WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Will Smith's "Concussion" Football Drama
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer: Eddie Redmayne is First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Sep 3rd, 2015
Vincent Cassel is Main Villain in New "Jason Bourne" Film
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Chloe Moretz's "The 5th Wave" Sci-Fi Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Pay the Ghost" Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy

Posted: September 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Romanek on Ben StillerSubmit Comment
We recently caught up with director Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo) to discuss "Never Let Me Go," which is getting great reviews out of the Toronto Film Festival, and asked him about a movie he's been working on with Ben Stiller.

"There's this thing with Ben Stiller that Steve Conrad wrote, who is a great writer who wrote 'The Pursuit of Happyness' and 'The Weather Man.' He's a terrific writer, it's called "A Parking Ticket," Romanek explained. "[In the movie], Ben Stiller decides to fight an unjust parking ticket and teach his daughter how the system can work and ends up on death row."

He added: "It's a very funny movie. It's a black comedy, but it's quite funny. We're working on the script still, fiddling with it a little bit. I just spoke with Ben the night before last."

Romanek said that "A Parking Ticket" will likely not be his next project, since he's just now pushing forward with a movie that he's been developing for fifteen years. He didn't discuss what the movie is, but said that he secured a screenwriter and has two actors attached.

He is also planning to finally make "A Cold Case" thriller, starring Tom Hanks from a script by Eric Roth (Forrest Gump). The movie is about an investigator who vows to solve the 27-year-old murder of his friend. "We had a life rights issue, where we couldn't get the life rights to a key character," he explained. "The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film. We still hope to make that movie one day."

He was also involved in James Frey's "A Million Little Pieces" before the studio found out that the author lied about his life in the book. "If they just stuck it on the fiction shelf, we would have made that film," said Romanek.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:42:47 AM

"'The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film.'"

Ha ha. I like his frankness. He just comes out and says he's gonna make a movie about somebody after he's gone so there's no bitching or litigation. If only others would be so forthright with their intentions. I might've enjoyed "Avatar" way more if James Cameron said in an interview years ago, "So, I'm planning on making a film in 3D featuring nine-foot-tall blue cat people and it's gonna be an allegory for American Indians. Or 'Dances With Wolves' in outer space."
-Chewy- writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:45:15 AM

Wow, that Parking ticket story seems really cool. We are missing good old-school dark-comedic themes lately.

That movie could be really good.

I think I just became a Romanek's fan just by reading the 2 news about him today.
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:53:30 AM

@ -Chewy-: The guy was, first and foremost, a music video director before he delved into feature length film. You definitely should check out some of his videos. There's a DVD compilation of his them, part of that "Director's Label" series devoted to music video directors. He produced some great clips with Johnny Cash, Eels, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers, among others.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:29:23 AM

Ben Stiller on Death Row , ok i'm in...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:41:14 AM

@trailer- don't get your hopes up mate, I think it's for a movie.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:49:26 AM

Ahh sh*t ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:36:49 AM

I knw shame really..waste of a good spot on Deathrow.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:04:00 AM

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy ... " I'm sorry. I'm so, so sorry. "

I say they oughta give John Murray a cameo as the death row inmate, who looks at Ben's character and says, " You know, I got put in here in 1985, bitch. You look like a nice, tender piece o' ass. I'm gonna tear
you a new *sshole on both your elbow, bitch. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:28:22 AM

^ Another cameo ? Suge Knight ?
CCBlev writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:34:42 AM

WTF! Um no, your gonna fight a parking ticket and then somehow end up on death row??? I know your trying to be origianl hollywood foronce I applaude you on that but thats f*ckign stupid. How does he end up on death row? He better kill a sh*t ton of cops then to end up there. Better idea do the only movie we want you to do and that's Zoolander 2, if not that, PISS OFF!!!!

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved