WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Best Movies from Toronto Film Festival, Part I

Posted: September 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Best Movies from Toronto Film Festival, Part ISubmit Comment
Alex here, currently at the Toronto International Film Festival where I sit through five movies and three press conferences per day. Before the festival picks up tomorrow, I put together a list of our favorite films at TIFF so far.

Some movies that we have yet to see, include Danny Boyle's "127 Hours," Darren Aronofsky's "Black Swan," Ryan Reynolds' "Buried," Clint Eastwood's "Hereafter" and many others. Part two of this report will be posted on WP in a few days.

* Never Let Me Go: This is a love story told by the director of "One Hour Photo," Mark Romanek, and the writer behind "28 Days Later," Alex Garland. At its core, the film is about three characters (Keira Knightley, Andrew Garfield, Carey Mulligan) growing up at a boarding school and transitioning into adulthood. But don't confuse this movie with some mindless romantic drama. It is a well crafted film that's set in a world where these three individuals have their short future mapped out for them in the most disturbing way. "Never Let Me Go" is currently my favorite film of the festival. Not something I expected going into the screening.

* The Town: The movie can best be compared to "Heat," as far as story and the quality of acting. Unfortunately, instead of Robert De Niro and Al Pacino, we have Ben Affleck and John Hamm ("Mad Men"). Maybe that's doesn't sounds so great, but Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker) makes up for it with his amazing portrayal of a violent criminal who has nothing to lose. This is a great thriller that will be considered one of the better bank robbery films. And is worth watching, if not only for the shoot-outs and chase scenes.

* Let Me In: The remake of "Let the Right One In" is much better than the original as far as violence, quality, acting, music and camera work. Unfortunately, it is almost a shot-for-shot remake that adds very little. Yes, it's one of the best horror films around and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. But beware, if you have seen the original, this one will bore you. If you haven't, run to the theaters and make sure to watch "Let Me In" first. It is far more superior.

Other movies worth mentioning are "Stone" (starring Robert De Niro and Edward Norton), "Conviction" (starring Sam Rockwell and Hilary Swank), and "Waiting for Superman" documentary. All three have their moments and are worth checking out, but fail to leave a lasting impression. "Stone" came close to being something great, but never quite reached its potential.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Lloyd Christmas writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 4:16:55 AM

so you see 5 movies a day and pick 3 as the best of the festival? what about all the movies you don't see each day, they don't make the cut? it seems a bit misleading to title the article "the best movies" from the festival. guess you didn't catch Fubar II last night? you probably haven't even seen the first one. i'm getting sick of the misleading article titles.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 5:17:24 AM

I would have watched "Let Me In" cuz it seems very interesting, but twilight just made me hate vampires more than I ever did. Too bad cuz that Chloe gave a great performance as hit girl in Kick Ass and i wanted to see if she could do it again
velocityknown writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 8:34:26 AM

I can understand Ben Affleck getting the "unfortunately", but Jon Hamm? Really?
CCBlev writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 8:50:31 AM

interesting choices, "Let me in" is def on my must see list
SeWerin writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 9:20:58 AM

I am sorry but i can't believe that Let Me In will beat Let The Right One In. That's just impossible.
velocityknown writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 10:20:21 AM

By the way, I can't wait for Never Let Me Go, if you haven't seen the trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kymQcM4ej3w

And Alex is right, not just a romantic drama, it's got an almost sci-fi, dystopia feel to it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 10:26:44 AM

Eventhough I can't stand Keira Knightly I will still check out the movie as it sounds good, whilst the movie "The Town", I have seen a trailer to that and it deos look really good.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 11:55:08 AM

I was hoping Let Me In wasn't identical to Let The Right One In since the original film was homosexual propaganda. The makers were so dishonest that they cast an actual girl to play a male vampire pretending to be a girl and now they've done the same with the remake and what's worse is they cast the unmistakably female Chloe Moretz to play the f*cking tranny!!
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 12:38:04 PM

ok....who let Mel Gibson out?
Rodan writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 5:06:47 PM

Dammit, I hate it when I read a book then it's superior movie version comes out, or a remake is down that is superior to the original. It's hard to appreciate a movie when you know what's gonna happen. It's kinda like how I saw Infernal Affairs before I saw The Departed. I'm with SeWerin though, it's hard to believe Let Me In will be better than the original. The original was just so damn creepy, eerie. I like Matt Reeves but I'm thinking he had to change a few things if he wanted this movie to make money from the "mainstream audience". Luckily, I've somehow never read Never Let Me Go, so I'm looking forward to that one.
stevepoots writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 5:40:39 PM

Just saw Let Me In, and the poster is way off. It's not bad .. the original OWNS it though.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 5:45:13 PM

The Town: The movie can best be compared to "Heat," as far as story and the quality of acting. Unfortunately, instead of Robert De Niro and Al Pacino, we have Ben Affleck and John Hamm ("Mad Men"). Maybe that's doesn't sounds so great, but Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker) makes up for it with his amazing portrayal of a violent criminal who has nothing to lose. This is a great thriller that will be considered one of the better bank robbery films. And is worth watching, if not only for the shoot-outs and chase scenes.

.... let me guess. They're gonna use some leftover Dropkick Murphy songs Marty didn't swipe for The Departed. And Matt's janitor-savant has a brief cameo as a "whicked, whicked schmart schpy! How 'bout dem apples ? " Fuuuuuuuuuuuck.

Don Draper as an FBI guy ? Load up on dem scotches and ciggs, Donny baby.

Oh, and Toronto ... it wants to be the film festival mecca like Austin is for music with (S)outh (X) By (S)outh(W)est.

More power to 'em.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 5:48:43 PM

* Never Let Me Go: This is a love story told by the director of "One Hour Photo," Mark Romanek, and the writer behind "28 Days Later," Alex Garland. At its core, the film is about three characters (Keira Knightley, Andrew Garfield, Carey Mulligan) growing up at a boarding school and transitioning into adulthood. But don't confuse this movie with some mindless romantic drama. It is a well crafted film that's set in a world where these three individuals have their short future mapped out for them in the most disturbing way. "Never Let Me Go" is currently my favorite film of the festival. Not something I expected going into the screening.

... I also didn't expect to be followed around and stalked by Seymour "Sy" Parrish, carrying duck tape, a Polaroid Instamatic, plastic rap and a digital video camera, where he wanted to do his " Robert Mapplethorpe meets Ansel Adams 'photo session' (finger quotes) " with me, followed by a bried snuff film at the local Best Western.

But hey, I'm flexible (it appears).

The Real Joker writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 5:49:30 PM

"Let Me In: The remake of "Let the Right One In" is much better than the original"
It can't be better then the original, The original had "Ika i Rutan" Very famous swedish actress. or well not really. But hey!

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 5:50:02 PM

Let Me In: The remake of "Let the Right One In" is much better than the original as far as violence, quality, acting, music and camera work. Unfortunately, it is almost a shot-for-shot remake that adds very little. Yes, it's one of the best horror films around and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. But beware, if you have seen the original, this one will bore you. If you haven't, run to the theaters and make sure to watch "Let Me In" first. It is far more superior.

Guiding source for the shot for shot remake idea ?

Gus Van Zant. Guilty!
TGDirector writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 7:44:58 PM

You son of a bitch Alex! You got to see Buried before all of us. That's like one of the main ones I would have wanted to see.

Oh! and Black Swan, I mean lesbian movie!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 10:16:59 PM

Id like to stick my viking horn into her cornucopia cone.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 10:18:23 PM

damn posting under the wrong topic.
Hack-The-Planet! writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 12:01:40 AM

".."Let Me In"...is far more superior."

lolwut?
that's bullsh*t but $50 says that Putzman defined it as better than the original"
Ranger writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 2:12:36 AM

@Scott - lol.
Rodan writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 3:05:39 AM

Scott, honestly, that kinda post usually applies to whatever we're talking about. I would never have known you were on the wrong page.
dave101 writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 10:07:27 AM

I just signed up to say that whoever does all the WP articles is a fully fledged retard. He obviously has no idea what he is talking about. Jon Hamm is amazing and there is no way that 'Let Me In' was better than the original. f*cking idiot.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 10:35:32 AM

I really just didnt get Let The Right One In, I never understood what everyone was saying when they said how good it was. It had some cool moments and a great score, but it was so boring. You say that if I have seen Let the Right One In then Let Me In will bore me, but I think that is truly impossible, Let the Right One In was almost too boring for words.
GIST writes:
on September 12th, 2010 at 7:58:30 PM

Boom!!! I got tickets from Director Romain Gavras' "Notre Jour Viendre" (Our Day Will Come). Then I'm DJing the afterparty with Vincent Cassel & Natalie Portman in the house!
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 1:30:09 AM

f*ck her in the ass for me please.
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 1:30:26 AM

Tell her it's from 'Ranger'... she'll know.
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 1:34:04 AM

Then send her this:

http://tinyurl.com/RangerLUVSNatalie

Thx.
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 12:41:44 PM

She'll 'resist' at first... but that's just how she plays it.
Vin12 writes:
on September 14th, 2010 at 10:56:22 PM

@dave101
amen, bro.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved