WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ron Howard to Direct Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" Film Trilogy and TV Series

Posted: September 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ron Howard to Direct Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures and NBC have announced that they have acquired the rights to develop three films and a TV series based on the seven novels, short stories and comic books from Stephen King's "The Dark Tower."

Ron Howard (Da Vinci Code) will direct the first film and the first season of the series, which will be written by Akiva Goldsman (A Beautiful Mind, I Robot).

Howard and Goldsman are planning for the first film in the trilogy to be immediately followed by a TV series that will bridge the second film. After the second film, the TV series will pick up allowing viewers to explore the adventures of the protagonist as a young man as a bridge to the third film and beyond.

"I've been waiting for the right team to bring the characters and stories in these books to film and TV viewers around the world," said King. "Ron, Akiva, along with Universal and NBC have a deep interest and passion for the 'The Dark Tower' series and I know that will translate into an intriguing series of films and TV shows that respect the origins and the characters in 'The Dark Tower' that fans have come to love."

Source: Universal


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 12:24:49 PM

I heard this story can be on a LOTR epic scale if done right. I can see it being done that way, its an awesome series.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 12:39:26 PM

This sounds incredibly ambitious. A movie, than a tie-in tv series leading into the second film AND then another tv series which I'm assuming will lead into a possible third film if this franchise succeeds thus far. I have no doubt it will. Everyone I know seems to know about this book series. Can anyone tell me a little about what this story is about and what stories I need to read first?
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 12:42:38 PM

This will never have time to develop as 2012 is right around the corner.......repent people repent!
gobolog writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 12:45:16 PM

Akiva Goldsman is just so standard and mediorce. I robot could have been so much better and I'm not even going to speak about his script for batman and robin.
Rambo writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 12:46:31 PM

ron howard sucks.
Man in Black writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:40:41 PM

thank you WP finnaly some recent and good news looking fwd to this
billofill writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 2:03:05 PM

Over Under of this actually happening with Universal?
darkknight1985 writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 2:09:49 PM

I don't know if whether this is because Hugh Jackman reminds me of Clint Eastwood in the Dollars Trilogy, But ever since there was talk about the movie I kept picturing Hugh as Roland.
vaodsi writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 2:26:02 PM

sounds good
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 7:32:23 PM

@Rambo... lol. You hard ass.

Have you reviewed Opie's resume? I'd eat the corn out of his daughter's ass to be in one of his movies (not a great sacrifice I know... just saying I want my tongue up her ass!)!
Tyrkae writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 7:59:09 PM

@ CCBlev
Sorry to say but Ron Howard and Goldsman have a hand in it could be crap Goldsman did write great movies like Batman Forever and Batman and Robin and Ron with his acadamy award winning How the grinch stole christmas
CCBlev writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 8:32:59 PM

yea but im talking about what i read a long time ago, on what they can do with the series on its potenial. The series is great, never said the adaptaions were gonna be
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 9:55:35 PM

How old is this f*cking story anyway ?

Didn't we hear about this FIVE years ago ?
Farradin writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 12:31:06 AM

There goes my dream of a seven picture multi action/horror director collaboration. With the likes of Sam Raimi, David Cronenberg, John Carpenter, Peter Jackson and various others.
SaulSilver writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 12:42:45 AM

Why is everyone on WP so obsessed with eating corn out of hot chick's sh*ts? Cmon guys, you can get more creative with your sick twisted comments
SaulSilver writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 12:43:17 AM

What if they don't eat corn?
Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 1:16:04 AM

M&M's work too.
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 1:16:14 AM

http://tinyurl.com/CornIsHealthy
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 1:18:47 AM

@Saul - I believe you're suggesting more mature comments over 'creative'. I don't mean to speak for others on here (and won't) when I say: fat chance of that happening. But good suggestion though.
Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 1:26:28 AM

Ranger, I think he's actually saying to be more creative. He's been around too long to suggest that our behavior is immature. I'll see you guys later. I gotta go eat corn out of this girl's ass.
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 1:26:54 AM

You lucky bugger!
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 1:28:55 AM

PS: Josey Wales RULES!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 1:33:07 AM

Are you gonna pull them pistols, or whistle Dixie?

Well Mr. Carpetbagger... we have somethin' around here called a Missouri Boat ride!

Whooped 'em again Josey!
Whooped 'em again boy.

Don't piss down my back Senator and tell me it's rainin'!

Why those lyin' blue sc*m-bellies!

I figure.
You figured?
Yep... only a Indian could sneak up on a person like that.

Good thing you stopped me when you did... I might have killed her!

Just seems I just start likin' somebody, and they ain't around much longer.
Seems when you start hatin' someone, they ain't around too much longer either.

Well Mr. Lone Waddie... you can take your horny toad Mexico way... I'm headed to Texas.

You're all alone Wales.
Not quite alone.

(you get the idea).


Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:11:31 AM

It never gets old, Ranger. Have you seen a movie called Jeremiah Johnson? I know I'm going from Clint Eastwood to Robert Redford, but there are some damn fine lines in that one, too. Any movie with Clint Eastwood, and Jeremiah Johnson are the most quotable movies I've seen.
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:13:43 AM

I have... YEARS ago. They have been running it on TV lately. Redford and Will Geer are favorites of mine as well.
SaulSilver writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:32:02 AM

Ranger, Rodan is correct. I'm not looking for maturity from the commentary. Just the overusage of the sh*t/corn jokes.
Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:36:22 AM

Ranger, see it again if you get the chance. That's the only movie I've seen with an Indian-killing MONTAGE. f*cking brilliant. At the very least, roll over to IMDb and check out the Memorable Quotes section.
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 3:04:42 AM

Classic !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eQt5WPQTwN0&NR=1

Love that Don't piss down my back Senator and tell me it's rainin ! , Line it's one of my fav's

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kfdpcrOgUp4
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 3:13:10 AM

John Vernon , was in some great movies and TV show's ...
Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 3:45:22 AM

Scene from Jeremiah Johnson
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcpqTWHsCHU
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 3:58:43 AM

Good scene , Not seen that movie in a long time , may have to watch that again..

Redford never did to many Cowboy movies but Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid is one of my All-TIME favorite movies...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1e9Matf19k&feature=related

These 2 were Awesome together on screen
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 4:05:56 AM

Steve Mcqueen = Legend as well

Magnificent 7 is a great movie

Long clip (sorry) but the music is CLASSIC

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t0vqQjaXLOU&feature=related
Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 4:06:20 AM

Hell yes they were. Great movie. I miss Paul Newman. Cool Hand Luke is a personal favorite.
Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 4:08:12 AM

Magnificent Seven had one of the best ensemble casts of all time in my opinion. And that music is probably recognized across the world.
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 4:18:35 AM

On the Magnificent 7 theme Absolutely !!

I'm with you on Paul Newman the guy was a legend on and off screen.

I doubt anyone in Hollywood would have a bad word to say about the him and that is a very rare thing indeed.

Cool Hand Luke great movie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjb3nh9BxOE&feature=fvst
Odd writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 11:39:15 AM

@Sleuth1989: The first book is "The Dark Tower I - The Gunslinger" and then there are 6 books after that.

This would be awesome if it actually happens.

@Ranger, Rodan, and Trailer. One of my favs of hes the man, honerable Mr. Clint Eastwood, are the The Man With No Name Trilogy aka The Dollars Trilogy. If you know those then you know what movies im talking about :)

@Saulsilver - Shut your sh*tty cornhole! jk...lol i crack myself up :)
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 2:58:15 PM

@odd- We sure do !!

And your right all 3 of those movies are Classic Westerns and Launched the great man to super Stardom..

Good the Bad and the Ugly is my fav of the 3 movies though.
Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 4:15:09 PM

Each movie of the Dollars Trilogy is probably in my Top 10. The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly overshadows the others (and rightly so) but the other two are masterpieces as well. At the end of each one, I get chills when they have the final duel coupled with Ennio Morricone's fantastic scores. Especially in A Fistful of Dollars, when Clint shows up in the smoke from the dynamite...damn. The henchmen have this mystified look on their faces, like they're in the presence of an angry god. It drive me insane, how awesome it is. And I mean that like it leaves me in awe. Fantastic films. Too be honest though, and this may be sacrilege, Once Upon a Time in the West is my favorite of all Leone's movies. Bronson's no Eastwood, but he was damn good. And when they showed the big reveal, my jaw dropped. Leone was a genius. You can go online and find tons of theses and analyses about the symbolism in OUTIW and GBU. Pure genius. And then you thrown in Morricone, who advanced at the same pace as Leone with his music, and you can only call those movies masterpieces.
Rodan writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 4:32:30 PM

Wow, forgive all the typos. I thought I was smarter than that.
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 5:28:16 PM

You are... just passionate.

So, just back in from having a plate of 'Hot Girls *sshole Peanuts' and I'm just stuffed.
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 5:38:22 PM

LOL

Once Upon a Time in the West , Not seen that movie in a long time, Fonda as the bad guy nice twist in casting there.

Not as good as Good the bad and the ugly and it's not a western but i do love Leone's Once Upon a Time in America as well , Has to be The 230 min version though.
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 5:48:29 PM

Nothing like Plating a Hot Girls *sshole for Peanuts.

Shame when you find only sweet corn...
Ranger writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 3:16:00 AM

... or raisins (I think they were raisins).
trailertrash writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 3:23:52 AM

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm chocolate rains
trailertrash writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 7:31:28 AM

^ Raisins lol

Chocolate rain is a whole other sexual Experience
shadowfax845 writes:
on September 11th, 2010 at 5:29:57 PM

please don't screw this up. . . please.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved