WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ricky Gervais Won't Replace Steve Carell on "The Office"

Posted: August 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ricky Gervais WonSubmit Comment
Steve Carell has announced that he won't return to play Michael Scott in "The Office" after the end of the current season. Executives quickly revealed that they will continue the show, but did not say how they will do it.

Speculation began to mount that Ricky Gervais, the creator of the show and the star of the British version, will step into Carell's shoes once he leaves. Not true, says Gervais.

"I'm not taking over from Steve Carell and will just continue to make millions for doing f*ck all," he wrote on his blog. "Because I created the show and all the characters, and own the format and it's being syndicated now and I get paid every time any episode of any version is played anywhere in the world... and I don't want to go back to that and get up at 6am every day of the week for 7 years."

Source: WENN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:39:27 PM

Thats for the best Ricky...

"I get paid every time any episode of any version is played anywhere in the world"

Nice, the boy done good ...
johnny_boy writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:40:27 PM

The Office should just quit while it's on top. Without Carell, it won't be the same
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:53:52 PM

Ricky, Ricky, Ricky...just when I thought you couldn't get anymore awesome.
oklahomaer writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 8:32:32 PM

i hate the office i find it boring,at least ricky tells it like it is.i wouldnt do f*ck all either
rabid writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 8:33:16 PM

They should just end The Office while it's still a great show.
velocityknown writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 8:38:40 PM

f*ckIGN DUH!

I've been saying he won't for months while other dumb asses act like it's the best solutions.

And yes The Office should end after this year.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 10:32:17 PM

there's a British version?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 10:44:47 PM

@Encore: While I have never watched the American version, the British version was the original and it was awesome. It only lasted 2 seasons and there was a Christmas special. Go rent these, I promise you won't be sorry.
Rick Taps writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 10:45:29 PM

In everybody's opinion... which version is better? UK or US? I personally haven't seen the Brit version, though I will probably put it on my to do list now that the US version is going to suck now.
rabid writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 10:53:12 PM

I watched through all of the British version. It's good, but the humor isn't all that appealing to an American audience. I get way more chuckles from the US version.
Ricky Gervais is still a genius though.
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 10:54:14 PM

Tom Wopat should replace Steve Carrell!
velocityknown writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 11:11:50 PM

@Rick

I love the original but I think people are too inclined to say it's better just because it's the original. Before this past season of the US Office I would've said the US version surpassed it just because Steve Carrell and the supporting cast just took it so much further. But now I understand why Ricky Gervais ended it after 14 episodes, now it's untarnished. This season of the US Office will be a big deciding factor.

For my money though (and I actually think Gervais would agree) Carrell's Michael Scott is better than Gervais's David Brent.

By the way has anyone seen Extras? Now THAT was some genius television, here's hoping they don't make a US version.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 11:17:03 PM

I definitely agree that they should end The Office on a high note after Steve leaves, it seriously will not be the same if they continue it no matter who they get to replace him. Yea, the NBC Thursday line-up will suck, but NBC kindof deserves that punch.

@velocity 'Extras' is genius. My favorite ep/moment is the one with David Bowie, f*cking hilarious.
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 12:02:50 AM

TOM WOPAT
Coasterkid345 writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 12:17:11 AM

Ricky Gervais just hates everything, doesn't he? ....... 'xcept maybe money...
SaulSilver writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 12:38:40 AM

Todd Packer should get Michael's job.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 1:44:09 AM

horror-thanks, i might have to try those out.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 2:00:14 AM

In the words from a Spinal Tap song....

"Give me some moneeeyyyy"
LastActionHero writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 6:15:32 AM

Sounds like a job for Ted McGinley
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 7:08:55 AM

"I'm not taking over from Steve Carell and will just continue to make millions for doing f*ck all."


Wow, I heard Ricky's been living here in the US for a little while now, but when did he start thinking like one of us? I would do the same exact thing if I were him. I was kinda hoping to see him, maybe just for one episode, on the US series, but I guess that won't happen. We can still hope for Todd "Fudge" Packer. Maybe David Wallace can come back, but still in his relaxed, beer for breakfast mode. That one episode was the best his character had ever been.
thetheeyecreature writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 7:11:42 AM

The UK version and the US show are apples and oranges, comedically. Both good in different ways. I do think the Brits have the right idea in planning shows for a limited run; too many US shows run for years after they're out of ideas.
OheRRo29 writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 9:11:39 AM

ricky is a f*ckin bum hius britsh office was trash cuz the guy isnt funny. any comedy hes appart of is straight up trash. he cant replace steve cuz hell ruin the show like he did in his version thats y it only lasted 2 seasons but ill give it to him waking up at 6am blows
Moose756 writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 11:57:40 AM

Ricky is the man and this makes him even cooler.
GIST writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 1:50:30 PM

Make sure you check out Mr. Gervais in Louis CK's show "LOUIE". f*ckin' hilarious, what kind of doctor in his right mind would say sh*t like that?!
AshTrey writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 4:16:13 PM

SMART f*ckING DUDE.
Slyer writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 5:06:17 PM

R.I.P Micheal Scott
The Dini writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 6:54:05 PM

The British version sucks.....just like their food.....and their weather.......and their women.......and this website......
The Dini writes:
on August 13th, 2010 at 6:55:38 PM

@ GIST
Louie is a great show!
Atemisk writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 12:09:11 AM

They need to learn from others mistakes:

Scrubs tried this sh*t and that crashed and burned pretty quickly. The Office without Steve Carell will do that same.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved