WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Says Horror Movies Should NOT Be in 3D

Posted: August 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Says Horror Movies Should NOT Be in 3DSubmit Comment
During an interview with Vanity Fair magazine director James Cameron (Avatar, Titanic) was asked about "Piranha 3D," not only because it was in 3D, but also because Cameron directed the second installment in the franchise, called "Piranha Part Two: The Spawning," back in 1981.

"You've got to remember: I worked on 'Piranha 2' for a few days and got fired off of it; I don't put it on my official filmography," he explained. "So there's no sort of fond connection for me whatsoever."

Cameron continued: "In fact, I would go even farther and say that I tend almost never to throw other films under the bus, but that is exactly an example of what we should not be doing in 3-D. Because it just cheapens the medium and reminds you of the bad 3-D horror films from the 70s and 80s, like 'Friday the 13th 3-D.' When movies got to the bottom of the barrel of their creativity and at the last gasp of their financial lifespan, they did a 3-D version to get the last few drops of blood out of the turnip."

Source: Vanity Vair


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 9:15:06 PM

3d is f*cking lame
Whitta writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 9:56:02 PM

ALL 3D is f*cking lame Cameron, yes... even your f*ckin Avatar
Whitta writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 10:04:31 PM

p.s - i quite liked Friday 13th part 3
Whitta writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 10:04:49 PM

p.p.s - i dont like you james cameron
Whitta writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 10:05:23 PM

p.p.p.s - although, i loved Terminator 2 and Aliens, good job man!! Just dont bring them out in 3D
Whitta writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 10:06:23 PM

p.p.p.p.s - they have smaller cameras now, check out your local electronics store :)
Sir Aids AidsAIDSaids writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 10:10:21 PM

I thought the point of Piranha 3d was to be a homage to stupid horror films of the 70s and 80s.
blinkbomber writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 10:46:42 PM

dying franchise... mmhmm... last drops of blood... yeah... Friday the 13th 3D

WHAT?!

i guess that's why that dying franchise made it through 8 more films... AND gave us one of the most recognizable horror icons of all time.
Derp88 writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 10:46:57 PM

Kill yourself Cameron
ManOfPiePants_ManOfFaith writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 11:34:56 PM

I've seen plays that were more exciting than Avatar...

...honest to God, PLAYS!!!
CCBlev writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 11:45:51 PM

JC are you like the movie dictator now? we got your opinion like the 1000's of others you've given now f*ck off!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 11:47:45 PM

So, the genre that made 3D famous shouldn't be using it?

It's a gimmick, Cameron. Just admit to it so we can move on with our day. It's a stupid cheap gimmick that Hollywood puts in
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 11:48:23 PM

cheap sh*tty horror movies.

(I'm trigger happy tonight, pressed "submit comment" a little bit earlier than expected)
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 11:49:35 PM

Also he's mad that Piranha 3D was better than his Piranha movie.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2010 at 11:50:59 PM

Sorry, one more thing:

"
Cameron continued: "In fact, I would go even farther and say that I tend almost never to throw other films under the bus, but that is exactly an example of what we should not be doing in 3-D. Because it just cheapens the medium and reminds you of the bad 3-D horror films from the 70s and 80s, like 'Friday the 13th 3-D.' When movies got to the bottom of the barrel of their creativity and at the last gasp of their financial lifespan, they did a 3-D version to get the last few drops of blood out of the turnip.""

There's always a reflection of yourself in criticisms of others, Jimmy.
Lulupendragon writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 12:33:06 AM

Perhaps its come to the point where James Cameron should retire, move in with Mel and have a gay ol' time beating each other. would be fun.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 1:04:16 AM

derp-well said!
boogiel writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 1:18:59 AM

3D...what a p*ssy!
johnny_boy writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 1:29:27 AM

Here's a better article:

"Johnny_Boy says James Cameron Should NOT Continue Making Movies, Especially In 3D"
rocketman writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 2:41:39 AM

Pot.Kettle.Black.
Rambo writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 2:52:43 AM

Make Aliens 2 instead of this avatar crap!!!f*cking p*ssy!!!where is the old school Cameron from the 80's/90's???
Ranger writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 2:54:03 AM

Some movies are BEST in 3D. Take Green Lantern for example.

James... how about you stick to your own projects and let others do their thing?

'K? Deal?!

Jerk-off!
Ranger writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 3:17:04 AM

3D decades ago went hand-in-hand with horror flicks. It make people jump out of their seat... girls into guys laps (COC into daddy's lap - at the Blue Oyster Cinema), etc.
trailertrash writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 3:49:24 AM

"When movies got to the bottom of the barrel of their creativity and at the last gasp of their financial lifespan"

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA !!!!

He said that on the Weekend Avatar is Re- Released with an extra 17 seconds or something !!!

trailertrash writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 3:53:57 AM

Friday 13th 3D LOL on the head crushing scene and the eye popping out , That was classic.

http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/images/features/13daysof/3_Kill.jpg
K-lube Bonnerman writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 5:35:06 AM

Soooo this dildo thinks he is the lord of movie making now just because he has reinvented the "Cowboy vs Indian" western and let the indians win. 3D is lame, if your already wearing glasses you have to wear those dumbass looking Buddy Holly glasses over them...
J.A.Ottley writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 8:43:07 AM

Is it me or is Cameron talking about himself, financial lifespan, milking blood from turnips...Do turnips even have blood? 0_o

And seriously look at the time gap technology between bloody Friday the 13th 3D and today's tech
velocityknown writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 10:29:57 AM

Coming from someone who enjoyed the visual experience of Avatar:

f*ck off James Cameron. You think 3-D is some holy f*cking object that can only be used in certain films. Wake up douchebag. It's a f*cking gimmick. It was a gimmick when they used it in Avatar and it's a gimmick when the use it in Piranha. At least Piranha acknowledge's the campiness of it, you treat Avatar like it was the greatest film of all time. It wasn't. You're a douche. f*ck off.
JBarts78 writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 11:06:14 AM

I liked Avatar more when it was called Fern Gully.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 11:48:41 AM

Everyone else on here as said it better than I ever could.
rabid writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 12:16:10 PM

Not all 3D is lame. Some is quite superior. I don't think Cameron is saying that horror films should forego 3D, but that they should at least try to use it more creatively than just showing a hatchet or blood spray coming at your face. Cameron proved 3D can be much more immersive, and he wants more people following his lead.
And so do I.
rabid writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 12:18:25 PM

I'm really okay with 3D being used in slasher films, but think of how it could enhance a claustrophobic film like "Buried" or "Saw" by confining the viewer.
Peter Parker writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 12:52:42 PM

"James Cameron Says Horror Movies Should NOT Be in 3D"

- Hum... "Avatar" was quite horrible.
Mr. Cameron, any comments?

James Cameron: - "I want to call those people who didn't like "Avatar" out into the street at high noon and shoot it out with those boneheads.
I will then explain why my movie was the best movie ever. EVER!"

Five days pass:

- "I want the format to be changed from a debate to a roundtable discussion."

Three days later:

- "I wanted to ban the opposing side's cameras."

One week after:

- "I want no cameras whatsoever. Only audio shall be recorded."

OK, dude. Whatever you say. As long as you can explain how and why "Avatar" is the best movie ever made.

Two days later:

James Cameron: - "You're not at my level. No one is. I refuse to discuss, debate or argue with anybody that may think differently from me."

disturbed01 writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 1:26:53 PM

no movies should not be made in 3d
Kurskij writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 4:10:52 PM

Well, I recently checked out 3D porn and the extra dimension really did help - talk about few last drops, eh?...
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 9:24:55 PM

Shut up and die, Jim.
You created this monster.
HideousSecretion writes:
on August 29th, 2010 at 10:11:43 PM

Yes wouldn't want to cheapen the cheap gimmick would we?
encoreyourface writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 2:42:05 AM

lol
Kill-the-director writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 6:10:54 AM

getting bored of all this 3D sh*t now. its really is just a gimmick. i had to go see toy story 3 in 3D the other day as there were no 3D showings. I had to pay double the price of a 2d showing plus an extra 1 for the bloody glasses!

i will definately be waiting for the blu-ray's if 3D just keeps going
rabid writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 10:37:10 AM

In some instances it's a gimmick, and in some it helps propel the story. It can function as both. Thought it worked great for Toy Story.
johnthemon writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 11:37:17 PM

absolutely right. As much as I hate to agree with the dueche of the decade, he's right.
Captain Bennett writes:
on August 31st, 2010 at 2:44:32 PM

Cameron can suck my balls! The guy makes one 3d flick now he is the authority on the subject? I think ONLY horror movies should be in 3d, the way it was until Disney flicks and AVATAR f*cked it up. I'd rather watch FRIDAY THE 13th 3d than that sh*tfest TITANIC any day!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved