WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Freeman to Play Bilbo Baggins in "The Hobbit"?

Posted: September 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Freeman to Play Bilbo Baggins in "The Hobbit"?Submit Comment
The Sun newspaper just ran a story stating that Martin Freeman (UK' "The Office," Hot Fuzz) declined an offer to play Bilbo Baggins in the Peter Jackson's "The Hobbit" prequels due to his commitment to the BBC series "Sherlock," in which he plays Dr Watson.

Entertainment Weekly has now confirmed that the news is mostly correct, but according to their sources, negotiations with Freeman are still going on. New Line and MGM are close to working out a deal with Freeman, who may have to move several things around to make this happen.

Jackson is still aiming to directing the new film, although no deal is currently in place. The goal is to move as quick as possible out of fear of losing actors like Ian McKellan, who has threatened to leave if things don't get moving.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:01:49 PM

f*ck. I thought you said Morgan Freeman was portraying Bilbo Baggins ...

" Mr. Simms! Protect this ring or go out there and sell drugs. I don't give a two rats gnat ass one way or the other!!! Boy! Keep your eyes out on it, you little Jiggabo!!! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:03:03 PM

This f*cker (Martin Freeman) was in HITCHHIKER'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY and f*cked up the easiest role in the whole movie ... he had the comedic personality of wet, soiled toilet paper stuck in a sewer drain.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:04:06 PM

I'd rather see Martin Mull imitating Bilbo Baggins on access television for Fernwood Tonight, all the while blitzed out of his skull on mushrooms and DDT than this f*ckstain.
wonderBOY writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:04:41 PM

thats a pretty good choice better than harry potter or spidey
Bigcheese writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:07:00 PM

I say hell yes!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:19:43 PM

f*ck. I thought you said Morgan Freeman was portraying Bilbo Baggins ...
--------------------------

I thought the same thing Max and I read the title twice. Damn bi focal glasses.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:22:48 PM

God, he has a face I want to just smash the f*ck out of with a cricket bat.
AYT BALL writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:02:19 PM

.....ok! well i said way back i thought he looked the part and providing he tones down the comedy looks i recon he could nail it
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:08:25 PM

LOL... I read Morgan Freeman too!

I miss Gary. He would have been perfect for this.

Watcho' talkn' 'bout Gandalf?!
Dr. Acula writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:38:01 PM

I like this guy. I'm all for it.
sc_kg writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 10:17:12 PM

Fits perfectlly.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 11:20:49 PM

What the article meant to say:

"...out of fear of losing actors like Ian McKellan, who is expected to die
soon."
CCBlev writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 12:00:32 AM

I dont care who plays Bilbo, just get these goddamned movies going.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 12:21:20 AM

Sorry to burst the bubble guys but this aint gonna happen.

Martin Freeman has signed on to do a second series of Sherlock Holmes, so he has to turn down the offer of Bilbo Baggins because of a schedule conflict.
jdl107 writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 12:28:42 AM

Ahhh what the hell, how come this guy never popped in my head. He looks almost damn perfect
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:06:33 AM

I don't know ... if he played Hitler in the sex scene in the bunker with Eva Braun squating over his face and pinched out a long, anaconda-size brown loaf, followed by a golden shower straight into his mouth ...

then I could take him seriously as a comedic actor.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:15:36 AM

I can't wait until he grows a unibrow and looks like Uwe Boll's father, hunting Jews and sticking them in the oven.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:16:11 AM

Who the f*ck does he think he is ? Jerry Lewis in France ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:16:58 AM

The Sun newspaper just ran a story stating that Martin Freeman (UK' "The Office," Hot Fuzz) declined an offer to play Bilbo Baggins in the Peter Jackson's "The Hobbit" prequels due to his commitment to the BBC series "Sherlock," in which he plays Dr Watson.



Moriarty would kill Sherlock out of sympathy ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:17:59 AM

That f*cking haircut makes him look like Justin Beiber in the year 2025.
encoreyourface writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:24:47 AM

actually a good pick.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:29:02 AM

Jackson is still aiming to directing the new film, although no deal is currently in place. The goal is to move as quick as possible out of fear of losing actors like Ian McKellan, who has threatened to leave if things don't get moving ... or until he finds something more fun to do :

a. like dental work on his cavaties

b. being in a room with the WP staffers waiting for the coffee urn to be empty and they clear out of the break room, so he can pee in it before they brew their next pot of generic coffee

c. Watching any movie NOT financed by Twentieth Century Fox

d. Laughing at Orlando Bloom's career. Then at Orlando Bloom.


e. Recording a hip-hop album with Viggo.


f. Stalking Liv, since Steven's too busy at American Idol muttering out lines like he's back doing heavy drugs and recording Toys In The Attic.


g. Feeding pigeons in the park rat poison and watching them die.

h. Sexting Brett Ratner as " Sheila, Tijuana Ping Pong Shooter Queen Of The World ", about how he can propel a piece of banana from his juicy twat over twelve feet.

i. Pulling practical jokes on Uwe Boll, promising to sign up for one of his films.

j. Calling up Ben Kingsley and saying, " Soooo ... Ghandi did a vampire film for the f*cker who's filming the gassing of Jews. What a step down, Stanislavsky. "

k. Calling up Mel Gibson and getting dating tips.

l. Calling up Joe Jackson and inquiring on the progress of his child rearing book.

m. Calling up David Cross and asking him why the f*ck he signed up for BOTH Alvin and the Chipmunk films.

o. Calling up Carlos Mencia and Dane Cook and calling them on plagerizing their sh*t and personally letting them know that he could hire assassins to take them out and make it look like 'natural causes' (at the drop of a hat) if they don't fess up.

p. Pissing in a women's toilet.

q. Taping a voyeur film of George Michael handjobbing a total stranger in a mens loo near Picadilly Square and making it viral on YouTube.
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:30:04 AM

'...hunting Jews and sticking them in the oven.'

lol... now THAT's a t-shirt!
Peter Parker writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:46:16 AM

"now THAT's a t-shirt!"

- In some countries, that's a hobby.
Peter Parker writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:47:41 AM

"Laughing at Orlando Bloom's career"

- What career?
Peter Parker writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:49:19 AM

"Recording a hip-hop album with Viggo"

- AND Marky Mark, while we're at it, just to embarrass him some more.

Peter Parker writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:50:48 AM

"Feeding pigeons in the park rat poison and watching them die"

- Technically, that would be pigeon poison.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 2:24:53 AM

Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:30:04 AM

'...hunting Jews and sticking them in the oven.'

lol... now THAT's a t-shirt!

hey ranger- you think that's a line Mel Gibson uses to get the women?
Peter Parker writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 2:51:17 AM

Mel Gibson's pick up line? That's not it, Dave. That would be: "How much?"

rocketman writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 3:34:09 AM

Best choice for the roll.
Peter Parker writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 4:02:44 AM

Roll... was there a pun in there?
Peter Parker writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 4:04:09 AM

Speaking of puns... Dildo Baggins!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 4:19:50 AM

Hey peter- that son of a bitch Mel stole my line!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 4:30:00 AM

- BallBag Baggins
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 4:30:56 AM

Thats a mouthful for his little wife..
CCBlev writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 4:31:46 AM

@PP and Max-Lmao
he can lead a humanatarian effort to detoxify Lohans Vag.

Perform a Saunce to bring ole Gary back to life to play the role of Bilbo.

Join Grenpeace and help throw Kirtsie Alley back in the ocean

Show David Putzman how to write a decent review thne sodomze him for all the pain he's caused us.


Tell Brett Ratner he's gonna help him out of the tree next time he f*cks a retard in it and then pulls out the ladder from underneath him, killing him in the ensuing fall.

Tease Mike Bay about wanting to be in The Rock 2 since Connery won't do it.

Him and Mad Mel spending a friday night pranking ex girl friends or in Ians case ex boyfriends, by having a "Maddest Ranter" contest. "

Calling Karl Urban up and offering him better adivce on how to play McCoy better in the next Star trek feauture instead of copying Deforest Kelley in every damn scene, which got f*cking annoying to me by the way.

Well guys word just in: Ian Mckellen tired of waiting for THe Hobbit to begin shooting, passes role and instead will shoot Apt Pupul 2 starting this fall.
CCBlev writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 4:47:42 AM

more news-Ian Mckellan, Joaquin Phoenix and Mark Wahlberg all form a new rap group called "Tres Putos" their debut single entitled "Out of our f*cking minds" will be released on Monday Sept 13,2010, it will also include fellow rap star Mad Mel Gibson with his usual drunk, racist lyrics. Sure to knock a pre puberty Justin Beaver off the charts.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 4:52:31 AM

@cc- I would buy thst song, long before I would by a Junstina Beaver tune.
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 5:05:00 AM

CC- LOL

I bet Ian McKellan would like to knock one off over Justin's ass ...
wonderBOY writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 6:47:29 AM

Captain America Pics
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1310329/Captain-America-Motorbike-scenes-The-First-Avenger-film-shooting-London.html
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 7:24:59 AM

T-Baggins?
Rambo writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 7:31:50 AM

morgan freeman could play Bilbo and gandalf!
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 8:37:39 AM

^ Only if it's Lord Of The Bling ....
rocketman writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 9:47:56 AM

@PP
Ya got me,bad spelling moments after i woke up,still on my first coffee,not yet parked my breakfast...that and im thick.
kmccarney88 writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 11:35:59 AM

How does this make sense? Who would "work their schedule around" and put their other acting jobs at risk for a movie that hasn't even been officially green lit? As much as I want this movie to go into production (it's my most anticipated film of the next decade) and as much as I would like this to be true, I just dont know how they would work this.

Who knows, maybe they are closer to green lighting these films than we all think. Someone needs to light a fire under MGM's ass.

As for the actor, he's a good choice. I think there is better out there, but he is definitely a good choice.
HIRONAKAMURA86 writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 2:52:37 PM

Awesome choice, people like Max who diss him with only seeing him in things like Hitchikers, just shows theres no hope for humanity. Sherlock and The Office, ace, with many more tv and film role

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved