WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Should the Holocaust Be R-Rated?

Posted: August 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Should the Holocaust Be R-Rated?Submit Comment
The MPAA has voted 12 to 3 to give an R rating to a Holocaust documentary "A Film Unfinished," which documents an uncompleted Nazi propaganda film shot in the Warsaw Ghetto in 1942. MPAA cited "disturbing images of Holocaust atrocities including graphic nudity" in its decision.

Ghetto survivor Hana Avrutzky and director Yael Hersonski both made arguments for a reduced rating, asking board members to consider the rating of Steven Spielberg's "The Last Days," which features a mass execution and extensive nudity. That film received a PG-13 rating.

Adam Yauch, Oscilloscope (distributor) founder and a member of music group Beastie Boys, said in a statement: "This is too important of a historical document to ban from classrooms. While there's no doubt that Holocaust atrocities are displayed, if teachers feel their students are ready to understand what happened, it's essential that young people are given the opportunity to see this film... I understand that the MPAA wants to protect children's eyes from things that are too overwhelming, but they've really gone too far this time."

"A Film Unfinished" will be released in New York on August 18th and in Los Angeles on August 20th, followed by a national rollout.

Question: Even though there is nudity and disturbing images, should the documentary rating be reduced to PG-13?

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 6:17:51 AM

I can't believe this is even up for discussion.

So much for Jews controlling Hollywood.
Rambo writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 6:47:44 AM

it should be 3D
drewsmit24 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:20:27 AM

dont care but its gonna get 5/10 in worstpreviews

worstpreviews

star wars 5/10
citizen kane 5/10
pulp fiction 5/10
inception 5/10
worstpreviews reviews 5/10
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:01:14 AM

Down right pissed off,

as a lover of history, i would hate to see a doc*mentry like this given an R18 just because it is real. Yeah it might offend or frighten people, but that is the whole point. Jokes aside guys, we all know it was humanities darkest history, how man could do this to one another.

I strongly belive in IF YOU DON'T LEARN FROM HISTORY, YOU ARE DOOMED TO REPEAT IT!!!

If i were a teacher, i would still show this film to yr 9-12 regardless of the R18, it is a doc*mentry, historical fact that needs to be told until the end of time. I don't want the world to forget this, like the Japanese have tried to do by ignoring there history during World War 2 in their history classes (Rape of Nanking, Bombing of Shanghai, Changi Prison, Bridge over the River Kwai) or how many people have not heard of the Armenian Genocide!!



FOR SHAME MPAA!!
Peter Parker writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:01:39 AM

Holocaust?












... WHAT HOLOCAUST?????!!!


CCBlev writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:22:54 AM

@PP LOL!
I'd love to see this in 3D too lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:42:15 AM

I don't know about you, but personally I get a major woodie from watching black and white footage of starving,skinny Hiemie women standing but naked in line for their homicide in shower stalls full of mustard gas or being creamated in large ovens ... then the remaining bodies (what's left) tossed lifelessly in mass graves alongside the countryside ....

how can this not be the sexiest thing since Wild Orchid ? Seriously ?
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:06:01 AM

For too long I have felt the MPAA is no longer needed. They are a farce in many ways to begin with. Either get a true committee of known members with merit and an actual code to follow regardless of who makes a movie or drop the pony show.

Steven should have gone and argued for this film.
rabid writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:40:57 AM

yeah MPAA ratings are silly. If this film has any educational benefit at all, then it should be kept PG13 regardless of material that could be upsetting.
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:24:37 AM

@skippy- Well said...

I would have no problem with my kids watching this doc*mentary.

Maybe if more kids were to see some of the horrors that went on in this world in a time which was not that long ago.

Maybe they would have a little more appreciation and respect for themselves and other people and they might realize just how lucky they are today.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:50:34 AM

So Jewish nudity is a disturbing image?!

Lol... I couldn't have written this article better myself!

One a serious note. Leave it PG-13. Kids DO need to learn what this was all about. To make sure something like this never happens again. Open eyes. 3D is the ONLY way to go when you're talking about this material. Shannon Price is a murderer. Lohan is a Blue Waffle with legs. MPAA, self-righteous, continual double-standard, inconsistent scale of evaluation, roll it all up into a huge ball and shove it all up yer ass!!!

And really... WHAT HOLOCAUST?!
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:13:03 PM

PS: I've boned a few Jewish ladies in my day.

Good times were had by all.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:22:40 PM

Considering the catholic church is involved in the MPAA decisions, I've figured out how to slide a movie by the rating :

f*ck alter boys.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:24:18 PM

On a serious note, violence gets a harder rating overseas than sex. But the reversal in America, which is SUPPOSED to be very liberal in most issues (which is not the case when it comes to SEX, advertising and the human body).


Irony.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:26:55 PM

Yep.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:31:31 PM

This film should be R rated only if Mel Gibson stars as Hitler. Imagine all the crazy stuff he'd have him say
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:33:55 PM

"I'm taking over Poland... and if you don't like it...

... you can just smile... AND BLOW ME!!!!"
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:34:50 PM

Or he walks up to the furnaces in Auschwitz and yells:

'YOU MAKE ME WANNA SMOKE!!!'
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:35:41 PM

To the Jews:

'YOU HAVE NO f*ckING SOULS!!!'


Yeah... Mel in this could work well.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:55:14 PM

Good posts Ranger. I'm still laughing my ass off
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:57:46 PM

lol... thx. Bro.

Give Mel the credit... the man is a plethora of abuse and material.
Salvador writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:00:13 PM

@The Skippy Spartan: Well said!
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:06:42 PM

I had a Jewish ballerina over to my place once (yes... she was VERY flexible). She saw I had a few books: Adolf Hilter - by John Toland. A Nazi TimeLife book, etc. I come out of the crapper and she's holding one laying on my floor (preparing for events to follow), saying she didn't think such stuff should be published.

I said, pretty much what Skippy posted, that such reminders are good to pass along to make sure such things don't happen again.

So... I goose-stepped her to the sack and I World War III'd her crotch! It was lovely.
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:08:51 PM

Why would would a jew roast be rated R, I mean who doesn't like a tasy jew from time to time? WTF is the holocaust? is that like a barmitvah or something?

On a more serious note I am 100% for mel playing hitler only if he carries around the black jew cat the whole time.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:32:10 PM

Word!
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:48:26 PM

^^^^ LOL at pretty much all of the above :)
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:10:27 PM

Whats the difference between a Jew and a Canoe?
A canoe tips

What is a Jews biggest dilemma?
Free pork

What did the little German boy get for his birthday?
Easy bake oven and a G.I Jew
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:15:01 PM

If you want to teach kids about the Holocaust then teach them. There are plenty of doc*mentaries and films about it already that aren't R rated.
Will it actually teach them anything, well that's a matter of opinion. Atrocities still happen. Rwanda is just one example.

As for Spielberg's PG-13 rating, hey its Spielberg. He made that rating for films. He can pretty much get away with murder. He's already gone back and murdered a couple of his movies.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:29:09 PM

@Rambo- LOL
CCBlev writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:33:52 PM

Trailer and Ranger LOl.
CCBlev writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:37:36 PM

Why don't Jewish mothers drink?
Alcohol interferes with their suffering.

Where does a Jewish husband hide money from his wife? Under the vacuum cleaner.

Have you seen the newest Jewish-American Princess horror movie ? It's called "Debbie Does Dishes".



trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 3:13:58 PM

CC- LOL

What's faster than a speeding bullet?
A jew with a coupon.

A priest and a rabbi were walking down the street, on the other side they saw a young boy walking.
The priest looked at the rabbi and said, "Let's screw him!", the rabbi replied, "Outta what?"

How do you know you have jews living nextdoor?
There's wet toilet paper on the clothesline

darkraven28 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 3:52:21 PM

Just put the thing on primetime TV instead. After all, they showed Saving Private Ryan on ABC at one point uncut. This is an identical case. Problem solved.
makingcircles writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 4:08:42 PM

I think they should compromise and give it a hard G.

How do you fit 8 jews in a compact car? 2 in the front, 3 in the back, and the rest in the ash tray.
popcorn writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 5:34:56 PM

give it any rating you want kids are still going to see it, when has blockbuster asked for ID?

and if they do ask for ID i dont think pirate bay cares how old you are
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:11:02 PM

Why won't any Jew visit a Kentucky Fried Chicken ?

They're afraid they're eating a relative.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:13:35 PM

What do you call it when a Gestapo agent belted a Jewish prison in the stomach for insurbordination ?

The Hiemie-kin Maneuver
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:48:16 PM


Two Jewish children are sitting on top of a roof near a chimney. A passer-by asks, 'What are you doing there?'

'We are waiting for our parents.'
BondMcClane007 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:48:24 PM

drewsmit, that was a ballin ass comment and it should be PG-13.. then again an R rating nvr stopped me from seeing the Pianist or Saving Private Ryan or Schindler's List in school soooo... if its that ends up being that amazing of a film, its rating wont mean much
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:50:10 PM

And that child was Winona "Horowitz" Ryder
encoreyourface writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:17:54 PM

uh ..... no sh*t it should be R-rated. i really hope you guys are saying it should be pg 13 because the kids need to see it, not because your d*cks broke.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:18:29 PM

ranger-so the jewish women ... never shave do they?
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:32:49 PM

No they don't. Their beaver looks like someone took a sh*t in a hairbrush!

Jesus... these Jew jokes have me in stitches!!! Nice work folks!!!

New microwave out of Germany...

It seats 6.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 9:00:31 PM

@encore - I joke.
They were very nice, sexy ladies.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:23:41 AM

"New microwave out of Germany...

It seats 6."-LOL!!!!

and in that case, i might have to grab me some Jew ass!
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 12:56:12 AM

Then there's the 'Easy-Bake Jew Oven!'
Jedimax writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 2:25:58 AM

Man WP is really hard to even comment on. More people on this board have made jokes at eh expense of the Holocaust then about the article.

Dear Ranger, Glad good times were had with your Jewish companions, I guess you love those circ*mcised d*cks crammed up your *sshole.

...on a side not Capturing the Freedmans was rated R which has no nudity or violence. The subject of the doc*mentary was just considered to extreme. So take it or leave it, sucks with doc*mentaries but the MPAA do judge the nature of the doc*mentary in the rating. Maybe we should take issue with public schools not allowing rated R films to be screened in the first place.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 3:38:14 AM

Can we leave your Dad's last birthday present to you out of this please?
Jawsfan writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 8:55:01 AM

Mel Gibson & Oliver Stone have said they wanted it rated "F" for fun.
j-man writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 9:11:57 AM

what the f*ck is the holocuast?
JohnZee writes:
on August 7th, 2010 at 10:56:38 AM

The MPAA is so full of sh*t it's not even funny. You could have the same exact movie, just presented by an smaller independent studio and a major motion picture studio. And there could not be a single frame that was different from one version to the other one, and still the MPAA would give the independent movie a more mature rating.

There is a doc*mentary called "This Film is Not Yet Rated" that has a lot of good information in it, although it suffers from too much damn footage concentrating on the obese lesbian detective the doc*mentary hires to figure out the real identities of the people on the MPAA board that makes the rating decisions, but just fast forward past those parts while saying "Piggy, piggy, piggy. That's one carpet munching piggy..." And you should be fine...

I think that doc*mentaries about the Holocaust should be a stark and brutal as they could possibly be. There are too many damned Americans that try to talk themselves into thinking that it didn't really happen. Just sad and embarrassing. That would be like looking at an African American and arguing with them their earlier generations weren't actually slaves because they had in "reality" volunteered for the position...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved