WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Poster for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 24th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Mission: Impossible 5" Trailer is Here!
Mar 23rd, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Says "Alien 5" Won't Interfere With "Prometheus" Franchise
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" to Begin Filming Next Month
Mar 23rd, 2015
Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman
Mar 22nd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" Unveils New Photos and Magazine Cover
Mar 22nd, 2015
Bobby Cannavale Discusses Confusing "Ant-Man" Shoot
Mar 22nd, 2015
Jason Statham vs Dwayne Johnson in "Furious 7" Clip
Mar 22nd, 2015
Sony to Remake "Romeo and Juliet" Using "300" Style
Mar 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Good Kill" Film
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for Simon Pegg's "Man Up" Comedy
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Footage in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" TV Spot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "Wayward Pines" TV Series
Mar 20th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Trailer Breaking Records
Mar 20th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Start Date and Plot Synopsis Revealed
Mar 20th, 2015
Jim Carrey and Keanu Reeves to Star in "The Bad Batch" Cannibal Film
Mar 20th, 2015
First Look at Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's "Bridge of Spies"
Mar 19th, 2015
"Sharknado 3" Gets Title and Release Date
Mar 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Patrick Melton on "The Outer Limits" Movie

Posted: August 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Patrick Melton on "The Outer Limits" MovieSubmit Comment
Despite MGM going through massive financial problems, it was recently announced that the studio hired Patrick Melton and Marcus Dunstan (last four "Saw" films) to write a feature film based on "The Outer Limits" TV show.

"Marcus and I grew up on the sci-fi/horror/fantasy anthologies of yesteryear - 'The Outer Limits,' 'Twilight Zone,' 'Tales From the Crypt,' 'Alfred Hitchcock Presents,' etc. - so we couldn't be more excited at bringing 'The Outer Limits' to the big screen," Melton told DreadCentral. "However, there are a ton of big sci-fi movies coming out in the next few years so we've been very conscious about going against the grain on this one. By that I mean we're twisting expectations and the genre norms at every opportunity. The story is dead serious, but this won't be like any sci-fi tale you've seen before."

He added: "'The Outer Limits' as a TV series was always moodier and darker than something like 'The Twilight Zone,' so we're trying to instill that same edgy vibe in the feature. For example, 'The Outer Limits' had a lot of monsters, especially in the first season. I can't say too much more about the plot because of the competing sci-fi projects, but many aspects of the original show will be in the movie. And while it's just one movie, there will be several stories that interweave. Fans of the show should be very pleased."

Source: DreadCentral


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 8:46:32 AM

twilght zone is soooo much better, Outer Limits is only about aliens and isn't even very interesting ... and Twilght Zone got down right creepy when it felt the need.
mattjudge62 writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 9:00:17 AM

being one of the tv shows I grew up with I would like to see an outer limits movie, the only thing is how does it start. please dont let the projectionist adjust your movie screen
Gates writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 11:47:18 AM

Encore: I agree... I actually caught some old Twilight Zone episodes on TV the other day and it was downright creepy. That says a lot for a show that doesn't haves the high end effects you find in movies nowadays.
thetheeyecreature writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 12:52:39 PM

encoreyourface, I have to think you've never seen the better "Outer Limits" episodes.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 1:03:18 PM

Just make sure one of your older actors takes two Vietnamese kids up in a helicopter and crashes it, killing all three ...

then you'll be legendary.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 1:15:25 PM

thethee-i never said it was a bad show, they had some great episodes and everything, but i'm just more of a twilight zone kind of guy ...
rabid writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 4:53:46 PM

Showtime did Outer Limits perfect in the 90s. They retold the old stories but then-- Surprise! all the stories added up into one saga in the final episode. I'm not sure how you can squeeze all the classics into a movie, but as long as they stick close to the Twilight Zone movie, it should be good. Hopefully better than Tales From the Darkside with Christian Slater.
rabid writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 4:54:34 PM

I'd rather see a Night Gallery movie.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 19th, 2010 at 10:21:38 PM

tales from the darkside show sucked, but i liked the film.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved