WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Last Exorcism" Takes First Place This Weekend

Posted: August 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Last Exorcism" Takes First Place This WeekendSubmit Comment
Eli Roth's "The Last Exorcism" took the top spot this weekend with slightly over $21 million at the domestic box office. That was good enough to surpass the other wide release, "Takers," which grossed $21 million.

"Takers" had the highest per-theater average of $9,519 and has already surpassed its $20 million budget. "The Last Exorcism" also surpassed it's budget, which was only $1.8 million.

Sylvester Stallone's $80 million "The Expendables" fell to third place, but added another $9.5 million for a domestic total of $82 million. "Eat Pray Love" and "The Other Guys" followed with weekend estimates of $7 million and $6.6 million, respectively.

Meanwhile, the re-release of James Cameron's "Avatar" launched at 812 locations, with a less-than-stellar $4 million, of which $1.6 million came from 125 IMAX theaters. Internationally, the film grossed another $4.3 million, which was enough to raise the foreign total passed the $2 billion mark.

Click here to read our "The Last Exorcism" review.

Check out the box office results

Source: THR, Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GambleBDJ writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 3:54:06 PM

Takers grossed 21 mil in first weekend???? Get off of these singers dingaling folks they act like sh*t.
koul writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 3:54:17 PM

no new exorcism movies will ever beat the old one. the original is the f*cking scariest and i'm still scared of that bitch's face
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 4:00:10 PM

Funnily enough Takers was probably a lot better than Last Exorcism. LOL @EliRoth on twitter retweeting all these posts from people who apparently liked that trash. It's ridiculous how people are still failing at executing the formula set by a film made almost 40 years ago.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 4:14:46 PM

According to Boxofficemojo, The Exorcist only cost $1.8 million to make so that is a rather huge profit margin to make the first weekend. I'm going to guess that will will make another $20 mil and will be spawning at least 3 other sequels.

Hey Sly! Hurry up with The Expendables sequel!
Rambo writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 4:22:29 PM

eat pray f*ck
Ranger writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 4:29:11 PM

I have those very words tattooed on my thigh (right above my 'Slippery when Wet!' tat)!
zombie345trioxin writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 6:27:59 PM

the last excorsism was awesome.
very very awesome. i dont care what people say.
Lowryder writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 7:35:14 PM

Why does everyone seem to like the other guys?? like i just watched it last night and thought it was verry unfunny.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 7:50:55 PM

Paint the chick above blue, give her a gun, let her chase a few of those blue ugly's and I might watch Ava-Retard when it hits AMC
BDeck writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 8:30:21 PM

takers was cool.like heat,cool hiest and set up,guns on main street.

the worst part of the movie was when ti died,i laughed so hard.

there wasn't any character development at all.you just kinda get thrown in with these characters.i would have liked to learn about them a little more.But when you think about it,heat didnt ether so.

i liked it though
takai writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 8:42:01 PM

@ TDK - Have you seen this movie? It's nothing like 'The Exorcist' at all. This movie isn't even scary.
sc_kg writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 8:52:08 PM

Where are the Puttman reviews. I need them, man! They're only reliable source of opinion and information.€s
Rambo writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 12:22:54 AM

DP is on a vacation getting a DP
YoungChris writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 12:37:03 AM

I just got home from the movies..got to say the movie "takers" suck!!! 4/10
angelus5621 writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 12:53:37 AM

Roth didnt direct excorcism.... did he write? If he only produced, then why is worded as 'his'?
trailertrash writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 2:58:13 AM

Dont worry DP did review Last Exorcism 6/10

http://www.worstpreviews.com/review.php?id=1522§ion=review
montheindy writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 4:05:01 AM

It's nice to know they're all making a sickly amount of money.
Bunny X writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 8:46:09 AM

I watched Takers because I'm friends with the Manager of Idris Elba / Zoe Saldana. And I love Michael Ealy. I have to say, it was ok. I honestly thought The Losers was more entertaining. I was going to catch The Last Exorcism this coming weekend but friends are telling me to skip it.
johnthemon writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 9:25:16 AM

heard Last Exorcism is actually really good, but the idiots who usually like this kind of thing didn't get it.
Bunny X writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 2:40:30 PM

Wow, so the numbers were so close that the final tally came in and has Takers "taking" the #1 spot. If so, then wow indeed. And they did it in less theaters than The Last Exorcism nonetheless. Impressive.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved