WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: "Aliens" Blu-Ray Conversion Looks Amazing

Posted: September 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: "Aliens" Blu-Ray Conversion Looks AmazingSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox is planning to release all four "Alien" films on a Blu-ray collection called "Alien Anthology" on October 26th. But unlike some other Blu-ray transfers, this set looks incredible.

Thanks to a post on AVS Forum, we can compare screenshots from James Cameron's "Aliens" DVD and the new Blu-ray, the transfer of which Cameron personally supervised. Click on the image below to see how great the Blu-ray will look.

The downside of all this is that the six-disc "Alien Anthology" costs $97.99 on Amazon, discounted from a whopping $139.99.

Screenshots: (click to enlarge)


Source: AVS Forum


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 7:00:35 PM

Not too shabby, Cameron is still a douche
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 7:02:46 PM

Photos: "Aliens" Blu-Ray Conversion Looks Amazing ...

IT'S f*ckING BLU-RAY. WHADDA WANT ... A MEDAL ?
rjd040487 writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 7:31:06 PM

looks completely alike except the alien scenes themselves.

for all those bout to diss me sayin "yeah well u dont have an astute eye" f*ck u, cos i do. You just have a placebo effect eye. f*ck you for being a pretentious egotistical twat you poser
jdl107 writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 7:43:25 PM

Umm are you kidding, that does look pretty amazing.
ZeusReit writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 7:46:33 PM

rjd, you're an idiot. Noise has been removed, blacks have been tightened, color has been toned up, background elements are more visible.... Obviously, you either don't have a very good computer monitor or you don't have eyes.
Blank x2 writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 8:03:22 PM

LoL@rjd

You can't see a difference? SOMEBODY hasn't bought a monitor this decade....

Still surprised Cameron hasn't converted this to 3D yet. You're slippin', Jimmy.
Gates writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 8:11:31 PM

Day one buy. Aliens is one of my favorite movies.
otis writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 8:23:30 PM

Fear not! This is just the first updated re-release of these movies. Next is 3D. And then he'll be re-re-releasing the original, non-updated film in theaters again, and the cycle will start all over.

Look, the man needs more money.
LeeMaca writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 8:33:34 PM

^i bet he swims in pools of money like scrooge mcduck.

That does look f*cking awesome although joe jonston is a prick

i mean jim cameron is a prick

no actually i think i mean they're both pricks!
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 8:44:28 PM

I cant wait for all his other movies to be in 3d

Piranha part 2
Rambo part 2
The abyss
True lies etc;

f*cking Cameron...when did he turn into such a money hungry f*ckbag? The only good thing to come out of Cameron movies was eliza Dushku
you know it, I know it lets not dwell on it umkay
Crazyhorse writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 8:46:17 PM

I'll stick with Predator
CCBlev writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 9:22:35 PM

well thats cool
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 10:23:06 PM

That's disgusting. And I don't mean the aliens.
Preditorian writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 11:31:10 PM

Heh I love how Blu Ray shows off those "oops" moments.

Notice the Queen aliens neck in that picture, see the black and yell frame for the animatronics? Yeah I cant help it, Im a detail freak. Stupid ADHD!!!! Rawr.
Preditorian writes:
on September 7th, 2010 at 11:32:05 PM

lol oops, black and *yellow
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 12:16:38 AM

This is looking good, me thinks I will start saving...got this and Star Wars to buy.
ChainsawX writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 1:29:26 AM

you only need 2 of em
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 1:47:52 AM

Which came first... the Alien or the egg?
Rambo writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 2:17:14 AM

They mostly come at night,mostly...
vwkombi writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 2:17:37 AM

That does look amazing.

Although the film is still the same on DVD, so no rush to upgrade yet.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 2:55:53 AM

lol @ rambo & @ rjd: a pretentious egotistical twat would be the one who claims to have an astute eye when no one mentioned sh*t. Now go on and get you and your astute eye the f*ck out of here. Go on now, get!
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 3:19:29 AM

To whoever the moron is who posted the comparison pics: You're supposed to get lossless 1080P images of the Blu-Ray version and compare them to lossless upconverted to 1080P images of the DVD version (or just lossless 480P images of the DVD version) to compare them properly, not downscale the Blu-Ray version into 480P lossy jpegs. (Therefore compressing them to DVD quality.) Jesus Christ.
Rambo writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 3:25:36 AM

I've seen 'Aliens' like 30 times...can't see it anymore.
fetfree writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 8:23:20 AM

it's not difficult to have the same result in your computer with the set of filter in ffdshow with MPC...and even the "glossy" look( or frame interpolation)
SACdaddy writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 9:03:26 AM

I'm all for BRing the best action film ever made (ok it might be a close 2nd to Die Hard), but who the f*ck give a sh*t about the 3rd and 4th installments? I don't want to be forced to purchase a box set that's half worthless. But all that aside, is there any way Ridley's new 3D prequels will come anywhere close to being as good as Jimmy's Aliens? "Gods, engineers, Space Jockeys"? HELLLLLL NOOOO! That sounds like the dumbest idea of the franchise. I've always said if they had to make a prequel it should have been of Cameron's film. Newt's survival story would have been awesome on the bigscreen and is 10x more interesting than this bullsh*t. Ridley has lost it. Before you crucify me go watch Robin Hood.

BTW, Mr Cameron made another million while I was writing this post :)
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2010 at 1:55:26 PM

@JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! --- OK, you win best profile name and avatar this week on WP!

Nice going!

@SAC - well said.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved