WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Karl Urban Confirmed for R-Rated "Judge Dredd" Movie

Posted: August 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Karl Urban Confirmed for R-Rated "Judge Dredd" MovieSubmit Comment
During Comic-Con, Karl Urban (Star Trek) revealed that he was close to starring in the new "Judge Dredd" movie. Producers Andrew Macdonald and Allon Reich have now confirmed his casting.

"The main thing about Dredd is that it's a fantastic comic that was completely messed up 20 years ago," Macdonald told Empire. "Our idea is to make a very hard, R-rated, gritty, realistic movie of Dredd in Megacity, so we've got to get the tone right. He's not going to take off his helmet. His bike is going to feel real. He's going to hit people and it's going to feel real."

He added: "We've cast Karl Urban to play Dredd. We'll be shooting in Johannesburg, it's being directed by Pete Travis (Vantage Point), we're shooting with the people who did 'District 9 ' and if we get it right, [writer] Alex Garland (28 Days Later) has a couple of ideas for other stories as well."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ZenShark writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 6:49:24 AM

urban doesnt look like dredd...
Titan writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 7:04:50 AM

anyone with a mask looks like dredd
all he needs to be is angry;which urban can do
thumbs up from me
boogiel writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 7:21:45 AM

Dredd...ful
SACdaddy writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 7:23:12 AM

I don't know what to think about casting Urban. On the one hand, he's made some terrible career choices with films like Ghost Ship, Doom, Pathfinder, and Chronicles of Ridd*ck. But on the other hand, he made some decent sh*t too like the LOR series, The Bourne Supremacy, and of course Star Trek. In fact, his Bones performance was almost great enough to forget all of his prior misteps in the action genre. He's got the chin and the nasty demeanor for Dredd and we know he can bulk up, but I just hope he can get the directorial and script support he needs to thrive as the character. Its really a 50/50 if he'll work in the role.

On a brighter note, I'm siked that they are going for a hard R. Dredd shouldn't be shown any other way but angry and bloody. Sly's version was an insult to the comic in every way possible.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 7:27:43 AM

Everything that was said in that article sounds great to me. Seems like they're on the right track and we might finally get a faithful movie adaptation.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 7:39:18 AM

So let's see-
New Judge Dredd film coming out.
Will be R-rated.
Karl Urban is Judge Dredd.

As Tony the Tiger would say.....

"Grrrrrrrrrrrreat!!!"
rocketman writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 7:47:43 AM

Please be great please be great.....
Fave comic character evers so i really hope they pull stoney face off.I belive they are heading in the right direction,John Wagner ,Dredds creator is onboard as a consultant and Jock(Dredd artist)is designing the look.All the right things seem to be happining and its comfirmed the helmet stays on...super pumped,i see many late night showings at my local fleapit come release.
Eben1277 writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 8:30:00 AM

If Anthrax is on the soundtrack this movie can't miss
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 8:47:26 AM

Now remember the following :

1. NEVER take off the helmet.

2. NEVER bring back Rob Schneider.

3. NEVER have a twin brother, played by Armand Assante.

4. NEVER have a kissing scene with another Judge.

5. NEVER listen to Jake_*ssholeness
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 9:00:52 AM

@max- Amen!!!!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 11:32:29 AM

I got hope for this one. The one 20 years ago was sh*tty as hell. Urban is a great actor and I think his the right fit for this. Now show us pixs of the Lawgiver!!
Aingx writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 11:35:56 AM

He'll be perfect....Just imagine those facial movements in a Dredd helmet.
lawman writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 12:07:35 PM

Karl is a good actor. He may have been in a few bombs but i think he will be fantastic.
yatedogg writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 12:11:08 PM

Sly should be the bad guy
Rambo writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 1:24:57 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glUf4PQ-vuU
rocketman writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 2:14:47 PM

I nearly threw up watching that...abomination.Total disregard for subject matter.
snake eater writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 7:08:16 PM

Don't say urban does not look like dreed or couldn't be tough as you all claim toward adrien brody when he got a role in predators because once the movie release the person you all claim as faggot is more brave than your father.I have full confident that karl will potrayed judge dreed more better than slyvester stalone who act like a rock.
rocketman writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 2:43:36 AM

He just needs to hit the gym is all.
popcorn writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 3:03:12 AM

@Max Rockatansky Junior

LOL
Snoffy writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 1:32:56 PM

Looking forward to this.
I disagree with comments about hitting the gym though, I always thought Dredd was based on Dirty Harry and no-one can acuse Clint of being bulked up.
FreakMaster writes:
on August 16th, 2010 at 4:18:57 AM

he's hot in the bourne movie
Mudders writes:
on August 23rd, 2010 at 7:10:56 AM

makes me proud to be a new zealander seeing our man karl playing the judge

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved