WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Deadpool" Movie May Never Happen

Posted: August 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Deadpool" Movie May Never HappenSubmit Comment
The "Deadpool" movie seems to be in good shape, since "Zombieland" writers Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick are hard at work on the script, Ryan Reynolds is attached to star and director Robert Rodriguez is pretty much signed to direct.

But now its starting to look like the film will never happen. "Deadpool" creator Robert Liefeld wrote on his Twitter account: "Warner Bros just trying to protect their investment. They don't want Ryan Reynolds playing Deadpool AND Green Lantern."

This doesn't come as a surprise. Warners just recently hired "Harry Potter" writer Michael Goldenberg to pen the script for the "Green Lantern" sequel with plans to go into production before the first film is even released. If box office results meet expectations, the third installment will immediately be greenlit. And then there's the "Justice League of America" movie.

The goal is to keep 20th Century Fox from grabbing Reynolds to make "Deadpool," which means that fans may never see Merc-With-a-Mouth on the big screen again, unless the studio decides to recast.

Source: Twitter, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tommy D writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 7:58:11 PM

clive owen could be good?
Bigcheese writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 7:59:41 PM

If this is true, I will personally sh*t on every Green Lantern merchandise that comes out. But I'm sure Reynolds won't let this happen, the guy has put a years work into this project.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 8:23:35 PM

f*ck that, nobody besides him should even be considered as deadpool....ever
Longo12 writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 8:29:30 PM

You need a comedian that also does action and Ryan Reynolds is probably the best opption, so they need him to make it good
nope.com writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 8:44:03 PM

recast, seeing Reynolds brings back the sh*t memories from Origins
LEONCIO writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 8:46:18 PM

Deadpool sucked balls on Wolverine Origins (when he gets all those mutant superpowers at the end... wtf was that sh*t?). I'm not blaming Reynolds of course, but if a new movie is made they should just recast, forget about Wolverine Origin's Deadpool and leave Reynolds on GL's franchise.
redbluedevil writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 8:46:43 PM

I think Reynolds is pretty committed to Deadpool, and Robert Rod would be a great choice as director for this.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 8:50:34 PM

f*ck, we can't let this happen! TAKE ACTION!
rabid writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 9:19:27 PM

Why would anyone listen to what Rob Liefield says? or read his Twitter for that matter?

Reynolds stars in 4 or 5 films a year, so I doubt he's going to have any problem playing both sides of the fence.

If I had to consider anyone else for the role though, I'd say Dane Cook. Can't stand the guy's acting or comedy, but when I read the comics, DP sounds like him in my head.
rabid writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 9:20:53 PM

LEONCIO, sh*t like that happens to Deadpool all the time. He's had multiple powers before. He's had his head lopped off a few times.
I look at it as a brilliant way to give him the power of teleportation without involving Cable.
Ari Gold writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 9:22:27 PM

Smart move by Warners.. Terrible news for Deadpool fans.. Maybe if you guys wait a few years it could remove the taste of Origins from your mouth? It's not like Ryan needs to do it now, 5 or so years won't hurt. You won't even be able to tell his age with all the scarring on his face anyway. I don't know, just a thought.
forever_moviefan writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 9:25:21 PM

Coulda saw this coming?
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 10:43:33 PM

Tom Wopat should play Deadpool
Aingx writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 10:51:18 PM

There's at least a dozen great actors that could fill that void and be even better at it.

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 11:24:53 PM

If they recast I think Bobcat Goldthwaite should do it.
CCBlev writes:
on August 11th, 2010 at 11:57:10 PM

A Zombie Gary Coleman with all his now dead mutant powers.
Rambo writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 12:06:13 AM

why can't van wilder be deadpool,green lantern and the flash all at the same time???that will live scarlett all alone in her house for months and months so i could come and penetrate her again and again...
encoreyourface writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 12:17:32 AM

rabid-dane cook, not a bad choice. when i see his videos he seems pretty fit, could fit the role but i guess ...

personally when i read deadpool comics he sounds like the guy from x-men legends/marvel ultimate alliance.
SaulSilver writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 12:27:17 AM

Seann William Scott.
Eben1277 writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 12:27:40 AM

Dane Cook would be my second choice after Reynolds as well. That movie he made where he f*cked all those chicks was great, it was halfway to porn.
Eben1277 writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 12:28:17 AM

Plus, Rob Liefeld is a sh*t artist.
FBO writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 1:01:07 AM

Dane Cook shouldn't be considered for any movie outside of the staring role in a snuff film
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 1:10:15 AM

Tom Wopat... LOL!
pomme writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 3:41:47 AM

great idea
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 4:05:48 AM

i actually kind of like saul's idea of sean william scott...dude is jacked and has a hilarious sarcastic sense of humor...could work?
JohnZee writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 5:33:03 AM

This comes as no surprise. Green Lantern is an A list hero, and let's face it only obsessive Deadpool fans consider him anything but the lowest of Marvel's C listers.

And little doubt that the Green Lantern movie franchise will make tons more money than anything focusing on Deadpool.

Of course Warner Bros. doesn't want a Marvel movie about a C list character riding on the coattails of their much bigger project. Not to mention that Ryan Reynolds playing Deadpool in between Green Lantern movies could possibly burn out movie audiences on the concept of Reynolds playing a superhero.

And no matter what you may think, without Ryan Reynold's focused determination for there to be a Deadpool movie starring him, it probably ain't happening. And highly doubtful that ANY actor will even seriously consider the role.

And they certain't won't want to do it as much as he did.

Probably much more likely to see a Humbug movie at this point...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 6:23:12 AM

Seann William Scott is easily the second best option after Reynolds. I wouldn't really care that much if Reynolds would be recast, since he didn't really appear much in Origins (more of a cameo, really).
Ciaphas Cain writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 7:48:25 AM

And nothing of value was lost
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 9:30:21 AM

Sounds to me like RR bit off more then he could chew signing up for so many action movies.

As long as they don't get Chad Tatum (or whatever the name of the actor who was the lead in G.I. Joe)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 9:48:53 AM

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 9:30:21 AM

Sounds to me like RR bit off more then he could chew signing up for so many action movies.

As long as they don't get Chad Tatum (or whatever the name of the actor who was the lead in G.I. Joe)

I would'nt worry about Channing Tatum taking the role of "Deadpool" that man can't string three words together without any help, so he would be no good playing a sarcastic bastard like "Deadpool"
Moose756 writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 10:03:38 AM

omg that would be the worse thing if tatum was casted as deadpool. Lets not mention that again becasue Ill put money that some producer would want to do just that.
snake eater writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 10:53:05 AM

recast recast recast
rabid writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 11:46:56 AM

not sure why people are so eager to believe this news,; it sure sounds like bullsh*t to me.
NeoMatx70 writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 12:19:57 PM

Good point JohnZee

As much as I want to see a Deadpool movie (Reynolds is the best choice), they should look to recast.
rabid writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 12:40:43 PM

Reynolds was in an MTV interview just last week and mentioned that Deadpool will be happening "down the line". In other words, he's not all that rushed. Considering they don't even have a script for it yet, I don't see the issue.
Crossdrill writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 3:16:37 PM

Yeah, Ryan Reynolds is by far the best for the part. but Sean William Scott actually might be very good as well.

but if they just trash the film i'd be pissed. I love Deadpool and was super stoked that they were giving him his own movie.

PLEASE MAKE THIS MOVIE!!!!
akumavern writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 6:59:20 PM

What about Dane Cook...with his mouth sewn shut?
FBO writes:
on August 12th, 2010 at 9:27:56 PM

actually dane cook did a good job in dan in real life. i'll give him props for that. so that does make channing tatum the worst option for this movie
jigsaw23 writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 7:53:37 PM

only ryan reynolds is deadpool and so what cast him as both i mean keep him as deadpool you retards at FOX

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved