WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy

Posted: September 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Romanek on Ben StillerSubmit Comment
We recently caught up with director Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo) to discuss "Never Let Me Go," which is getting great reviews out of the Toronto Film Festival, and asked him about a movie he's been working on with Ben Stiller.

"There's this thing with Ben Stiller that Steve Conrad wrote, who is a great writer who wrote 'The Pursuit of Happyness' and 'The Weather Man.' He's a terrific writer, it's called "A Parking Ticket," Romanek explained. "[In the movie], Ben Stiller decides to fight an unjust parking ticket and teach his daughter how the system can work and ends up on death row."

He added: "It's a very funny movie. It's a black comedy, but it's quite funny. We're working on the script still, fiddling with it a little bit. I just spoke with Ben the night before last."

Romanek said that "A Parking Ticket" will likely not be his next project, since he's just now pushing forward with a movie that he's been developing for fifteen years. He didn't discuss what the movie is, but said that he secured a screenwriter and has two actors attached.

He is also planning to finally make "A Cold Case" thriller, starring Tom Hanks from a script by Eric Roth (Forrest Gump). The movie is about an investigator who vows to solve the 27-year-old murder of his friend. "We had a life rights issue, where we couldn't get the life rights to a key character," he explained. "The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film. We still hope to make that movie one day."

He was also involved in James Frey's "A Million Little Pieces" before the studio found out that the author lied about his life in the book. "If they just stuck it on the fiction shelf, we would have made that film," said Romanek.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:42:47 AM

"'The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film.'"

Ha ha. I like his frankness. He just comes out and says he's gonna make a movie about somebody after he's gone so there's no bitching or litigation. If only others would be so forthright with their intentions. I might've enjoyed "Avatar" way more if James Cameron said in an interview years ago, "So, I'm planning on making a film in 3D featuring nine-foot-tall blue cat people and it's gonna be an allegory for American Indians. Or 'Dances With Wolves' in outer space."
-Chewy- writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:45:15 AM

Wow, that Parking ticket story seems really cool. We are missing good old-school dark-comedic themes lately.

That movie could be really good.

I think I just became a Romanek's fan just by reading the 2 news about him today.
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:53:30 AM

@ -Chewy-: The guy was, first and foremost, a music video director before he delved into feature length film. You definitely should check out some of his videos. There's a DVD compilation of his them, part of that "Director's Label" series devoted to music video directors. He produced some great clips with Johnny Cash, Eels, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers, among others.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:29:23 AM

Ben Stiller on Death Row , ok i'm in...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:41:14 AM

@trailer- don't get your hopes up mate, I think it's for a movie.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:49:26 AM

Ahh sh*t ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:36:49 AM

I knw shame really..waste of a good spot on Deathrow.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:04:00 AM

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy ... " I'm sorry. I'm so, so sorry. "

I say they oughta give John Murray a cameo as the death row inmate, who looks at Ben's character and says, " You know, I got put in here in 1985, bitch. You look like a nice, tender piece o' ass. I'm gonna tear
you a new *sshole on both your elbow, bitch. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:28:22 AM

^ Another cameo ? Suge Knight ?
CCBlev writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:34:42 AM

WTF! Um no, your gonna fight a parking ticket and then somehow end up on death row??? I know your trying to be origianl hollywood foronce I applaude you on that but thats f*ckign stupid. How does he end up on death row? He better kill a sh*t ton of cops then to end up there. Better idea do the only movie we want you to do and that's Zoolander 2, if not that, PISS OFF!!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved