WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Judge Dredd" Remake Announces Title, Plot and Cast

Posted: September 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Judge Dredd" Remake Announces Title, Plot and CastSubmit Comment
IM Global company is currently selling the 3D "Judge Dredd" remake at the Toronto Film Festival, but calling the new $45 million movie simply "Dredd." In addition, IM also provided an official synopsis.

Plot: "Dredd" takes us to the wild streets of Mega City One, the lone oasis of quasi-civilization on Cursed Earth. Judge Dredd is the most feared of elite Street Judges, with the power to enforce the law, sentence offenders and execute them on the spot - if necessary.

The title character will be played by Karl Urban (Star Trek, Doom), while Olivia Thirlby (Juno) will play Cassandra Anderson, a telepathic rookie who shadows Dredd.

The film is directed by Peter Travis (Vantage Point) from a script by Alex Garland (28 Days Later, Sunshine). Pre-production has already started in South Africa, with actual production scheduled for March. "Dredd" is expected to appear in theaters in 2012.

Source: IGN, Variety, IM Global


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 9:19:51 PM

Cool
kmccarney88 writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 9:43:07 PM

Sounds like they are on the right path, nice.
funseeker writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 10:01:05 PM

well, the plot was unguessable ... he's a judge??? wooow, and mega city one ... not gotham???? i find this very surprising plot and i wonder how could they make this adaptation of the original comic without" Judge Dredd takes us to the wild streets of Mega City One, the lone oasis of quasi-civilization on Cursed Earth. Judge Dredd is the most feared of elite Street Judges, with the power to enforce the law, sentence offenders and execute them on the spot - if necessary"

i was hoping to the more humane dredd, where he helps the young, teaches them virtues, plants flowers and talks about woodstock ...

Jakey Nightmare writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 11:05:47 PM

hahahahaha no way!
masht7 writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 12:27:52 AM

I can see this being a little bit bad-ass, anything with Karl Urban is awesome so I'm excited.
Stinkybone writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 1:55:18 AM

Double Whammy!
rocketman writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 1:58:53 AM

Please be good.please be good etc...
Rambo writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 2:23:40 AM

45m?thats it?didn't the sly one had 100m budget?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 2:29:25 AM

funseeker writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 10:01:05 PM

well, the plot was unguessable ... he's a judge??? wooow, and mega city one ... not gotham???? i find this very surprising plot and i wonder how could they make this adaptation of the original comic without" Judge Dredd takes us to the wild streets of Mega City One, the lone oasis of quasi-civilization on Cursed Earth. Judge Dredd is the most feared of elite Street Judges, with the power to enforce the law, sentence offenders and execute them on the spot - if necessary"

i was hoping to the more humane dredd, where he helps the young, teaches them virtues, plants flowers and talks about woodstock ...

@fun- have you ever read the comic that this is based on?

I haven't read it in years but I remember it and I don't ever recall Dredd turning into a godamn hippy.


On subjest- this sounds ok to me..not sure about the girl part..but if that is from the newer comics then ok.
encoreyourface writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 2:31:28 AM

kewl.
Sinestro writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 2:47:54 AM

3D? f*ck that! Judge Dredd could be cool if it were gritty and violent. He was badass. Even beat up Batman to a pulp and unmasked fairly easily, if memory serves me right.
GIST writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 3:52:14 AM

Rob Schneider cameo, anyone?
rocketman writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 3:59:56 AM

Female Judges are schmoking hot,keep your eyes off,dey mine...
whoever writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 4:16:01 AM

If this turns out good I hope to hell they look at Rogue Trooper and Zenith! I have waited for so long for a Zenith film.
rocketman writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 5:17:38 AM

Rouge Trooper by Ridley Scott.
Strontium Dog by Blomkamp
Slain by Mel Gibson or Neil Marshall
funseeker writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 7:36:46 AM

@davethephoneguy ... i was being ironic ... i mean the announced plot is not a plot because it's just a quick tell of what the comic is ... i mean the plot of spiderman was not that he was bitten by radioactive spider ... i kind of expected that ... or that bruce wayne will become a caped crusader ... also you cannot say that plot of hulk is he turns into a green monster ... it's not a plot!!!

plot for judge dredd would be he fights rico, angel brothers, helps psy division judge anderson, or something.

but i look forward for the movie although i think it will suck for dredd fans because original comic is too hard core and not politically correct, plus i am afraid of too much cgi.
LeeMaca writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 8:39:41 AM

this could be awesome just please god keep rob schnieder as far away as poss
gobolog writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 8:42:06 AM

If you remove any trace of rob schneider from the original I can consider it a guilty pleasure. This new dredd looks goood. Alex Garland always delivers a good script.
Bunny X writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 11:52:19 AM

It's scary, they have a lot of nice ingredients listed here but can the right guy come on board and make a good meal out of this? I certainly hope so.
rocketman writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 12:26:23 PM

Pete Travis is directing ,he did Vantage Point which was solid enough so heres hoping.
BigUnit writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 1:42:47 PM

sound promising so far
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 7:52:12 PM

... and introducing : Rob Scheider!

joking

Hey, the guy who wrote 28 Days is writing this ? There's hope.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 5th, 2010 at 6:40:53 PM

Wasnt a fan of the Stallone one with Rob Schneider, but the cast and crew seems pretty solid (Travis' direction was good, Vantage Point just sucked). Hopefully this version will turn out to be pretty awesome.
jdl107 writes:
on September 5th, 2010 at 9:18:01 PM

What a deep plot man. I did not know that.

...
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 5th, 2010 at 10:17:24 PM

I dunno about Keith Urban but I'll give this one a try. I haven't seen the Stallone one in decades. Wasn't Wesley Snipes in this as the villian? And I seem to remember a hit song from this movie.
Rodan writes:
on September 6th, 2010 at 3:12:05 AM

Max, I noticed that too. He's a good screenwriter. Hopefully, he'll stay true to the comics.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved