WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sylvester Stallone on Auditioning for "Star Wars"

Posted: August 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sylvester Stallone on Auditioning for "Star Wars"Submit Comment
In an interview with Sylvester Stallone, the actor told AICN readers that he auditioned for the role of Han Solo in "Star Wars," but even he knew that he wasn't right for the part.

When asked if he actually showed up for auditions, Stallone replied: "Yes as a matter of fact I did and it didn't meet with much approval since when I stood in front of George Lucas, [and] he didn't look at me once."

He added: "Well, obviously I'm not the right type. [It] all worked out for the best since I don't look good in spandex holding a ray gun."

At the time, "Rocky" was yet to hit theaters and the only role Stallone was known for was playing Machine Gun Joe in "Death Race 2000." The Han Solo part eventually went to Harrison Ford, who was not even in the running for it, but still beat out Christopher Walken, Kurt Russell, Nick Nolte, John Travolta and Robert De Niro.

Source: AICN, Cinematical


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
JoeCanton22 writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:37:43 PM

Credit to WP for that hillarious photo.
CCBlev writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:37:59 PM

Really Han Solo went to Harrison Ford?? I never knew that.
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:45:01 PM

lmao really De Niro was a possibility for Han Solo? REALLY? haha what a knee slapper
CCBlev writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:48:39 PM

YOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CHEWY, I DID IT!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:12:50 PM

@CC - bugger... you beat me to it!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:13:28 PM

Oh man Christopher Walken would have owned the role!

Hey, there, Chew-Bakka!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:29:04 PM

you guys ahahahahaha

read about this story 2 days ago

and Harrison Ford did'nt want to do Star Wars coz he was afraid of the De Niro Scorcese thing happening with him and Lucas.
CCBlev writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:35:41 PM

@Ranger
Sorry mate! I know you'll come up with some clever and great mine was just too bloody obvious.
CCBlev writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:39:22 PM

Love to Christopher Walen do it. He would have to have a dance scene though.
CCBlev writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:40:44 PM

Walken
CCBlev writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:47:33 PM

Stallone grabs the mic " Darth I'm coming after you!" As the lightning strikes in the background.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 10:25:20 PM

ccblev- by the sixth movie Solo would have had is mother in it as a replacement for him being in Carbonite.

Star Wars- Episode VI- Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot First.
CCBlev writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 10:30:37 PM

@Dave
Very true.
"I AM THE FORCE!" lol sorry can't help it.
CCBlev writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 10:33:37 PM

@Dave that or Star Wars Episode VII-Han Solo
He tells his son " It ain't about how hard you hit with the force, it's about how hard you can get hit by the force and keep on moving, that's how Jedi are made!"
Ok i'm done for the night
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 10:35:51 PM

@Skippy - lol... no sh*t.
SaulSilver writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:38:05 AM

If Stallone had been Han Solo, Greedo would have killed him, and Chewy would have gotten all Han's storylines...including the Leia romancing.
SaulSilver writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:39:18 AM

Also, does this mean Harrison Ford would have played Rocky?
nicholas56 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:55:57 AM

old new wp saw this on yahoo news a few days ago. please up to date with future stories before other sites when you post articles up next time
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:23:05 AM

@ccblev- nice one man.

Boba Fett: So let me get this right, they defrosted you just so you could lasso my piddly ass? Damn, you been had! I been dreamin' about killin'.
Han Solo: Well, keep dreaming!
encoreyourface writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:10:30 AM

Harrison Ford got damn lucky to get the part ... doing cabinets for Lucas wasn't he? and he got offered a job?
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:36:29 AM

CC- Yooooooooo Chewy LOL Touche
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:46:12 AM

Encore-

Think your right,

Wasn't he working on the steps of Lucas production company or something like that ?
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:47:30 AM

^^ And he remembered him from American Graffiti.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 5:34:05 AM

yeah whatever it was it was cool. Harrison Ford kicks ass. so does Stallone but ... star-wars.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:16:37 AM

Adriane get us out here
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:38:08 AM

For once Hollywood chose correct.
MontoyaWA writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:05:09 AM

Kurt Russell would've made a pretty good Solo.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:09:54 PM

" Luuuke! We did it! Luuuuke! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:10:55 PM

John Travolta as Han Solo ...

" Up your nose with a rubber hose, Jabba. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:14:01 PM

" You talkin' to me ? "

" Yes, we're talking to you, Mr. Solo. We need transport off of Alderaan. "

" You talkin' to me ? "

*Obi Won starts to moan* " Yes, Mr. Solo. We ARE talking to you. We've heard the Millineum Falcon is the fastest ship in this parsec. "

" You talkin' to me ? You must be talkin' to me, because they're are no other space jockies in this cantina ... "

*Obi face palms and sighs. Luke rolls his eyes.* " I give up. The Force is f*cked up for this one. Let's go, Luke. "
Bunny X writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:54:12 PM

I really cannot for the life me, see anyone but Ford in that role. Testament to how he completely owned it.
I mean seriously, can you imagine DeNiro in the role, mugging through the whole trilogy?? uggggh.
Russell would have been a nice choice but still, I can't see anyone but Ford.
arkflash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:35:40 PM

Deleted scene Sly Stallone Han Solo Audition:

Greedo: [In Huttese; subtitled] Going somewhere, Solo?

Han Solo: Yes, Greedo. I was just going to see your boss. Tell Jabba I've got his money.

Greedo: It's too late. You should have paid him when you had the chance. Jabba's put a price on your head so large, every bounty hunter in the galaxy will be looking for you. I'm lucky I found you first.

Han Solo: Yeah, but this time I've got the money.

Greedo: If you give it to me, I might forget I found you.

Han Solo: [stealthily going for his blaster] I don't have it *with* me. Tell Jabba... We were in this bar in Saigon and this kid comes up, this kid carrying a shoe-shine box. And he says "Shine, please, shine!" I said no. He kept askin', yeah, and Joey said "Yeah." And I went to get a couple of beers, and the box was wired, and he opened up the box, f*cking blew his body all over the place. And he's laying there, he's f*cking screaming. There's pieces of him all over me, just...[Takes off his bandolier]

Greedo: Jabba's through with you. He has no use for smugglers who drop their shipments at the first sign of an Imperial cruiser.

Han Solo: like this, and I'm tryin' to pull him off, you know, my friend that's all over me! I've got blood and everything and I'm tryin' to hold him together! I'm puttin'... the guy's f*ckin' insides keep coming out! And nobody would help! Nobody would help! He's saying, sayin' "I wanna go home! I wanna go home!" He keeps calling my name! "I wanna go home, Johnny! I wanna drive my Chevy!" I said "With what? I can't find your f*ckin' legs! I can't find your legs!"

Greedo: You can tell that to Jabba. He may only take your ship.

Han Solo: Over my dead body! I could have killed 'em all, I could kill you. In town you're the law, out here it's me. Don't push it. Don't push it or I'll give you a war you won't believe. Let it go. Let it go.

Greedo: That's the idea... I've been looking forward to this for a long time.

Han Solo: Yeah, I'll bet you have.

[Han blasts Greedo, then heads out, tossing the bartender a coin]

Han Solo: Sorry about the mess. There's one man dead! It was not my fault! I don't want anymore hurt!
Wallace writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 6:05:28 PM

@ark: imdb is a blessing, isn't it?
darkraven28 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:23:51 PM

Trying to imagine Chris Walken's way of acting with the character of Han Solo as we all now know it is giving me strange geek fantasies. Think Domino or the True Romance (RIP Hopper) scene but put in a galaxy far, far away.

And here's Walken's version of the "I love you. I know" scene from Empire Strikes Back:


Leia: "I love you."

Han: "A man can be an artist at anything. Food. Whatever. It depends on how good he IS at IT. Your art is saving people. Why don't YOU get to it, YOU BITCH!!!"
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:59:58 PM

Some pretty funny stuff here folks. Nice!
arkflash writes:
on August 8th, 2010 at 1:03:20 PM

@Wallace whadayoumean imdb?? This is a real deleted scene on my Lucasfilm re-re-release celebrating the 100th anniversary of Star Wars in 3D Laser Vision.

Since Lucas didn't even look at the actor during the audition, Stallone took it upon himself to ad-lib the scene just a little, giving it that Han Solo was in 'Nam feel.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 12:39:47 AM

@arkflash - Yeehaaaaa! Just like f*ckin Saigon hey slick? Come to think of it, maybe the actor who played Special Agent Johnson could have auditioned for Han (no, not that SA Johnson, the other one).
arkflash writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 8:21:49 AM

@Mr. Blonde: Thx for the cred. But can you seriously picture Robert Davi as Han Solo? Lucas may be an bastard but he's not a f*ckin bastard. If Davi was Solo, Leia would have ended up with Luke, brother or no brother...or maybe R2 or Chewie.
arkflash writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 8:37:48 AM

Slyís the Man! Its great that Stalloneís has a lead by example work ethic, still funny and highly marketable, which has kept and grown his fanbase after +35 years in the business.

Too bad he didnít waltz his Expendables crew onto the Avengers stage at Comic Con. That would have been the day that Earthís Mightest Heroes sh*t their pants!
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 4:11:59 PM

Hey Seth aka @Arkflash, actually I meant the other Special Agent Johnson (no, not that one, the other one). Leia would have ended up with R2 since she had a prior relation with this "fully equipped" droid back on the rebel blockade runner. Remember she shoved a maxi pad into his slot (the death star plans happened to be hidden inside). R2 can also deliver jolts and happily beeps and rocks back n forth when he is excited. Chewy likely needs a bath and is way too tempermental like some dykey bitch.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved