WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Happy Days" Writer Defends "Jump the Shark" Episode

Posted: September 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Happy Days" Writer Defends "Jump the Shark" EpisodeSubmit Comment
Fred Fox Jr posted an article in LA Times, defending his inadvertent participation in creating one of the most famous TV phrases after he wrote a "Happy Days" episode that involved Fonzie (Henry Winkler) jumping over a shark.

The term "Jump the Shark" went on to describe the moment of downturn for a previously successful enterprise. In this case, many believe "Happy Days" was never the same.

"All successful shows eventually start to decline, but this was not "Happy Days'" time," Fox wrote. "Consider: It was the 91st episode and the fifth season. If this was really the beginning of a downward spiral, why did the show stay on the air for six more seasons and shoot an additional 164 episodes? Why did we rank among the Top 25 in five of those six seasons?"

He added: "When I first heard the phrase and found out what it meant, I was incredulous. Then my incredulity turned into amazement. I started thinking about the thousands of television shows that had been on the air since the medium began. And out of all of those, the 'Happy Days' episode in which Fonzie jumps over a shark is the one to be singled out? This made no sense."

Fox went on to say that the episode was a massive hit when it aired, attracting more than 30 million viewers.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 4:56:49 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4jm6B31HKBw
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 5:10:35 AM

^ LOL
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 5:17:16 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDthMGtZKa4&feature=related
VDODSON writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 5:42:10 AM

Must be a slow news day.
Rambo writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:14:05 AM

yep...maybe wp is jumping the shark...
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:49:01 AM

WTF WP? is this really all you can get for us today? I relize it was a hit show and all but come on.

Now fight with me for 3 days I'm bored
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:52:04 AM

WP jumps turds the size of sharks all the time.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:53:07 AM

"All successful shows eventually start to decline, but this was not "Happy Days'" time," Fox wrote. "Consider: It was the 91st episode and the fifth season. If this was really the beginning of a downward spiral, why did the show stay on the air for six more seasons and shoot an additional 164 episodes? Why did we rank among the Top 25 in five of those six seasons?"

Yeah, the whole " Richie Cunningham and the Gang meets Charles Manson Episode " was being considered .... but too drastic.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:53:56 AM

Boy, Henry Winkler went from being a cool Italian thug to a frumpy Jewish schmuck.
lebowski writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:21:13 AM

dont know what happy days is thought that jump the shark was a reference to jaws all this time.kind of a slow day
Man in Black writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:49:24 AM

why is this news who gives 2 sh*ts ?
CCBlev writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:50:28 AM

I wake up all excited for some awesome news and this is what I get? Jesus it's like masterbation without the payoff.
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 10:26:35 AM

And here I thought 'jumping the tank' was going from her mouth directly into her bum (missing the vag. completely). Well... learn something new every day.
Bunny X writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 12:22:48 PM

This guy should just be happy "his" episode has become a pop culture reference and shut the f*ck up.


Bunny X writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 12:23:06 PM

Sorry....annoyed at the moment
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 1:43:41 PM

No sh*t?

lol... chin up Bunny... love you posts (always)!

Yep... this guy should be happy. Like Harlan Ellison for writing: 'The City on the Edge of Forever' in Star Trek.
gobolog writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 3:10:19 PM

I always thought the phrase jump the shark came from Jaws the revenge where the shark balances itself on the water using its tail like some kind of jesus shark.

WP often jumps the shark with its headlines. Ironically with the headline "Halle Berry almost eaten by a shark". Anyone remember that one a couple of weeks ago?
Sir Aids AidsAIDSaids writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 4:15:26 PM

I think the phrase refers to the quality of the content rather than the popularity.

Think about the phrase "nuke the fridge" from the new Indiana Jones. The movie made a ton of money but sucked.
gobolog writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 4:24:24 PM

Yeah i know its often used to refer to something that is deemed just too ludacris in a film/tv show. But I always thought the origin of it came from jaws the revenge. I stand corrected

I always prefer to use jump the shark rather than nuke the fridge because that last indy film is just too shameful to even mention.
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 6:34:58 PM

Not even the fonz could out jump mega shark !!
encoreyourface writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 6:57:16 PM

i like that term. wish avatard would "jump the shark"
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:35:25 PM

Lohan jumped the shark, so the shark died

btw I always thought it was "humped the shark"
not "jumped"
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:47:33 PM

If it's Lohan, it's " Licked the Waffle ".
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:48:22 PM

If it's Uwe Boll, it's "Crispy Kreme'd the Hiemie. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:49:41 PM

If it's Mel Gibson, it's " Elmer Glued Her Trap. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:50:15 PM

If it's Henry Winkler, it's "Fisted the Fonz."
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:51:26 PM

If it's Megan Fox, it's " Hexed the f*ck out of it. "
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:14:47 PM

All I see in this picture is the Fonz wearing a hot leather jacket, to the beach on a hot summer day, wearing Daisy Dukes.

And to think I never questioned this when I was a kid.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:35:00 PM

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:14:47 PM

All I see in this picture is the Fonz wearing a hot leather jacket, to the beach on a hot summer day, wearing Daisy Dukes.

And to think I never questioned this when I was a kid.


@Horror

It's okay to say it : Fonz was a fagella.


For Miley Cyrus, it's " Humpin' me Pop. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:38:24 PM

Think about it :

a. Fonz had a string of girls he strung along for the longest time before getting married to a woman who ALREADY HAD A GIRL. Only because Fonzie didn't put out.

b. You only saw Fonz neckin' girls. Never boning them.

c. He hung around Richie (his closeted sexual attraction) and the male guys more than the women.

d. He live alone in an apartment above the house Richie lived (to spy on him through the bedroom window).

e. He was part of an ALL-MALE gang called the FALCONS (a very masculine sounding name).
Electro Rock writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:42:10 PM

Fonz is cool. I dont see going on about it.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:32:52 AM

The Fonz would so get his ass kicked if he were to walk around some of the neighborhoods of my home town. The thugs would beat the sh*t out of him.
johnthemon writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 3:13:08 PM

the thing is most people think it was already going downhill before the shark-jumping episode.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved