WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matthew Vaughn Says Hollywood is Killing Superhero Movies

Posted: August 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matthew Vaughn Says Hollywood is Killing Superhero MoviesSubmit Comment
When making the independently financed "Kick-Ass," director Matthew Vaughn constantly mentioned how much he hates working with big studios and that the only way to make a movie is independently. This explained why he turned down chances to direct the third "X-Men" installment and "Thor," but then he surprisingly signed a deal with 20th Century Fox to direct "X-Men: First Class."

Now, in an interview with LA Times, Vaughn revealed that he decided to take on "First Class" because he feels that this may be his last chance at a big-budget superhero movie.

"I think we've kind of crossed the Rubicon with superhero films," he explained. "It's been mined to death and in some cases the quality control is not what it's supposed to be. People are just going to get bored of it. I think [the opportunity to do one], it's only going to be there two or three more times. Then, the genre is going to be dead for a while because the audience has just been pummeled too much. It is a crowded room. It's too crowded."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GambleBDJ writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 9:33:07 PM

AMEN!
Bigcheese writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 9:36:12 PM

How can he say this when he is directing the most pointless Superhero movie ever?
OneTime writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 10:01:51 PM

THIS IS WHAT THE f*ckIN PEOPLE OF W.P, YA ALL OF US, HAVE BEEN SAYIN ALL THIS TIME. hollywood needs to pay more attention to US
CCBlev writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 10:45:08 PM

Preach on!!
SaulSilver writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 11:08:44 PM

Hopefully, after a few more total bombs, studios will get more gunshy over superhero flicks..could possibly lead to more quality over quantity choices.
Sadly this would also mean we'd have to watch a bunch more sh*tty movies.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 11:54:48 PM

Anything Matthew Vaughn does is not pointless d*ck cheese
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 12:14:05 AM

I agree with most of what he said. Hollywood is jumping on the hero bandwagon because of the money that can be made.

Although, I hate to see what will happen when H-wood stops trying to make a super hero movie. I guess more Twilight kinds of movies?
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 12:33:44 AM

he says how much he hates big studios, but signs with the devil(Fox studios) the only anything good movie he did was Layer Cake, Kick-ass was way overrated, o a girl saying bad words and Violence, Doesnt he know what Fox did with Gavin Hood?, they are gonna keep Vaughn in handcuffs, but its all good in a few years people are gonna be saying Matthew Who?
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 12:35:03 AM

^^^^cross out the word anything, oops.
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 12:43:10 AM

@Bigcheese-you are right it is a pointless Superhero film, they should just make a Storm movie if they want to waste their time.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 1:59:58 AM

OOOOOOHHHH CAN I GET AN AMEN FROM THE CONGREGATION OF NEEEERDISM!!!!

lol seriously, these hollywood f*cks need to start prowling website like this. They might actually learn something.
rabid writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 3:51:57 AM

It could never be too crowded for comic book fans, hence there will forever be an audience to market the films to.
Everyone will just have to live with it, like we do with all the other formula films. Zombies, vampires, superheroes... some things look so cool on the screen that they'll never go away.
rocketman writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 4:05:39 AM

Plenty of room for 1 or 2 each year,how many dramas or horrors and comedys do we get?
snake eater writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 4:54:12 AM

He has a right to say that superhero movie is pointless he only direct x-men first class because fox been begging him to do it plus he wants to try bring the genre back on track.If he hate it but still work on it its not his fault.
nuttie30xx writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 5:31:18 AM

he only said this cause he watched his own movie what i thought was the biggest load of crap yet more boring than all the spidey flicks put together
boogiel writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 9:07:27 AM

Just one word: Hypocrite
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 9:24:59 AM

Weirdly enough, he's right. However-comma then why does he think x-men first class needs to be made? He seems to omit that part...
carl4prez writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 9:53:41 AM

this guys a joke. first with Kick Ass he claims to create a film that goes against the Hollywood comic book film but ends up doing everything bad thing you see in any Marvel film. And now he's going to "save" comic book films with XMen First Class? Hey Matt, Chris Nolan already saved the genre, so you can f off.
rocketman writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 1:32:32 PM

Dont't get the KICK ASS hate at all.Most fun i've had at a cinema in years.
arkflash writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:00:39 PM

Thankfully we live in the movie age of the Superhero.

But after the next volleys are out Bat3, SupermanReboot, Avengers, GL2, Deadpool etc depending on the quality of these stories the general public (not the comic book fans who will never get enough) will let the boxoffice if they're tired of the genre. If so, the Superhero movie will hang up the cape for a while.

But don't despair your kids and grandkids will enjoy their generation of Superhero movie made by the Nolans, Singers, Synders, Vaughns of their times.

Me, I'd rather watch a Superhero movie than a teen werewolf vampire movie anyday.
JohnZee writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:01:39 PM

Pretty sad and the more I know about this guy the less I like. Nothing quite like talking sh*t about other directors and studios that make superhero movies while trying to imply that your own level of quality to make superhero movies is far far superior.

Give me a break, true Kick Ass had a few moments that could have been cobbled into one or two awesome youtube clips, but it certainly wasn't an example of quality by any means. And it certainly didn't qualify him to be the leader of the pack over all other directors that every have or ever will direct a superhero movie.

Now he's been involved in a few decent films, but certainly not in the superhero genre. And I think this is a perfect example of him talking sh*t trying to downplay and insult the work of other directors and say tons of superhero movies are bad and could cause the end of the interest in that genre, unless of course Hollywood gets the superiorly talented Matthew Vaughn to helm ALL possible comic book based projects.

What an arrogant ass.

Kick Ass certainly didn't kick ass, and this new X-Men film has been looking like it will do far more for Bryan Singer's reputation than Vaughn's so far from what I have seen.
scarface85 writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:02:19 PM

i loved kick ass, he might be right
pomme writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 2:38:54 PM

on my opinion ,he's hypocrite but also i'm tired of superhero movies
m5dmb28 writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 3:54:35 PM

that's pretty much what i was going to say, pomme. i agree that superhero movies are going to take a backseat for a while because they are being way overdone, but he's being a complete hypocrite.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 5:27:01 PM

no sh*t captain obvious
rebel writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 5:48:17 PM

i dont get the kick ass hate. the movie was great, end of discussion.

yeah, i think first class is looking bad. but kick ass was very good. WP posters need to slow their roll. next youll be saying the scott pilgrim movie wasnt absolutely amazing.
darkraven28 writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 8:14:08 PM

If he could get Fox by the balls like James Cameron has had for ages, then Mr. Vaughn might have a chance. Hint, sir: write the script yourself and say you won't let them use it if you don't have creative control. May or may not work, but it's worth a shot.
Sinestro writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 11:37:18 PM

Matthew Vaughn needs to shut the f*ck up. You directed a mildly entertaining flick that performed poorly at the box office. You're not entitled to point fingers. And it's not like comic book companies weren't mainly responsible for orchestrating the recent craze of comic book films. Marvel created a studio for that purpose alone. This guy needs to stop being a bitch and man the f*ck up.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 2:52:18 AM

Comic book movie adaptations will be around for a long time. As one who grew up with only Donner's Superman, I welcome seeing so many fleshed out on the big screen.

Re: Vaughn comments on quality control and the public getting bored...

Movies will occassionally suck ass due to some bad seed directors, or studios who ends up bastardizing the hero treatment which gives the genre a bad rap eg. Punisher, FF, Ghost Rider, Catwoman, Schumacher's Batmans etc. Even Fav admits IM2 suffered from too many execs pushing their agenda onto the final product which ended up compromising his director's creative control (as an aside it would be interesting to see if a Director's cut ever becomes available). However, the successes far outweighs the failures eg. Watchmen, 300, Sin City, Nolan's BB and TDK. Each of these visionary directors / studios were inspired by original graphic novel material and brought to life our heroes as we have never seen before with high production values, great plots, dialogue, costumes, set designs, musical scores, adult themes etc. It will be interesting to see if Marvel's plans to unveil IM, Hulk, Thor, Cap to crossover and tentpole the Avengers will pay off (fingers crossed).

In the collective vaults of DC and Marvel, there is a wealth of great characters and storylines available that could keep these characters fresh. Eg. The Dark Knight Returns or X-Men: Days of Future Past. There are other talented directors aside from Vaughn who could do justice to these treatments. Who wouldn't want to see Guillermo del Toro direct one. On hearing Marvel's intention to develop lesser heroes like Powerman, Iron Fist, Dr. Strange, Black Panther etc., I'd say don't do it unless there is a good story to tell, sound casting choice and an able Director who can remain faithful to origins. Failure to do so, will result in (as Vaughn states) a "crowded room" and saturate the market.

Any successful business requires good quality control and accountability. Marvel and DC execs (if you are reading this) working in the movie industry should not forget their fanbase and over abuse their stay.

And Vaughn, I hope you can put your money where your mouth is and deliver X-Men: First Class to the high expectations you have created onto yourself.
LEONCIO writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 8:12:35 AM

There are too many superhero movies... so I'm going to make another one. LOL.
justinbeaverhunt2010 writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 12:09:27 PM

God i wish he would have directed Xmen 3, that sh*tty movie will haunt me until the day i die.
japaninmotion writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 10:25:05 PM

Richard Grieco?! N f*cking way!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved