WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Full "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Leaked Online!
Apr 17th, 2015
New "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Apr 17th, 2015
Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"
Apr 17th, 2015
Ryan Gosling in Talks for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2015
Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "Flash Gordon" Remake
Apr 17th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Trailer is Here!
Apr 16th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Just Hired a New Director
Apr 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Results," with Guy Pearce and Cobie Smulders
Apr 16th, 2015
Jason Sudeikis to Star in "Fletch" Reboot
Apr 16th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for David Spade's "Joe Dirt" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2015
John Cusack is The Beach Boys Founder in "Love and Mercy" Trailer
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for Al Pacino's "Manglehorn"
Apr 15th, 2015
Griswolds Visit Walley World in New "Vacation" Photo
Apr 15th, 2015
New Trailer for Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Apr 14th, 2015
Lots of Action in New "Terminator Genisys" Trailer
Apr 14th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Loses Its Director
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Ed Helms and Griswold Family in "Vacation" Sequel
Apr 14th, 2015
Iron Man Fights Ultron in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip
Apr 14th, 2015
Olivia Munn to Play Psylocke in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Derek's Son From "Zoolander 2"
Apr 14th, 2015
Viggo Mortensen Was Offered Wolverine Role in "X-Men"
Apr 13th, 2015
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip Shows Hulk vs Iron Man Battle
Apr 13th, 2015
"Furious 7" Already Earned $800 Million at Box Office
Apr 13th, 2015
First Photo From "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Apr 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Scream" TV Series
Apr 13th, 2015
New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story
Apr 12th, 2015
First Look at Negasonic Teenage Warhead in "Deadpool"
Apr 12th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy

Posted: September 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Romanek on Ben StillerSubmit Comment
We recently caught up with director Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo) to discuss "Never Let Me Go," which is getting great reviews out of the Toronto Film Festival, and asked him about a movie he's been working on with Ben Stiller.

"There's this thing with Ben Stiller that Steve Conrad wrote, who is a great writer who wrote 'The Pursuit of Happyness' and 'The Weather Man.' He's a terrific writer, it's called "A Parking Ticket," Romanek explained. "[In the movie], Ben Stiller decides to fight an unjust parking ticket and teach his daughter how the system can work and ends up on death row."

He added: "It's a very funny movie. It's a black comedy, but it's quite funny. We're working on the script still, fiddling with it a little bit. I just spoke with Ben the night before last."

Romanek said that "A Parking Ticket" will likely not be his next project, since he's just now pushing forward with a movie that he's been developing for fifteen years. He didn't discuss what the movie is, but said that he secured a screenwriter and has two actors attached.

He is also planning to finally make "A Cold Case" thriller, starring Tom Hanks from a script by Eric Roth (Forrest Gump). The movie is about an investigator who vows to solve the 27-year-old murder of his friend. "We had a life rights issue, where we couldn't get the life rights to a key character," he explained. "The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film. We still hope to make that movie one day."

He was also involved in James Frey's "A Million Little Pieces" before the studio found out that the author lied about his life in the book. "If they just stuck it on the fiction shelf, we would have made that film," said Romanek.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:42:47 AM

"'The killer in the film is being paroled soon. When he dies, we can make the film.'"

Ha ha. I like his frankness. He just comes out and says he's gonna make a movie about somebody after he's gone so there's no bitching or litigation. If only others would be so forthright with their intentions. I might've enjoyed "Avatar" way more if James Cameron said in an interview years ago, "So, I'm planning on making a film in 3D featuring nine-foot-tall blue cat people and it's gonna be an allegory for American Indians. Or 'Dances With Wolves' in outer space."
-Chewy- writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:45:15 AM

Wow, that Parking ticket story seems really cool. We are missing good old-school dark-comedic themes lately.

That movie could be really good.

I think I just became a Romanek's fan just by reading the 2 news about him today.
c-prime writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:53:30 AM

@ -Chewy-: The guy was, first and foremost, a music video director before he delved into feature length film. You definitely should check out some of his videos. There's a DVD compilation of his them, part of that "Director's Label" series devoted to music video directors. He produced some great clips with Johnny Cash, Eels, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers, among others.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:29:23 AM

Ben Stiller on Death Row , ok i'm in...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:41:14 AM

@trailer- don't get your hopes up mate, I think it's for a movie.
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 5:49:26 AM

Ahh sh*t ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 8:36:49 AM

I knw shame really..waste of a good spot on Deathrow.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:04:00 AM

Mark Romanek on Ben Stiller's "Parking Ticket" Comedy ... " I'm sorry. I'm so, so sorry. "

I say they oughta give John Murray a cameo as the death row inmate, who looks at Ben's character and says, " You know, I got put in here in 1985, bitch. You look like a nice, tender piece o' ass. I'm gonna tear
you a new *sshole on both your elbow, bitch. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:28:22 AM

^ Another cameo ? Suge Knight ?
CCBlev writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 9:34:42 AM

WTF! Um no, your gonna fight a parking ticket and then somehow end up on death row??? I know your trying to be origianl hollywood foronce I applaude you on that but thats f*ckign stupid. How does he end up on death row? He better kill a sh*t ton of cops then to end up there. Better idea do the only movie we want you to do and that's Zoolander 2, if not that, PISS OFF!!!!

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved