WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Romanek on Why He Quit "The Wolfman"

Posted: September 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Romanek on Why He Quit "The Wolfman"Submit Comment
When "The Wolfman" was first getting going in 2007, Universal Pictures hired Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo) to direct. But after ten months of work and only three weeks away from shooting, Romanek left the project and was eventually replaced by Joe Johnston (Jumanji, Captain America).

We now caught up Romanek to find out if had seen the movie, which didn't make back it's budget and only has a 33% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"I had to see it, because if I never saw it, I would kind of been plagued by curiosity of how it came out," the director explained. "I recognized some of the sets we designed, and some of the locations I've picked, and some of the actors that I've cast, but the rhythms of it and the emphasis of what was important in that film was pretty much what the producers always wanted and I wasn't so keen to do."

He continued: "[I left] for that reason, we couldn't get on the same page about what the film should be. Benicio [Del Toro] and I, and Tony Hopkins, we all had higher hopes for what it could have been, and the producers didn't see it that way. I lost my mojo about it, and I felt like if they are investing $125 million into something, they should have a director who is fully passionately invested in it and it was kind of a mutual decision."

Romanek said that it was very hard to walk away after putting almost a year of his life into the movie, but was not happy to see it constantly delayed and eventually bomb. "I'm not that kind of guy," he explained. "I would have been happy had it been successful for them. They're nice guys, we just couldn't agree on what the movie should be."

"I was excited to work with Benicio Del Toro and Tony Hopkins and Emily Blunt. I was excited to have those resources. I wanted to make a populist, entertaining movie, but Benicio and I wanted it to have some kind of weight to it and some subtlety to it. And we thought we could have our cake and eat it too. Big studio just wanted the cake."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Willy_Idle writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:10:54 AM

big studio can eat a donkey d*ck!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:25:32 AM

Always the big studios f*cking up films! This movie could have been fantastic
Rambo writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:31:56 AM

He sounds like a very nice guy...they should have ha let him finish the project...
-Chewy- writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:41:40 AM

That guy is a diplomatic genius.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:45:59 AM

Reboot!!!!!
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:46:00 AM

Romanek has sound logic. And he makes some badass music videos to boot.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 4:21:28 AM

Ok, I'm one of the few that defend this movie on this site but I also realize it could have been light years better. Like the original director, I also wanted it to carry more weight. With that acting core and all the cinematic allure of the character its hard not to expect more. The biggest disappoinment of this production was its vast waste of talent and potential. JJ still made an entertaining and brutal shell of a film though. With more heart and better guidance it could have been brilliant. Guillermo Del Toro would have knocked this one out the park.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:01:53 AM

Another film ruined cuz the producers with their narcissism think they know what's good when they in fact don't know f*ckin sh*t!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:35:28 AM

@sac- with you on that one, I thought the film was ok but could have been better.

@johnny- haha, but you know sometimes if a studio does'nt reign in the director or the main actor they can turn the film into a giant sh*tburger too.

On subject- sounds like a decent guy, would have been good to see his version.
rocketman writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 6:02:59 AM

Big studios know f*ck all, last two good films i enjoyed were small scale flicks(KickAss and Centurion) and i can't think of the last time i enjoyed a big Hollywood film,Dark Knight and Expendables,everthing else is a 3 star at most.Thats why im ibto books n games more nowadays,because the twats like Rothman are killing movies with their greed.
rocketman writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 6:04:44 AM

....greed and laziness.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 6:28:41 AM

I thought the wolfman was ok , as you guys said it could have been so much better..

American Werewolf in London
and
The Howling

Are the last 2 Werewolf films i really liked and they are nearly 30 years old.

We due a good one at some point..
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 6:36:56 AM

rocket-

Centurion Watched that again the other day i liked it better at the cinema , still a good movie though

Michael Fassbender (lol surname) is doing pretty well now, Did you ever see Eden Lake i really liked that movie.

SAC - Have you seen Centurion yet ?
Charlie9 writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:31:26 AM

You know what grinds my gears? Studios. Let the Artists create, f*cktards, that's what you're paying them for.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:31:48 AM

trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 6:28:41 AM

I thought the wolfman was ok , as you guys said it could have been so much better..

American Werewolf in London
and
The Howling

Are the last 2 Werewolf films i really liked and they are nearly 30 years old.

We due a good one at some point..


@trailer

Been racking my brains to think of any as well mate and I can't.
Hollywood is long over due in making one, and judging by the directors comments it could have been "The Wolfman"
rocketman writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:42:39 AM

@Trailer
Got Eden lake to watch,borrowed off a mate,had it for ages,never botherd watching,i'll have to give it a go...and Fassbender(smirk) is a good actor,make a great Bond ;)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:53:25 AM

So it WASN'T because this cinematic whore of a film sucked more stiff phallus than a room consisting of :

Harvey Firestein
Elton John
Mark Harris
Rip Taylor
Judd Nelson
Charles Nelson Reilly
Justin Beiber
Shia LeBeoug
Channing Tatum
Billy Ray Cyrus
Michael Cera and
the remaining Milli Vanilli ...

all wearing adult diapers, last-minute bed sheets as togas and getting lathered up in pig's grease for any 'anal action' ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:54:01 AM

^ Oh, wait. IT MOST CERTAINLY DID.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:11:40 AM

Yo Mama jokes for every motherf*cker even involved with this cinematic load of warm, sticky, third world monkey feces. Enjoy, motherf*ckers ...

By the way, they did a movie based on your mama ... " The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas ".

Your mama's so ugly, Leatherface has to double bag her first just to chop her up.

Your mama's so fat, McDonalds sets a cargo weight limit for her to even go through the drive thru.

Your mama's such a skank, Filipino whore sites e-mail HER for advice on how to increase their business.
Your mama's so short, she can't even get on the child-height rides because she doesn't reach the mark that says, " You must be this tall to ride. "

Your mama's so tall, she can c*cksuck a guy in the balcony at a movie theater and not even leave her seat.

Your mama's so skinny, guys think their f*cking a crazy straw from Seven Eleven.

Your mama's so dumb, she thought that when Moses parted the Red Sea, he was on the rag and mensturating.

Your mama's such a bad driver, she has to have training wheels attached to her Dodge Neon, so she doesn't flip the f*cker over.

What was yo' mama doing on a 900 ad in the back of Hustler with her *sshole spread and saying above her " Pack it in. " ?

Heard yo mama wanted to abort you, but couldn't afford a wire hanger at the Dollar Store.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:18:57 AM

"[I left] for that reason, we couldn't get on the same page about what the film should be. Benicio [Del Toro] and I, and Tony Hopkins, we all had higher hopes for what it could have been, and the producers didn't see it that way. I lost my mojo about it, and I felt like if they are investing $125 million into something, they should have a director who is fully passionately invested in it and it was kind of a mutual decision."


Translation : " UNIVERSAL, the seething, coniving sacks of monkey penis' that they are, could'nt just back the f*ck off, so I could direct this film ... let alone try to make something substantial from this herpes sore of a script, so I just said 'f*ck it' ... yeah, I literally heard the words f*ck and IT fly out of my mouth with the ease of a Thai whore during R&R and as I walked out of the executives' office, I felt a sigh of relief, knowing full well this floating turd of doom was headed into the sewers of oblivion and in now way, shape or form was my name going to be tied to this like a malignant albatross tied with a 120 pound weight around my cinematic career, plunging in further and further into the murky abyss that IS the American cinema production experience. Hallelujah. Let Joe Johnson suck as many old wrinkly d*cks as he wants. I have survived. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:19:48 AM

^ no way, not now way
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:24:48 AM

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:31:48 AM

trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 6:28:41 AM

I thought the wolfman was ok , as you guys said it could have been so much better..

American Werewolf in London
and
The Howling

Are the last 2 Werewolf films i really liked and they are nearly 30 years old.

We due a good one at some point..


@Dave the Photo Guy

Also, Dog Soldiers

Underworld (special effects wise) and

Skinwalkers
CCBlev writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:26:52 AM

Never seen the remake, I don't think I care too either
lebowski writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:30:06 AM

all i remember from this movie is how bored tony hopkins looked
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 11:36:53 AM

Rocket -

Very Good call on the Bond suggestion he would be good. (a german bond)

Eden is one of those films you think to yourself , that would never happen to me i would have been long gone before all the sh*t hit the fan !!

Dave -

Max is right (good call max) Dog Soldiers love that movie , can't believe i didn't think of that and talking about Centurion too (tut tut)
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 11:40:31 AM

CC-

Your not lovin' todays WP movie news are you my friend lol
rabid writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 11:48:57 AM

Wolfman could have been resolved better, but it was not a bad film by a long shot. I think it failed to make it's money back because werewolves just aren't that interesting, especially in the classic, period film sense... (Brotherhood of the Wolf being a rare exception)
BigUnit writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 12:45:59 PM

the wolfman coulda been great...
Rambo writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 12:49:09 PM

the wp news today do suck very much...isn't there a new mel gibson tape you forgot to post?
LEONCIO writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 1:15:19 PM

http://vimeo.com/3554226
CCBlev writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 2:11:20 PM

Trailer- Me not loving it? What makes you think that? lol
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:09:22 PM

As Quasimodo always says, It's just a Hunch !! lol
pomme writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 7:01:01 PM

Romanek learnt the lesson with "alien 3"(Fincher is his best friend)
GIST writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 7:52:10 PM

Love Romanek's work! Great interview.
kmccarney88 writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:47:19 PM

yeah, you can put this on the ever growing list of "what if" movies, which SHOULD have been amazing (and would have been had the studios not been a bunch of f*ckheads and hired hackjobs directors).
Had Romanek stayed and gotten his way, I bet it would have been incredible.

Unlike Romanek, I'm glad this movie didn't make back it's budget and bombed at the box office.....serves those idiots right!
coldplayesence writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 11:34:53 PM

@TT and Dave: may I sugest Ginger Snaps? Loved that movie.
GambleBDJ writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 7:04:02 AM

I can't believe Jill is going to be a villain in the next one. Those who stood during the credits are treated to the scene of her cameo. Damn is she fine in tht little cameo.
GambleBDJ writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 7:04:40 AM

Oops wrong article.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 3:19:39 PM

figures the movie was all over the place... I was excited for it but after all the delays I knew it was Producers putting their d*cks into it
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 15th, 2010 at 12:31:44 AM

@max- nice one man, can't belive I forgot "Dog Soldiers", I'm glad you added "special effects wise" to "Underworld" never a fun of that trilogy.
"Skinwalkers" I have bever seen so will have to check it out.

Weird though init guys, the three best Werwolf films of the last 30 years have been low bugdet works and the effects are real and not CGI.
seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 10:04:03 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved