WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Josh Brolin Not Happy With "Jonah Hex"

Posted: September 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Josh Brolin Not Happy With "Jonah Hex"Submit Comment
At first, "Crank" directors Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor were planning to helm the "Jonah Hex" movie, but then Josh Brolin stepped in and had them fired. Jimmy Hayward (Horton Hears a Who) was quickly brought on board to replace them, but very little could save the project which went on gross $10 million on a $47 million budget.

Now, Brolin has decided to come clean about "Jonah Hex" to MTV News. "We had an original intention and that got away from us a little bit," he explained. "Everybody did do their best to try and create the best movie with what we had, but I think it got so derailed at a certain point that the assemblage of what we could use was so disconnected to what our original intention was that it just got mixed up."

He continued: "That's what I told the marketing people at Warner Bros. I said, 'I can't lie about this, so I have to look for a truism that I can go with. I do think that if you go in there kind of like with 'Piranha 3-D' when you go to see that movie you go, 'This is ridiculous and this is fun' so if you went into 'Jonah Hex' with that, I think you had a good time."

Click here to read our "Jonah Hex" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 1:58:46 AM

Don't worry Josh , Know one watched it anyway. Just stay away from the Reboot..
FBO writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:01:30 AM

I don't think I would have watched this movie even if it were free
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:02:31 AM

'This is ridiculous and this is fun' so if you went into 'Megan Fox' with that, I think you had a good time."
TGDirector writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:12:36 AM

I think where this got derailed and away from the original concept, is when you guys hired Megan Fox.
Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:20:13 AM

So basically, if you went to the movie expecting to see a piece of sh*t, you'd enjoy it. It's kinda hard to get people to go see movies they know will suck balls. No, I don't think I'd eat corn out of Josh Brolin's ass. Not after Jonah Hex.
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:34:09 AM

Everybody did do their best to try and create the best movie !!

Not seen it but did was there any gratuitous naked tit and ass shots of megan , if not then you guys didn't do your best did you and no wonder it failed..
Derp88 writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 3:19:58 AM

What a gaybo
rocketman writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 3:48:15 AM

I'm not familiar with Jonah Hex but i suspect this is another case of 'Hollywood knows best'did they deviated from the source material again?Will they ever learn?
Rambo writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 4:21:14 AM

Josh,you should have had the brains to walk away from this the first moment you read the script,however,if this movie was an erotic thriller with you f*cking megan fox every 10 min I'm sure it would have been a box office hit.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 4:47:17 AM

And judging by the Box Office takings Josh, so was the public.
JohnZee writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 5:24:51 AM

Yeah the whole reason this movie bombed is because the think that had gotten the Jonah Hex concept approved to make a major motion picture movie about, the Jonah Hex comic book character was almost completely disregarded.

They gave him superpowers. (Doesn't have them in the comics.)

They had him brought back to life by Indians. (For those old guys out there, or maybe film buffs this was pretty much ripped off from the movie Legend of the Lone Ranger.)

Remember that Bruce Campbell western tv show "Brisco County Jr" or whatever it was called? Well think sort of like that, as far as the extreme cheese, but more of a supernatural flair.

Basically they added a ton of crap that didn't have a damned thing to do with why a lot of Jonah Hex comic book stories are acclaimed by critics and fans alike...

...But here's a hint, the reason is because of the realism, which the movie threw completely out the window.

You want to see what a Jonah Hex movie would look like if the studios actually somewhat kept to the actual Jonah Hex comic book character?

Watch the Clint Eastwood movie "The Outlaw Josey Wales".

Would have taken very little to make a bad ass movie out of Jonah Hex, but Brolin and company f*cked that sh*t up so bad that even Kick Ass can claim to be more of a success...
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 7:25:20 AM

I would more unhappy about the fact that my dad was sliping it up Barbra Streisand than how this movie turned out !!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 7:39:17 AM

Josh Brolin Not Happy With "Jonah Hex"

Duh. Neither were we. It made Wild, Wild West look like A Fistful of Dollars.
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 7:44:25 AM

This movie was a POS and the only reason most people gave it a rip was because of Brolin. Lets face it the guy was king in Thrashin!

and Megan......please go the sex tape route everyone is waiting for
or find your way back to Bays couch as your career is in the keester
CCBlev writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 7:56:03 AM

There was a movie called Jonah Hex?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 8:20:18 AM

Maybe Jonah should've strangled the f*ck out of Megan's character ... after repeatedly punching her in the face ... then suffocating her and anally raping the corpse till the sphincter hole was large enough Brett Ratner could stuff a roled up movie script into it, elbow deep ... a Western snuff-film, as it were ...

then I'd be tempted to watch the trailer.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 8:22:26 AM

trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 7:25:20 AM

I would more unhappy about the fact that my dad was sliping it up Barbra Streisand than how this movie turned out !!


@trailertrash

That yenta's LOADED. I can see why he did the Dirty Sanchez with her for years.

I mean, after Hotel, what's James Brolin really done lately ? Jerry Lewis as Ronald Reagan for television ?
KallousTom writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 8:27:41 AM

I was going to see this because Michael Fassbender is a bloody good actor, but yeah a movie with Megan Fox in co-lead role isn't going to go down well. Also, I know the original directors aren't exactly geniuses but wasn't this their baby initially?
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 9:26:05 AM

Too bad, too sad. You'd think actors would learn from past actors trying to control who directs and who write and or what gets written. Stick to acting and or choosing what you will do.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 9:27:45 AM

P.sI'm with JohnZee on this one as well.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 10:00:41 AM

The script sucked. The reason why this failed so badly is because this story was awful from the get go. How in the hell was Josh Brolin powerful enough to fire the original directors?
Anung_un_rama writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 10:15:31 AM

i will never watch that movie it looked like a wild west retarded stepbrother
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 10:17:30 AM

@John - as I've posted many times on here whenever Eastwood comes up... re: Josey Wales being an all-time fav. of mine. And Jonah Hex was never a reg. read for me when I collected way back when... so I've never put it together as Wales is an older movie now ('76)... but yeah, Jonah Hex was already done perfectly... and it was called:

'The Outlaw Josey Wales' - no need for anyone ever trying to top that.

Good catch.
rabid writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 10:23:12 AM

I had a horrible time watching Jonah Hex. There was no good reason to change the origin and story format for the character, when there are so many great stories already written.
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 10:50:21 AM

@ RAMBO, f*cking love the new avatar.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 6:13:12 PM

no sh*t josh... nobody was happy with that pile of turd.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 7:36:01 PM

Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 10:17:30 AM
@John - as I've posted many times on here whenever Eastwood comes up... re: Josey Wales being an all-time fav. of mine. And Jonah Hex was never a reg. read for me when I collected way back when... so I've never put it together as Wales is an older movie now ('76)... but yeah, Jonah Hex was already done perfectly... and it was called:

'The Outlaw Josey Wales' - no need for anyone ever trying to top that.

Good catch.

@Ranger

This movie was done so much better and Eastwood even directed it.

Two words :

Pale Rider
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 7:38:13 PM

Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 6:13:12 PM
no sh*t josh... nobody was happy with that pile of turd.

@Scott

It's like that old saying I just made up.

" You can polish a f*cking turd. You can spray Febreeze on a f*cking turd. You can EVEN
dip a turd in a container of perfume. .... But in the end, you've still got a f*cking turd. "

That 's a career analysis of Megan Fox in a nutshell and this movie EXACTLY.
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 9:44:16 PM

If this movie had grossed moderate revenues, these blatant "accusations" wouldn't have surfaced.Atleast not until 2-3 sequels were spawned and a disgruntled Brolin being recast.

Hollywood *groan*
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 1:40:16 AM

How could firing the directors who created the high-octane, sh*tacular, loads-of-fun, blood n' guts Crank movies and Gamer (though more sh*tty but still a blast) and replacing him with a director whose sole directing credit was an animated movie (though good) to direct an adaptation of a graphic novel be considered a good move? Regardless of what you think of the Crank films and Gamer, Jonah Hex deserved to have ADD directors like Neveldine/Taylor to make it fun and engaging like those other movies. Hayward tried to make it a serious adaptation, and instead make an actual sh*tty 75 minute "action" movie. I wouldnt be surprised if like 5-7 years down the road Malkovich comes out and says that he was literally just in this to see some cash and was too lazy to tell Hayward and the studio that they were royally f*cking up. Poor Neveldine/Taylor for still getting a screenplay credit for this garbage, can't wait for Crank 3
Ranger writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 3:07:05 AM

@Max - re: Pale Rider. Yet another movie I seem to make the time for every time it's on TV.
trailertrash writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 6:43:23 AM

Same here when Debbie does Dallas is on ....... New and old versions
LastActionHero writes:
on September 13th, 2010 at 1:31:04 PM

Crappy actor, what do you expect.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved