WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roger Avary Released from Prison, Can "Silent Hill 2" Get Back on Track?

Posted: August 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roger Avary Released from Prison, Can "Silent Hill 2" Get Back on Track?Submit Comment
Producers have been planning a "Silent Hill" sequel for a while and have even brought back writer Roger Avary (Pulp Fiction) to pen the script. But then Avary ran into some trouble.

In 2008, the Oscar-winning writer crashed his car while intoxicated, which killed his close friend and seriously injured his wife. Avary was charged with vehicular manslaughter and was sentenced to prison for a year.

Now that Avary has been released last month, Fangoria caught up with "Silent Hill 2" producer Don Carmody to get an update on the sequel. "A little stalled now because of Roger Avary's [legal problems], so a little unsure yet," he said. "The original plan was Roger writing and polishing the screenplay, and when he had finished his thing, we'd begin full-blown pre-production."

Carmody added: "We know we want to make 'Silent Hill 2' and have a basic outline for it. We'll have to see."

Source: Fangoria


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:39:21 PM

That sucks. Whatever hopefully he makes a good script since he has a similar situation to the main character in the part 2 game
trailertrash writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:46:39 PM

I liked Silent Hill , one of the better video game movies IMO.
CCBlev writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:51:57 PM

Trailer- I agree, there was something creepy about it, reminded me off a town I used to go thru.
trailertrash writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:52:38 PM

He only got a year for killing someone and nearly killing his wife while intoxicated.

Seems like he got off very lightly there..



trailertrash writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:55:30 PM

CC- Really.... Dam that sounds pretty cool ..
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:59:07 PM

Finally. Couldn't he have written something while in prison? I mean, he do have the time for it.

Silent Hill is by far the best videogame adaptation (not that the competition is very stiff). It stayed true to the feeling of the game and only changed what had to be changed to fit the new format. We need another Silent Hill-movie to break the prejudices Prince of Persia failed to break.
CCBlev writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 8:31:54 PM

Trailer "down in the hills" South of where I live are these old coal mining towns with some really old buildings and they are practicaly ghost towns but to dirve thru em kinda gets your hair to stand on end sometimes.
rabid writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 8:36:56 PM

Do people still care about Silent Hill? The game was decent ten years ago, but the crappy film kind of destroyed the whole franchise.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 9:23:37 PM

Well he got some time to write it down, so why not?
encoreyourface writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 10:35:02 PM

trailer-i agree Silent Hill was pretty good.
Rambo writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 10:46:07 PM

'crashed his car while intoxicated, which killed his close friend and seriously injured his wife'

I say let him stay in jail for another 10 years

drewsmit24 writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 11:04:46 PM

co-writer of pulp fiction nuff said
SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 11:11:55 PM

Realy liked the original even though I never played the game that much. The movie looked great and never pulled any punches, so I'm down for another. Just be sure to have another skinning and add more barbwire and I'm sure it will be fine.
simplytyson writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 1:03:51 AM

i love the game series i havent played the newer games though but i heard they were horrible but they looked cool, never saw the movie but wanted to really bad
encoreyourface writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 4:04:13 AM

rambo-yeah he does deserve to rot but hey what are you gonna do?
Wallace writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 4:10:37 AM

Silent Hill made only 46 M. domestically on a 50 M budget (worldwide 97 M), so why the sequel?
AYT BALL writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 4:55:44 AM

Loved the original, Gains is a hell of a director tho, wouldnt wanna see part 2 without him........also, what the f*ck are the laws in america? Drunk driving causing death and hes out in a year?! really?!
VDODSON writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 7:44:48 AM

Silent Hill was the last horror flick that creeped me out. Those f*cking sirens, and the lighting freaked me the f*ck out. Bring on a sequel.
gotsghostrider writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 5:14:20 PM

Ayt, the law in america is that if ur rich and famous you get a shorter setence in our "fine" correctional facilities than the rest of us
JohnZee writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 2:32:02 PM

Avary only ended up doing a year for that? Not surprising, but damned if it doesn't look like there's a second set of rules in the American legal system when it comes to the rich and famous.

So remember, if you're planning on killing somebody, make sure you become rich and famous first, so you can be sure to get away with it or do minimum time.

And don't kid yourself, although it's pretty obvious that Tarantino is a decent director, and has a penchant for stealing quality scenes from other eclectic movies that no one has ever heard of before, Avary is a damn good write.

The films that are the creme of the crop that Tarantino has done in the entire course of his career? Roger Avary had a hand in the writing of the script.

To this day Tarantino's scripts look like sh*t. If he was to write a script and put Joe Schmoe's name on it and sent it around to all the major studios, it would quickly be thrown into the trash and "Joe Schmoe" would be written off as a complete amateur.

But luckily Tarantino made a couple of decent student films, and impressed the right people just enough. Just enough that when they asked for a feature length screenplay, Tarantino produced close to two hundred pages of handwritten incoherent rambling...

...Rambling that would have been the end of 99% of the world's populations dream to get a major motion picture movie deal.

...But not Tarantino, nope instead the studio brought in their guy that had a talent for taking crap and turning it into something film worthy.

And Avary worked with Tarantino and taught him the basics that you would think ANYONE that had ever been to film school would have already known, and he took hundred of pages of completely random non-connected scenes and did what a script doctor does, and the rest is history.

But of course now Tarantino acts like it was all him. But that's complete bullsh*t. And the sh*t in Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, and True Romance that Avary didn't write, you can bet that he was consulting and holding Tarantino's hand through the writing process with each one of those.

And really comparatively there's not much in Tarantino's career that compares to those three movies.

And I know if the two of them ever teamed up to write another movie, I'd be there in a heartbeat.

...Well, unless it was for a Deadpool movie. ;)


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved