WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Clint Eastwood Was Offered Superman and James Bond Roles

Posted: September 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Clint Eastwood Was Offered Superman and James Bond RolesSubmit Comment
Speaking to LA Times, Clint Eastwood revealed that back in the 1970s he was one of the candidates to play Superman, and a few years before that, he was approached to play James Bond.

"I can remember and this was many years ago when [Warner Bros President] Frank Wells came to me about doing Superman. So it could have happened," he explained. "This was when they first started to think about making it. I was like, 'Superman? Nah, nah, that's not for me.'"

Eastwood added: "I was also offered pretty good money to do James Bond if I would take on the role. This was after Sean Connery left. My lawyer represented the Broccolis ('Bond' producers) and he came and said, 'They would love to have you.' But to me that was somebody else's gig. That's Sean's deal. It didn't feel right for me to be doing it."

The paper then joked that Eastwood would have been a better Batman than Superman. "The Sub-Mariner, that's the one I always liked," the actor/director replied. "I had all of those comics when I was a kid."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 4:56:24 AM

Clint "f*cking" Eastwood is the man.

He knows what he could and couldn't get away with and has made the right movie choices pretty much his whole career.
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 5:14:37 AM

Didn't the The Hughes Brothers want him to play an older Batman or something a while back ?

That could have been good i guess....
VDODSON writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 5:49:12 AM

Clint is a standup guy, he is old school to the bone. Hope the SOB lives another 70 years.
Valerie writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 5:57:06 AM

Always got it right, a true legend.
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 6:54:12 AM

I agree with both of you !!

One of the True Giants in Hollywood !!
Rambo writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:17:04 AM

script of eastwood's superman:

scene 1-superman rapes lois lane and shoots her.

scene 2-superman shoots lex luthor

scene 3-superman play the piano.

the end.
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:22:58 AM

The rape scene has to be with a hand held camera lots of close ups also very dark with lots of heavy breathing and Sandra Locke must play lois ...
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:24:47 AM

Clint Shot lex in the Unforgiven they should redo that scene lol
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:40:40 AM

He was almost Two Face in the old Batman tv series with Adam West, but they said that Two Face would be too grusome for a 60's show that camp
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:53:39 AM

never got into the movies he stars in but I give 3 thumbs up to all the movies he directs.
elrei writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:01:52 AM

- Superman: Do you feel Lucky, Lex?
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:17:38 AM

Rambo- Nice ass lol
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:21:02 AM

Big-daddy-

I take it you mean the movies he directs but does not star in , apart from about 4 or 5 films since about 1973 he has directed everthing he stars in.
BDeck writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:45:43 AM

a clint eastwood sups would be awesome.

ive thought for a while wb should do a batman beyond that has clint as batman.

or even old man logan(a old wolverine in the future).

it would be so awesome.

but im sure clint would say,

"f*ck that pansy ass comic book sh*t,im a real man. now get me some whiskey."
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:52:53 AM

trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:21:02 AM
Big-daddy-

I take it you mean the movies he directs but does not star in , apart from about 4 or 5 films since about 1973 he has directed everthing he stars in.


I was NOT aware of that fact. I have alot more respect for him now. thanks for the knowledge TT
lebowski writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:38:32 AM

i would watch the submariner with clint.that man is awsome and really tall.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:43:46 AM

This man can just do and say nothing wrong.
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:46:42 AM

Big daddy- Anytime

I dont think the guy has ever made a bad movie .......

IMO anyway
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:47:32 AM

dave - yep , very true!!
Man in Black writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:50:24 AM

once again from the happy days post who give a sh*t ... did WP jump in a time machine for its news threads ?
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:52:36 AM

Could you imagine if Clint mashed up his role from Gran Torino with Superman? THAT, i would see in a heartbeat.
CCBlev writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:55:01 AM

If Clint was cast as Bond, Moonraker would never have been made, he'd shot everyone that came up with that idea. He woulda been praised for it to.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 10:06:08 AM

@trailer- Havn't some people on here said that his movie "Gran Torino" is like seeing Batman as an old man? And in turn that's what makes it a good film.
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 10:21:54 AM

On his 8th day (after a day of rest) - God created Clint Eastwood.
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 10:41:05 AM

Amen to that !!
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 10:42:08 AM

dave- He Could be a retired Dirty Harry i guess mate...
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 11:43:26 AM

Chuck Norris can f*ck anybody up...


except Clint Eastwood.
Bunny X writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 12:26:35 PM

If they were to ever make the long rumored Batman Beyond movie. Clint would be perfect to play old Bats.
But i'm tired of all these "was supposed to play...." stories I mean so what Christopher Walken was to play Han Solo?? Move the f on.
FBO writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 12:46:01 PM

Parents check under their kid's bed for monsters, monster's parents check under their kid's beds for Freddy Kruger, Freddy Kruger checks under his bed for Chuck Norris, Chuck Norris is scared sh*tless of Clint Eastwood
FBO writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 12:49:43 PM

Chuck Norris' tears cure cancer! Too bad Chuck Norris doesn't cry... except when he gets his ass beat by Clint Eastwood
FBO writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 12:51:52 PM

Chuck Norris entered a "Who has the most testicles" contest with Lance Armstrong and won by five, but lost to Clint Eastwood by six!
FBO writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 12:54:54 PM

Superman wears Chuck Norris pajamas to bed, but both of them wear Clint Eastwood boxers everywhere.
CookingHamUSA writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 1:11:10 PM

Clint Eastwood belongs in Westerns. In fact, I wish he would act in one more Western film, they don't make that many anymore.
The R1DDL3R writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 1:22:38 PM

HE COULD PULL OFF THE BATMAN VOICE WAY BETTER THAN CHRISTIAN BALE THOUGH
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 1:41:39 PM

@FBO - LOL!

@Cooking - The Outlaw Josey Wales is my fav. western of all time.

@R1DD - good call. They should actually dub Clint's Batman voice over Bale's.
FBO writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 2:22:30 PM

@ranger - that's a genius idea!
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 2:32:10 PM

Except Bale would have another fit over it!

http://www.youtube.com/user/ColRangerFontana#p/a/f/0/p9ge02eybjY
bacci40 writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 3:13:23 PM

eastwood was supposed to be two face in the batman tv series....apparently they couldnt get the makeup right...so instead, they created a character called false face...
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 3:27:46 PM

SJP plays 'Horsey Face' in Sex and the City.
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 3:37:01 PM

Don't get me wrong...

I'd still throw the 'high-hard-one' in her ass.

That doesn't mean she's f*ckable...

I'm just not that particular.
Rodan writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 5:28:51 PM

Clint Eastwood puts the semen in 'amusement'.
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 5:41:18 PM

Dirty Harry puts the 'fun' in 'funeral' for all his causalities.
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 5:54:29 PM

Clint likes to put his Pink Cadillac into most of his leading ladies ....
trailertrash writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 6:00:57 PM

FBO - lol
encoreyourface writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:07:10 PM

i hope those roles where offered a LONG time ago,lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:24:08 PM

I couldn't see Clint as Superman, but as James Bond ? He could've done a more Bourne-like Bond years, hell, decades before Daniel Craig did ... kinda of like Fred Ward in The Adventures of Remo Williams ...

then again he could've had the same bad fate as Timothy Dalton ...

guess we'll never know.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:24:47 PM

Clint will always be Blonde aka The Man with No Name ... that's good enough for me.
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:52:33 PM

Eli Wallach was pretty amazing too.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:54:37 PM

Clint's SuperClint enters the bank. The robbers look inquisitively at him.

" I hear you've been making fun of Jimmy Olsen. Well, Jimmy Olsen doesn't like being making fun of. In fact, you've hurt his feelings. If you apologize, we'll forget the whole thing. "

The robbers laugh.

Clint's SuperClint melts them all into bubbling pools of plasma with his UV red vision lazers.

The end.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:56:14 PM

Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 7:52:33 PM

Eli Wallach was pretty amazing too.


@Ranger


Yeah, I hope he has still got the chops in Wall Street 2. And I'm reaally hoping Brolin gets a nomination for his role.
Inception writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 11:25:38 PM

Blonde I love you, you son of a bitch!!!!

Seriously, Clint can do anything, he's one of cinemas greatest talent. He knew what to do and what not to do, but still he would have shine in any role. Why? Because he is motherf*cking Clint Eastwood. Just remember the name kids, because there will never be one like him.
Inception writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 11:29:07 PM

"You see, in this world there's two kinds of people, my friend: Those with loaded guns and those who dig. You dig."
jdl107 writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 12:39:29 AM

Ahh, Clint's edumacated in the ways of comics. Nice, you wouldn't hear of some actor mentioning to like a second-tier character. Obviously 'cause they wouldn't know about it though. This is cool
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:13:49 AM

My favorite line in the movie :

[Tuco is in a bubble bath. The One Armed Man enters the room]

One Armed Man: I've been looking for you for 8 months. Whenever I should have had a gun in my right hand, I thought of you. Now I find you in exactly the position that suits me. I had lots of time to learn to shoot with my left.

[Tuco kills him with the gun he has hidden in the foam]

Tuco: When you have to shoot, shoot, don't talk.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 1:40:34 AM

But i'm tired of all these "was supposed to play...." stories


Amen to that Bunny X. Who the f*ck cares now?
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 2:47:51 AM

I agree guys Blonde aka The Man with No Name ... classic's

Eli Wallach , love that little guy. It will be good to see him in Wallstreet 2 ..

horror/bunny-

I'm not a fan of these stories either really , but at least you get a chance to talk about proper movie stars and the good movies they made.

Has to be better than hearing about what's going on in the next Twatlight or what ever :)

Rodan writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 3:08:36 AM

I will never complain about anything giving me an excuse to talk about Clint Eastwood. There should be one Clint Eastwood post each week, in my opinion.

"You forgot your fortune cookie...it says you're sh*t outta luck."

I think I use that quote every single time we talk about Clint Eastwood on WP.
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 4:25:59 AM

Couldn't agree more Rodan ...
darkraven28 writes:
on September 9th, 2010 at 8:03:19 PM

Holy sh*t dude! The shrooms are working!
Charlie9 writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 6:41:12 AM

There was loads of these on MSN the other day; Travolta - Forrest Gump, Will Smith - Neo, Daryl Hannah - Pretty Woman, Brad Pitt - Bourne, Connery - Gandalf, Gwyneth Paltrow - Rose (Titanic), Tom Selleck - Indiana Jones, Crowe - Wolverine, Gene Hackman - Hannibal Lecter, Di Caprio - Patrick Bateman, Al Pacino - Han Solo, Ralph Macchio: Marty Mcfly, Mickey Rourke and Sylvester Stallone: Axel Foley, Dustin Hoffman: Michael Corleone
buffzombie writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 9:39:00 AM

"Now Goldfinger, did I get off six shots or only five?"
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 5:46:56 PM

We're just not gonna let you walk on outta here Blofeld.

'Who's 'we'?!

Smith, Wesson, and me.
trailertrash writes:
on September 10th, 2010 at 7:29:29 PM

Go ahead, make my day money penny

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved