WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 1st, 2014
Why Joaquin Phoenix May Pass on "Doctor Strange" Offer
Sep 1st, 2014
Video: Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Sep 1st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Remains First at Box Office, New Releases Underperform
Aug 31st, 2014
Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014
Aug 31st, 2014
Michael Bay Developing "Cosmic Motors" Futuristic Car Film, Based on Art Book
Aug 31st, 2014
Trailer for "Exists" Bigfoot Horror Film, From "The Blair Witch Project" Director
Aug 31st, 2014
First Look at Christoph Waltz and Margo Robbie in "Tarzan," From "Harry Potter" Director
Aug 30th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill as Clark Kent on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Aug 30th, 2014
First Look: Stan Lee in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 30th, 2014
First Clip From Pixar's "Lava" Short Film
Aug 30th, 2014
Wesley Snipes to Return For "Blade 4"?
Aug 30th, 2014
Liam Neeson Wants to Return as Ra's al Ghul For "Arrow" TV Series
Aug 30th, 2014
What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 29th, 2014
Harrison Ford is Feeling Better, "Star Wars: Episode VII" Resumes Filming
Aug 29th, 2014
Ben Kingsley Wants to Return as The Mandarin in "Iron Man 4"
Aug 29th, 2014
Hilary Swank Battles ALS in "You're Not You" Trailer
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Scribbler" Comic Book Film
Aug 29th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Answers If Hawkeye Will Die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Daily Show" host Jon Stewart's "Rosewater" Film
Aug 29th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Aug 29th, 2014
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Worthington in Talks to Star in "Commando" Remake

Posted: August 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Worthington in Talks to Star in "Commando" RemakeSubmit Comment
According to Production Weekly (via NewsinFilm), "Avatar" star Sam Worthington is the top pick to star in the remake of Arnold Schwarzenegger's 1985 action film "Commando."

The actor is apparently very interested, and director David Ayer (Street Kings, Harsh Times) will helm and pen the script, which will be a "real world" spin on the main character, retired elite special forces operative who sees his daughter kidnapped and is told she'll die unless he gets on a plane and kills the rival of a nasty exiled dictator.

When the remake was announced back in April, it was said that the actor who will replace Schwarzenegger will be less brawny, but more skilled in covert tactics and weaponry. At one point Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson was rumored to step into the role, but he clearly doesn't fit the description.

Source: NewsinFilm, Production Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 11:35:06 AM

Would have been a good role for the Rock , not sure on worthington for this.

This is another classic action movie from the 80's but the UK version was cut to bits.
arkflash writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 11:41:00 AM

they should cast shia lebeef as his teenage daughter
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 11:50:05 AM

trailer- were'nt you saying something about this...I was hoping it was/is a romour that turns out to be not true.

If Sam W has any brains in his head he will drop this like a dead weight...a remake that is going to be utter sh*t and not live up to the original.

arkflash writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 11:41:00 AM

they should cast shia lebeef as his teenage daughter

I think he is too much of a girl to play the daughter.
Derp88 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 11:58:49 AM

Sam Worthington must never sleep,hard working mofo.
trailertrash writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 12:07:29 PM

I was reading it this morning somewhere dave.

I'm thinking Selena Gomez as the daughter with multiple nude scenes, in fact she spends the whole movie with nothing on at all.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 12:10:31 PM

trailertrash writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 12:07:29 PM

I was reading it this morning somewhere dave.

I'm thinking Selena Gomez as the daughter with multiple nude scenes, in fact she spends the whole movie with nothing on at all.

That would be the one redeemong feature that could save this movie.

Just hope it is a rumour trailer...I mean we knw the basic storyline of Commando has been done manytimes since but to do an actual remake...f*ck me!!!!
rocketman writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 12:12:06 PM

What have i done lord? Why ?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 12:14:14 PM

redeemong?????= redeeming...guess I'm thinking of those nude scenes already.
OneTime writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 12:20:32 PM

"dont disturb my friend...hes dead tired"


"memeber sully when i promised to kill u last?..........................................................................i lied"
LastActionHero writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 12:45:43 PM

So not only is the trend to start remaking Arnold movies, but to use little pussies for all the remakes?! What a joke!
Eben1277 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 1:28:40 PM

If they really go through with this 'covert operative' version, they need to get Matt Damon to star and Doug Liman to direct and call it "Bourne Commando"- If they want to make it like the original they need the Rock, no one else could pull it off.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 1:32:57 PM

If they feel the need to remake this... at least get off your lazy ass and modify the storyline... if even a little bit. This picking up the same old script is the ultimate in lazy!

Next: Matt Damon as Jason Bourne in Total Recall?

The Rock and Mini Me in TWINS?

Hollywood... you really suck sometimes.

trailertrash writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 2:01:27 PM

dave-

lol, i knew what you meant ,thinking of selena naked will do that to you.

Ranger-

Good point , They did sort of use the idea of Commando but tweek it some what with Johnny Depp and Christopher Walken in Nick Of Time which i thought was an ok movie and not a total rip off.
nope.com writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 2:04:26 PM

This guy must really be attracted to high budget special effects sh*tfests
ZenShark writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 2:14:34 PM

sam worthington seems to know he cant really act and wants to do every project that comes his way and put some money in the bank.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 2:15:26 PM

okay, let's ruin another Arny classic along with Total Recall.
vagos1268 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 2:16:12 PM

no way!Would have been a good role for the Rock

CCBlev writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 3:09:55 PM

Jesus!! Trailer's right The Rock woulda been perfect for this.
koul writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 3:21:55 PM

why another remake movie? Sam could do way better than that. Clash of the Titans sucked so much.
jigsaw23 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 3:31:26 PM

nah the rock would be better but sam has potential. they should just leave arnies movies alone, next the will remake junior
KallousTom writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 4:50:23 PM

Look, just leave the eighties alone. That's my f*cking childhood.
whoever writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 5:08:03 PM

OK, if they are going to use Sam they should make the character an Australian SAS! These are the elite of the ADF and are currently used by US for dangerous insurgency missions!
whoever writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 5:13:14 PM

We can't stop them making remakes but if they do, I want to see Ryan Reynolds do a remake of Big Trouble in Little China!
LeeMaca writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 6:08:46 PM

Arnold hates this idea but he loved the new predator trailer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBv4AsGVDxw
snake eater writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 7:46:03 PM

Sam Worthington did a great job in terminator salvation compared to avatar and clash of the titans so it is acceptable for him to played this role but i prefer they take viggo mortensen or josh holloway because they said this time they want it to look reality in real world not every soldier has the body as arnold schwarzenneger, soldiers are oftenly a thin person but can be tall even though they small their instinct of killing other people is cannot be underestimate so above is the two actor i prefer to star in this remake.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 7:59:11 PM

I knew it

I smelt him down wind
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 8:11:09 PM

What a joke.
rabid writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 9:15:44 PM

I don't think I ever want to watch a film again if it's starring this guy. He blows in every film i've seen.
boogiel writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 9:31:30 PM

Right...Who's gonna portray Arnold in Kindergarten Cop remake??
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 10:10:28 PM

Well it won't be Gary Coleman... Shannon Price took care of that option for us!

Murderous BITCH!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 10:34:59 PM

f*ck off Sam Worthington!

And FU Hwood!!! Haven't you learned that there is NO replacing Arnold.
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 11:37:31 PM

Might as well dispel the chances of being taken seriously as an actor, Worthington.
Terminator salvation, Avatar(and subsequent sequels), COTT(+sequels)-----Action overkill.
jdl107 writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 12:15:36 AM

Never even seen the old one.


Oh wait, yeah I have. Back then when a kid usually doesn't know sh*t about movies. After three minutes I turned the channel with a screaming rage going on in mah heaaad.
jdl107 writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 12:19:04 AM

Thats a badass plot though
Monash writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 12:32:46 AM

Wouldn't he be better for the bad guy? He was Australian after all, it was basically Chopper

Best line of the movie
"OI MATRIX, STICK YA HEAD OUT"
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 3:18:53 AM

LET OFF SOME STEAM BENNET!!

Will they use some of these awsome quotes!
supaflywill writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 3:54:50 AM

leave classic films alone you bastards make up some new sh*t instead of sh*tting alawa the originals !!sam worthinton= my f*cking arse !!!!
Rambo writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 7:31:37 AM

-This chainsaw is a part of me...now I'm gonna make it part of you!

-That's alright...KEEP IT!
boogiel writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 8:18:25 AM

@supaflywill

100% agree with you...
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 10:29:33 AM

And the fagg is back, f*ck HOLLYWOOD and this douche! leave the remakes and the faggots alone, make more movies like Inception and no more crappy movies starring the f*cking c*nt of Sam W. f*ck REMAKES f*ck SAM W. ! i will be soo happy when he fails he only needs one more crappy movie to go down, you are going down Worthington Withe Gay Down! should call your next movie not f*ckIN COMANDO of ARNOLD
CCBlev writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 11:46:16 AM

^Damn lol Tell how you really feel lol
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 12:51:00 PM

It will be hard to ever top 1985 Commando with classic Arnie lines...

"Come on Bennett, throw away the chicken sh*t gun, you don't just want to pull the trigger, you want to put the knife in me, and look me in the eye, and see whats going on in there when you turn it, thats what you want to do, right?"

I vote a grown up Alyssa Milano for Rae Dawn Chong's role.
arkflash writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 2:39:33 PM

Let’s see if Sam Worthington also decides to run as Governor of California…

@Blonde: Alyssa will be pushing 40 if this movie ever takes off, so hot and all but too old. Rae Dawn was only 24 as the whining Cindy.

Casting Jenny, they’ll need someone small and feisty for Matrix to carry home on his shoulder for that hero shot, probably someone a lot smaller as Worthington’s no Arnie.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 8:05:36 PM

Does anyone know if this jacknut can even act ?

He hasn't proved it yet.
nicholas56 writes:
on August 17th, 2010 at 12:36:50 AM

waste of f*cking to time to remake this movie. it's a f*cking classic!!!! leave it the f*ck alone hollywood
Slyer writes:
on August 17th, 2010 at 9:03:20 PM

@nicholas56

ya man it is classic. but come on, they're f*ckin up everything now a days. robot voice: THE WORTHINGTON DOES NOT SLEEP

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved