WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy

Posted: September 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Romanek on Ben StillerSubmit Comment
We recently caught up with director Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo) to discuss "Never Let Me Go," which is getting great reviews out of the Toronto Film Festival, and asked him about a movie he's been working on with Ben Stiller.

"There's this thing with Ben Stiller that Steve Conrad wrote, who is a great writer who wrote 'The Pursuit of Happyness' and 'The Weather Man.' He's a terrific writer, it's called "A Parking Ticket," Romanek explained. "[In the movie], Ben Stiller decides to fight an unjust parking ticket and teach his daughter how the system can work and ends up on death row."

He added: "It's a very funny movie. It's a black comedy, but it's quite funny. We're working on the script still, fiddling with it a little bit. I just spoke with Ben the night before last."

Romanek said that "A Parking Ticket" will likely not be his next project, since he's just now pushing forward with a movie that he's been developing for fifteen years. He didn't discuss what the movie is, but said that he secured a screenwriter and has two actors attached.

He is also planning to finally make "A Cold Case" thriller, starring Tom Hanks from a script by Eric Roth (Forrest Gump). The movie is about an investigator who vows to solve the 27-year-old murder of his friend. "We had a life rights issue, where we couldn't get the life rights to a key character," he explained. "The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film. We still hope to make that movie one day."

He was also involved in James Frey's "A Million Little Pieces" before the studio found out that the author lied about his life in the book. "If they just stuck it on the fiction shelf, we would have made that film," said Romanek.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:42:47 AM

"'The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film.'"

Ha ha. I like his frankness. He just comes out and says he's gonna make a movie about somebody after he's gone so there's no bitching or litigation. If only others would be so forthright with their intentions. I might've enjoyed "Avatar" way more if James Cameron said in an interview years ago, "So, I'm planning on making a film in 3D featuring nine-foot-tall blue cat people and it's gonna be an allegory for American Indians. Or 'Dances With Wolves' in outer space."
-Chewy- writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:45:15 AM

Wow, that Parking ticket story seems really cool. We are missing good old-school dark-comedic themes lately.

That movie could be really good.

I think I just became a Romanek's fan just by reading the 2 news about him today.
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:53:30 AM

@ -Chewy-: The guy was, first and foremost, a music video director before he delved into feature length film. You definitely should check out some of his videos. There's a DVD compilation of his them, part of that "Director's Label" series devoted to music video directors. He produced some great clips with Johnny Cash, Eels, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers, among others.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:29:23 AM

Ben Stiller on Death Row , ok i'm in...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:41:14 AM

@trailer- don't get your hopes up mate, I think it's for a movie.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:49:26 AM

Ahh sh*t ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:36:49 AM

I knw shame really..waste of a good spot on Deathrow.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:04:00 AM

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy ... " I'm sorry. I'm so, so sorry. "

I say they oughta give John Murray a cameo as the death row inmate, who looks at Ben's character and says, " You know, I got put in here in 1985, bitch. You look like a nice, tender piece o' ass. I'm gonna tear
you a new *sshole on both your elbow, bitch. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:28:22 AM

^ Another cameo ? Suge Knight ?
CCBlev writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:34:42 AM

WTF! Um no, your gonna fight a parking ticket and then somehow end up on death row??? I know your trying to be origianl hollywood foronce I applaude you on that but thats f*ckign stupid. How does he end up on death row? He better kill a sh*t ton of cops then to end up there. Better idea do the only movie we want you to do and that's Zoolander 2, if not that, PISS OFF!!!!

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved