WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Rod Serling Talks Favorite "Twilight Zone" Episodes in Lost Interview

Posted: August 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Rod Serling Talks Favorite "Twilight Zone" Episodes in Lost InterviewSubmit Comment
A never-before-seen interview from 1970 with "The Twilight Zone" creator Rod Serling has just surfaced on YouTube for the first time, showing sci-fi author James Gunn discussing Serling's show and sci-fi in general.

Regarding "The Twilight Zone," Serling stated: "I think it failed in terms of its consistency. It was very good some weeks, quite bad other weeks. But this is pretty much the track record of most television, by virtue of its desperate overexposure and the brevity of time allotted to us to produce something that is qualitative. But overall, I would say that it was a creative series. We did much more creating than we did imitating. I think we tried things failed frequently, succeeded other times. But I think the mark of the show was the quite perceivable attempt at quality that went on in the show."

He went on to say that his two favorite episodes were "The Invaders," about a woman fighting off little aliens emerging from the roof of her house, and "Time Enough at Last," about a book lover who finds himself alone with his books after a nuclear war.

Click here and here to watch the interview, which also has Serling admitting that he's a terrible sci-fi writer and discussing another sci-fi show, "Star Trek."

Source: YouTube


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sc_kg writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 6:16:57 AM

Rod Serling is one of the best thing that happened to TV and genre. Just read his other interviews.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 7:11:22 AM

I think the fact that Justin bieber, the kardashians and the jersey shore show are very rich and famous makes me wonder if we're living in the twilight zone right now.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 8:36:51 AM

I always loved Twilight Zone; it was a lot of fun to watch. Both of those episodes were great. "The Invaders" had a cool twist ending.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 9:47:50 AM

@ phantom.... Was the invaders episode the one where the couple are in a town that's fake? If so that was a great one.
velocityknown writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 10:09:34 AM

@Johnny

I think invaders is the one where it turns out at the end the lady is the "monster" and the "invaders" are astronauts from Earth.

The one about the book lover is one of my personal favorites as well:

"That's not fair, I had time now!"

They don't make TV like that anymore.
rabid writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 11:25:50 AM

Rod Serling was the man. I should have never wished him away into the cornfield.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 11:31:48 AM

@velocity.... Thanks for the heads up. The one I'm talking about has a couple who are in a town nit knowing how they arrived only to realize they're in a minature size toy town for giant aliens who look like humans. And the one you referee to with the glasses was classic
Mr. Wednesday writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 11:44:50 AM

One of the great modest geniuses of all time.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 11:48:39 AM

Im a huge fan of Serling and The Twilight Zone, and they dont make shows like it anymore! (not counting the bombed renditions of TTZ.)
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 1:34:22 PM

Great posts folks.

Yep, Rod was a pioneering TV genius alright (like Roddenberry). Weird... just this past weekend I was channel surfing and TTZ was on. I only saw the last 5 minutes but knew which episode it was.

Remember the one where the man was going into space for decades, and leaving his woman behind. He was to be in suspended animation for most of the trip, but he didn't want to come back young as she would have aged, so he pulled himself out of that system... thus he aged normally. Unbeknown to him, she put herself into suspended animation to stay young so they could have their life together when they came back.

He ages.
She doesn't.


f*ckin' bitch!
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 1:36:57 PM

And if anyone hasn't seen that episode yet, and says I just spoiled it for them...

You can just f*ckin' SMILE... AND BLOOOOWWW ME!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 1:42:19 PM

There is a fifth dimension beyond that which is known to man. It is a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity. It is the middle ground between light and shadow, between science and superstition, and it lies between the pit of man's fears and the summit of his knowledge. This is the dimension of imagination. It is an area which we call the Twilight Zone.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 1:42:27 PM

love this guy, twilight zone is f*cking great ...
JohnZee writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 2:43:14 PM

Rod Serling was the man. I remember when I was a young kid in school and the teacher went around the room asking everyone what they wanted to be when they grew up. And of course there was a lot of hopeful fireman, and professional athletes, and even one President. But not me...

...Nope, I wanted to be that guy. You know the one at the tail end of every opening Twilight Zone episode. The one with the cigarette in hand, cryptically giving clues about what you were about to see.

Didn't even know his name back then, but he had already left a very serious impression on my young mind.

...You know what would kill all of this craptastic so called reality shows on television?

Rod Serling.
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 3:13:34 PM

Well said John.
Sinestro writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 6:01:02 PM

I think you are referring to A Stopover in a Quiet Town, Johnny Boy.

I think Rod is being quite modest when he says the show was inconsistent. If anything it's probably the most consistent anthology series I can think of, and of the best (and my personal all-time favorite) TV shows in the history of television.

I remember the first time I watched the show, the episode playing was I am the Night: Color Me Black. Although I was struggling with my English at the time (still am, actually) I understood enough to be blown away by it. Loved the show ever since.

Can't wait for the BR release.

I remember the first time I
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 7:00:24 PM

Ur eglsh iz behter thn minh iz!
Jedimax writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 11:34:11 PM

wow the invaders is one of my favorite episodes, but i always thought it wasnt as big as the "famous" episodes

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved