WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Justice League of America" Movie Without Batman and Superman?

Posted: August 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Justice League of America" Movie Without Batman and Superman?Submit Comment
CBM is reporting that Warner Bros is moving forward with a "Justice League of America" movie, and while a script has yet to be written, the studio has already put together a general outline.

That outline includes such superheroes as Green Lantern, The Flash, Wonder Woman, Aquaman and Martian Manhunter. But for some reason, Warners decided not to include Superman or Batman. It's still possible that the two characters will one day make their way into the story, but at this point, everything is progressing without them.

The site points out that several comics series, including the team's first outing in "The Brave and the Bold," worked well without Batman and Superman. But there is probably something else going on.

My guess is that since Christopher Nolan is involved with both new Superman and Batman movies, Warners may want him back for "JLA." But everyone understands that Nolan, his team and Christian Bale won't come cheap, so the studio may just be working on an alternate version of the movie, which will be much cheaper and lack the talent. Basically, the Marvel route.

Click here to read more about "Justice League of America."

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 64 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:15:51 PM

This is a joke... right?
Jabba_RT writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:17:14 PM

Yeah, this makes a lot of sense... what a bunch of f*cktards!
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:22:08 PM

Look DC... WTF?!

You're following Marvel's lead? Bwwahahahaha!!!

Don't get all 'historical' on us by following the comics as they ran. There isn't a person alive that would want to see a JLA movie WITHOUT Supes and Bats. We want to see a movie that's OFF THE HOOK!!!

WTF is running things over at DC... Marvel?!?!
Monash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:45:02 PM

Didn't they already make a Justice League Tv pilot without Batman and Superman?
markoz writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:50:17 PM

@Monash You should tell that to DC.I bet they would immediately announce Batman and Superman in JLA movie
nope.com writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:50:31 PM

honestly... CBM is a collection of retards who make up rumors and try to make them real by quoting a "trusted source"

Just about as useless as The Sun

WP stick to Deadline, EW, IGN, etc for news and sources
nope.com writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:51:15 PM

btw ANYBODY can make an account and post on their main page.... just a thought
johnny_boy writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:58:17 PM

Just as long there's no article in the future saying "Wonder woman without nudity" then I don't care
GambleBDJ writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:03:04 PM

No bats or supe? Thts like watchin porn without the f*cking
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:08:36 PM

yeah i saw this on CBM earlier too and theres no way I'm going to believe this. The idea of dropping them is ludicrous. DC deserves WAY better. Don't f*ck this up!
Rambo writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:09:26 PM

thats like saying I'm gonna have sex with a sexy woman but she wont have breasts and p*ssy.
jgrantt18 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:11:57 PM

This could be a good idea with a good writer/director on it. I mean Nolan's not the only guy that can make good movies. And it could help launch the other franchises. It's not like Superman and Batman need the help with fan recognition.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:53:45 PM

You people can't honestly believe that Nolan's batman belongs in the same caliber as the rest of the Justice League... right?
Austin VBA writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:03:54 PM

there is no justice league without supes or batty
f*ck THIS!



But GREEN LANTERN will be the sh*t!
PHURBY1984 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:12:08 PM

OKAY..LET'S NOT JUMP IN TO ANY CONCLUSIONS JUST YET...THIS IS WARNER BROS WE ARE TALKING ABOUT, NOT FOX OR MARVEL...WE HAVE NOT BEEN DISSAPOINTED WITH ANY OF THE SUPERHERO MOVIES THEY HAVE RELEASED IN THE LAST 5 YEARS...SPECIALLY IS CHRIS NOLAN IS SET TO DIRECT JUSTICE LEAGUE OF AMERICA, DO YOU REALLY THINK HE WOULD NOT INCLUDE BATMAN IN IT, THE SUPERHERO THAT HELPED HIM BLOW UP AND BECOME MORE POPULAR THAN HE WAS BEFORE...LET'S JUST STAY COOL AND WAIT TO SEE WHAT HAPPENS...I REALLY DO THINK JLA WILL INCLUDE BATMAN AND SUPERMAN, OR AT LEAST ONE OF THE TWO...IF NEITHER ONE IS IN IT WARNER BROS KNOWS THE MOVIE WILL FLOP AND NOT BE SUCCESSFUL...



ON A FINAL NOTE, SINCE CHRIS NOLAN IS ATTACHED TO BOTH BATMAN 3 AND SUPERMAN REBOOT..I AM PRETTY SURE HE WILL FIND A WAY TO BRING THE TWO HEROS TOGHETER TO SET UP JLA...
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:25:15 PM

DC > Marvel?

If they start and keep on doing these kind of decisions, that logic statement above may not be true for long.
rabid writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:34:42 PM

LOL. Utter bullsh*t.
They wouldn't dare make that film without either hero.
GambleBDJ writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:35:20 PM

@spooky hell no they would have to start off with a new batman. Nolans wouldn't fit in tht world.
oklahomaer writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:44:45 PM

aquaman hahahahs
oklahomaer writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:45:24 PM

aquaman hahaha
Detrimental writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:46:02 PM

I'm IGNORING THIS UNTIL NOLAN'S Superman. It's ok. That's what we look forward to. For now, we have our practice girl (Marvel) to get through and then we can worry about our pornstar (DC) later.
CCBlev writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:18:34 AM

I just got home from work and I'm dead tired, but am I reading this right? FML!!
encoreyourface writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:18:55 AM

ranger-i hope to God it's a joke .... for Warners sake ...
boogiel writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:25:47 AM

"Marvel's route"?? Not even close !!
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:27:12 AM

"oh, Chris Nolan will take a huge amount of money with this movie... What do we do? Hmm, I know! We'll remove the two most important characters in this movie, that'll cost us less than expected." f*ck-c*nts, why don't you smile... AND f*ckING BAH-LOW ME!!
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:27:23 AM

@PHURBY1984
come on man really was a huge essay typed in ALL CAPS necessary?
LEONCIO writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:40:22 AM

Marvel route? The Avengers movie is not being made without Cap America, Thor, Iron Man or Hulk.
Man in Black writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:42:15 AM

wow you might as well end the title of this article with " would suck more ass then DP and a bukake convention "
SaulSilver writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:44:07 AM

The only way it'd work without at least one of the two is if you had one there and the other presumed dead and/or have the storyline be about them trying to save em from like Darkseid or something.
masht7 writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:46:02 AM

WHAT?! THIS HAS TO BE A JOKE!!!! JL without B-Man and Sups is like 'Kick-Ass' without Big Daddy and Hit-Girl.
Inception writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 2:02:15 AM

Breaking News:

P. Diddy will be Martian Manhunter and David Hasselhoff is in talks for the Aquaman role.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 2:11:29 AM

... after he finishes his hamburger and sobers up.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 3:34:42 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4FU5dg5efS0
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 3:35:26 AM

Better... but not!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJQVlVHsFF8
sc_kg writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 3:51:26 AM

Yes, It's a very good idea. I hate Batman running around during day.

Besides recasting them by 20yo actors, it's just awfull.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 3:52:56 AM

The Marvel route...cheaper...lack the talent...this smells like that clusterf*ck Fantastic Four movie all over again.

JLA needs Supes and Bats in the rollcall. They are the leaders whom all secondary characters will follow. Attempting to make JLA without them would be a train wreck. Although Green Lantern movie will rock, Hal cannot lead Earth's Greatest Heroes.
Tyrkae writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 3:57:32 AM

Im betting they are going to do this but hey Green Lantern is still kick ass. Why not call it something other then justice league and then have batman and superman join at the end of the movie to set up for a great 2nd movie?
Tyrkae writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 3:57:37 AM

Im betting they are going to do this but hey Green Lantern is still kick ass. Why not call it something other then justice league and then have batman and superman join at the end of the movie to set up for a great 2nd movie?
rocketman writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 6:51:15 AM

Better to have some cake than none at all DC.Just f*cking pay Nolan,you will make zillions.
RuGhi writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 7:08:41 AM

@Ranger - WTF is running things over at DC... Marvel?!?!

I first read What TF instead of Who TF but considering the great f*ck up that is going on here maybe we have to consider that there is a What running things at DC and MARVEL.

I guess they want us to go and download cause no sanely functioning fan is going to pay a dime for this next level retarded idea.
jdl107 writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 7:48:16 AM

Basically.


Man MArvel, why the f*ck would you just give up your dignity like that?



f*ck YOU KEVIN FEIGE YOU FAT f*ckIN' PIECE OF SHTI. ROT IN f*ckIN' HELL. GAHHH IM TORN BETWEEN WHETHER I WANT THE EAGERLY ANTICIPATED (BY ME) THOR TO COME OUT AND FLOP HARD OR WHETHER I JUST WANT TO ENJOY IT. NOT SO MUCH CAPTAIN AMERICA THOUGH, THAT FILM CAN SUCK MY BALLS!

THIS JUST IN! COC SUCKS d*ck!!!!!!!!!!

Lol yeah right on that last one, I ain't jumpin' in on that bandwagon.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 8:31:02 AM

"WE HAVE NOT BEEN DISSAPOINTED WITH ANY OF THE SUPERHERO MOVIES THEY HAVE RELEASED IN THE LAST 5 YEARS"

Are you f*cking kidding me? I take it you're the person that paid to see "Jonah Hex" in the theaters? Who is this "WE" you speak of, cause it sure as hell is not anyone else on this site. And take the goddamn caps lock off jackass.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 8:49:42 AM

@PHURBY1984-stop being a jack f*ck we don't agree with you. evil is right there is no "we" with you.

sc_kg- i'm guessing you'd like it if spider-man focused on Aunt May then? well ... maybe if she wore a g-string ...
Ranma-Irias writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 9:48:27 AM

well chris nolan's batman doesn't make much sense in a world of superheroes...that's what he said.
kickit writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 10:51:49 AM

If Warner Brothers was smart, they would sign Christopher Nolan to a a similar contract that Marvel has handed out to its people and just throw money at him, they will make it back 10 fold.
SaulSilver writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 11:02:24 AM

If Vegas offered odd on if there would be a real big budget JLA movie in the next 10 years, i'd bet everything I've got on no.
rabid writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 11:08:33 AM

I think it will happen right after the next Superman and Batman films. Nolan's contract is up on the dark knight and they'll legally have to redefine Superman in 2013, which means neither of those next 2 films will have direct sequels and the characters will be freed up.
toxin066 writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 1:38:55 PM

@oklahomaer

Got a problem with Aquaman?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 4:12:07 PM

Whatever you do, don't forget the Adroginous Duo .... I mean the Wonder Twins.

Please.
billofill writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 5:18:22 PM

I can see not using Batman cause you know he doesnt have f*cking Super Powers but Superman is kind of essential.
rebel writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 7:49:59 PM

you know, i love chris nolan. but f*ck him if he thinks that there can even be a JL without batman.

and dont f*cking tell me his batman doesnt fit into the same world. why? because you for some reason think that batman has to be absolutely centered in reality with no metahumans? get over it. thats how it is.

if the JL movie is done correctly, then its going to more than cover the budget, even paying for big name actors and a big name director.
snake eater writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 5:03:30 AM

Makes sense if batman wasn't in jla because batman is more on logic point of view which involve with maniac and mob not a supervillains i love batman more than any jla character but i do not want to see him with ryan reynolds but superman is not a good thing to be taken out from jla because he is the head of jla.
rabid writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 11:05:42 AM

Batman is one of the core members of the league. If you think he doesn't belong with supervillains and powers and spaceships, then I'm guessing you've never read a Justice League comic.
Nolan's take on the character is good, but it's narrow and not really indicative of the modern Batman in the comics.
arkflash writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 12:52:08 PM

Hey DC and WB, if this is indeed the direction, you need a smart angle and strategy to differentiate and compete.

My pitch is for Luthor & Joker and company to annihilate the entire JLA. This movie should be shockingly brutal, violent, wit lots of profanity e.g. Amazons get raped pillaged and plundered, Aquaman harpooned with his trident, Green Arrow swearing his ass off, Black Canary and Wonder Woman sex scene. At the end Supes and Bats arrive to setup the cliffhanging sequel. I'll even allow some time travel to bring JLA back to life in the sequel.

If Marvel and Feige want to play it safe with a PG accessible summertime movie, cheaper actors and directors, then DC should go Hard Core Balls Out!

Hey you might even get Nolan and Bale interested in a darker revenge plot, and finally restore some badassedness to Superman who to this day still has not been done right on the big screen.

Then maybe then you'll get my moviegoing dollar.
Dre-EL writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 1:42:34 PM

That is the stupidest f*cking thing I ever heard.
rebel writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 5:54:28 PM

@snake eater - batman is more important than most other members of the JLA. where do you think all their funding comes from? come on, oliver queen isnt THAT rich. besides, he is THE focal human point of the league. GL is too connected to oa for that. which just leaves GA, and hes hesitant and weary of the metahumans, as well as not a founding member (i will say hes core though.) besides, GA is partially around because bats is there, to keep him connected to that element of someone else being human.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 12:08:24 AM

@arkflash RU suggesting a JLA snuff film? It would be a hard sell as a first film which would have to introduce most of these JLers only to have them completely decimated. Our moviegoing sensitivities are not use to having our heroes slaughtered onscreen. Would suck for toy sales too.

Does anyone know if Wolfgang Peterson is still attached as director? Recall he was trying to create a JLA as a "Pantheon of Heroes" with a bunch of relatively unknown actors / fashion models with a visual presentation like Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow.
arkflash writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 7:57:34 AM

@Mr. Blonde: Don't get high on your own supply. I never said Hostel, so no snuff implied.

George Miller was last attached to JLA movie, but has reverted to his Mad Max fiefdom. Wolfgang had interest in a Batman vs Superman movie, but hey we comic fans have interest in this too. But unfort looks like his continued interest is probably resting alongside SS Poseidon.

Before JLA movie, individual origins will have largely been covered: GL releases 2011, WW and Aquaman are apparently in dev (Vinnie Chase already portrayed latter), Flash had a fun little 1990s TV show with 22 episodes should prob get an origin, MartianMH (who cares), for the rest of the 2ndary leaguers GreenArrow (badass & cool), BlackCanary, Hawkman-Girl, Atom don't think there's market for individual origins, but really do they need long drawn out origin stories before they're wacked. I say NO. And I say YES to JLA Annihilation. And as I outlined, Supes could turn back time (like he did for Lois) and bring the League back to life. So Toys will sell if that's your main concern.

Some may view this as too far fetched, but the message is differentiation is what DC should be thinking as Marvel will be out of the gate first with an Avengers Assemble ensemble.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 11:37:29 AM

Hey Tony Montana aka @Arkflash, WP article does not discuss individual origins films but rather JLA project gaining momentum. You described “JLA Annihilation” as hard core balls out which would entail the violent deaths to beloved JLAers. To do that well, as death is an “extreme” performance, the movie would likely require higher MPAA ratings like PG-13 (similar to TKD) or possibly restricted to persons 18 years of age or older depending on graphic content and language (agree GA will drop the most F-bombs). Restricting viewership from minors would affect toy sales as merchandizing is mostly aimed towards them. Sorry but Fanboys who collect action figures unopened in their boxes only makes up a portion of toy sales when Hasbro (or other) do their marketing bean-counting.

Sorry again, but Superman travelling back in time is a way too convenient solution to reverse any deaths or any crisis situations. To allow Superman the ability to fly at light speed in the opposite direction of Earth’s natural rotation (concept borrowed from original Donner Superman) frankly does not bring any imminent fear to the lives of mortal heroes and cheats any credible storyline. It’s a trump card and we’ve been there and done that.

“JLA Annihilation” is too far-fetched and there are other ways to differentiate DC approach from Marvel other than putting a cheap thrill in the form of a hit on our heroes for say $50 which was ironically the same price to execute Rebenga.
rabid writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 11:55:06 AM

They could start with the White Martian storyline like the JLA cartoon did. Its the best way to gather the troops under one threat and simultaneously bring the audience up to speed on the character they are least familiar with (Martian Manhunter).
Champ1432 writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 6:51:46 PM

A lot of good points here, but bottom line, Superman and Batman need to be in the movie. It's simply not the Justice League without them. Rabid has an interesting idea about the White Martian storyline, I don't think that would be too bad, but I also think it's unlikely they'll re-hash something like that. But it is true that would be a good way to bring them all together initially.

And I don't think it's an issue at all for Batman to exist in that world, even Nolan's Batman. As awesome as his two movies have been so far, and as good a job he's done of creating that version of his universe, Batman still needs to be on the team.
Slyer writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 11:38:44 PM

not having batman OR superman? thats like jerkin off instead of f*ckin!!
jigsaw23 writes:
on August 14th, 2010 at 10:14:20 PM

not having batman in this will be a fail and superman not in it too and i dont even like superman much. and dammit there pulling a Marvel what is next replacing ryan reynolds
Skux writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 10:43:39 AM

This will be a big disappointment if superman and batman don't show in JLA. These two are the main characters who stand for justice, without them there is no justice league. Everyone knows superman is the leader, and batman is the rich superhero who supplies the cool gadgets, how is this going to work? Warner Bros. have produced great superhero movies for the past couple of years or so, I surly hope they don't kill an idea of an even greater superhero movie without supes and batty. They better off not making it if their not in it!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved