WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "Black Swan" Reviews Appear Online

Posted: September 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "Black Swan" Reviews Appear OnlineSubmit Comment
"Black Swan," by director Darren Aronofsky (The Wrestler), premiered at the Venice Film Festival and the first reviews have already started to appear online. We collected some of the reviews for you below.

THR: White Swan/Black Swan dynamics almost work, but the horror-movie nonsense drags everything down the rabbit hole of preposterousness.

Variety: A wicked, sexy and ultimately devastating study of a young dancer's all-consuming ambition. Serves as a fascinating complement to "The Wrestler."

Telegraph: Powerful, gripping and always intriguing. An exhilarating if uneasy ride.

IndieWire: Struggles to carve out a real-world parallel to the life-and-death struggle depicted in the dance story. It goes over the top in something approaching grand guignol fashion.

ScreenDaily: One of the most exciting films to come out of the Hollywood system this year. A bold display of cinematic fireworks that will leave audiences breathless.

ObsessedWithFilm: Best film of the year. Left me devastated, excited, tense and emotionally drained.

Watch the trailer for "Black Swan" here.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gimple writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 7:08:50 PM

God I hope this is good. I've loved every Arronofsky movie so far except the Wrestler.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 7:09:53 PM

Watching mila and portman make out and do the dirty will leave something drained.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 7:18:07 PM

On a similar note Putman writes "I hated the movie. I don't care for african american swans"
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 7:47:14 PM

Aranofsky does it again?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 7:47:36 PM

GrandpasWeiner: LMFAOOOO! That was f*cking great!
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 8:15:03 PM

@GrandpasWeiner - lololol.

'drags everything down the rabbit hole of... my bum hole fingering whilst smokin' lesbos ROC!'

'wicked, sexy and ultimately devastating... that with a penis, I c*nt make a very good lesbian!'

'Powerful, gripping and always intriguing... how hard I get watching lesbo action!'

'It goes over the top... as my man-spray did the head of the viewer sitting in front of me (whilst watching hot lesbo action!)!'

'leave audiences breathless... as today's viewers were a busload of asthmatics... winded after watching some great, HAWT lesbo action!'

'Left me devastated, excited, tense and emotionally drained... like after I was raped by Rosie O'Donnell... a not-so-hawt angry lesbo!'

Ranger / WP News - I gave me a boner, not seen since the likes of The Expendables opening credits! A must-see. Bring kleenex or moist towelettes.
Inception writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 8:34:19 PM

From the looks of the trailer this looks to be another powerful film by Arronofsky.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:44:41 PM

It looks like dumb "GRIMDARKDRAMA" crap that's designed to sweep up oscars.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:45:30 PM

@Ranger - LOL man! Remind me never to sit anywhere near you in a dark theatre unless I am wearing a rain coat. Actually scratch that. I'll go to a different theatre. Way too much collateral damage from unchecked spray. Like a god damn firehose!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 11:08:02 PM

Translation :

We jerked our yerkins till we rubbed them raw during the lesbian scene between Mila Kunis and Natalie Portman.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 11:09:11 PM

Black Swan

At the “Black Swan” press conference in Venice, Aronofsky, 41, pointed to similarities between the two projects. “I very much saw them as very related to each other,” he said, highlighting the physicality of both roles, and calling the ballet movie a “companion piece” to its predecessor.

Yet “Black Swan” altogether lacks the authenticity of “The Wrestler” -- despite its over-reliance on Tchaikovsky, whose music dominates the film, inspires the score, and even crops up in ringtones.

Portman plays Nina, a self-destructive ballerina who loves dance more than life itself and aches for the title role in “Swan Lake.” She is mentally stunted by an ex-dancer mom, keen young rivals, and a fading prima ballerina (Winona Ryder).

Remote-controlling her career is Thomas Leroy (Vincent Cassel), a suave French artistic director who toys with dancers’ minds and sex drives. “You’re not a virgin, are you?” he asks the naive Nina, before sending her home to explore her own body. (Cassel seems to specialize in playing Gallic nasties; he was similarly cast in “Ocean’s Thirteen.”)

Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 11:13:26 PM

@Inception - very kind of you sir. Thank you.

@Mr. B - 'The Erecto-Meter!' ... lol. You should trademark that one Bro before I do!
OneTime writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 11:55:31 PM

BOYCOTT DP
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 12:14:41 AM

Yep... already have.
Inception writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 12:21:52 AM

@Ranger:

No problem bro, your welcome.

@Alex or whoever in the WP community:

There is no motive for you to remove or edit my post. It clearly says what most here think regarding your "reviewer". That's why I will post it again. Thank you.

---

First of all saw The Expendables, DAMN!! f*cking love that movie, 7 out of 10. I have to say this; Dustin Putman, I seriously don't know what to do with you, either insult you or think that you are just a crazy bitch hired by WP (because you are cheap) to review their movies. I read your review and you fail big time, you lack knowledge of every aspect a film offers.

@WP:

I can name a couple of users from this site that would give all of the upcoming movies the reviews they truly deserve. It's easy to fire the non talented and non professional Dustin Putman and hire talented users such as Ranger, Max, Trailer, Sac, Encore, and others so they could give a better review than what this douche is doing right now. You have your part for us users to rate, but the main problem is that your "#1 reviewer" happens to be someone who knows jack sh*t and determines the outcome of the film based on his emotions towards it. That's not a professional thing, that's discrimination if you ask me.

On topic:

From the looks of the trailer this looks to be another powerful film by Arronofsky.
CCBlev writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 12:24:24 AM

Grandapaswiener-jesus lol
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 12:24:45 AM

Isn't this the same director that WOULD re-make RoboCop IF MGM wasn't broke?!

I'm NOT a fan of remakes (Nooooooooo Ranger... really?!), but Robo with some 21st century (+ late 20th century Matrix-esque) effects, oh, and a great story retold) would be Kick-Ass+!

Dead or Alive MGM... you're coming with me!

I'd buy MGM for a dollar!
SaulSilver writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 12:28:42 AM

I don't care what is said about this movie. Nothing could stop me from at least eventually seeing this movie on DVD after reading the words "Aggressive Lesbian Sex Scene" talking about Portman and Mila Kunis. Even if it was a complete lie, i'd still watch...just to make sure.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 12:32:08 AM

@Inception: Holy crap, you too. I thought I was imagining things. Censorship does exist as my "erecto-meter" comments are wiped clean (by the WP-PC-patrol. Hope you got enough kleenex and moist towelettes to stay up all night guys). I thought this website had unlimited amnesty for self expression no matter what level we sink ourselves to. Is nothing sacred anymore? By the way, good on you to repost your comments (which I agree). Let's see if it sticks.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 12:39:00 AM

Thx. again Inception.

@Mr. B. --- yeah we get deleted from time-to-time. But in WP's defense, they do give us great latitude IF we're on the thread's topic. It's rarely (or never) what we're saying (because believe me... we've gotten away with verbal murder on here!) - but is it on topic.

Worst thing we could do is give DP any more attention. Vote with your 'clicks' on here. Don't visit DP's reviews (if that's your choice) and the webmasters/moderators here can view traffic to certain pages. This time... where you choose to click is more powerful than words (and thx. for some of the compliments folks).
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:03:36 AM

@Mr. B - it may have been before your time on here, but the moderator of this site was nice enough to post a thread regarding mine and others concerns about 'censorship.' The moderator (Alex) participated fully. We all posted and listened to one-another.

What it boiled down to was what I said in my last post (just giving you some background here). It has a lot less to do with what we say per thread (clearly... lol), but when we go off-topic... imagine if someone didn't 'rein in' the conversation? A thread of Gary Coleman's death could end up with me bitching about the bill from my mechanic.

But if we stay on topic... 99.9999% of our posts have remained.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:08:11 AM

@Ranger - Thanks for the explanation. I have deduced my earlier comments were deleted by WP for my nomination of you to ascend the throne and thus vanquish DP (although it is argueably more fun throwing wet popcorn from the cheap seats). This was the common thread between my post and @Inception's one - which looks like its sticking around 2nd time around (have we discovered the loop hole here?). And I thought it was for my splooge-o-meter. What, are we not allowed to vote on sh*t even if its mostly hypothetical? Must have hit a raw severed nerve with these guys. Probably getting fresh bandages from their medicine cabinet to stop the gushing of blood. But blood will flow. Comments will flow. Keep on trucking everyone.
masht7 writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:21:56 AM

Aronofsky hasen't let me down yet, can't f*cking wait for this.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:24:57 AM

Well said.

Another vote against 'that' movie reviewer... everyone that's a fan of The Expendables (and other movies 'reviewed' by 'that' movie reviewer), post a legitimate review of the movie. When it's more than clear by the landslide of popular opinion will be a visual record. As for Mila and Portman 'doin' it!' --- oi! The Expendables boner returneth!
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:26:37 AM

@Ranger - Thanks again for the background.

Note "Piranha 3D Producer Fires Back at James Cameron" thread was filled with a subtheme about posters who recently watched Kick-ass. Sure these were harmless discussions but they were off-topic from the main post. WP seems uneven here. Just trying to learn the ropes from the Jedi Masters.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:32:07 AM

Ahh... good point. Yes, there were such posts.

Hmmmm...

c-prime writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:42:45 AM

So, my comment gets deleted, eh? It seems that Putnam doesn't appreciate me outing his little website to his legion of relentless WP detractors. Huh, what a pity. It was probably one of the rare occasions he's gotten publicity over the web. Well, back to throwing rocks at my effigy of him in the backyard.

And just to comment on the topic, I'm anxious to see "Black Swan" (lesbo scene or not). Dustin will likely give it no higher than a 4, citing it as smut and a prurient escapade.

"'Black Swan' does not capture the essence of what it is like being a ballerina at all! And I should know! I've seen 'Barbie in the Nutcracker' a bazillion times! Now, THAT was a five-star masterpiece!" - Dustin P.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:46:30 AM

lol...

His internet 'reviewer' name previous to your info was: themovieboy.com

What a dipsh*t.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:50:47 AM

I guess 'themoviedipsh*t.com' was already taken.
c-prime writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:51:26 AM

Movie boy?! Ha ha ha. Sounds like the job title of someone who works at Blockbuster. In which case, somebody remind D-Putz* his ass is getting canned this year.

*D-Putz: my new nickname for Dustin Putnam (all rights reserved)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:55:50 AM

Looks like this will be a film you either love or hate...should re-title it Marmite or have that in the adverisisng somewhere.

What I have been reading and after seeing the trailer will check it out...seems like a film I might enjoy.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 1:59:09 AM

Even considering the hawt chick-on-chick action 'cough' http://www.dustinputman.com/contact.htm 'cough' ... pretty sure I won't pay theater price to see this. It's a rental for sure with a box of Kleenex or moist towelettes.
c-prime writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:01:46 AM

Sounds like a bad cough you've got there, Ranger. HA HA HA!
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:04:01 AM

... ahem...

... think it's a f*cking hairball is what it is!

...breathing too much dustin.

HACK!!!

'scuse me.
c-prime writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:12:13 AM

"...breathing in too much dustin."

Funny. Someone said the exact same thing to me yesterday morning when I farted in an elevator.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:13:46 AM

LOL!
Jensama writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:30:45 AM

DP sounds like a (sissy) girl.

(Urban dictionary:
SISSY
"A boy or man who enjoys little girls clothing. Especially babyish clothing. Lots of frills. Not always straight or gay. Likes to be treated like a babygirl. Likes tea partys and playing with dollys."
"Wimp, p*ssy, weak cant fight or is scared to do somthing bad"
"Straight girly guy"

I'm especially liking the "Lots of frills" and "likes to be treated like a babygirl" and the part about teapartys. Yeah, sounds like DP if you ask me.

On the topic, this movie seems overrated and exaggerated - but I'll watch it anyway. On DVD. I doubt it's worth a cinematicket.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:36:55 AM

lol... priceless.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:39:16 AM

@Ranger - I thought you were going to say the hairball was from muffing Portman. I'm still pulling threads outta my teeth from Mila. Ready to trade up for sloppy seconds? Just pass me some moist towelettes and I'm ready to go.
trailertrash writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:44:14 AM

LOL @ All of the above

Variety
Telegraph
THR

No thanks ....

I will wait for FHM , Loaded and the rest of the lad mags, They will tell me if it's worth watching if you know what i mean ;-)
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:51:24 AM

muffing Portman... lol.
trailertrash writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 3:02:28 AM

Is that a happy meal breakfast
trailertrash writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 3:04:37 AM

I will also have a side order of brown eye mila with home made mayo
technoreaper writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 3:22:44 AM

Darren Aronofsky does the same thing in every movie. The lesbian scenes are just a stunt to draw buzz for the movie. I'm sorry, I'm just not entertained anymore. Darren is just like Guy Ritchie.
trailertrash writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 3:55:31 AM

I love Lesbian stunts

Muff Diving and all that ...
Rambo writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 4:34:51 AM

http://www.xcollider.com/galleries/hq-erotic/femjoy/paulina-katalin-in-getting-to-know/011.php
trailertrash writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 4:59:23 AM

Great Stunt work !! lol
CCBlev writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 5:41:51 AM

Is the Mc MilaMuffin on the $1 menu yet, if it is I'll take one of those with a side of Hash Browneye's and Mcpussae cappucino with extra whipped cream on the side. Breakfast of champions.
trailertrash writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 5:43:34 AM

Inception -

Good post fella , and thanks as well , there alot of users on here (in fact most) that i would listen too before you know who , i think the guy just gets off on being hated if you ask me....
trailertrash writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 5:44:19 AM

CC- LOL !!!!!!!

I'm in on that my friend ...
Rambo writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 11:52:19 AM

'A bold display of cinematic fireworks that will leave audiences breathless.'

or semenless ...

vaodsi writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 12:45:29 PM

totally seeing this
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 4:52:43 PM

@CC - lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved