WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Great Concept Art for "Panzer 88" Sci-Fi Movie

Posted: August 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Great Concept Art for "Panzer 88" Sci-Fi MovieSubmit Comment
"Star Wars" producer Gary Kurtz has teamed with Weta FX house to develop a $20 million "Panzer 88" sci-fi film that will be directed by Peter Briggs, whose only credit is writing "Hellboy."

The plot follows the five-man German crew of the Ilsa -- a King Tiger, the biggest tank of its day -- on a mission to the frigid and fearsome Russian border, where they tread into an ancient mystery by stirring a powerful entity. The film will have a "Band of Brothers" sort of ensemble.

"I'd already written a paranormal World War II sequence in the opening of 'Hellboy,'" said Briggs. "Tonally, 'Panzer 88' is a tad different from that. Our military aspects are more realistic, and mostly akin to the claustrophobic action and tension of 'Das Boot.' We're aiming to do for the tank genre what 'Hunt For Red October' and 'Crimson Tide' did for submarine flicks. Only, with a supernatural twist. We're upping the ante with visuals, equipment, and scenes that have never been seen in a World War II milieu. In retrospect, it's strange nobody's thought to do this in quite this way before."

Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 6:38:02 AM

I don't get it. So are we supposed to be rooting for the Nazis or the "powerful entity" that looks like someone's crappy WOW character?
coolguy writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 7:25:50 AM

the concept art does look awesome, however the idea of nazis being the good guys is poor form
VDODSON writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 9:39:50 AM

Not all Nazis gassed jews, some were alright.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 9:39:54 AM

The idea of Germans being the protaganists is kinda a original idea, i like it!
Moose756 writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 11:32:11 AM

No matter what Nazi's equal evil. So any film on them can never make them the good guys at all.
Koagel writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 12:39:32 PM

do you think all german soldiers in ww2 were nazis.
most of them were normal soldiers who gave sh*t about politics they just want to survive the war
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 12:54:38 PM

-Das Boot 1981 (claustophobic submarine action)
-All Quiet on the Western Front 1930 (brutalities of WW1 trench warfare)
-Valkyrie 2008 (splinter nazi attempt to assassinate Hitler to end WW2)
-The Keep 1983 (strong similarities to the plot of Panzer 88 i.e. Nazi vs supernatural entity)
-The Eagle has Landed 1976 (Sutherland, Caine, Duvall - classic)

All good examples of movies w/ Nazi protagonist or stories told from their perspective. Sure Nazi's are evil motherf*ckers but these stories are told from the grunt side, or those trying to effect a change to the Nazi regime (and end the war). I don't get a sense Panzer 88 will preach nazi political propaganda as that would be some tasteless sh*t. From the description, the story will focus on a lone Panzer crew's encounter and give you an idea how tight they operated as a team especially in close quarters. I think this movie could work as long as they don't turn it into another f*ckin Transformers.
Ranger writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 1:27:10 PM

@Mr. Blonde - you beat me to it. I had pretty much the same list to post. All Quiet on the Western Front - even the version with Richard Thomas: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0078753/

All worth watching... great list.

Maybe if people watched more of this they'd realize some armies are made of people, not their corrupt leaders. And anyone saying they in the same situation wouldn't follow orders and would rather be shot, should really be in that situation first to judge. No one should think that only certain forces in the world have committed atrocities against human beings. The UN Peacekeepers in Burma are being accused of similar behavior as I type this.

It's easy to point fingers... but until one has been in certain situations (in war) especially...
Ranger writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 1:29:03 PM

PS: The Keep is the only one on your list I haven't seen. The rest are epic. Even Valkyrie (maybe not 'epic') was worth a viewing.

Hitler - 42 attempts on his life. MOSTLY by his own people. Someone tell me some supernatural force wasn't keeping that bastard alive to make a mark in our history.
Ranger writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 3:03:28 PM

Jesus folks... I didn't mean for my post to take the steam outta this thread!
rzmsauce writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 4:11:09 PM

Ranger you forgot Cross of iron! great flick aswell as Stalingrad aswell.

Both follow this genre
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 4:15:05 PM

@Ranger – nice posts.

FYI, The Keep, early Michael Mann, great ensemble cast, weird at times, review IMDB to gauge better vibe before rent. Saw upon first release and the imagery kinda freaked me out.

Hitler’s archaeologists must have recovered some of those Egyptian religious artifacts (a la Ark of the Covenant [Raiders of the Lost Ark for those of you…]) which might have afforded him some degree of supernatural protection. Either that or he was the luckiest Nazi motherf*cker around. After 42 attempts, you would think a simple bullet to the head would do the trick.

All Quiet on the Western Front (more info for others): German schoolboys talked into enlisting into the army by patriotic teacher. Through trial by fire, they face the atrocities of trench warfare and profound disillusionment from their original purpose. Arguably WW1 was the most brutal since trench warfare was so effective on the defensive side which resulted in massive casualties (though gunshot, bayonet, shovel bashing, knife etc.). Was also the first war to use mustard gas widespread hence chemical warfare – which f*cked a lot of soldiers.

Concept art reminds me of the alien spacecraft in John Carpenter's The Thing and also first shot of derelict spacecraft in Alien.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 5:24:33 PM

@Ranger - Jez, sometimes happens when you throw in a little historical accuracy and the post goes elsewhere. Can't help it when dealing with Nazis as they are a piece of mankind's damaged history.

I believe Indiana Jones put it best when he said "Nazis. I hate these guys".
rocketman writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 5:26:24 PM

Bloody jerrys need a ruddy good thrashing.
trailertrash writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 6:28:07 PM

Mr Blonde/ Ranger - Nice list guys

I love The Eagle has Landed, Das Boot and Cross of Irons.

Not in the same league as those movies but dont forget Roger Moore as Major Otto Hecht in Escape to Athena directed by George P Cosmatos (Rambo FB p2) and staring the late great David Niven, Elliot Gould and sonny bono (before he learn't to ski).
trailertrash writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 6:30:21 PM

rzmsauce-

Sorry Cross of irons was yours good call
Ranger writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 7:48:44 PM

... before he learned to ski... lol.

Nice list folks.

Thx. Mr. B.

Thx. rzm for the recommendation. I've written it down.

Stalingrad... ugh! When a German would fall asleep due to exhaustion and hypothermia, this men would jump on him and consume his still warm body parts. I thank God I wasn't a part of that history.

I had an ancestor gassed in WW1, and my dad was a tank driver (and had his paratrooper wings) in WW2. Poor Sherman junk vs. the German Tiger that weighed twice as much (if only to carry that tank-splitting 88). No wonder Donald Sutherland was terrified of them in Kelly's Heros (Eastwood).

Ranger writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 7:57:37 PM

Mr B - re: The Ark. Just imagine the stir a movie would cause were it about the Jews already having had the Ark, and SELLING it to the Germans just to have the Germans (believe) they'd gain world power - but knowing the Germans would use it to thin out the Jewish population (something the wealthiest Jews that sold the Ark actually wanted).

Now THAT would be a movie! And would cause a bigger sh*t storm than Passion of Christ (Gibson. Mel... you reading this, you crazy genius you?).

Noooooooo... I WANT A WOMAN AND I DESERVES A WOMAN!!!

Ummm... ok Mel, I was just bouncing this movie idea off of you. Take a chill pill bra!
Man in Black writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 9:41:51 PM

its like the mist set in WWII i think ?
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 10:05:08 PM

@Ranger - LMAO. Nice rewrite. Another suggestion, get Tarantino to direct

(SPOILERS AHEAD sorta).

Quentin has effectively demonstrated how to deal with Nazis and given the viewers what they want. With his signature Aldo Raine's forehead branding technique (enjoy wearing a baseball cap for life Butz and Landa) and the Bear Jew's more permanent clubbing technique (which no tylenol can cure). Mix in your script idea (sorry Mel may be too busy) and you got...wait for it...

"Inglourious Basterds 2 Traders of the Lost Ark".
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 24th, 2010 at 10:14:29 PM

p.s. Forgot to add, the Basterds are called in by the Jewish Underground Resistance to retrieve the Ark and effectively eliminate the ranking Nazi High Command. Of course using the extreme techniques aforementioned. Trust Quentin can deliver this "Great Concept Art" (albeit a slight deviation from the original Subject Title of this entertaining Post).
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on August 25th, 2010 at 3:09:20 AM

They moved the Wolfenstein castle to Russia. And the jerri are the not-so-bad guys.
Ranger writes:
on August 25th, 2010 at 3:44:42 AM

"Inglourious Basterds 2 Traders of the Lost Ark".

Priceless.

Orias writes:
on August 26th, 2010 at 6:54:12 PM

"Hitler - 42 attempts on his life. MOSTLY by his own people. Someone tell me some supernatural force wasn't keeping that bastard alive to make a mark in our history. "

Yeah, he did Ranger, it was a powerful magical artifact called the Spear Of Destiny.

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090305211156AA6kEhb

"According to Christian texts, the Spear of Destiny (also known as the Holy Lance, Holy Spear, Lance of Longinus, or Spear of Longinus) is the spear that is reported in the Gospel of John (19:31-37) as having pierced the side of Jesus during his crucifixion. "

http://www.monstropedia.org/index.php?title=Spear_of_Destiny

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved