WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Reveals "X-Men: First Class" Details

Posted: August 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Reveals "X-Men: First Class" DetailsSubmit Comment
Bryan Singer (X-Men, Superman Return) got in touch with AICN and revealed a few details about the upcoming "X-Men: First Class" movie, which is directed by Matthew Vaughn (Kick-Ass) and is set to hit theaters on June 3rd, 2011.

According to Singer, who is producing the film, "First Class" takes place in the 1960s (JFK is President, Martin Luther King and Malcolm X are mentioned). It focuses on Xavier (James McAvoy) and Erik Lehnsherr (Michael Fassbender), including how they met and dreamt of a future in which mutants and humans get along. Both characters will be in their 20s. Xavier will have hair and not be in wheelchair. We will, however find out how he wound up in a wheelchair. The story will transition into how Professor X and Magneto created the X-Men.

We'll get to see the classic costumes, similar to the ones in the comics.

Cyclops and Jean Grey are not in the movie, but Cyclops' brother Alex Summers (aka Havoc) will be, as played by Lucas Till. Singer confirmed that Kevin Bacon is the villainous Sebastian Shaw from the Hellfire Club, which is a secret society bent on world domination.

"First Class" will have an international feel. It will begin with Xavier at Oxford University, but will also take place in the United States and The Soviet Union.

Singer concluded by saying that first shots from the movie will be released in about a month.

Source: AICN

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 6:50:29 AM

This is officially gonna suck. Please buy back the rights before it goes any farther. Whatever Fox asks for - just pay it. No negotiations. Just get the goddamn rights back! I've been a fan of Vaugh's since I first saw "Layer Cake", but this is sounding worse with every article, just like the new Spider-man movie. How the f*ck can Havok be in this, but Cyclops isn't?
rocketman writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 6:58:42 AM

No Cyclops? ok,im no Xmen expert,im a Judge Dredd kinda guy but i did read a few when i was a nipper and the REAL Xmen as i remember were
Cyclops,Beast,Angel,Jean Grey,Iceman and Prof X,they used to fight Magneto.Thats it. Why can't they do that?
johnny_boy writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 7:11:20 AM

Bryan Singer excommunicated himself by abandoning Xmen 3 and to add insult to injury, he completely f*cked up Superman with Superman Returns. He needs to just f*ck off
rocketman writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 7:31:53 AM

He also turned Wolvie into a 6foot plus loriel advert.Downhill since Usual Suspects.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 7:44:26 AM


I'm going with rocketman here, not all clued up on X-MEN but I do remember Beast, Jean, Cyclops and Prof X being the main people along with Magneto.

No doubt though there will be people on here who know a hell of alot more than I do.

Maybe if we had'nt had X-men, X2 and X3 this might of worked.

nope.com writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 7:57:04 AM

Singer might as well have said don't come

... or maybe he is 0_O
encoreyourface writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 8:15:27 AM

i think any one who knows anything about comics knows how X ended in the wheelchair ...
Johnofthed3ad writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 9:00:36 AM

Here this douchebag goes again re writing things. Everyone praises this dumb bastard for xmen 1 and 2. And sh*ts on ratner for 3. Singer changed everything there is to change about xmen short of having prof x be a ballet dancer. Wolverine is 6`4 and doesnt know sabertooth. Rouge is 16. The f*cking costumes. The movies are a series of 1 on 1 fights. Here comes ratner and whats the first thing you see THE f*ckING DANGER ROOM SIMULATING DAYS OF FUTURE PAST WITH A SENTINAL. sh*t on that guy. He sucks. he put xmen stuff in an xmen movie.illl. The main point of 3 is "we fight as a team", they even say it as much as the word fear is used in batman begins.They actually did fight as a team and my favorite part is wen wolverine and beast are fighting and beast is talking and then just gives up and continues fighting. I remember how pissed off at the world i was when i walked out of xmen 1 and im starting to feel that again.
CCBlev writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 9:21:14 AM

Why am I liking this less and less?
Monash writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 9:29:29 AM

So of the "x-men: first clas", there is only one x-man from the first class

Bryan Singer kindly read johnny_boy's comment and follow his advice
rabid writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 11:21:28 AM

I can't believe so many people believe this. Of course Cyclops and Jean Grey will be in the film. It's pretty silly to believe otherwise.
lebowski writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 11:39:37 AM

first of all i get the frustration that this causes.i was also a bit dissapointed when i walked out from the first x men movie but when i saw x2 and heard from singer that that was the movie that he originally intended to make but had to set the ground with the first kind of made sense to me.x3 was not good and its biggest problem was its duration 90 minutes for an epic end to the last movie of a trilogy ?dont get me started on the final fight i was trylly expecting a fight between juggernut and collosus but that never happened.origins was sh*t no doupt about that but at least it didnt mess with the story of the other films and they provide an explanation as to why wolverine didnt remember sabertooth in x1.i like the fact that this new one is set in 1960s and doesnt brake continuity ilike the cast and the director especially after kick ass.
mariachi writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 11:53:57 AM

Why is everyone acting like such babies about this?
Sure, I have no faith in this movie but it has nothing to do with them following the comic book story. To say that Singer is ruining it by not following the comic book cannon is just naive. Filmmakers have to make the best *film* that they can, not the best *comic book*.
Before The Dark Knight, X2 was arguably the best comic movie ever and nobody gave a f#@k about it drifting away from the comics.
I'm concerned with whether First Class will be a good MOVIE and nothing else.
LEONCIO writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 12:21:54 PM

f*ck this movie.

As I said before, they should have just rebooted it all with young versions of Prof. X, Magneto, (and much younger versions of) Cyclops, Jean, Iceman, Beast and Angel. Then you call it "First Class", introduce the sentinels hunting mutants and Magneto gets pissed and becomes a villain. All of this on the f*cking 21st century.

I'm not a genius producer or director and I know that this is the movie they should be filming, and not this sh*tty 60s X-Men without almost any known X-Men.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 12:40:46 PM

The problem with XMen : First Class is the same problem with XMen. Marvel. They've changed origins, storylines, muddied alternative realities on the main characters so much that it went from being an analogy about the African American class struggles during the Martin Luther King Jr./Malcolm X days to a superhero soap opera (like a very lame version of any daytime soap opera where two men fight over one woman, a brother misses his sister, the son of a couple comes back from the future to clean up the past, blah, blah, blah). Marvel has made it so that whoever gets this FRANCHISE ... and don't mistake this as a storyline anymore ... to the bean-counters in Marvel (sorry, Johnny) ... it's a MONEY-MAKING FRANCHISE ... is going to have to deal with (a) a disenchanted hard core group of comic book collectors who have held on to these characters in good times (Apocolypse : XMen) and bad (Ultimates XMen); (b) a fickle, short attention span audience who doesn't know of the XMen from anywhere BUT the movies and (c) the financiers of this stuff.
SaulSilver writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 1:09:47 PM

I am perfectly okay with a 1960s set prequel detailing the friendship of Xavier and Magneto and the downfall of that friendship, but why call it X-Men: First Class if you're only going to have one of the original team?? Why not just use X-Men Origins again, Call it Professor X and Magneto or something. I know it'd be a long complicated name but at least it'd make sense.
rabid writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 2:15:00 PM

read X-Men Deadly Genesis. There was an X-team before the one we're all accustomed to. Xavier did a poor job of training them and they got slaughtered.
I still think Cyclops and Jean will feature. They should keep their roles as a surprise.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 2:25:58 PM

So is this a straight prequel to the Singer/Ratner trilogy, or is it a reboot as well? If it's a reboot, I'm not sure why they're doing it in conjunction with Wolverine 2.

Not that either of those movies will be good.
WV-Films writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 2:27:01 PM

This sounds great. I like that they're keeping it true to the timeline that they created, as they don't recruit Jean or Scott till sometime in the early 80's, (as depicted at the end of Wolverine, and the beginning of X3) I also like Sebastian Shaw as the villain. I'm officially excited for this now.

Now they just need to make X4 with Cable and Apocalypse!
buttabean writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 4:46:46 PM

They should just make it like watchmen lol
BDeck writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 6:03:55 PM

well f*ck.

if the movie is going to be that simple then why all the casting news?
Inception writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 6:51:42 PM

nothing can save Marvel, not even a miracle.

-Captain America will be a sh*t. Why? Joe Johnston plus who wants to see Captain Torch?

-Thor will also suck, why? Kenneth Branagh, plus the trailer looks like sh*t and who wants to see Grayskull again? Thanks, but no thanks.

-The Avengers will be all that crap mix in a shake for all the audiences. Directed by Joss Whedon.

What do these 3 movies have in common? sh*tty directors and screenwriters, not to mention the studios and actors.

Now onto X-men. Even thought Vaugh is directing it, this will sink him very low. Mark my words. Not even one photo of the set has been revealed and look all this sh*t already surfacing. If you ask me this will be something similar like Robert Rodriguez's Spy Kids' films.
Inception writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 8:39:42 PM

.. and let's not talk about the pathetic reboot of the Spider Man franchise.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 9:03:39 PM

These movies are confusing me its like X men!!!. now we're gunna make a bunch of other movies to show you how each character mutated!
koul writes:
on August 21st, 2010 at 10:15:46 PM

i think this would be a great movie. cause it is showing how professor x and magneto became friends when they were young is cool to see.
rabid writes:
on August 22nd, 2010 at 1:12:45 AM

I know some people are dismayed at all the origins in this film, but I'm pretty sure they're using this to set up X4... meaning if the Man in Black guy is Mr. Sinister, then X4 would bring the Apocalypse.
coolguy writes:
on August 22nd, 2010 at 8:15:11 AM

high hopes for this one, kickass was hilarious and james macavoy can act...
Johnofthed3ad writes:
on August 22nd, 2010 at 10:18:47 AM

@mariachi- I dont know planet your on but on earth before the dark knight came out the best comic bok movie was either spiderman 2 or iron man. Both followed the comics and the director made good "films" out of them. Zach snyder shoots his comic movies almost shot for shot from the books also. Bryan singer is way overrated.
telur writes:
on August 22nd, 2010 at 10:48:53 PM

I heard Hugh Jackman will be cameo in First Class

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved