WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
"Captain America 2" Directors May Take Over "The Avengers" Franchise
Nov 17th, 2014
Oscar-Winning "The Hurt Locker" Writer Hired for "Uncharted" Video Game Film
Nov 17th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million
Nov 16th, 2014
"Battlestar Galactice" and "Knight Rider" Creator Glen A. Larson Dead at 77
Nov 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Nov 16th, 2014
Jude Law is the Villain in Guy Ritchie's "Knights of the Round Table" King Arthur Film
Nov 16th, 2014
Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"
Nov 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy

Posted: September 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Romanek on Ben StillerSubmit Comment
We recently caught up with director Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo) to discuss "Never Let Me Go," which is getting great reviews out of the Toronto Film Festival, and asked him about a movie he's been working on with Ben Stiller.

"There's this thing with Ben Stiller that Steve Conrad wrote, who is a great writer who wrote 'The Pursuit of Happyness' and 'The Weather Man.' He's a terrific writer, it's called "A Parking Ticket," Romanek explained. "[In the movie], Ben Stiller decides to fight an unjust parking ticket and teach his daughter how the system can work and ends up on death row."

He added: "It's a very funny movie. It's a black comedy, but it's quite funny. We're working on the script still, fiddling with it a little bit. I just spoke with Ben the night before last."

Romanek said that "A Parking Ticket" will likely not be his next project, since he's just now pushing forward with a movie that he's been developing for fifteen years. He didn't discuss what the movie is, but said that he secured a screenwriter and has two actors attached.

He is also planning to finally make "A Cold Case" thriller, starring Tom Hanks from a script by Eric Roth (Forrest Gump). The movie is about an investigator who vows to solve the 27-year-old murder of his friend. "We had a life rights issue, where we couldn't get the life rights to a key character," he explained. "The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film. We still hope to make that movie one day."

He was also involved in James Frey's "A Million Little Pieces" before the studio found out that the author lied about his life in the book. "If they just stuck it on the fiction shelf, we would have made that film," said Romanek.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:42:47 AM

"'The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film.'"

Ha ha. I like his frankness. He just comes out and says he's gonna make a movie about somebody after he's gone so there's no bitching or litigation. If only others would be so forthright with their intentions. I might've enjoyed "Avatar" way more if James Cameron said in an interview years ago, "So, I'm planning on making a film in 3D featuring nine-foot-tall blue cat people and it's gonna be an allegory for American Indians. Or 'Dances With Wolves' in outer space."
-Chewy- writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:45:15 AM

Wow, that Parking ticket story seems really cool. We are missing good old-school dark-comedic themes lately.

That movie could be really good.

I think I just became a Romanek's fan just by reading the 2 news about him today.
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:53:30 AM

@ -Chewy-: The guy was, first and foremost, a music video director before he delved into feature length film. You definitely should check out some of his videos. There's a DVD compilation of his them, part of that "Director's Label" series devoted to music video directors. He produced some great clips with Johnny Cash, Eels, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers, among others.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:29:23 AM

Ben Stiller on Death Row , ok i'm in...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:41:14 AM

@trailer- don't get your hopes up mate, I think it's for a movie.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:49:26 AM

Ahh sh*t ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:36:49 AM

I knw shame really..waste of a good spot on Deathrow.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:04:00 AM

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy ... " I'm sorry. I'm so, so sorry. "

I say they oughta give John Murray a cameo as the death row inmate, who looks at Ben's character and says, " You know, I got put in here in 1985, bitch. You look like a nice, tender piece o' ass. I'm gonna tear
you a new *sshole on both your elbow, bitch. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:28:22 AM

^ Another cameo ? Suge Knight ?
CCBlev writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:34:42 AM

WTF! Um no, your gonna fight a parking ticket and then somehow end up on death row??? I know your trying to be origianl hollywood foronce I applaude you on that but thats f*ckign stupid. How does he end up on death row? He better kill a sh*t ton of cops then to end up there. Better idea do the only movie we want you to do and that's Zoolander 2, if not that, PISS OFF!!!!

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved