WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams to Create New Villain for "Star Trek 2"?

Posted: September 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams to Create New Villain for "Star Trek 2"?Submit Comment
Writers Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman spoke to SFX magazine about the sequel to "Star Trek," mentioning that Khan may not be the main villain in the new movie. Instead, the duo and director JJ Abrams are planning to create an entirely new villain.

"Introducing a new villain in the sequel is tempting because we now have this incredible new sandbox to play in," said Orci. "On the other hand, some fans really want to see Klingons and it's hard not to listen to that. The trick is not to do something that's been seen before just because you think it will be a short cut to likeability."

Kurtzman added: "Starting at a premise of what you want to see and then working a story around it is not how we do it. You have to start with what is the right story. And that if you can say 'That's a story that Khan fits into,' that's how you get to that. Not deciding on a menu list of items and then seeing if you can't string them all together."

Source: SFX, TrekMovie


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 4:04:15 AM

damn and I was just getting myself ready to yell "KHAN!!!!!!!!!"

all next summer
Inception writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 4:09:06 AM

The new villain will be Carrot Top.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 4:22:58 AM

How bout Lindsey Lohan. A big plot can be that the enterprise gets sucked into her vagina and they gotta escape
Derp88 writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 4:37:23 AM

Uwe Boll should be the villian
coolguy writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 4:52:17 AM

First movie was enjoyable but no way near as good as everyone it was, still ill watch a second one
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 7:34:13 AM

^Uh... what?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 7:53:42 AM

Hunh ? Why the f*ck not Khan ? Nestor is ready and has been workin' in the gym for this ...

" JJJJJAAAAAYYYY JJJJJAAAAAYYYYY!!!!!!!!! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 7:55:14 AM

Inception writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 4:09:06 AM

The new villain will be Carrot Top.


@Inception

Ah, the solo, Venice beach tanned, comedic version of the Borg. On 'roids.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 7:56:17 AM

Only one name comes to mind if you're looking for a race to f*ck up Kirk and his crew :

Preda ....

Oops. Been taken.
lebowski writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 8:38:25 AM

maybe thats better .not everybody can do what nolan did with joker in the dark knight.although this time they better make a more memorable villain than bana was
CCBlev writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 9:15:55 AM

It would be interesting to see Kirk and crew fight the Borg.
lebowski writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 9:26:58 AM

first star trek movie i ever watched was first contact and i liked it because of the borgs.i would love to see them again.RESISTANCE IS FUTILE
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:12:49 AM

I think since the reboot basically wiped out the vulcans that they fight them. a rebel force of them bent on revenge.
encoreyourface writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:24:41 AM

f*ck this the last villain was f*cktarded,
Bunny X writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:51:02 AM

Ok, I'm going to probably piss some folks off or make some happy. Either I don't care. I would really like to see them take the Kahn character and play him out like the relationship between Luthor and Supes on Smallville. I would love to see Kahn and Kirk show up as friends rather than adversaries. It worked on Smallville until they took a collective dump all over that series. But the premise that two mortal enemies were good friends in this alternative universe would work so well in the Star Trek universe. They can even go down the same road and have fate been unavaoidable and have the relationship sour to the point where they become the bitter enemies we know.

I would love, just absolutely love for Nestor Carbonell to play Kahn.
Salvador writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 11:01:25 AM

As long as they don't bring back the Borgs...!
mariachi writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 11:09:15 AM

Very good. Glad they're taking the same approach to this movie as they did with the first and concentrating on making a *good movie* rather than something just for trekkies.

@BunnyX: Nestor Carbonell being cast would be amazing.
rabid writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 11:29:06 AM

Khan would be cool to see, but I trust Abrams to make something fun regardless of who he uses. I'm glad he's not letting the studios and fans push him into a corner on these movies.
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 12:55:56 PM

Big Trek Fan here. I'm actually glad they're not taking the Khan route (as much as ST 2 & 4 were my all-time favs.).

Retardo Mentalblock played Khan perfectly. No need to re-do it. To do that, would be admitting the limited box-thinking, re-hashing of all old, good things we constantly give Hollyweird sh*t for doing. If anyone needs their Khan-fix, do what I do and revisit 'Space Seed' and 'ST2'. They should continue to boldly go where no man has gone before.

Let Khan RIP.
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 12:57:18 PM

PS: Johnny - good idea, but not perfect. Were the Enterprise to enter Lovag's Inf*cked Twat Dock, they'd never see the light of stars again, thus the end of Star Trek forever.

WHAT WERE YOU THINKING MAN?!?!
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 12:58:25 PM

PS: everyone...

If they do Khan... then they're into the 'Search for Spock'... etc. It's a can of worms best left alone.
Rambo writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 1:26:41 PM

what about Christoph Waltz?
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 1:33:07 PM

Shannon Price?

http://www.rightcelebrity.com/wp-content/photos/Shannon_Price.jpg

Oh right. That would be for: 'In Search of The Wrath of... THAT MURDEROUS BITCH!!!' movie.
KindredMac writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 2:52:07 PM

I know I know!!!!
The new villain will be "H-BLE".
There will be a new alien entity that comes to earth to destroy the planet and assimilate the entire mass into its one collective. At the end of the movie you find out that the Hubble Space Telescope and Voyager had some hot freaky monkey techno love in the cosmos and became H-BLE!
LastActionHero writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 3:39:14 PM

The Rock as Khan!! At least he's a better actor than that stiff Eric Bana.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 4:25:19 PM

You wanna new villian for Star Trek 2, JJ ?

The corpse of Terry Shaivo.
swoooop writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 4:57:47 PM

What about old Kirk from the former timeline as the bad guy. Shatner as a bad Kirk would be cool. Yeah yeah yeah, he died. But Shatner actually wrote a StarTrek novel called The Return, where the Borg (I think) resurrected him.

Ehhhhh, no. Bad Idea!
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:19:53 PM

They never should have killed off Kirk in 'Generations' --- as a reward for saving the Universe countless times... Picard should have sent Kirk into the Nexus to live out the life he gave up for StarFleet.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:33:48 PM

swoooop writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 4:57:47 PM

What about old Kirk from the former timeline as the bad guy. Shatner as a bad Kirk would be cool. Yeah yeah yeah, he died. But Shatner actually wrote a StarTrek novel called The Return, where the Borg (I think) resurrected him.

Ehhhhh, no. Bad Idea!


@swoooop

That's a pretty good idea. If I could tweak it a bit :

a. No Shatner.

b. Regular Kirk vs Evil Kirk from the alternate universe they had on the one episode from Star Trek TOS (with the movie actors playing both version)

i.e. Mirror, Mirror (Star Trek: The Original Series)

... but Ranger has a point. JJ isn't going to cast Nestor Carbonell as Khan (which facial has a resembleance to Ricardo Montelban during his stint on the television series) or cast Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto as the Good/Evil Kirk and Spock, the Klingons (the Worf version, not the 60's swingers version), the Borg (which MIGHT have made sense in the Star Trek universe, since they did go back in time to try to destroy Earth, while being chased by ... Jean Luc ? (forgive me, this is my serious response ... Yeah, in Star Trek : First Contact or even the f*ckin', furry tribbles ... nope, JJ is gonna design his own f*ckin' race based on characters from Star Wars ....

you have a closer chance of seeing an Alien or a Predator than an evil Kirk and Spock.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:37:30 PM

Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:19:53 PM

They never should have killed off Kirk in 'Generations' --- as a reward for saving the Universe countless times... Picard should have sent Kirk into the Nexus to live out the life he gave up for StarFleet.


@Ranger

I agree with you on that. When Jean Luc came into the kitchen of James' cabin, James should've just yelled, " FUUUUUCK The Prime Directive!!! YOU CONNNNNNN!!!!!! " and beat Picard's shiny, egg-head skull in like a rotted egg from under the bushes left over a year from an Easter Egg hunt, with that Teflon pan and buried him out in the woods.

That would've been much more entertaining.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:39:07 PM

f*ck Jean Lu Picard up the ass with Tribbles and have Data fistf*ck him after burning out Data's sensors.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:48:14 PM

If they had a lesbian, orgy shower scene by Chief Engineer B'Elanna Torres Paris
, Commander Jane Hathaway,Commander Deanna Troi, Seven of Nine; First Officer Kira Nerys; Chief Science Officer Jadzia Dax; Counselor Ezri Dax ; Ensign Hoshi Sato; Communications Officer Lieutenant Uhura and Sub-Commander T'Pol (by some freak space-time continuum) for 2 1/2 hours, I'd watch it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 10:48:57 PM

Star Trek Lesbians : The Real Frontier
CCBlev writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 11:12:11 PM

^Now that's a movie I'd see.
I've read on here since they now haven alterante timeline that Shatner would reprise himeself a the Old Kirk. If they do that'd be another time travel f*cking movie.

Max-Don't forget to include Demora Sulu, Sulu's daughter from Generations. Love me some asian poo tang. What about Tasha Yar, I love a fierce fighing female. She can discipline the others when they are bad.

Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 12:35:12 AM

@Max - lol on Kirk beating up Picard.
trailertrash writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 2:49:49 AM

Max- Yep i would watch that movie...

Just to add my 10 cents on Star Trek

Love Star Trek 2 , Kirk with a plan up his seleve is always very cool... in fact all the even numbered star trek movies are pretty good

I Liked the the last Star Trek movie as well and i think JJ will make a good movie which ever way he takes it. (hee hee)
rabid writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 3:20:40 AM

No way, Kirk dying in Generations was the better ending. Search youtube for its original ending where Kirk lives. It's a pretty terrible and anticlimactic ending to the film.
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 4:13:56 AM

Maybe. But in the Nexus, the (Kirk) legend lives on (sort of), he's out of our hair, and he's rewarded with a 2nd. chance at life with his women, all in exchange for his sacrifice to StarFleet.
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 4:27:09 AM

women = woman (but knowing Kirk...).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 8:49:27 AM

Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 4:13:56 AM

Maybe. But in the Nexus, the (Kirk) legend lives on (sort of), he's out of our hair, and he's rewarded with a 2nd. chance at life with his women, all in exchange for his sacrifice to StarFleet.


@Ranger

Makes you wonder ... if they didn't apply enough adhesive, if Shatner's toupee flipped over in this eyes during the hot necking scenes.
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 11:44:33 AM

He flips it back... finds out it's Spock he's swapping spit with. Oi!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 8:18:02 PM

@Ranger

LMMFAOGAHAAFOOMC
(Laugh my Motherf*cking Ass Off, Get A Heart Attack and Fall Out Of My Chair) - Dedicated to Michael O' Donoghue, author of the Vietnamese Baby Cookbook


Bravo, sir! Bravissimo!
bacci40 writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 3:27:41 PM

forget creating a new villain...fix the bridge

what ships bridge would have all that plexiglass sitting in the middle for no purpose other than to cause flashes on the film and distortion in some shots?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved