WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

TIFF Experience: The Short Version

Posted: September 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
TIFF Experience: The Short VersionSubmit Comment
After spending six days of watching movies and doing interviews, I'm now coming back from the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF). For those who couldn't make it to the event, I'll summarize my experience, which is from a journalist's point of view.

I got to TIFF on Thursday afternoon and immediately had to go catch a screening of Robert De Niro's "Stone." Immediately after, I ran to a nearby theater to watch Ben Affleck's "The Town." While it's always difficult to watch movies back-to-back, the studios do their best to make it comfortable by providing leather sofas, snacks and water. There are no trailers, no commercials, and only 5-15 people in the theater.

After coming back to the hotel room and doing a bit of work, I went to sleep and had to get up at 6am to start the next day, which consists of four movies and two interviews. For those who don't know, there are two main types of interviews; press conferences (cast and crew participate in a panel for an hour) and roundtables (cast and crew come in one by one and sit with about five journalists at a small table for twenty minutes).

What's great about the roundtables is that they are very personal and you can get lots of information out of the actors. My interviews with Edward Norton, Milla Jovovich, Paul Giamatti, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Andrew Garfield, Carey Mulligan, and many others were like that.

What's great about the press conferences is the food and the mingling. After "Conviction" press conference, I spoke to Hilary Swank and Sam Rockwell and even got a photo with Rockwell. Right before "The Town" press conference got started, I went to get some food that the hotel provided and ate with Ben Affleck and Jeremy Renner. I chatted briefly with Renner, but then focused on finishing my meal as soon as Chris Cooper, Blake Lively, Jon Hamm and several others came in to grab a snack. And the food... It's easily the finest in all Toronto. On a good day, I'll eat about five full meals (including desert) courtesy of the studios.

While it's great meeting the celebrities at first, it becomes really old, really fast. I've met Norton and many other actors a bunch of times already. The highlights of the trip become running into people like Betty-Anne Waters (the real woman from "Conviction," played by Hilary Swank) and Aaron Ralston (the real man from "127 Hours," played by James Franco). I consider those once in a lifetime experiences and usually make sure to speak to them as much as possible.

Some of the other highlights are meeting actors who play smaller roles in my favorite shows or movies. A few days ago, I got to randomly meet Andy Buckley, who plays David Wallace on "The Office," and he couldn't have been more pleasant. And he's just one of many people who enjoy the festival just like everyone else.

During one of the dinners, I sat right next to David Cronenberg. And I almost always end up with someone in an elevator or in the bathroom, like Bruce Willis, the Coen brothers, James Franco, Edward Norton, Philip Seymour Hoffman and many others. It's always surprising when it happens and you don't have to be a journalist to be apart of that awkwardness.

During the six days I also attended several premieres. At Giamatti's "Barney's Version," there was lots of waiting and listening to the producer praising his team. But at "Repeaters," it was more of a fun atmosphere since it's a much smaller movie. During that premiere, I got to sit and watch the movie with the three lead actors, who were reacting to the film just like anyone else in the audience. It can be bizarre to watch an actor kill someone on the screen and then look to my right and there he is giggling at his performance and offering you a piece of gum.

Finally, after the premieres are done, we get invited to the private after-parties. "Repeaters" was once again small and intimate, which means that you can sit down with the actors, but you have to pay for your own beer. "Barney's Version," however, was massive and was covered by Entertainment Tonight. There were drinks (I tried a hot, non-alcoholic squash drink that the waiter said was great, it's not), food and lots of beautiful people. The actors are less approachable, but no one cares since everyone is there to party.

That's basically TIFF. You go there, watch movies, chat it up with the celebrities, get zero sleep and then go home for much needed rest. While regular attendees can't do everything journalists can, they still can attend premieres, see the celebrities and just have a good time. Next year, some of you should head out there and maybe we'll run into each other.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 85 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 7:34:30 PM

welcome back :-)
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 7:43:31 PM

heyyyyyyyyy welcome back Alex.
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 8:07:15 PM

and if I could meet Carey Mulligan in the elevator...or the bathroom...or maybe the shower
mmmmmmmm
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 8:09:49 PM

Hey, Alex

did you get any hot, Canadian muff?

Hunh? Hunh?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 8:10:56 PM

Ten bucks in Monopoly money says Paul Gross was waiting outside in the lobby trying to hustle his next movie project.
sc_kg writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 8:16:23 PM

Good article.
CCBlev writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 8:58:04 PM

Welcome back Alex, ayy. Sorry i just couldnt resist putting that in there since he was in Canada..
OneTime writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 10:21:00 PM

nice info...thanks :)
otis writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 10:21:27 PM

Thanks for the update Alex! Where's the pics?
Aaron writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 10:26:53 PM

"After coming back to the hotel room and doing a bit of work"

"After coming back to the hotel, smoking a joint and rubbing one out.."
GIST writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 11:47:00 PM

ALEX! I should've invited you to one of the parties that I played on Sunday. It was an open bar event for Vincent Cassel's film "Notre Jour Viendre" (Our Day Will Come). Quite insane!
Hit me up the next time you come around T.O.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:08:16 AM

What's great about the roundtables is that they are very personal and you can get lots of information out of the actors. My interviews with Edward Norton, Milla Jovovich, Paul Giamatti, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Andrew Garfield, Carey Mulligan, and many others were like that.

Translation :

We were given a chance to ask soft, puff-piece questions, otherwise, I would've spent the entire time a waitress with a cold sore at Jim Hortons for more greasy donuts, really bad coffee and a blowjob in the " sanitized " stall in the mens rest room.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:09:45 AM

Am I jealous you got to go to Toronto ?


*very straightfaced*


You got to go to Toronto.



It's the Canadian Cleveland.


Next time, demand Fuji or Hawaii, dammit.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:14:39 AM

Pssssssstttt.... 'Tim Hortons' ... lol.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:23:33 AM

Alex, please tell me you boned Blake Lively while you were there.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:19:41 AM

Or at least witnessed a German Shepard doing so, and you have the video!
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:25:34 AM

I would like to get all Personal with Milla on a roundtable, Be nice if it then spun around then me mates could have a go too ...

Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:30:30 AM

Lazy Susan sex ROCS!
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:32:57 AM

It sure does !!
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:34:19 AM

Wonder if Lohan was there !!

Nice if someone said to her , You should check WP out they are always talking about you on there ....
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:43:34 AM

Yeah Lindsay, just enter 'whore' or 'c*nt' into their search bar and your name will pop up more than your daddy does inside you over a long weekend!
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:44:36 AM

She's probably banned from Toronto for knowing if she wades into Lake Ontario to crotch depth she would kill all the fish!
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:48:07 AM

Bwahhhhh

Don't forget Dina With her strap on !!
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:50:32 AM

A perfect fit for Michael with his vagina!
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:55:38 AM

Poor old Linsay, Spit Roasted by your own parents.

no wonder she's such a f*ck up in life...
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:58:52 AM

Yep. She should get a tour of WP. That would send her RUNNING back to her parents... lol.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 4:02:13 AM

And by 'WP' I mean 'Without Pants!'
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 4:03:06 AM

Back to the safty and comfort of Dina's Bosom..
AYT BALL writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 4:18:55 AM

@ Alex - been in Toronto twice while its been on but always been too busy to go, will check it out at some point though, thanks for the run down.

@ Ranger - i f*ckin love Tim Hortons, i got addicted to Iced Caps!! lol
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 4:25:01 AM

Canadian Mike Myers paying homage to Tim Horton's:

http://weblogs.cltv.com/entertainment/tv/metromix/p72s_tim_horton_drive_thru.jpg

in 'Wayne's World' with his 'Stan Mikita's Doughnuts' scene(s)... priceless.
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 4:51:45 AM

A reason to dislike tim hortons (a little bit)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBqe4V-4jvI&feature=related
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:00:26 AM

lol. Love the comments after the video.

1. Tim Horton's doesn't necessarily hire Jeopardy Finalists.

2. Maybe she knew who Justin was and just didn't give a rat's ass (Canadian's are celeb-hungry, star-struck like Americans).

3. If she knew who he was or not... does it matter?! HE'S BUYING f*ckING DOUGHNUTS!!!

(the above comments directed towards those comments after the video). ie: 'I'll bet that lady felt stupid afterward after she found out who he was! LOL!'

Ahhh, no. I'll bet she feels stupid every morning she sees herself in the mirror in that sh*t brown Tim Horton's uniform!
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:08:17 AM

Ranger lol

Why doesn't someone tell that bitch to peak her baseball cap !!
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:14:24 AM

Maybe one day she will work for UPS and tell the story of day she served Justin in the ass ....
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:14:31 AM

Her dignity ship has long since sailed my friend.

I was behind David Cassidy in a line-up (FedEx office) - this is a LONG time ago. He was in town dong a play and needed a witness signature to his to receive regular packages from LA. He turned around and asked if I'd sign, I said sure. When I saw his signature above mine I (of course) realized who he was (because I'm a lot like a detective that way). So while he awaited his package, we chatted. I asked him where he was living these days, LA he replied (no surprise). He picked up his package, made a point of gentlemanly thanking me again, then left. And the staff behind the counter were just flabbergasted and asked me: 'DO YOU KNOW WHO THAT WAS?!' I replied: 'yes' I got my sh*t done and left. I mean, these 'celebs' have to be some place at any given time, yes? And I can speak personally that getting recognized everywhere would tire on quickly.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:15:11 AM

lol.
Crazyhorse writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 8:31:35 AM

A couple more sentences an you could publish a book from all that writing
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 8:47:13 AM

Ranger-

Celbs do normal things never! it's all pink Champagne and blow jobs isn't it.... I bloody Hope so, whats the point of being famous otherwise !!

I saw David Hasselhoff being chased by about 50 or 60 people maybe more, through London's Leciester Sq (he nearly knocked me over). He looked genuinely scared for his life.

I thought then, that has got to be an unhappy way to live your life, not being able to go anywhere or do anything without being hassled, Not to have your own privacy must take it's toll on you.

I know people will say that they get paid loads of money etc etc, But i would have to be to put up with that sort of life style i can tell you.

trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 8:51:43 AM

When you were talking to David Cassidy, did you happen to ask him if he ever Slipped a cheeky one into Susan Dey while they were on the The Partridge Family together ???

God i hope he did !! lol
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 10:38:22 AM

She AND his Mother Shirley... Mmmmmm...

I hope he did too!
The R1DDL3R writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 10:59:50 AM

how does everyone know this dudes name is alex lol
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 11:16:04 AM

I don't know... it could be Alex.
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 11:24:23 AM

Who's Harry Crumb then .... ?
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 11:47:36 AM

And where the f*ck is Waldo?!
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 11:53:10 AM

And What's Eating Gilbert Grape ...
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 11:55:11 AM

And I've heard 'Kilroy was here!'?
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 11:56:18 AM

^Lohan if they are ass grapes ...
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 11:57:01 AM

lol
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:01:29 PM

Who Shot JR
CCBlev writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:12:14 PM

Ass Grapes? EWWW
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:14:16 PM

Only if you eat them mate !! Lol
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:25:56 PM

JR... lol.
CCBlev writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:46:31 PM

Well i am out of grape jelly lol
Rodan writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:48:27 PM

Did he really have a bullet left in his .44 Magnum?
Rodan writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:51:15 PM

Who framed Roger Rabbit? And can I f*ck his wife?
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:57:11 PM

Nope... remember?

If ya gots ta know:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOxGL5G8Pbk

WELL DO YA... FEEL LUCKY?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GmijlOwnXuE
Rambo writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 1:06:59 PM

I remember the days when every few hours or so WP had some news update...now it's like once a day..
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 1:16:06 PM

Ranger- CLASSIC !!!

CC- LOL

Roden- Why not most of toon town did

Rambo- Sure Normal service will return soon !!

We all need another Mel Tape.
CCBlev writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 1:22:06 PM

Or how about a remix tape?
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 1:22:55 PM

If Mel doesn't give us another tape soon...

He should just f*ckin' smile... AND BLOW ME!!!!
CCBlev writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 1:24:00 PM

Rambo- I'm glad im not the only one thinking that. I was begining to think it was my compute for a minute.
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 1:28:32 PM

Hey the Expendables blu ray/dvd is out on the 13th December here ...

Thats Good news (for the wife) !!

Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 1:31:29 PM

Great... another erection I need to carry around 'til Dec. THANKS A LOT!!!
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 1:39:39 PM

Sorry buddy ...
vaodsi writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 2:18:09 PM

great article!

Rodan writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 2:20:49 PM

Hahaha Ranger, I had to work in Clint Eastwood somehow. Unfortunately, Clint's movies had no questions or ambiguities. He would just shoot you in the f*cking face and be done with it.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 2:27:47 PM

So...

Are you boys gonna pull them pistols, or whistle Dixie?
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 4:42:54 PM

Love it when you get girls say that !!
bkg4991 writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 4:51:08 PM

Everyone we've started to forget about the main subject of this story!...Lindsay Lohan is a walking venereal disease..I expected more Lindsay bashing damnit, I'm disappointed..
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 4:53:02 PM

Still no new news then,

Still my Favorite car chase of All-Time !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-y1VUdnQXo&feature=fvsr
clydefamous writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:03:51 PM

Stellar stuff! Rock on.
Rambo writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:13:26 PM

related to dustin putman?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86AJje3ElDc
manichispanic writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:15:37 PM

is this seriously an article about the festival itself and not the movies shown? i feel like i just wasted my time reading that article
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:16:03 PM

I didn't know Rainman Soccer was an Olympic sport.

@tt - already knew which car chase that was before opening it. And I agree.

And Lindsay is being penetrated by Daddy as I type this.
Rambo writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:21:46 PM

and nobody is updating the news as I am writing this...
Rodan writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:25:40 PM

I forgot to mention Vanishing Point. Also, Way of the Gun has an interesting version of what could have been a normal car chase. Can't find the video anywhere, though.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:40:27 PM

The movie 'The Jerk' with Steve Martin had a pretty sweet car chase.
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:40:57 PM

Rodan-

The french Connection is one of my all time favorite movies.

Gene Hackman as Doyle was Awesome and that car chase is a close 2nd on my all time list.

The music in that movie as well 1st class stuff.

Love the Vanishing point as well, a really underatted movie.

Ranger-

When the music stops and all you can hear are the sounds of engines, Classic stuff.

LOL lohan , mummy's lubing up the strap on as i type , Lindsay is going to have tears (of pain) tonight !!
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:41:32 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4rVuZ0hJEyM
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:42:20 PM

Tears and blood... 2 of my favorite lubes.
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:45:05 PM

The Jerk LOL , not seen that movie for years..

Can't forget Steve Mcqueen in his last film The Hunter where his character Ralph couldn't drive to well !!

That movie had a couple of good chases in it..
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:50:40 PM

Great Clip !!

Steve Martin was a funny guy once..

M. Emmet Walsh as the nutter i like that guy too
trailertrash writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 5:55:30 PM

Mel Gibson !!

Get this guy back in movies and quick !!

http://photos.tmz.com/galleries/mel_gibsons_secret_stache#tab=most_recent
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 6:44:47 PM

Yep... saw that get-up yesterday.

I wouldn't be surprised if he has a small cameo in The Expendables 2 (small because of his rate ($)).
trailertrash writes:
on September 16th, 2010 at 4:08:30 AM

Mel has to have some part in Expendables 2 your right.

Let's hope cash isn't the reason he doesn't do it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved