WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Passed on Jon Favreau Directing "The Avengers"

Posted: August 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Passed on Jon Favreau Directing "The Avengers"Submit Comment
CinemaBlend has learned that director Jon Favreau (Iron Man) was hoping to direct "The Avengers," but the studio didn't even consider him for the movie, knowing that the helmer would want more money.

According to the site's trusted sources, Favreau was involved in intense negotiations with Marvel just to get a slight pay raise for "Iron Man 2." Similar negotiations took place with Terrence Howard, Mickey Rourke and Scarlett Johansson, which led to Howard being replaced.

The studio is trying to save money and knows that its films are costly due to special effects and marketing, so it's trying to save money on talent. Marvel knew that signing Favreau for "The Avengers" would cost more than hiring a less experienced helmer. This is where Joss Whedon came in, having only directed one feature film (Serenity) before.

And while he didn't get a chance to direct "The Avengers," Favreau felt that Marvel interfered so much with "Iron Man 2" that it sometimes felt like he was directing another movie. The studio kept pressuring him to put things into the movie that didn't fit in order to set up "The Avengers," which led to a rushed production and an always-changing script.

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 6:22:39 AM

Is anyone surprised? Marvel, you are greedy whores. You don't have to chase pennies, since you will make your money back. You should be glad that talented people even want to be a part of your movies. I hope that everything DC does rape your ass to oblivion
drewsmit24 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:15:20 AM

let the buttf*ckery begin......

Nolan > Marvel
ZenShark writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:01:41 AM

well, i just think that since marvel is the company that owns these characters, they have the most to lose from these projects. I dont see DC making movies. Plus marvel studios hasnt made a terrible movie yet...
BigTate writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:17:37 AM

Zen, have you forgotten Daredevil? Elektra?? Fantastic Four (both of them)?? Spiderman 2&3? Ghost Rider... Punisher: War Zone... X-Men 3... Wolverine... shall I continue?
DC should be making movies since Marvel has such a hard time producing anything with cinematic merit.
CCBlev writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:20:34 AM

Why am i not surprised!!
arkflash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:36:14 AM

Screw feige, marvel studios and their neverending Galactus consuming greed.

Throw out any plot for The Avengers movie and film it as a reality TV Ultimate Death Cage Match. Hulk Smash!!

Now where’s my cheque.
LEONCIO writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:42:26 AM

"Zen, have you forgotten Daredevil? Elektra?? Fantastic Four (both of them)?? Spiderman 2&3? Ghost Rider... Punisher: War Zone... X-Men 3... Wolverine... shall I continue?"

Those are mostly Fox's or Columbia's movies, not directly from Marvel Studios like Iron Man 1 & 2, Thor, Cap. America, Avengers, etc...


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:45:34 AM

Who wanted to see Nick Fury say to Tony Stark, " You're so money, Tony! You're so money! Whooo's the big, bad Iron Man ? C'mon Tony, whooooo's the big, bad Iron Man ? You are, Tony ... you are! "


And Thor, drunk off his gourd on mead, screaming to go to, " Vegas, baby ... Vegas! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:46:33 AM

f*ck Marvel Studios.

Favreau was built for group ensemble pieces.
rjd040487 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:04:22 AM

so umm thats why iron man 2 was a bit naff?

expenses? they usually always doubke their money on expensive blockbusters

Marvel shut the f*ck up and sit in ur corner, a director directs so let the guys do what they being paid for
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:30:33 AM

It does seem pretty short sighted of them.

A guy who's track record for Marvel is over $1.2 billion at the boxoffice and has made 2 decent movies for a guy who has yet to really prove himself on the big screen.

How much more would he have cost than Whedon ? $10-15mil ?

I'm sure they would have made their money back on him with the final gross , time will tell.
nahdogg writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:39:14 AM

Can anyone tell me what Freudian_Nightmare's avatar is?
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:41:57 AM

^ Blade 2 i think....
Moose756 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:45:29 AM

@bigtate Whoa whoa whoa Spiderman 2 was good. I enjoyed it
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:48:08 AM

@nahdogg- or it could be my mother-in-law.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:52:33 AM

Marvel will dig them selves into an early grave, no need to let sony and fox mess there sh*t up iron-man1 was awesome 2 was ok. but if marvels pays less for unproven talent we get ghost rider, daredevil and fantastic 4 quality sh*t soon enough.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:58:50 AM

Marvel has it all wrong. You pay for top talent and that talent will make it happen. Then when the movie banks you have money to play around with for insane effects.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:03:09 AM

I want to believe this is untrue cuz I remember favreau pointing out that it would be a challenge for him to put all the hero elements into one film. But it is marvel so this doesn't sound too farfetched
GambleBDJ writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:06:04 AM

f*ck marvel. Warner bros/DC will pay nolan anything to make excellent films. They even fully financed inception for batman 3. Plus I'm super psyched he has involvment in superman. DC>marvel forever.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:09:35 AM

@Nahdogg: No idea, I just googled "nightmare".
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:12:02 AM

^Disregard previous post. I googled "headhunter".
jdl107 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:27:22 AM

BigTate did you just mention Spider Man 2? The hell is wrong with you
jdl107 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:35:37 AM

If this is true then damn...... looks like we got a new 20th Century Fox
rabid writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:37:22 AM

f*ck Favreau in this instance. He's dealing with icons that are larger than his films. I actually wish Marvel HAD done more to tie it in with the Avengers, so Favreau shouldn't be so fast to dismiss good advice from his benefactors.
I think it's pretty obvious that Marvel does not have the connections and the budget of Warner Brothers, so I don't have a problem with them being cautious with their money. These directors and actors get paid far too much for their work anyway.
rabid writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:38:06 AM

DC can't touch Marvel anyway at the box office. For now, all they have is Batman and some well done cartoons.
Man in Black writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:47:33 AM

do you know where the guy is that made that decision is now he is in the Taliban cause he is a soul less terrorist piece of sh*t
SaulSilver writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:51:18 AM

Everyone seems so surprised by this.
Stuntastic writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:03:18 AM

@Rabid: I'm gonna have to agree with u on the DC cartoons. I just checked out Batman: Under the Red Hood and that sh*t was waaaaaaaaaaayyy better than what I expected, but as u stated there cartoon films usually are. Hell, Wonder Woman was pretty good too
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:16:32 AM

GOOD RIDDANCE!
rabid writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:16:49 AM

That's what I said. They have great cartoons. Under the Red Hood was great! So was Public Enemies and New Frontier. I didn't like the Wonder Woman movie so much.
Next up DC is animating All-Star Superman and All-Star Batman.
LeeMaca writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:39:43 AM

sPIDER-MAN 2?????????? SERIOUSLY it was probably the best out of all them
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:40:52 AM

They're also doing Frank Miller's Batman Year One. That doesn't release until NEXT september though.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:50:44 AM

Freudian: Your avatar looks like a necromorph from Dead Space: http://www.juegosdb.com/wp-content//dead-space20.jpg

And well, at least this whole money thing explains Joe Johnston and the inevitable sh*tfest that cap. America will be.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:53:13 AM

OK Marvel...

So... if you (admittedly) cut down on your 'talent'...

WTF DO YOU HAVE TO MARKET?!?!?!?!?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:08:08 PM

@Coldplay: That it does. Have the game, but haven't gotten around to play yet.
Salvador writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:48:28 PM

MMhhhmmm...

I liked Iron Man 2 anyway, but is disturbing to know studios always are interfering with the director's job in order to make a hit.

F*** Marvel!
johnny_boy writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:58:36 PM

I'll bet Fox is just waiting for Marvel to fail cuz of being so cheap. They'll fall so low that they won't have any choice but to sell the filming rights to get back on it's cheap little feet
Ranma-Irias writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:08:25 PM

well thanks Marvel! That's why the movie was disappointing...Downey Jr and Jon Favreau would make a f*cking kick-ass movie as good as the first and they f*cked up everything
Rambo writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:08:35 PM

I really don't understand all this 'Avengers' news...what if 'Thor' and 'Captain America' will suck???Both have crappy directors and questionable lead actors...
Rambo writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:08:40 PM

I really don't understand all this 'Avengers' news...what if 'Thor' and 'Captain America' will suck???Both have crappy directors and questionable lead actors...
jgrantt18 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:17:00 PM

So we're getting Joss "I can't make anything appeals to more than a cult audience" Whendon instead of Favreau because Favreau, an experienced director who knows how to handle effects and actors in good movies, would have wanted a couple million more? Jesus f*ckin Christ, the Avengers movie is gonna be like 300mil who cares if you spend an extra 5 mil on the director especially when you can get one of the better ones in the business for the project you're pushing?!!?!?

Also, say what you want about DC not getting movies out or wahtever but at least they are letting the talent behind them (Nolan on Batman and producing Superman, the guys behind Green Lantern) do what they want and not shoehorn in every possible tie-in to just up the Justice League pot.

Iron Man 2 wasn't even that good. Marvel has to watch out, they may end up just oversaturating the market.
jgrantt18 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:18:35 PM

@Rambo
I think the leads in both movies are pretty good and Branagh on Thor is an inspired choice at director. Joe Johnston (or w/e his name is) on Captain America on the other hand...yeah he'll blow it. He blows it on every movie he gets his hand on.
BigUnit writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:41:58 PM

seems to me like marvel is making all the wrong moves.
TeemSelami writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:52:15 PM

there is a reason these *ssholes are executives and not directors or actors.
BigTate writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:53:28 PM

Spiderman 2 was a "meh" at best. And, regardless if they were Fox studios... Marvel still let Fox piss all over their material for a sack of cash.
BigUnit writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 3:08:10 PM

does anyone know where on the internet this captian america footage is?
GambleBDJ writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 3:09:28 PM

The film will suck no matter who directs it because marvel would step in and order the directer around. Warners/DC don't make many hero movies but most are quality films because they get excellent fimmakers. Also Green lantern will make thor, captain america and avengers seem like epic fails. I promise.
darkraven28 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 3:56:35 PM

And the lesson remains: DO NOT WORK FOR MARVEL PRODUCTIONS. Or you will risk being involved in a SINGLE film and then being left by the roadside like a spent whore.

As you can see, I'm clearly on the side of Edward Norton, Terrence Howard, and the Favs in this case. f*ck Marvel.
jgrantt18 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 4:47:53 PM

Marvel does a great of job of alienating its talent that it supposedly wants to keep around forever and ever. Chris Evans had to sign a 9 movie deal for Captain America, and is slated to make more than 1 million for the first Capt movie, do they really think he's gonna follow through on those terms?
popcorn writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 5:23:37 PM

Dint Chris Evans sign for $500,000?

All the movies they make a sh*t, what are they rated for kids 5 years and over. If Cap sux, ill go to the house of all the Marvel people and rap their mothers.

Make a movie will balls you f*cking c*nts
darkraven28 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:09:36 PM

And what's with all this f*cking "nine film" contract bullsh*t? Who the hell, as an actor, would want to be contractually obligated to THREE DAMN TRILOGIES???!????!! I mean, I know Sam Jackson loves himself some comic books (he's said as much over and over), but even he had to have said "MUTHAf*ckA!!!" a few times during that contract negotiation.
FreedoM writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:51:13 PM

Like someone mentioned, did Favreau said so himself that he did not want to direct The Avengers? I remember reading something along the line that he he thought it was risky or challenging to incorporate a more realistic hero like Iron Man with super humans like Captain America, Hulk, Thor, etc.

I personally think Thor will be better than Captain America. The director for Captain America looks like he is destroying the character. Didn't he say that he didn't want to make Captain America patriotic? WTF is the point of being Captain AMERICA then?
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:05:11 PM

@jg & popcorn - Evans signed on to do CA for only $300K. Worse yet is that career-crippling 9 movie attachment. Ugh!
sergal writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:57:42 PM

http://www.flickfilosopher.com/blog/2008/10/warning_stolen_biological_mate.html

S.J. is stolen biological material, taken against will and formed to clones line 200 pieces total. DANGEROUS, DANGEROUS, sign of dangerous criminal activity. Original Scarlett Galabekian future pediatrician doctor, pediatrician nurse license she obtained in 2008.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:24:29 AM

Marvel go suck Lady Gaga's hairy balls.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:25:33 AM

arkflash-galactus consuming greed, i like it!
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 4:28:45 AM

Mikey was so money especially with the twirly whirly thing.
Rick Taps writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 10:12:03 PM

Marvel and it's Avengers set up plan is f*cking up ALL of these movies. That Thor trailer was 1/3 setting up the Avengers... product marketing hell.
ZenShark writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 2:57:06 AM

big tate i was talking about marvel studios. they didnt make any of those movies u mentioned. they made the second hulk, iron mans, and the new stuff.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved