WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

George Lucas Among 40 Billionaires to Donate Half Their Money

Posted: August 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
George Lucas Among 40 Billionaires to Donate Half Their MoneySubmit Comment
Forty US billionaires pledged today (Wednesday) to give at least half of their wealth to charity, either during their lifetimes or after death. This will be huge boost to nonprofit company, which suffered from the economic downturn.

The list of those taking the pledge includes Bill Gates, Warren Buffett, T. Boone Pickens, Michael Bloomberg and George Lucas, the man behind "Star Wars" and "Indiana Jones" movies who is said to be worth $3.5 billion. Lucas is the only person in Hollywood to do this.

The pledge idea came about in a series of private meetings that Gates, Buffett and other philanthropists had over the past year on the future of charitable giving. Bloomberg, like several others on the list, said he made the pledge because he has more money than he could ever use himself.

Buffett is the second richest man in world with a worth around $60 billion. The 79-year-old has already announced that he will donate 99% of his money to charity after his death.

Source: NPR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Monash writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 8:26:53 PM

Their kids would be pissed
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 8:31:47 PM

@Monash
haha i was thinking the same thing... lawsuits will FLY
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 8:38:00 PM

I couldn't do that. You can't leave your kids with nothing. In my eyes, achieving this kind of financial success is more important for the future generations of my bloodline than it is for me. George Lucas had no choice after making those Star War Prequels.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 8:39:19 PM

f*ck kids, they'd be spoiled rotten anyway.
coke033 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 8:40:42 PM

whats up with his neck?
encoreyourface writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 8:49:44 PM

thedarkknight-it said 99 percent. if the dude was worth 60 billion, that 1 percent is PLENTY for your children.

i think it's mighty fine what they're doing, very respectable ... that is, if the plan falls through.
Kai The Mayor writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 9:11:41 PM

FYI 1% of 60 Billion is plenty. And i know Gates is only leaving like 20 Mil to each kid.
Aaron writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 9:25:42 PM

1% of sixty billion is still pretty good.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 9:31:31 PM

For all the harsh things I've said about Jar Jar Binks, Indiana Jones and the Rape for Cash and the last three Star Wars movies ...

Way to f*cking go, George!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 9:32:22 PM

f*ck his kids if they don't like this.

They need to go work a greasy McDonalds like anyone else, prissy little motherf*ckers.
Trentsteel writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 9:38:49 PM

Holy crap.
Ronsauce writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 9:49:08 PM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7: Don't be stupid. Like others have said, 1 percent when you're talking about billions is more than 99 of US residents will see individually in their entire lives. To give you an idea, as you seem even too lazy to bust out a calculator, 1 percet of 1 billion is still 10 goddamn million. More than enough for ANYONE to live comfortably for the rest of his life.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 9:56:44 PM

Mr Buffett all I need is .01 percent of your money. Please sir... for god sakes I have a wrinkled and ugly old man penis
CCBlev writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 10:15:28 PM

George thats awesome. I always knew you were a great person and while your in the habit of giving back, can I have my 10 bucks back I spent to see the prequal trilogy??
MrJS1 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 11:14:43 PM

f*ck Lucas and his CGI neck
johnny_boy writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 11:32:14 PM

If i may make a sugguestion to Bill Gates: HOW ABOUT f*ckIN INVESTING YOUR MONEY TO MAKE WINDOWS MORE EFFICIENT AND SAFE. SINCE MONEY ISN'T AN OBJECT. THINK PEOPLE WOULD BE MORE HAPPY IF YOUR COMPANY CAN MAKE COMPUTERS WE DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT GETTING HACKED INTO OR NOT WORKING WELL!!!!!!! now that thats out my system,Bloomberg go f*ck yourself.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 12:36:11 AM

Use Linux.

Good for these people. I see Spielberg (as that Hollywood crack in this article was directed towards) seems too busy making crap to get into this line-up.

It may be a little known fact. Generations of the Hilton family have done just this. Each generation after death leaves most to charity. So, don't knock Paris Hilton too much. That savvy broad has made herself a net worth of $250mil. already just using the family name and not sucking off of their wallets.

But great on these people for doing this.

Brad and Angelina one year alone donated $8.9mil.

So most excellent awards to these people!

And 1% of $60 billion for an inheritance would be just fine. AND it keeps the drive for the youngin's to WORK!

PS: I do get a kick out of such writing styles: 'George Lucas, the man behind "Star Wars" and "Indiana Jones"

Oh... is THAT who George Lucas is?! The entire world HAD NO f*ckING IDEA!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 12:47:57 AM

Sad, funny, odd, weird thing is...

Now people are waiting on these generous folks to die!
Rambo writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 1:10:35 AM

wassa happen to you?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 1:30:26 AM

Lucas did something nice after a very long time.
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 1:34:38 AM

He should donate his money to Lindsay Lohan's maggot-infested c*nt.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 2:09:29 AM

I just hope that after the money is sent, the heads of some of the charities end up using the money as their own personally piggy bank. The United Way had two such scandals about 10 years ago.

Good on Mr. Lucas and others for this idea though.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 2:21:26 AM

Cool story. I would assume that their children have already secured some kind of money from their fortunes already so thats why they can donate because otherwise I'd agree with Ted, they'd definitely have some lawsuits.

@ Coke- I think, if memory serves me correctly, that G.L. wanted to become a race-car driver long before getting into directing but suffered some kind of serious car accident related injury that nixed that dream...maybe thats why his neck looks like goo? lol
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 3:01:07 AM

Thx. but...

I don't return favors and...

I choke on small bones.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 3:07:54 AM

PS: How's dead Mom... COC?
trailertrash writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 3:13:42 AM

You got a new fan bro , he seems super !!

Good post as well ranger... (1st one)
trailertrash writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 3:14:39 AM

Is that Tom Hardy ?
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 3:17:24 AM

Thx. TT (re: my first post).
JohnZee writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 4:02:37 AM

You know a couple of months back when four or five of the nations most famous billionaires got together for a summit luncheon for a big "secret" discussion, I was hoping that they would actually accomplish something greater then tipping the waitress the most money she's ever received without blowing somebody.

And the thing is that its a pretty expansive list of billionaires, famous and not so famous. But would anyone like to know the one billionaire that went to the summit, got a bunch of pictures of them with the other billionaires saying that they were committed to doing the right thing, but strangely enough decided that they didn't want to have anything to do with the whole donating 50% of their income?

Now the press from the summit that made them look like they actually gave a sh*t about the rest of us, oh yeah they were all for that.

But the good thing is that there is a decent touch of racial diversity on that long billionaire list. An Iranian immigrant, and a South African couple of Chinese descent as well.

So overall I would say that a good selection of Americans with different ethnic backgrounds were represented, and that's something that gives me a certain amount of pride as American, just the fact that you could be of any ethnic background and still make billions of dollars.

But personally I do wish the one minority ethnic group that thinks its a majority would have had a representative that would do more than wave at the cameras, and take pictures trying to associate themselves with those that were willing to do what they really were not...
JohnZee writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 4:06:59 AM

Here's the list of billionaire's taking part in these donations:

http://givingpledge.org/#michele_chan

And here are the list of the famous billionaires that were at that secret billionaire summit, where the idea of this 50% donation thing was brought up and discussed:

http://www.wellsphere.com/healthcare-industry-policy-article/bill-gates-warren-buffett-oprah-ted-turner-david-rockefeller-jr-and-more-billionaire-s-summit-meeting-held-in-new-york/682209
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 4:33:45 AM

Since Lucas doesn't deserve any of the money he earned after "The Las Crusade" it seems only he fair that he gives that back.

I think it kind of chicken out to donate the money after you're dead. If donated half of their money, when alive, they would still have like a billion left. Which is plenty.
KallousTom writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 6:50:21 AM

I'm all for this, and I agree 1% of 60 billion is plenty. And if it weren't enough, the lazy freeloaders should go get a f*cking job like the rest of us!
encoreyourface writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 7:00:29 AM

"I just want to bang golf balls out of your *sshole"

WHAT THE f*ck? THAT'S SICK!! even for you COC ....
otis writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 10:45:57 AM

My bet's on someone getting a hold of his will and then heads of charities getting together and putting a hit out on George so they can get the money sooner.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 3:47:02 PM

@Freudian - I see your point. But I see it from both sides.

1. The only reason they should donate while they're still alive would be to oversee and see it's benefit. That would be a personal pride/accomplishment thing.
2. You're right... charities could use that money now... not later, but...
3. If they donated half of their 'money machine' now... they would be able to continue to increase the rate of growth of their wealth (large wealth builds faster than smaller wealth). So I think it's best left in their hands until they die... then their donated 'half' will be worth a LOT more than it is today.

So, 2 sides here... both good arguments.
darkraven28 writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 4:37:38 PM

Well, motherf*cker got enough chins now man. Look at that damn picture. He can afford it.
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 5:35:05 PM

You guys don't actually have a clue where the f*ck this money is actually going do you. Cos its bullsh*t, charity my ass.

Another win for the media.
johnthemon writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 6:26:20 PM

@Th3D4KKN1GH7

think about that for a second dude, even if Warren goes through with half his money donated, and then 99% upon his death, his kids will still get $3,000,000. those poor bastards.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 9:14:30 PM

Jesus Jaz... you're even more cynical that I am (and that's saying something)!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved