WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros' Big Plan for "Green Lantern" Trilogy

Posted: August 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner BrosSubmit Comment
BleedingCool is reporting that Warner Bros is so confidant that "Green Lantern" will be a massive success that it is already making plans for the entire trilogy.

According to members of the production staff, shooting on the sequel is scheduled to begin before the first movie hits theaters, which is on June 17th, 2011.

The studio has already worked out an arrangement with New Orleans, where "Green Lantern" is currently filming, to return to the city for the second installment and use it as a stand-in for DC's Coast City. The plan is have "Green Lantern 2" in theaters during the Summer or Christmas of 2012, depending on where "Flash" movie lands.

And if the first film does as well as Warner Bros thinks it will, the studio will immediately greenlight the third installment, which will be shot back-to-back with the sequel and be released by 2013.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:32:39 PM

Sounds good. So after the 3rd one is released in 2013, if we're still here by then, they will reboot it in let's say 2015??
the_chosen_one writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:34:44 PM

I like this because I think Ryan Reynolds will kill it as GL, but if he shoots all 3 back-to-back, when will he have time for Deadpool???
WV-Films writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:36:02 PM

A million dollars says there will not be 3 Green Lantern movies by 2012.
WV-Films writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:36:24 PM

*2013
GambleBDJ writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:39:43 PM

I feel it will be much better than avengers
JoeCanton22 writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:40:20 PM

Green Lantern won't be a gigantic bomb, but I doubt anyone other than the core fans will go see it. Simply because Green Lantern isn't a big box office name like Batman or Spider-Man. I'm not saying Green Lantern will suck(either way, I don't like Ryan Reynolds) but it wont be a huge hit.
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 8:48:23 PM

YES YES YES... as a huge GL I couldn't be happier to hear this. Don't let me down WB. I'm still ANXIOUSLY waiting to see any footage or even the SDCC teaser trailer for GL... COME ON!
Bigcheese writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:03:22 PM

This could either ruin Green Lantern, if it bombs, or Deadpool if it is a success.
bigmeatman writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:11:31 PM

WOW...planning trilogies when they really dont know how the first movie is gonna do...nice lol
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:11:32 PM

@Joe - good post. But I think GL will do very well... and word of mouth on it will spread like Lohan's thighs at a 'Welc*m Outta Prison Crack Party!'
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:15:48 PM

@ ranger lol good one and i too agree it will do well BUT i need to see a dam trailer!!! so justice league of america or avengers?!?!?
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:21:14 PM

The Avengers I'm most hopeful for (being a fan)... but it has me the most worried as well.

Either they have too much planned for that origin movie, or they have been leaking out a TON of false information.
rabid writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:27:46 PM

Lots of movies and tv shows are filming in New Orleans these days. Must be cheaper taxes there.
I think Green Lantern has huge potential. The costumes, the characters, the adventures are all stuff kids will just eat up. It's going to be like the Last Starfighter, except marketable.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:32:44 PM

wow so we'll have batman3 and GL2 in the same year.... i still don't know about this one the suit looks like sh*t
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:42:08 PM

DK3 and GL2 in the same year... sounds pretty intense i hope GL2 is another summer release and not a christmas release like some sites are reporting. christmas-new years time for movies make nervous BO wise...
achoo writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:51:17 PM

what aobut deadpool?

Duffman writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 10:09:39 PM

So this will pretty much keep reynolds busy and from doing other work for few years....wonder how he feels about it since he was excited to do deadpool...god damn it warner brothers I wanna see green lantern, but rushing the sequels may be a bad idea ( high probability it will be especially if its a huge success like they plan). If they shoot back to back the third one will suck d*ck, as usual.
koul writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 10:21:33 PM

screw this. as much as i really do want to see Green Lantern i really don't care for a 2nd and 3rd film. Ryan Reynolds won't have enough time to make Deadpool and that's all i'm waiting for
Stuntastic writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 10:35:45 PM

@Rabid: LOL at the Last Starfighter reference. I haven't seen that in forever
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 10:43:36 PM

@Stunt - just like Starship Troopers... I'll watch The Last Starfighter every damn time that movie shows up on TV. Don't know why... I just do.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 11:02:25 PM

I still think Superman should make an appearance on OA at a Green Lantern guest speaker. Don't need to show his face (because it's not necessary, and we don't know who will be playing him in the future)... it would only take a couple of minutes of the movie... see his back... see him from afar shaking a few of the GL's at the end of his speech.

I think this cross-marketing would be a kick-ass addition and a nice surprise in the movie... and Shannon Price killed Gary Coleman.
rabid writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 11:02:26 PM

Alot of people are saying that the suit sucks, but I don't think the muscled suit we saw is the final GL uniform. In those photos from Comicon we saw that Abin Sur had musculatured skin. When Hal uses the ring the first time, it might just be projecting Abin Sur's suit onto him.
Stuntastic writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 11:04:24 PM

@Ranger: Those are pure classics, just like my all time favorite Big Trouble in Little China which I'm still waiting for the sequel, reboot, remake, something
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 11:19:27 PM

@Ranger
Not gonna lie... I'm digging your Superman on Oa idea. Like your said, it honestly wouldn't be that hard just to show his back considering everyone will recognize the RED and BLUE with black hair but i doubt WB would do that.
Sinestro writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 11:53:46 PM

If the first is good, make some sequels. But try to space the f*ckers out. I don't want to see 3 GL movies in 2 years.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:21:44 AM

@Stunt - at the rate they're making remakes... just give it a couple more weeks. I'm sure you'll hear good news!

@Ted - thx. Bud. I'll actually be shocked if they don't put Supes in it. It's the PERFECT opportunity to cross-market Kal-El for future flicks... and he's actually have a REASON to be there (in the GL movie).

And Hollywood, if you DON'T do this... you can just f*ckin' smile... AND BLOW ME!!!!

Mars Man writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:44:34 AM

I wouldn't worry about "Deadpool" - if it ends up in Robert Rodriguez' hands we'll only have to wait 5 years or so... like for "Sin City 2"
JoeCanton22 writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 12:46:20 AM

The Avengers WOULD have been good if they didn't T-Howard Ed Norton out of the role of Hulk. Now we got a short, stocky Banner. I still have faith after seeing the Thor trailer and RDJ is one of the best actors of all time.
Man in Black writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 1:17:29 AM

dont know to much on GL and havent seen a god damn trailer yet so i dont want to pass judgment but is there enuf material there for 3 movies ... i would think 2 and the 3rd be the JL movie
encoreyourface writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:00:34 AM

hey if the first one is good then awesome plan.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:18:22 AM

BEST News I've read all day ---

Gary Coleman's ex-wife Shannon Price (GARY COLEMAN'S MURDERER) is upset (WHO GIVES A sh*t?!) that Gary's estate is trying to sell the house they lived in together -- and according to Price's rep, they'll "do everything possible to fight this in court."

As we first reported, Robert Jeffs -- the Special Administrator of Gary's estate -- filed a motion yesterday asking a judge to allow him to sell Gary's Utah home and an adjacent lot for $324,000.

That's not sitting well with Price's rep, Sheilia Erickson, who says that 24 hours before Gary died, he told her he "wanted [Shannon] to be taken care of" (cough - BULLsh*t - cough) and that "everything goes to her." (HOW ABOUT LIKE... A MURDER CHARGE?!)

Erickson says, "Gary would want Shannon in that house. It was their house together." (OH YEAH, THE SAME HOUSE SHE KILLED HIM IN - THAT f*ckING BITCH!).

Shannon did live in the house with Gary (NO sh*t?), but the estate kicked her out in June (BECAUSE SHE'S A MURDEROUS BITCH!!!). She is not named in Gary's currently recognized will (SO f*ck OFF SASQUATCH SHANNON UGLY BITCH!!!).
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:29:48 AM

Ha Ha Good news !! The Murderous Bitch

Why don't they fight her in the streets with baseball bats.

They could sell tickets at $10 bucks a smack i will fly over and have $500 worth ....
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:32:31 AM

Stunt-

Big trouble little china ,Love that movie a part 2 with Kurt Russell would be Awesome...
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:42:57 AM

Thinking about it you would need to spend at least $10,000 on smacks with the bat to make any difference to her already grotesque appearance.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 4:10:49 AM

I think nature has already done it's damage to her.

Beating her to a pulp could only improve things.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:09:08 AM

You know what? Why not? If they feel that confident good luck and let us all hope.
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:28:27 AM

Wow, talk about being over-optimistic.
There's a good chance that it will do moderately(or even better if the plot is good) but it could also be the Jonah Hex of 2011.

"Warner Bros is so confidant that "Green Lantern" will be a massive success that it is already making plans for the entire trilogy.
"

LOL, the hilarity of it.Thwart the skyrocketing optimism.Statements like these won't win the audience.
Stuntastic writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 10:55:04 AM

@Ranger: Shannon Price is like the female version of O.J. except she didn't have leather gloves and she wasn't hidin in bushes. Now all she needs to do is come out wit a book entitled,"If I did it"

@Trailer: I always thought they would make a sequel especially with how it ended, but like Ranger said with all these remakes and reboots it's bound to happen. I also heard somewhere that they were talking about remaking Just one of the Guys not sure if that's true or not.

I really need to c a trailer for Green Lantern, but I think it'll actually b pretty good cuz Reynolds has the charisma to pull it off. As u stated earlier Ranger adding Superman would b a great idea, but which one Routh or Welling?

Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 11:41:43 AM

Well... Routh is my pick (and I'll catch hell for some on here for that pick). But they'd never show his face... so they could just basically use a body double and keep everyone guessing (even better!).

When Mother Nature takes a runny dump = Shannon Price.
Stuntastic writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:19:51 PM

@Ranger: I thought he was pretty good in the remake and he definitely has the build. Welling has been Supe for so long and I guess he's good, but I never watched Smallville so I can't really comment on him. Plus he looks a little scrawny for a man-sized Superman.
Stuntastic writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 2:21:33 PM

Forgot to say "NO HOMO" after that last sentence lol
HideousSecretion writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 4:39:22 PM

So Coast City is New Orleans, Gotham is Chicago, and Metropolis is New York City. What famous DC Cities are we missing and what real world cities will they use to film them?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:24:22 PM

Why not ? We can see how well this worked for ... oh, I don't know ... SPIDERMAN ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 7:28:45 PM

HideousSecretion writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 4:39:22 PM

So Coast City is New Orleans, Gotham is Chicago, and Metropolis is New York City. What famous DC Cities are we missing and what real world cities will they use to film them?


@HideousSecretion

Wasn't Gotham DC's New York and Metropolis DC's Toronto (originally)? Although, I would say it's probably more the equivalent of Los Angeles.
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2010 at 8:43:43 PM

Stunt- Just one of the Guys , wow thats a blast from the past. Not seen that for years, i love those 80's teen comedys like Can't buy me love, weird science, breakfast club etc etc...

No doubt they will remake it some time soon.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved