look.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 8:08:12 PM

On an even happier note:

'Lindsay Lohan tested positive for cocaine last week and that is why she failed her drug test.'

What a dumb c*nt.
thinkvideo writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 8:15:37 PM

In order to get the part he had to send the producers an audition tape. SBC sent them the MTV awards clips where he front teabagged Eminem.
After that producers thought he was perfect for the part.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 8:30:22 PM

lol.
maddasahatter writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 10:15:39 PM

Wow it's great seeing how many people love Queen :D
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2010 at 11:52:53 PM

Hundreds of millions of people that love great music my friend.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 12:37:28 AM

Maybe the greatest news I've heard in months. I have been waiting for a Queen movie or a Freddie Mercury biopic for f*cking years, I'm only a senior in high school but Queen is one of my all time favorite bands. I have listened to them since elementary school and have parted ways with friends based on likes and dislikes over this band. When I read years ago that Sacha Baron Cohen was rumored to be playing Mercury, I couldn't have been happier and now those rumors have finally become reality. Though the man's best performances come in movies that he does himself about characters he created, I have a feeling we are going to see a truly deep and phenomenal performance from Cohen. Comedy actors make the best dramatic ones truthfully (Jim Carrey, Robin Williams) so needless to say I'm more than excited for this flick
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2010 at 2:49:30 AM

@murphys --- Nice post.

As for: 'Maybe the greatest news I've heard in months.' --- as far as movie news, yep... it is for me!
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:22:38 PM

test
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:22:54 PM

Test
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:23:07 PM

This is some text!
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:23:44 PM

@ALEX: REPORT MOVIE NEWS, *sshole!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved