WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Harvey Keitel to Replace Steve Carell on "The Office"?

Posted: September 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Harvey Keitel to Replace Steve Carell on "The Office"?Submit Comment
When Steve Carell announced that he won't be returning to play Michael Scott on "The Office" after this season, the network immediately had to make a choice to either cancel the popular show or replace Carell. We then found out that the plan was to continue the show and that Ricky Gervais, the creator of "The Office," was considering to step in.

Gervais quickly denied the rumor, leaving fans guessing what will happen. Executive producer Paul Lieberstein has now revealed to E! Online that he wants Harvey Keitel (Reservoir Dogs, National Treasure) to replace Carell.

"He's probably the only guy who can do it, and he's doing TV now," said Lieberstein. "I haven't started any talks with his people, but Harvey would do a great job — a very different energy. And we don't want to bring in another Michael, having someone play a very similar character because we have such a high regard for Steve."

Lieberstein even has a backstory for Keitel's character. "He's an old salesman who thought he could retire and the stock market went down," he explained. "And he has to come out of retirement to work for a few years."

Source: E! Online


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 7:02:06 PM

AHA funny thing is the two I thought of weeks back was Christopher Eccleston and Harvey Keitel, two of the oddest choices

good on you Paul Lieberstein
Gates writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 7:09:47 PM

Linsay Lohan or Carl Weathers.

You choose one of them for the role.
WV-Films writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 7:24:29 PM

I can't wait for the episode where Dwight kills Pam, and Keitel has to tell Jim how clean it up, while drinking a cup of coffee.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 8:00:09 PM

Harvey Keitel is a great actor, but i dont see this going well for the office. Agreed you cant just get another Michael and Keitel is a good odd choice, who has potential to be funny... but i just dont see it. The office should just end when Carrell leaves.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 8:06:02 PM

NO!!!!!! absolutely hope this is another bs rumor... he would not fit with the cast at all... -_- I really wish they could really get Danny McBride to replace him... thats my dream replacement
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 8:14:44 PM

Danny McBride would be the peeerrrfect choice!
coldplayesence writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 8:21:26 PM

totally agree, danny would be great. Craig Robinson taking a big role could be awesome.
Inception writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 8:35:55 PM

Mr. Wolf in the Office? Can't wait to see that.
Buckles44 writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 8:36:20 PM

Danny Mcbride would be the worst choice for this. He just acts like his Eastbound and Down character all the time.
Keitel seems like a great addition, I hope this goes through
CCBlev writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 8:52:02 PM

Facinating
mkolb1 writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 9:05:30 PM

I think Keitel would do great, but i can't believe that no one has suggested Michael Keaton. He would be a perfect replacement and the backstory for Keitel could work with keaton too
Peter Parker writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 9:16:18 PM

David Michael f*cking Hasselhoff, that's who!

Sly writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 9:21:39 PM

why cant dwight take over a boss that would be hilarious he would be like a dictator lmao
maddasahatter writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 10:16:16 PM

Christopher Walken, end of story.
encoreyourface writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 11:26:00 PM

nooooooooo
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 11:42:39 PM

@Gates - BUGGER! Were I drinking when I read that... I would have spewed for sure!
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 11:43:22 PM

Well, I know of some puppies that will never get the chance for this role.
Peter Parker writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 11:54:13 PM

Perhaps... uh... Dennis Hopper?

Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 12:10:13 AM

Gary Coleman?

Watcho talkn' 'bout Ranger?!
Peter Parker writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 12:15:02 AM

I know! Steve Jobs!






... get it? Office? Replace? Uh, uh?
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 12:28:00 AM

"Pretty please with sugar on the top, clean the f*cking car..."

With the best line delivery in the movie business, Keitel could work well. Keitel's backstory as a seasoned salesman coming close to retirement sounds like a character who would have shared the same office as Pacino, Harris, Lemmon and Arkin in Glengarry Glen Ross.
boogiel writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 1:16:51 AM

What about Mel Gibson? That would be a perfect choice.
trailertrash writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 2:54:13 AM

Bet when Ricky Gervais wrote the Office the last person he would have thought would star as the goofy lead was harvey keitel ...

Then again i can't imagine he would have had such a massive run in the US, we only had about 13 episodes total ....
Carpen7er writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 4:35:12 AM

Thatīs great !
warriors187 writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 10:00:19 AM

@boogiel
Yea! Have him be bi-polar...half the time he's just smiling pacing the office all calm, and the other half he's just screaming at Pam to "SMILE< AND BLOOOOOOOOOW ME!!!! BECAUSE I DESERVE IT!"
DavidsoMighty writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 9:26:42 PM

Let this show die gracefully in my opinion.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 4th, 2010 at 9:14:17 PM

He should play the captain from Life On Mars (US Version) in this, then become Mr. White and start shooting co-workers.

That's the only f*cking way NBC can play in the same sandbox as HBO.
darkraven28 writes:
on September 5th, 2010 at 6:33:44 PM

Why, when a synopsis says something about someone "coming out of retirement", do I just want to shoot myself? Any of you ever have that problem?

He's coming out of retirement for that one last job! Just when he thought he was out, they pulled him back in! In a world where two gay men would never share love, two constructions workers found a way to come together!

f*ck OFF!!!!!!!!!1

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved