WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise Takes Paycut on "Mission: Impossible 4," Ving Rhames Returns

Posted: August 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise Takes Paycut on "Mission: Impossible 4," Ving Rhames ReturnsSubmit Comment
Ving Rhames recently appeared on "Lopez Tonight" where he revealed that he will return as Luther Stickell in the fourth "Mission: Impossible" movie. He'll be joining Tom Cruise and Simon Pegg, who is also in talks to return as Benji Dunn.

Meanwhile, NY Magazine has learned that Cruise is taking a substantially reduced upfront payment for "M:I4." This could be that Paramount Pictures simply doesn't believe the actor can attract movie-goers like he used to, or that Cruise's deal focuses more on the back-end, which will come after the film stars making money.

"M:I4" is directed by Brad Bird and is scheduled to hit theaters on December 16th, 2011. The goal is to begin filming in September.

Source: NY Magazine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:18:02 PM

I hear Tom loves those 'back-end' deals.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:01:59 PM

Tom cruise loves loving from the brothers. When he heard Rhames was coming back he jumped up and down on the couch for joy
Rambo writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:13:30 PM

Not so sure about the ' directed by Brad Bird' part...
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:10:25 PM

It was confirmed. Brad Bird to helm MI4.

If he steps back, there's no chance for me to watch this movie.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:25:38 PM

Who would have thunk it...at the hight of his pulling power if you had told him what was going to happen to him he would never had beleived you.

I reckon Cruise needs to take some supporting roles for a while to get is credibilty back..if he had any in the first place.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:45:40 PM

Plus he's working with Paramount again. The very company that originally canned him thus causing his downfall.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 1:13:35 AM

Yep ranger very strange innit...but in a way you can't put all the blame at Paramounts door..some of the antics of Tom Cruise did'nt help...and if I was Paramount I would ahve done the same thing...but for him and Paramount to now do this guess they both need a boost.
Steve6f8eh writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 1:15:56 AM

I am still trying to figure out how badly Cruise is doing! Correct me if I am wrong, but hasn't K&D done well over $200 million in total so far, and there are still lots of countries to go? It sounds like a success to me! Just because it had a slow start in the US does not mean it is a flop; sounds like good old USA self centered nonsense as usual!

Cruise will walk away with 30 or 40 million after MI4 one way or the other. I think he can afford to wait a year or so until he cashes in.....he doesn't seem to be hurt'n for money.....he can always borrow off of his wife if he is stuck.....lol
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 1:21:20 AM

Brad Bird is a good director.
Though I think they should have stuck with JJ Abrams helming the fourth one(MI 3 was decent).

And Tommy Cruise,this is your only shot at proving your prowess to draw in the crowds.
You pretty much messed up your last attempt(Who would even do a movie with Diaz?)
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 2:01:59 AM

I thought Tom's come back movie was to give his character in Tropic Thunder it's own movie?
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 2:21:46 AM

I guess they are toying with that idea of a Lens Grossman(spelling?) movie.

Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 7:31:41 AM

Les Grossman surprisingly stole Tropic Thunder. However I can't imagine paying full fare to hear him tell other characters to "literally f*ck your own face!" for 2 hours. His appearance on 2010 MTV Movie awards was semi-amusing especially sharing the stage with J-Lo. However this act is getting stale fast.
jdl107 writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 7:42:29 AM

Well, I guess all I can say is poor guy.

But this is what happens when you don't get crackin' on one the best worthwhile characters you've ever had..... even better than Ethan hunt my friend. Les Grossman :) Guy can be a badass without even having to fall 100ft feet and then stopping an inch away from the floor in the nick of time.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 4:04:07 PM

Tom's doing it for points on the back-end. He's doing it, so he can pay back his investors (since he is more than likely an executive producer or co-producer) and still make money on the distribution, DVDS, etc.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 5:02:52 PM

Tom Cruise should play Les Grossman playing Ethan Hunt in the next M.I. movie.

That I'd pay to see.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 12:10:56 AM

Whatever, Bird is directing and I'm stoked to see how he plays it. Look Tom is nuts, but he's "The Movie Star." It was Diaz and bad effects that f*cked over Knight and Day I assure you.
vagos1268 writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 3:24:26 PM

i liked all the m:i's i like the bodybuilding muscular inspiring freak Ving Rhames and if the movie have runtime over 2hrs i 'll be in the cinema for the m:4

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved