WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Other Guys" - What Did You Think?

Posted: August 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Other Guys" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
"The Other Guys" comedy, starring Will Ferrell, Mark Wahlberg, Samuel L Jackson and Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write you mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying an impressive 80% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the movie is hilarious, especially the banter between Ferrell and Wahlberg. And while it's definitely a late-summer surprise, it is still very forgettable.

Friday estimates show that "The Other Guys" earned $13 million and ended up taking first place, surpassing "Inception." Come back on Sunday to see how the film performed over the weekend.

Click here to read our "The Other Guys" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nicholas56 writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 9:42:48 PM

it was a ok movie the sexual jokes were kind of funny
gimple writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 9:45:17 PM

It was a pretty good movie, especially in a summer that has really sucked. There is one truly great scene involving Sam Jackson and The Rock that I won't spoil, but is worth the price of admission alone.
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 10:41:47 PM

Pretty good. Easily one of the better comedies out this year, but that isn't saying a whole lot. The supporting cast makes this one work, even though they kind of wasted Steve Coogan.

The end credits were gay though. To explain it in a non-spoiler fashion, instead of funny alternate takes or goofs, it turns into an educational power point show.
Estevan writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 10:59:03 PM

The Rock and Sam Jackson were the best part of this movie, other than that an OK flick. lot of funny one liners throughout the movie but nothing spectacular.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 11:42:14 PM

I enjoyed it. And Eva Mendes had a great running gag in the movie.

YoungChris writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 12:33:16 AM

I just saw the movie..it was ight 7/10

I agree with nicholas56
disturbed01 writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 12:35:47 AM

good movie overall
Tommy D writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 12:43:21 AM

Loved it! But I'm a sucker for will ferrell and mark wahlberg has to be one of my favorite actors, he was amazing in boogie nights. But I agree with the credits, a blooper reel would have been much better than those stats. However, anything playing behind maggie's farm by rage against the machine will look badass no matter what :)
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 1:22:57 AM

I wouldn't mind a movie with a full frontal of Mark Walberg.
velocityknown writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 1:54:05 AM

I'd give it a 7/10, overall I enjoyed it as much as I've enjoyed any McKay/Ferrell collaboration, a lot.

It was laugh out loud funny throughout, I was glad to see Wahlberg and Ferrell break out of their funks after a few question career calls. Michael Keaton stood out in a solid comedic supporting role (and great TLC references). The Rock and Samuel L were short on time but not on laughs seeing as every scene they were in was golden.

Two complaints:
1) The movie's 1st half was MUCH better than the 2nd half
2) Could've done with some editing to cut it close to 90 minutes, rather than 120.

But overall Will Ferrell is back after Land of the Lost and co-producing The Goods. Mark Walhberg is officially forgiven for The Happening and Max Payne.

Adam McKay and Will Ferrell have crafted 4 of the most quotable movies of all time:

"Why don't you go back to your home on Whore Island?"

"Basically I wake up in the morning and I piss excellence."

"I'm not calling him Dad...EVER, even if there's a fire!"

"Gator needs his glock back!"
UZZIEMAN writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:26:56 AM

I watched this movie the day it came out with a group of friends and we had a great time laughing alot so whoever didn't see this movie yet go see it for all the cast and especially the hot Eva mendes! It was a great summer comedy!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:37:48 AM

Great review Velocity. I also thought the movie was too long. How could I have forgotten Mr. Beetlejuice? Loved seeing him on the big screen again.

The nick names that Eva Mendes character were saying had me cracking up. "Honey d*ck" will be a phrase I'm going to apply to my next boyfriend.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:40:20 AM

Max Payne was an awful movie and I've tried to forget that I ever watched The Happening. I haven't seen Land of the Lost but I've missed out on a lot of Will Farrell movies. No reason other then no time to see them.
trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 3:20:21 AM

Horror - Save your self the time and dont bother with Land of the lost , I took the kids to see it and it's sits nicely along side Max Payne and The Happening.

this looks good though shame we have to wait till September 2nd
AshTrey writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 4:18:33 AM

I'm a lil f*cked up... thats how i'm starting this...

anyway this movie was hilarious. almost up there with stepbrothers hilarious. Will ferral did a great job as playin a straight guy that we have never see before!! HE MADE THIs MOVIE!!!

Marky mark did a good job at playing the yelling bad ass who hates pussies but in the long run... the dialgue between teh two make the movie.

It is true that Sma and the Rock have one hilarious scene together... but Eva Mendez.. the wo other cops,and will ferral steal the show.

Solid 8.5 out of 10
AshTrey writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 4:22:14 AM

I LIED 8.0
m3talface writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 5:34:56 AM

The first 40 minutes or so were f*ckING HYSTERICAL. After a while though, the jokes began to slow down, and by the end I was bored. Overall though, I liked it. Better than Step Brothers, but its no Talladega nights or Anchorman. Can't wait for the Unrated dvd, because you can clearly tell that the movie was edited down from an r rating.
Rominus_the_Red writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 5:37:11 AM

who cares what we think. i think the "what do you think" part of the site should be completely removed.
carl4prez writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 9:48:38 AM

it suckd. the sex jokes were crude and pointless and the Will Ferrell does the same damn thing. If ya liked Talledga or Step Bros., youll prob like this. I miss the days when comedies made jokes that didnt involve the human anotmy.
velocityknown writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 10:39:44 AM

Don't even remember that many sex related jokes. There was the Eva Mendes thing and the Pimps Don't Cry, but it's not like the movie was built around it.

Prudes are destroying this country.
Arlo11 writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 11:25:33 AM

"carl4prez writes:
it suckd. the sex jokes were crude and pointless and the Will Ferrell does the same damn thing. If ya liked Talledga or Step Bros., youll prob like this. I miss the days when comedies made jokes that didnt involve the human anotmy."

That was the most off the mark review i've ever read! I dont even believe we're watching the same movie!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 1:02:05 PM

@trailertrash

I'm going to have to rent Anchorman and Talledaga because of all the great reviews I've been hearing. Step Brothers never looked that good from what I could make of the trailer.
ian_918 writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:28:34 PM

Had a lot of hits and a lot of misses but overall, pretty good.
CCBlev writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:30:25 PM

@Horror
You'll love em. Personally i like Tallageda Nights better.
But I just got back in from seeing it and I thuoght it was pretty good, better than Step Brothers. The 1st half is def better than the 2 nd half, I almost nodded off during the second half. And it needed more Eva Mendes :)
carl4prez writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:37:36 PM

Just bc someone doesnt care for crappy humor doesn't make them a prude. I prefer my comedies to have heart to them not random ass sh*t. And if u didnt see the sex jokes u werent paying attention. Here's a few ya might have missed: calling Ferrells car a vagina. The bit with the old lady talking dirty. the capt. talking bout his bi son ect. And lets forget the sex craqp. the humor was still lame. it was yet another stupid will ferrell movie where he does the same damn thing. call me prude, and ass, or whatever you morons want, but this film was a waste of time. movies like this are why comidies suck now.
Stuntastic writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 4:49:34 PM

It was definitely better than what I expected. Like someone mentioned the one part wit Samuel L and The Rock was worth it AKA "aim for the bushes". I think Ferrel and Wahlberg played off of each other really well especially the one scene with the Lion vs. The Tuna
velocityknown writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 6:31:17 PM

@Carl

If you're offended by the joke "I feel like I'm driving in a vagina", then yeah, you're kind of a prude.

And if you don't like old ladies talking dirty then don't watch Betty White hosting SNL.
velocityknown writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 6:33:39 PM

@Stuntastic

Ferrell and Wahlberg played insanely well off each other. Which was pretty awesome considering they are very different actors.
Stuntastic writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 9:23:00 PM

@Velocity: Yeah, I was really impressed. They should really consider a sequel for this one. And Michael Keaton was pure genius!!! If there's anyone that will benefit from this it's definitely TLC lol
JoeCanton22 writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 10:24:07 PM

Hands down, one of the funniest scenes I think i've seen in a theater was when *i wont spoil* Dwayne Johnson and Samuel L Jackson do the stupidest thing ever. xD
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 10:43:24 PM

Love the dirty nick names Eva had for Will Farrell's character. Had me cracking up. I agree with what someone else posted...this movie could be a sequel. Only they need to make sure the plot doesn't wander like in the first movie.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 2:01:12 AM

I thought it was very funny. Easily both main actor's best film in a while. Ferrel was little low key but he dropped memorable McKay one-liners just as easily as he always has and I'm sure people will eventually be quoting this film just as much as they do Step Brothers, Talladega Nights, and Anchorman. Wahlberg was surprisingly excellent and I hope he starts throwing himself into more comedies now. His dramatic work can be very good (Boogie Nights, Departed) but it's when he's having fun like this that he gets to really run wild with the script. Solid supporting cast and a lot of fun. Better than Dinner for Schmucks (actually makes me dislike Dinner For Schmucks even more since this movie was actually very funny). But in comparison to other cop comedies, American filmmakers have a lot of work to do with this genre if they want to even try and match Edgar Wright's masterful Hot Fuzz
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 2:03:22 AM

Would like to see Wahlberg and Ferrel work together again whether it be for a sequel or just another comedy, theyre bickering were the highlights of the film they played incredibly well off one another. Very reminiscent of Lemmon and Mathau

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved