WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Told Guillermo Del Toro to Quit "The Hobbit"

Posted: August 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Told Guillermo Del Toro to Quit "The Hobbit"Submit Comment
Guillermo Del Toro (Hellboy) dropped out of directing "The Hobbit" prequels, even though he has invested a great amount of time into the pre-production process. Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings) decided to step in to direct.

James Cameron (Avatar) now tells The Herald Sun that he has been telling Del Toro to quit "The Hobbit" for a while, and instead focus on his own projects. Here is what he told the paper:

"I was telling him for a long time to get out of that thing because there is only room for one captain on the ship. Instinctively I knew that Peter was going to take over and do the movie. Guillermo, to his credit, didn't listen to me and wanted to continue and had some great designs - and I have seen all the designs. Of course he would have done a spectacular job, but don't we want to see Peter do it? He should do it and Guillermo should do his thing. That's what I told both of them - you should just stay in your corners."

On a related note, Cameron also spoke to Entertainment Weekly, telling the magazine that "The Hurt Locker" would have been better in 3D. "I think [The Hurt Locker] would have been better in 3D. Absolutely," he said.

Source: HeraldSun, EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
deepnshit writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 3:13:08 AM

James Cameron should be in 3D
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 3:13:37 AM

i loath 3D... with a passion
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 3:13:58 AM

loathe*
nuttie30xx writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 3:34:13 AM

im still on the fence with 3D i've only seen titans and cats n dogs in 3D so ive yet to see a movie shot in it im gunna go see the new res evil but from what ive seen in 3D so far its total sh*t and i want me 2thousand 800 pound back for me tv
gabe5525 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 3:37:11 AM

I am glad that Guillermo will be able to now make more movies his way in the upcoming years, but I think Cameron needs to quit acting like he is Guillermo's boss.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 5:10:44 AM

I applaud Cameron. If it weren't for his butting in Jackson would possibly never step in to direct. Other than terminator 2, Cameron has finally done something good for movie goers, and best of all he didn't need to do it in 3d
jigsaw23 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 5:16:59 AM

f*ck you james get a gun and shoot a 3D bullet at yourself. and i thnk....sorry i lost it. hey i read a rumor that gay sam worthington will bein the commando remake which it stupid for ton of things like you cant remake an arnie movie
Monash writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 5:35:50 AM

Since 3D came out i have been impressed by one scene, the bubble floating in front of Sam Worthingtons head at the start of Avatar and the rest it just dwindled
The cinema ads utilized it more than Toy Story 3 did
encoreyourface writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 5:52:56 AM

James can butt out of things not his f*cking business ... however i agree i wanr Peter doing it.
rocketman writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 6:16:02 AM

3D is sh*te.Cam comes across as a twat after the quotes.Russel Brand can eat my sh*t.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 7:06:26 AM

James Cameron Told Guillermo Del Toro to Quit "The Hobbit"

Guillermo Del Toro Replies To James Cameron "Go f*ck yourself with your own hair!"
CCBlev writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 9:08:13 AM

I dunno but I wonder if ole Jim planted one on Guillermo's lips after that pic was taken.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 9:24:59 AM

Cameron knows how to use Jedi mind tricks

Del Toro cook me dinner, yes Mr. Cameron

Del Toro direct Ava Tard 5, yes Mr. Cameron

Del Toro go get me a borrito from Taco Bell, yes sir Mr. Cameron
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 10:54:39 AM

3d blows donkey balls, plain and simple
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 11:00:13 AM

Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 10:54:39 AM

3d blows donkey balls, plain and simple


where can I get the movie of that?
fraazjo writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 11:35:54 AM

On a related note, Cameron also spoke to Entertainment Weekly, telling the magazine "I think [The Hurt Locker] would have been better if it took place on Pandora. Absolutely. And Jeremy Renner should have been all CGI."

Sigourney Weaver agrees.
disturbed01 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 1:10:36 PM

shove that 3d up your ass
jdl107 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 1:26:21 PM

Well he knows first-hand whar it's like when someone else takes over, so this is pretty cool.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 1:54:38 PM

I'll be Devil's advocate here...

C'mon folks... you can't say that some movies benefit greatly from 3D. I'll be the first one to say they're over-using it for sure (like Harold and Kumar? f*ck off!). But Avatar... or better yet GREEN LANTERN! Yeah... that's the stuff where 3D shines.
JohnZee writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 2:16:02 PM

Wow, James Cameron is an *sshole, that's a big surprise. Makes you wonder what the heck Cameron has against Peter Jackson.

Nope not really. The thing Cameron has against Peter Jackson is that he considers him a rival. And Cameron is such a bitter f*ck that he can't help sticking his d*ck into any opportunity to screw up a project that Peter is even somewhat connected to.

encoreyourface writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 2:34:09 PM

Ranger-very good point. 3d should be limited to things that make the atmosphere of the film better. saw 7 doesn't need that at all, however i am glad they said they just did 3d to make it look better, not to throw blood at the audience. Green Lantern could use 3d to give thew "holy sh*t this guy is a f*cking space cop" feel to it.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 10:26:47 PM

Cameron just seems like an angry man and when things or people dont go and see his way, he gets really angry and gets defensive and opinionated. Sure, the dude has made some of the most entertaining actioners in all action-movie history (his most recent venture excluded), but people can do what they want to do. And f*ck off with your 3D, why the hell would Hurt Locker have to be in 3D? What in that movie needs to be in the 3D. No movie NEEDS to be in 3D
SACdaddy writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 10:50:24 PM

Once again I agree with Mr. Cameron. Del Toro has superior directing talent that doesn't need the nursing of Peter Jackson (or JC for that matter).

I also agree that 3D might have made HL a better film. Well better might be a stretch, but at least it may have prevented me from being bored out of my f*cking skull by that overrated piece of sh*t. f*ck that movie!
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 11:40:47 PM

Overrated trio.
jr710 writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 1:04:22 AM

ha ha ha. man y'aa mean. the man was just given advice to del toro. and i think he pick the right decision because if it wasn't for james cameron peter wouldn't be doing hobbit so give him a break. and i hate post converted 3d what the point of making a 3d movie if your not going to spend the extra time and money for 3d cameras.
rabid writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 10:28:32 AM

Nothing could save Hurt Locker from its lameness... not even 3D.
I really wanted to see del Toro direct The Hobbit. Peter Jackson's LOTR films bore the shire out of me! I was hoping del Toro could make a Hobbit film dark and squirmy, like Richard Gere's gerbil.
dbreuning writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 1:06:13 PM

James Cameron should tell everyone to quit something. He can because he is f*cking awesome! T2, Aliens, Avatar - 'nuff said.
vagos1268 writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 5:11:48 PM

Guillermo Del Toro loose weight you fat ass.and tell ron pelman to gein muscle and then talk hellboy 3
darkraven28 writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 6:23:12 PM

MGM was a sinking ship anyway. What did those articles say? That the studio was like 4 billion in debt? U couldn't keep me tethered to that Hindenberg.
Slyer writes:
on August 17th, 2010 at 8:46:31 PM

3 f*cking d. ill give ya three-d's for avatar jimmy, dumb, dragged out and dissilusioned

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved