WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Most People Still Love Mel Gibson, According to Poll

Posted: September 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Most People Still Love Mel Gibson, According to PollSubmit Comment
Mel Gibson's career in Hollywood has pretty much ended after tapes of him screaming violent and racist things to his ex-girlfriend leaked online. WME talent agency immediately dropped him and his "The Beaver" movie was put on hold.

Actors don't want to associate themselves with Gibson and claim that they would never co-star in a movie with him. According to Hollywood, Gibson is now box office poison. But is there any actual facts to back this up?

CBS News held a poll asking people whether they are now less likely to go see a Mel Gibson movie as a result of the recent scandal. 80% of men said that the leaked tapes and the actor's alleged violent acts have no effect on seeing Gibson's movies. Surprisingly, 72% of women agreed.

Only 20% of those surveyed said that they are "less likely" to see a Gibson film. Other actors, who never had a major scandal, would probably love numbers like these for themselves.

Question: Are you now less likely to see a Gibson movie?

Source: CBS News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 66 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 5:49:21 AM

No !!

Will always see a Mel Gibson Action / Thriller , when ever he makes one.

Will also listen to his rantings on tape too when ever he makes the next one of those as well :)
wonderBOY writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 5:53:45 AM

I recently watched the lethal weapon series and ransom and going to watch mad max soon
lebowski writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 6:09:17 AM

mel is the man and i am going to watch everything he does from racist tapes to great movies.woody allen was f*cking his own daughter polanski raped a girl but its ok for them to get a job but when it comes to mel they dont want nothing to do with him.hypocrits
johnny_boy writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 6:17:09 AM

i'm glad people aren't tripping about him. its the media overplaying like hes some monster. we should all be mad cuz he hit a woman, not cuz of some stupid racist comments anyone can make. Lethal Weapon 5, we're ready for you
rocketman writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 6:20:13 AM

''Thats not a knife..''
trailertrash writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 6:21:17 AM

I want to see The Beaver (mila's too) more since the phone calls !!
coolguy writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 6:51:59 AM

he may be a d*ck in real life, but the man can act and also direct great movies like apocalypto
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 6:52:45 AM

It will be some time before we see him again, but yeah i want to see Gibson back again. Be even better if he changes as well
bradjo72 writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 6:59:55 AM

Hey he is our Fav son down here but even we(aussies) are starting to think he is nuts he is mad max after all big enthasis on the mad part
boogiel writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 7:11:57 AM

"According to Hollywood, Gibson is now box office poison."

Another prime example of Hollywood Rat's ass overstatement.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 8:00:30 AM

He maybe mad as a mongoose but dammit he knows great story structure!
j-man writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 8:40:16 AM

cudnt agree more lebowski!

even that f*cker from beetljuice was a peado, and he still got jobs!
j-man writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 8:40:39 AM

p.s will always watch a gibson movie!
Derp88 writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 8:47:57 AM

This crazy motherf*cker was awesome in Edge of Darkness
LeeMaca writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:01:48 AM

lethal weapon is the best cop movie franchise ever! braveheart (although they invented half the dates lol) was an epic movie and my phone still screams GIVE ME BACK MY SON! every time i get a text MEL's a f*cking psycho, racist, wife beater and STILL one of the most entertaining people on screen today who gives a f*ck what he's doing in his private life as long as his movies are cool mad mel has my vote!
LeeMaca writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:03:57 AM

I see you've knifey spoony before!
redbluedevil writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:05:41 AM

agree w/ lebowski and j-man. Gibson is a good actor and an even better director (Braveheart, Apocalypto), and nothing he's done is even half as bad as Polanski (who doesn't even make particularly good movies, but Hollywood worships for some reason)
Jedimax writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:21:33 AM

WHERE WOULD ANY OF YOU DRAW THE LINE? WOULD IT BE AWKWARD IF KILLED SOMEONE, CAUSE HE SAID HE WANTED TO KILL HER
CCBlev writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:25:24 AM

Had no effect on me, love to see The Beaver.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:35:34 AM

@Jedimax.... There's really not much talent left in terms of celebrities in Hollywood, especially as much as Gibson. I think even if he killed 2 people we'd still support his movies
trailertrash writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:46:52 AM

Jedimax -

Just as long as he doesn't, you know (cough cough) touch little kids in their dark places , then he's ok by me ;-)
trailertrash writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:51:20 AM

Ok , Maybe i would let him off, if it was a kid who deserves touching...

you know the type ....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 9:55:40 AM

don't we all trailer...I mean..their all asking for it all of the time.
trailertrash writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:10:54 AM

Dave - lol

Get fiddled with and you could end up getting a part in Glee or some sh*t like that !!

It's a Loose Loose situation for them,

Poor Bastards
trailertrash writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:13:52 AM

boogiel - LOL @ your Avatar
Rambo writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:19:55 AM

Diplomatic immunity!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:20:46 AM

quite litraly cuaght between a c*ck and a hard place there!...lol

what to do...get fiddled or take a part in Glee?
billofill writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:32:28 AM

Where's the 10 percent that want to smile and blow him?
billofill writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:32:28 AM

Where's the 10 percent that want to smile and blow him?
trailertrash writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 11:07:25 AM

dave -

I would take A Peado's hand down me pants stroking the pecker, over a part in Glee any day of the week !! lol
Wyatt Derp writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 11:31:01 AM

@Jedimax
I would draw the line if he killed someone....to help him mark the gravesites anyway. The more time spent digging holes is taking away from his films.
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 11:36:45 AM

How cool would it be that Mel was having this all taped for a doc*mentary like Phoenix. He has just been acting crazy. Actually, I am jealous of the guy, if I had as much money as him, I am sure I would make my Jew and racist comments public as well. In fact i would beat a bitch or two, just for the f*ck of it.
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 11:59:58 AM

@tt - I've heard that's what one has to do to get a role in Glee!

Do I love Mel?! Damn straight (lol)!

Osucka extorting him and Mel acting accordingly has me liking the guy even more. Ditch the bitch Mel and move on! And f*ck better looking chicks bra!
rabid writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 12:33:58 PM

People still like Mel because everyone has prejudices and everyone once married the wrong person, and because they sympathize with the feeling of the world knowing your dirty secret.
I could give two sh*ts really. I don't see how him being a sc*mbag affects he ability to act or direct. But I think I actually like him more now.
BigUnit writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 1:30:58 PM

I will always enjoy MEL!
Inception writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 1:47:03 PM

Mel you are my hero, f*ck those Hollywood Jew c*nts.
lebowski writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 2:02:20 PM

mel for president ok maybe not.he should do payback 2 porter goes hollywood.the story on this is that porter is doublecrossed ripped off and left for dead by some big production company and when he recovers he goes to hollywood to extract his revenge.there will be at least 3 scenes where he shoots hollywood agents.
encoreyourface writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 2:20:12 PM

still like him? hell he's my new hero!
steamluv writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 2:26:49 PM

He might be an ass, but films like "Edge of Darkness", "Ransom", and "Payback" are awesome and I would like to see him in more movies to come. He doesn't seem to try and hide his asshatishness or douchebaggishness like Tom Cruise does.
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 2:28:47 PM

@Inception --- lol.
TeemSelami writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 2:37:28 PM

when Mel dies his bitch ex will once again be peddling these tapes for This Is It 2: Smile and Blow Me!

and no i won't stop watching his movies
Sinestro writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 3:02:43 PM

".woody allen was f*cking his own daughter polanski raped a girl but its ok for them"

Mel will tell you that is because they are Jews. And they are evil.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 3:42:57 PM

This is a great post and can be a barometer of how fans truly regard Mel as first and foremost a great actor / director. However, does it afford him society’s forgiveness over his brazen and controversial publicized statements. Hollywood (be it fellow actors, directors, producers) maybe avoiding him like the plague because no one wants to be associated with a bent outta shape racist. However, I think about the previous incident when Mel made racist remarks and immediately offered up a public apology so he could move on with his life and work. Certainly that incident was less blown out of media epic proportions than the Oksana case. She kept on releasing tape after tape of uncensored Mel-o-rrific rage. That bitch had her own agenda to survive and thrive. We’ve never heard our Mel, our hero so vulnerable and clearly living an agonizing life. Other WP posters commented we’ve all said racist remarks, we’ve all gotten together with the wrong woman (the statement “Women, can’t live with them, can’t shoot them” rings so true). This make Mel human after all. What Mel needs to do now is provide a public statement. His fans want to hear him. Hollywood needs to hear him. Clearly WP posters are unanimous on supporting Mel as an appreciation of his past body of work. He is a creative force in Hollywood like no other. This gives him cred in our books. We want Mel to make a statement and stand up against Hollywood who appears ready to shut him down for good. You can even borrow some of your inspiring rhetoric from Braveheart. I would follow you into battle. We are ready to forgive/excuse and importantly want you to continue to make great films. Please do not turn into a recluse and disappear into the night leaving this scandal as your mark.
OneTime writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 4:32:48 PM

did DP right this
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 4:39:33 PM

No... he's too busy slamming good movies with crappy ratings.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 4:45:06 PM

@One Time: Who is DP? Ditch Pig? Dirty Prostitute? Double Penetration?...

No, I (Mr. Blonde) wrote this. Just expressing my two cents and support of Mel who has fallen from social good graces. He needs to hear his fans still support his crazy mofo moves.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 4:56:44 PM

@One Time: I found it. Dustin Putman the genius who gave Inception a 5/10 rating. No I am not that douche.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 5:14:07 PM

@Ranger - thanks for the clue.
gotsghostrider writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 5:33:21 PM

Only when it looks promising and he's not directing or writing.
AYT BALL writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 6:35:51 PM

Less likely to set him up with a female friend maybe
lebowski writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 6:44:40 PM

danny glover please support your partner one more time .if mel had you and chris rock on his side maybe they would lay off him for a while.maybe his a bad person maybe his crazy maybe his both but that doesnt change the fact that the guy is one of the biggest talents that hollywood has to offer.and f*ck you leo for backing out from the viking movie
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 7:04:07 PM

You know, I've been watching Lethal Weapon 1 and 4 ... I can hardly wait for Lethal Weapon 5 - The Racist, Sexist, Masochistic Unrated Version
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 7:34:26 PM

@Mr. B - lol... you're welcome.
Crazyhorse writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 8:51:42 PM

CBS

That ought to tell you something. People see through those 2 million+ tapes.

I mean come on the wife is supposedly in danger but yet she sits there and films 5000 hours of this dangerous person

You might want to see if the man was drugged
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:18:52 PM

@Crazyhorse : you got me thinking that maybe Mel is living "Conspiracy Theory" all over again complete with taped eye lids and tied to a wheel chair. I shudder at the thought of hearing him let out long echoey howls along those dark damp hospital corridors.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:49:41 PM

Mel Gibson plays a hot balloon action hero who saves people from forest fires ... it's

BLOW ME!!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:52:00 PM

f*ck Hollywood.

At least Gibson doesn't hide in his office dressed in blackface and smacking Spike Lee on his ass and telling him to " go get the car, Uncle Remus! "

Or knock up Thai hooker in the motel by the airport and then pay for the abortion with a guy with a coathanger who plays a doctor " on TV " with money from the residuals from Bio-Dome.
Philip J Cook writes:
on September 1st, 2010 at 10:54:12 PM

no no no mad max is always welcome on my big screen, now more then ever, next is the expendables 3:return of the rigs 5

kmccarney88 writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 2:58:41 AM

Hell no, I dont give a sh*t what Mel Gibson does in his own time outside of films....as long as he's not murdering innocent people or something entirely f*cked up like that.

I love every single one of his movies and some stupid tape of him yelling isn't going to change that.

I'm glad the majority feels the same way. All I got to say is; Let him get back to work! All I want is to see his Viking movie! That sh*t would be INCREDIBLE!!!! And to be completely honest, I think now would be a good time with all his pent-up rage! The Vikings need that sh*t!!!!
Carpen7er writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 8:26:41 AM

Yeah ! We still like you Mel ! You just got to keep on beeing crazy...
darkraven28 writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 3:04:49 PM

I just think if I ever watch one of his movies again, which I haven't recently, I'll just be rooting for the bad guys Mel was trying to kill in those films. Turns Lethal Weapon completely on it's head, eh? Long live Joss Ackland and Gary Busey!!!!!!
SoftimusPrime writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 3:34:28 PM

If anything, HIS ANTICS HAVE MADE ME LOVE HIM EVEN MORE AND WILL PAY TO WATCH *ANY* FILM HE PUTS OUT.

Take that all you politically correct douches.
johnthemon writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 5:02:50 PM

f*ck Mel Gibson and f*ck the American public for being so stupid.
trailertrash writes:
on September 2nd, 2010 at 5:50:11 PM

Thats the Mel Gibson Spirt right there ....
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 2:21:10 AM

@trailertrash - That's what Oksana said after Mel pumped her.
trailertrash writes:
on September 3rd, 2010 at 5:52:13 AM

lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved