WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Legendary Actor James Garner Dead at 86
Jul 20th, 2014
First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
Jul 20th, 2014
Kevin Sorbo is Angry He Didn't Get a Cameo in "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
Batman and Superman Will Not Appear in "The Flash" or "Arrow" TV Series
Jul 20th, 2014
"Watchmen" Creator Alan Moore Asks Fans to Boycott "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
James Gunn Says He'll Direct "Guardians of the Galaxy 2," If The Sequel Happens
Jul 20th, 2014
Teaser Trailer for "Fifty Shades of Grey," Full Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jul 20th, 2014
Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films
Jul 19th, 2014
Hiding Scarlett Johansson's Pregnancy in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Took a Lot of Stunt Doubles
Jul 19th, 2014
Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie to Re-Team for "By the Sea"
Jul 19th, 2014
Lots of Action in New Clip From "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Reboot
Jul 19th, 2014
First Look at Judd Apatow's "Trainwreck" Comedy
Jul 19th, 2014
Mark Romanek to Direct "The Shining" Prequel, Called "Overlook Hotel"
Jul 18th, 2014
First Look at Adam Sandler and Peter Dinklage in "Pixels" Action Comedy
Jul 18th, 2014
"The Ring 3" is Finally Happening, Director Announced
Jul 18th, 2014
Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?
Jul 18th, 2014
"Fantastic Four" Reboot Isn't Based on Any Comic Book Storylines
Jul 18th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Wants to Direct New "Frankenstein" Film
Jul 18th, 2014
"Uncharted" Movie to Begin Shooting Early Next Year
Jul 18th, 2014
Trailer for "The One I Love" Hints at a Big Twist
Jul 18th, 2014
Disney Announces Lead Actor for Jon Favreau's "Jungle Book"
Jul 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Patrick Melton on "The Outer Limits" Movie

Posted: August 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Patrick Melton on "The Outer Limits" MovieSubmit Comment
Despite MGM going through massive financial problems, it was recently announced that the studio hired Patrick Melton and Marcus Dunstan (last four "Saw" films) to write a feature film based on "The Outer Limits" TV show.

"Marcus and I grew up on the sci-fi/horror/fantasy anthologies of yesteryear - 'The Outer Limits,' 'Twilight Zone,' 'Tales From the Crypt,' 'Alfred Hitchcock Presents,' etc. - so we couldn't be more excited at bringing 'The Outer Limits' to the big screen," Melton told DreadCentral. "However, there are a ton of big sci-fi movies coming out in the next few years so we've been very conscious about going against the grain on this one. By that I mean we're twisting expectations and the genre norms at every opportunity. The story is dead serious, but this won't be like any sci-fi tale you've seen before."

He added: "'The Outer Limits' as a TV series was always moodier and darker than something like 'The Twilight Zone,' so we're trying to instill that same edgy vibe in the feature. For example, 'The Outer Limits' had a lot of monsters, especially in the first season. I can't say too much more about the plot because of the competing sci-fi projects, but many aspects of the original show will be in the movie. And while it's just one movie, there will be several stories that interweave. Fans of the show should be very pleased."

Source: DreadCentral


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 8:46:32 AM

twilght zone is soooo much better, Outer Limits is only about aliens and isn't even very interesting ... and Twilght Zone got down right creepy when it felt the need.
mattjudge62 writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 9:00:17 AM

being one of the tv shows I grew up with I would like to see an outer limits movie, the only thing is how does it start. please dont let the projectionist adjust your movie screen
Gates writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 11:47:18 AM

Encore: I agree... I actually caught some old Twilight Zone episodes on TV the other day and it was downright creepy. That says a lot for a show that doesn't haves the high end effects you find in movies nowadays.
thetheeyecreature writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 12:52:39 PM

encoreyourface, I have to think you've never seen the better "Outer Limits" episodes.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 1:03:18 PM

Just make sure one of your older actors takes two Vietnamese kids up in a helicopter and crashes it, killing all three ...

then you'll be legendary.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 1:15:25 PM

thethee-i never said it was a bad show, they had some great episodes and everything, but i'm just more of a twilight zone kind of guy ...
rabid writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 4:53:46 PM

Showtime did Outer Limits perfect in the 90s. They retold the old stories but then-- Surprise! all the stories added up into one saga in the final episode. I'm not sure how you can squeeze all the classics into a movie, but as long as they stick close to the Twilight Zone movie, it should be good. Hopefully better than Tales From the Darkside with Christian Slater.
rabid writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 4:54:34 PM

I'd rather see a Night Gallery movie.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 10:21:38 PM

tales from the darkside show sucked, but i liked the film.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

"Pacific Rim 2" Gets a Release Date, Animated Series in the Works

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved